Blue Cash Preferred® Card from American Express Reviews

Blue Cash Preferred® Card from American Express Reviews
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.2 out of 5 stars
25 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

3 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 12 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 14.49% - 25.49%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $95
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 12 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 14.49% - 25.49%* Variable
Collapse

5 star reviews (10) See All

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 16, 2019
Great card
MikeC68 Cardholder

Like the 6% back on groceries / streaming services

more ...
Oct 31, 2019
Best cash back card for groceries.
ImagoDeiGen126 Cardholder

Excellent cash back card.  I get 6% back from streaming services and at US Supermarkets(Kroger, Publix) (Not Superstores:Walmart, Target, etc...) and 3% back at non-superstore/supermarket gas stations.  The customer service has always been top notch.  Highly recommended!

more ...
Oct 23, 2019
Great Card
EddiePA Cardholder

I rarely carry a balance so the card pays for itself. I remember to use it for all grocery purchases and gas from standalone gas stations. BJs and Sams club you only get 1%. You can earl cash back rewards quickly by using it for as many purchases you can and making more than one payment a month. Customer Service is excellent. I got a new card in 2 days after fraud was detected. This is one of the best cards out there. Only downside is this card can't be used that much overseas. Most prefer visa or mastercard. And they charge a foreign exchange fee. I use another card instead. 

more ...
Sep 28, 2019
Excellent
Kingston1008 Cardholder

I received this card on a Saturday, by Monday I charged $1000 on it. On Wednesday I checked my account only to see, the transaction posted and in the same instance it was credited $250. So my outstanding balance was effectively $750. How can you possibly have a bad word to say about this card, especially with all the bonus categories to earn 3% & 6% pure cash back. It's a must have, for me atleast. Please name one Chase card that comes within 100ft of this card? Nil!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 11, 2019

Yup...best raw cash back card out there! Perfect for my wife and I on every level! I earned $45 just in the last statement period alone, and I don't consider myself a huge spender by any means.

 
Aug 20, 2019
This is really good card with good rewar
Sujeetpingale Cardholder

This has really good rewards and the plan it feature is the best feature which is missing for many other credit cards.

more ...
Aug 09, 2019
Great contactless payment
Lifejames101 Cardholder

Great customer service very good when making payments back on card very fast process

more ...
May 23, 2019
Great card!
ChargerGreg Cardholder

Great rewards/customer service/cash back/cash advance/ easily worth the paltry $95 annual fee. Like it better than my Platinum card for day to day use. Asked for a bump to $50K from $30K and all they needed was a docusign and a few electronic lines from the previous two 1040's. piece of cake!. waiting on another $10K approval (hopefully) regardlless, great card.

more ...
Jan 10, 2019
Beneficial
nperez60804 Cardholder

I've been an Amex card holder for many years now and the this card has proven its worth to me. They has exceptional customer service and I even added my spouse so that we can share the card's credit. There is a high annual fee, but if you utilize the card to its full potential then the fee ends up being paid for by its self. We use our card for for already budgeted items such as groceries and car fuel. Then we just pay it off in full monthly. This has worked wonderful for improving our credit scores. We use the Amex rewards we earn from getting our monthly necesities and we apply them directly into the cards Balance payment everyother month and that's how the card pays for itself. Again, Its a great card if you use it to its potential and I highly recommend it to others. Very relable and beneficial card.

more ...
Jan 01, 2019
Great card with great benefits.
ThatRebelComic Cardholder

Credit Karma noted that I was pre-approved for this card.  I had been looking for some time to find a card that had the sort of benefits I want, and this one fits the bill.  The application process was easy and my card arrived a couple of weeks later.  If I had one issue with the card issuance process, it would be the fact that it did not arrive as quickly as I had been led to believe, but on the whole, that's a minor issue.  My overall experiences have been nothing but good and I'm glad I applied.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 20, 2019

Did you apply through CK or directly to Amex?

 
Dec 13, 2018
Great cash back rewards
Streetglide59 Cardholder

This is my go to card for every day purchases at grocery stores, paying for gas at the pump, cell phone and cable bill. The cash back rewards add up quick and like the flexibility on how you can spend the rewards. You can take a statement credit or use to purchase gift cards and of course the online shopping catalog. I pay my balance each month. I applied for the card in 2013 with a FICO of 720 and was approved with a $5,000 limit. In 6 months, they raised my limit to $11,500 and after 2 years they raised it to where it currently sits at $17,100. The application process was easy and was approved in a matter of seconds after the online submit. As always, American Express has awesome customer service and I would definitely recommend this card. 

more ...
Jan 31, 2019

The FICO is the score that Credit Karma shows you?

 
Feb 03, 2019

Credit Karma uses Vantage not FICO; a wise consumer will track both.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 1,642
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 
Blue Cash Preferred® Card from American Express Reviews

Blue Cash Preferred® Card from American Express