American Express® Gold Card Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
American Express® Gold Card Reviews
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.3 out of 5 stars
81 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $250
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR See Terms*
Collapse

5 star reviews (59) See All

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Oct 13, 2019
cdrtrek Cardholder

I have both the Gold and the Platinum cards and I go no where without them. No problems whatsoever and I've been a member of Amex for 30 years plus. Great Cards. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 17, 2019

Enter Your Reply

 
Oct 02, 2019
Billybobcuccio Cardholder

It’s a charge card not a credit card. You use it for things you can afford to pay for immediately . Credit cards let you get too far ahead of yourself. Spend only what you can afford and you’ll love this card. I’ve used it almost exclusively this past year. I used to use a debit card and didn’t get any points from that , plus you lose the protection of a great bank like American Express. Use it like a debit , earn points which I just use to pay down my next bill. Don’t leave home without. 

more ...
Oct 02, 2019
EX 670 and I was instantly approved!
Ivan7849 Cardholder

In Oklahoma they pull experian. I applied for the Chase Saphyre Preferred and got denied so I went to the AMEX site even though CK had me at poor approval odds. I put my info on AMEX site and boom!!! I was approved for the 50,000 points offer after spending $2000 in the first 3 months. I was going to get a new laptop and new iPhones anyway so that was a very easy limit to get. Already making the purchases so why not use the gold card.  $250 fee is not cheap but you do get amazing perks. If you are thinking about getting the green AMEX just skip it and apply for this one. Amex customer service is top notch! Love to be part of the AMEX FAMILY! 

more ...
Sep 06, 2019
I've been working on this.
Dukeblue2015 Cardholder

This was the card I have been wanting all along.
I finally got it and on my birthday no less.
I do have the Amex Every day card too.
Scores are eq 685, TU 671 and 701 on the other one.
680 + is what triggers the approval.

more ...
Sep 06, 2019

Meant to add that Amex only pulls and looks at Experian.
680 is usually the minimum score for approval.

 
Sep 19, 2019

I was approved with a 640 FICO

 
Aug 28, 2019
Best Food Card
Fave23 Cardholder

Best card if you spend a lot of money on food, whether that be dining or restaurants. Can rack up a ton of points and then transfer them to travel for free.

more ...
Aug 12, 2019
I love it!
Ali05 Cardholder

I love the customer service! 

more ...
Aug 02, 2019
best card for restaurants & bonuses
tootab Cardholder

when i was 16 i was added to my mothers blue cash preferred card, so i started building credit long before i was able to apply for a card on my own. i turned 18 and got a secured card and paid in full every month and not long after, my score was close to 700. i decided i wanted to continue my relationship with american express so i applied for the gold card after learning i was prequalified.. i was initially afraid of the 250$ annual fee but with the card member deals, and the 100$ incidental airline refund and the 120$ for restaurants, i've made back 180$ so far and i've only had the card for 4 months. i utilize the pay over time feature for charges over $100, and i would only recommend it if you are a responsible spender (also they started me off with a very small pay over time limit, and after a few months it was increased to what i was told the highest that this card can have, so i'm very grateful and lucky).

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 01, 2019

Whats your limit now?

 
Jul 23, 2019
Best perks for a card
achunt2143 Cardholder

Annual fee is high but the perks outweigh the fee. My parents convinced me to apply and I was instantly approved. This is a charge card but can be treated like a credit card. The APR is fairly high for pay over time, but not the worst I've seen on a card. Don't get the card if you cant make the sign up bonus though. Mine was 40k points after spending $2000 in the first three months. I always get compliments on the card when I hand it to someone. I originally received it in gold but amex had the promotion again for rose gold. Gave them a call and they sent me another one!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 125
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 
American Express® Gold Card Reviews

American Express® Gold Card

59 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i