Banana Republic Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.4 out of 5 stars
22 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Apr 24, 2017
****ing scam.
Anonymous Cardholder

37$ a month for late payments. It adds up especially when you don't remember ever making the first purchase on credit, and remember paying for your item in the store while opening a credit card. Never open new credit cards on a whim there are always debts attached.

more ...
Apr 21, 2017
Worthless, literally!!
n184life Cardholder

I had this card, and had become a Luxe member, for 2 years with a 720+ credit score and yes I couldn't get them to increase my limit past $5,000.00 even though I have a perfect payment record and I make a decent wage.  It started out nicely in 2015 with $2,500 and they accepted increases 2 times in those 2 years.  Since then, nothing...  The rewards are so not worth it and you are better off getting a cash back card and shopping with 40% off coupons or during the holidays!!!  I canceled my card 2 weeks ago and have no regrets.  Oh, except they killed off the final $35.00 I had in rewards which I thought I could use.  I even read through the online rewards policy and it said nothing about losing rewards by not having the card!  I truly regret sticking with this card for so long when I could have an additional 2 years on a better and more worthwhile card!!  Highly disappointed and I recommend for everyone considering it to look elsewhere!

more ...
Apr 20, 2017
Lies to Customers
Anonymous Cardholder

I've had the Banana Republic Luxe card for two years i've never missed a payment and this month I ran into some financial issues and I was unable to pay on time. I called synchrony bank customer service spoke with the representative and told them when I could pay the card they said it was fine and I would not receive a late fee and my card would not be closed. I got a letter in the mail today stating that my account has been closed due to a late payment which is the first late payment I have ever had with banana republic. This isn't the first time they have close my account they close my account for months ago when they messed up processing my payment. It's took me four days to get my account reinstated at this point I'm not even going to argue it again because it is such a hassle in the customer service is terrible I kept getting hung up on for four days straight and no one could help me. 

more ...
Apr 03, 2017
Bad Business
dwarner920 Cardholder

I had this card as well as Gap & Old Navy. I never miss a payment and have paid in full multiple times. This company has no appreciation for loayl customers. As a reward for my timely paymnet history and continued business, they first lowered all three account limits as a result of an annual credit review they use to screen already open accounts. Last month I paid all of my accounts off and this month they cancelled the banana repulic card stating that the annual review of my credit report showed a high credit usage. First of all, I am an educated and capable indicidual. I know exactly how much credit I have and how much of it is used. My payments on every single account that I have are always on time and often paid in full. The fact that they take no consideration of your history on thier accounts and jusge you only by what they think they see on a credit report is appalling. Great way to loose customers! 

more ...
Mar 31, 2017
APR so much higher than other cards.
mb2notary Cardholder

Like others I enjoyed this card when i first got it, but even though my credit line is $8,000 and I have always made my payments *and* have had a zero balance for some time, they will not budge on the 25.49% APR. It wasn't always that high, but at some point they pulled the ol' switcheroo. Anyway, they have declined to lower my APR to what other cards charge me - 10-15% and they certainly aren't nice about it. I only keep the card now for two reasons. The available $8000 is good for my credit score and if there is a deal for cardholders at Banana Republic, I can use it and pay it off immediately. But I look forward to the day I can scrap this card.  

more ...
Mar 21, 2017
Horrible Card!!
Anonymous Cardholder

late fees of $25. I was charged $1 per month as interest for some unknown reason. Then they charged $25 late fee on it after 3 days. Calling Customer service but no help. Cancelling my card.

more ...
Feb 15, 2017
will not negotiate the interest rate
joeyjustcuz Cardholder

I've had this card for years with a $7300 cl. I charge it alot and get tons of rewards credits (in excess of $1000 a year). I called to see if i could get the interest rate (25.24%) reduced and they consistently say they do not negotiate interest rates. my other cars are all around 14-15%.

more ...
Feb 13, 2017
Not dependable.
Anonymous Cardholder

I am a luxe member .  We pay our balance in full every month.  Card is constantly declined.  You must call them to "unlock" your card.  Not worth the reward points.  

more ...
Feb 08, 2017
Terrible. Do not get
Anonymous Cardholder

There are many reasons I will actively pursue rating this card with a bad review. If you prefer to use a mobile app to log on and view balance, pay bill, etc, this card is a big no-no. The app does not work 80% of the time, it will freeze on the log in screen after you input your username and password or it will show a message that the server is temporarily down. Additionally, any payments made take en excessive amount of time to reflect on the account and in your paying activity's account. I recently opened another credit line in order to leave Banana Republic's credit card.  Lastly, purchases made on the card are delayed showing in the balance. 

more ...
Dec 12, 2016
Really no reason to get this card.
Anonymous Cardholder

Crazy high rates (25%+) and they lowered my limit from $10,000 to $1,000 without ANY communication. I see no reason why anyone would want or need this card.  I'm cancelling as soon as possible. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Banana Republic Card