Blue Cash Preferred® Card from American Express Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.4 out of 5 stars
27 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 12 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 14.99% - 25.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $95
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 12 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 14.99% - 25.99%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 08, 2019
Good Card!!
cripple2 Cardholder

I have had this card over two years. They gave me a HIGH LIMIT compared to almost everyone else. answer your questions, and provide good service. They dont hassle you on purchases like other banks calling you to see if you REALLY bought that Big Screen TV  and stop your POS purcahse like some other horrible banks., I do not keep cards whertre they question every purchase. The application process is easy compared to most other banks. I have a fairly decent Cash access (vs straight credit) as well .I do not see the nergatives .  I have NOT used the card in 10 months (didnt need it) and they have NOT reduced my line of credit. I dont even need a credit increase I am satisifed with an  over 8K limit as I have many other cards. They DID stop a number of benefits to the card but still has many features other cards may not offer such as car rental insurane. You need a credit score over 680 to to really get good use out of the card

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 29, 2019
Review the list of where you earn cash!
LionheartLeo Cardholder

Beware that Walmart, Target, and Amazon are NOT on the approved grocery stores. Which means that you will not get 6% shopping there for groceries, only 1%. Also, not all gas stations either. Not happy about 95 annual fee but it's very easy to earn the 250 bonus.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Sep 15, 2019
Call India!
sunflowers67 Cardholder

I applied and was approved for this card but I canceled it before i even received it.  I was told I would receive it in 3 to 5 business days.  When I didn't, I called AmEx.  I was then told it was 7 to 11 business days.  When I still hadn't received it (2 1/2 weeks after approval), I called back and was told they didn't have my mailbox number and had sent my card without including it in the address.  They offered to send it UPS guaranteed in 2 days but it bothered me that every call I made to customer service was to India.  Customer service wasn't bad, but I feel like a company that really cares about customer service isn't going to outsource it to India to save a buck.  Especially with a $95 annual fee.  Plus, given the initial mixup, I didn't want to spend the life of the card correcting errors on the cash back I was supposed to be receiving.  

more ...
Aug 28, 2019
worst card service
milindShah Cardholder

I had apply for this card 5 months ago when they were offering welcome bonus of 150$ if I spent 1000 in 3 months. I have given more than 5000 $ business and i called them to find out about my welcome bonus. they made excuses like1. it's your credit report history I have 710 score. 2. reason they say was when I applied for the card there was a pop up which told me I decided to receive the welcome bonus. worst service I expected more from American Express.

more ...
Aug 20, 2019
This is really good card with good rewar
Sujeetpingale Cardholder

This has really good rewards and the plan it feature is the best feature which is missing for many other credit cards.

more ...
Aug 13, 2019
Good grocery store card
Tinney7980 Cardholder

6% back at grocery stores. Wow. Note. Walmart and Target are not grocery stores. They are department stores that sell groceries. I love the cash back. It used to be unlimited but some greedy folks have to ruin it for others. Pity. It’s still pretty good. This is my go to card for grocery shopping. Advice is to pay off the entire balance each month. Amex doesnt have the best APR for purchases. 

more ...
Aug 09, 2019
Great contactless payment
Lifejames101 Cardholder

Great customer service very good when making payments back on card very fast process

more ...
Jun 14, 2019
EXTORTION
Wifey1Sock Cardholder

Last time I ever use a AMEX card, was originally approved for 8k. Now after a few months they randomly decide to lower my CL on multiple cards to obscene amounts forcing my accounts to their max. After I called them to ask what's going on they are demanding early payment on the balance in exchange for the credit limit back. THIS IS EXTORTION. I WILL NEVER USE AMEX AGAIN. 

I used to rave about Amex customer service and features, now I will tell everyone to stay away for the EXTORTIONIST company AMEX.

more ...
Jun 18, 2019

Some’s salty. Extortion? Lol. Make your payments on time bum

 
Jul 03, 2019

There's a reason they're asking you to pay down your balances. Chances are, you have other credit cards or lenders, besides Amex, that are reporting ONE OR MORE of the following to your CBR: high balances, other accts near their credit limits, overall total balances to credit limit ratio is high; 1 or more late payments or a significant change in Credit Score; just to name a few.

These could trigger a lender that you have an established relationship with to change the terms, like APR, or lower the credit limit, like what happened to yourself.
It's nothing personal, it's business because they're reassessing your overall risk.

Even if none of these applies to your situation, your overall balance between all lenders not being paid down or a pattern of your balances increasing. Even with a current lender, if your balance never changes and is always increasing, or is always at or around the credit limit, depending upon how high your balance is, they can cancel the card or lower the credit limit because of the over all risk to them and yourself. Lenders take into consideration your minimum payment amount and how it relates to your reported income, like from employment. You could have reported to Amex that your annual income is $45k/yr. Your credit limit with them is $10k and your other cards total combined credit limit could be $100k. If your total balances reported to your CBR is $97k, that's extremely high, in addition to your reported salary being significantly less than your total debt and credit limits. You could have no late payments and a good relationship with all lenders, and the income and limits info above is enough for them to lower your limits or cancel the card. It's all about risk management.
Yes, a lender would be willing to sacrifice the relationship they have when a customer in favor of reducing their risk.

Your bestfriend has been borrowing $40 for gas every week for the last 2 months, but has only paid you back once. This week, they asked to borrow $60. They currently owe you $280.
Do you continue to loan them money and take a risk? Keep in mind, this isn't about, "that's what friends are for.". This is business and not personal.

I'd tell them no, until they can catch up all or most of what they already owe me. This is how personal relationships are severed most of the time.

 
Jul 10, 2019

I bet Amex used to rave about you as a customer, but now they will tell other card issuers to stay away from Wifey1Sock.

 
Aug 23, 2019

Pay down your balances, that’s the only reason they would have to do that. They just re-evaluate their relationship with you that’s all.

 
May 29, 2019
Review the list of where you earn cash!
LionheartLeo Cardholder

Beware that Walmart, Target, and Amazon are NOT on the approved grocery stores. Which means that you will not get 6% shopping there for groceries, only 1%. Also, not all gas stations either. Not happy about 95 annual fee but it's very easy to earn the 250 bonus.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 03, 2019

I get 6% at Walmart neighborhood markets but not at superstores. I easily get enough in cash back to much more than pay the $95.

 
May 23, 2019
Great card!
ChargerGreg Cardholder

Great rewards/customer service/cash back/cash advance/ easily worth the paltry $95 annual fee. Like it better than my Platinum card for day to day use. Asked for a bump to $50K from $30K and all they needed was a docusign and a few electronic lines from the previous two 1040's. piece of cake!. waiting on another $10K approval (hopefully) regardlless, great card.

more ...
May 08, 2019
Good Card!!
cripple2 Cardholder

I have had this card over two years. They gave me a HIGH LIMIT compared to almost everyone else. answer your questions, and provide good service. They dont hassle you on purchases like other banks calling you to see if you REALLY bought that Big Screen TV  and stop your POS purcahse like some other horrible banks., I do not keep cards whertre they question every purchase. The application process is easy compared to most other banks. I have a fairly decent Cash access (vs straight credit) as well .I do not see the nergatives .  I have NOT used the card in 10 months (didnt need it) and they have NOT reduced my line of credit. I dont even need a credit increase I am satisifed with an  over 8K limit as I have many other cards. They DID stop a number of benefits to the card but still has many features other cards may not offer such as car rental insurane. You need a credit score over 680 to to really get good use out of the card

more ...
Apr 17, 2019
Stay away from amex. They do not care
ssmokeyy Cardholder

They do not care about there customer at all. I had a zero balance and they let me go becuase i didn't leave a **** ton of credit with them and pay there high rates. They also did this to my bussiness card i had with them also. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 23, 2019

They cared about THEIR customer here to check his previous two tax returns when I requested a bump from 30 grand to 50 grand in credit (which of course I received because I make the money). Everyone believes you had a business card with them as well. You can't even spell business (either). Maybe it was a Toy card for an imaginary busineSS.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 1,642
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Blue Cash Preferred® Card from American Express