Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Banana Republic Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

1.5 out of 5 stars
17 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Feb 15, 2017
will not negotiate the interest rate
joeyjustcuz Cardholder

I've had this card for years with a $7300 cl. I charge it alot and get tons of rewards credits (in excess of $1000 a year). I called to see if i could get the interest rate (25.24%) reduced and they consistently say they do not negotiate interest rates. my other cars are all around 14-15%.

more ...
Feb 13, 2017
Not dependable.
Anonymous Cardholder

I am a luxe member .  We pay our balance in full every month.  Card is constantly declined.  You must call them to "unlock" your card.  Not worth the reward points.  

more ...
Feb 08, 2017
Terrible. Do not get
Anonymous Cardholder

There are many reasons I will actively pursue rating this card with a bad review. If you prefer to use a mobile app to log on and view balance, pay bill, etc, this card is a big no-no. The app does not work 80% of the time, it will freeze on the log in screen after you input your username and password or it will show a message that the server is temporarily down. Additionally, any payments made take en excessive amount of time to reflect on the account and in your paying activity's account. I recently opened another credit line in order to leave Banana Republic's credit card.  Lastly, purchases made on the card are delayed showing in the balance. 

more ...
Dec 12, 2016
Really no reason to get this card.
Anonymous Cardholder

Crazy high rates (25%+) and they lowered my limit from $10,000 to $1,000 without ANY communication. I see no reason why anyone would want or need this card.  I'm cancelling as soon as possible. 

more ...
Oct 31, 2016
Horrible no customer service with fraud
Anonymous Cardholder

Zero assistance with fraudulent charges. Kept on hold indefinitely when reporting fraud charges. No resolution. Finance charges continuously added. AVOID!! You'll pay the fraud charges just to get rid of the ongoing annoyance with this card. 

So blatantly bad it seems the company may be in on the fraud. Worst ever!

more ...
Oct 28, 2016
Very bad.
Anonymous Cardholder

The APR is too high.. Plus they tend to decrease your limit for no reason. for those who dont know about decreasing your limit. If your credit limit is decreased then your utilization is increases. This action would lower your credit score.

more ...
Oct 25, 2016
Horrible
madinma Cardholder

Decreased my credit limit from $1400.00 to $250.00 for no reason with a perfect payment history right as we are gettiing into the holiday season and I typically purchase all my kids things from here.  I will pay off the card and never shop there again.

more ...
Oct 06, 2016
$25 late fee is extremely high
Anonymous Cardholder

I had this card for about six months and thought the reward program seemed good. Then I missed a $50 payment by a few days and got charged a $25 late fee! Obviously that cancels out any benefit to having the card. You are much better off finding coupons online then using this card for the discounts. That late fee is crazy high.

more ...
Sep 16, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

Lowered my credit limit for no reason

more ...
Aug 22, 2016
Banana Republic - Visa Card/Synchrony
michaeld2986 Cardholder

I was approved in store for this card around Christmas 2015 and was given a generous c/l of $2500.  I never charged more than $500 on the card, but life happens and I had an emergency and came close to maxing the card out as a result.  Yeah, it stunk but I had no other options.  The interest is 25% on this card and I haven't been able to make any headway as a result in getting this card paid off.  I filed chap 7 in 2009 when the economy tanked and have been sucessful in re-establishing some credit.  I tried applying for a Chase Slate to transfer this balance, but they denied me.  So, I'm stuck paying this card off with a ridiculous interest rate.  I went ahead and closed my account with Synchony because I really don't need the card anyway, nor do I need the additional credit.  Sure, my credit score will likely take a hit but I could care less.  Be warned!!!!  This card comes with a high interest rate and the rewards are not that great.  Not impressed.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Banana Republic Card