Simple Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
41 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 05, 2018
Helps you only spend what you make.
Anonymous Account Holder

Simple allows you to save for vacations/bills with their AMAZING Goals feature. They highlight the money that is safe to spend after all the bills owing you have entered. You will never miss a rent payment with this app. It helps you ensure the money is always in your account AND helps you not spend it before he first! What other bank can do that??

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 06, 2018
Merely a Shadow of Their Former Glory
Anonymous Account Holder

I've been a Simple client since 2013. In the beginning they were smart, helpful, and clever - responding to ideas and suggestions, and even playing along with a story about a drunken intern at a holiday party for far longer than was necessary. Sadly since the merger with BBVA Compass that wit and passion appears to have drained away and left only what the corporate overlords will allow.

The straw that broke the camel's back for me was a failure to deliver a rent check. I'd ordered it halfway throught the month, but it never arrived. Had this happened with the Bancorp iteration of Simple I believe they'd have literally fallen over themselves to help out and make things right, but the BBVA Compass iteration mustered a return of funds 2 days after the check was canceled - and only 3/4 of the late fee I was assessed by the leasing company.

Long story short, I'm saddened that what was once a magical, wonderful thing is now just another cog in the machine.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Nov 20, 2018
Meh! Amateur Bank
jacejasons Account Holder

This was once a good financial service.  Now it seems they have adopted the same practices as the big ****ty banks: don't care about their customers, slow and low customer service performance, crappy service with limited financial products. 

more ...
Nov 15, 2018
Not simple at all.
surharafleming Account Holder

Customer service is terrible. Wait times are 15 minutes. My customer service message on their website wasn't answered for 48 hours. The applicatoin process does not disclose all of the information needed. 

more ...
Nov 12, 2018
Fraud Prevention Needs Work
ShannonSuperfreaker Account Holder

Filed a Duplciate Charge dispute and was ruled against even though teh charges were obviously a duplcaite (same day, same amount by Instacart). 

more ...
Nov 08, 2018
The best UX in banking
skehmatics Account Holder

Beautiful and easy to use apps / websites, built in budgeting tools, joint accounts, high yield savings accounts, bill pay, photo check deposit, muxh more and its fee free all the way down. Plus, and this is impressive, I as a regular citizen and not a banking master never felt overwhelmed or confused on how to use all these features or what they meant. And even if you do, their support documents and actual support staff are wonderful.

However, note that if you commonly deal with cash, the bank is all online, so getting said cash into your account can be annoying.

That is my one and only complaint. About a bank.
Simple is the only bank I think I will ever use, not because I'm locked in, but because they have set the bar so very high

more ...
Nov 07, 2018
Great once you get in.
ricrawfo Account Holder

This bank is great for budgeting and saving up for stuff. Most of the proceess is in their info/tutorial pages but a few are a little outdated. 

more ...
Oct 11, 2018
Corrupt
VKMO Account Holder

Took $5,000 from my external account without my knowledge. When I called them to ask where my money was, they denied it, claiming they didnt see any transfers. I had to get the external bank involved and it took over a week to resolve. They had no sympathy that they took a large sum of money and were not at all in any hurry to help. Were extremely rude and incompetent. Stay far away from this bank.

more ...
Oct 11, 2018
BEST BANK EVER.
cococat54321 Account Holder

I love banking with Simple! I have always been bad with math, budgeting, and balancing my checkbook, but Simple makes it all easy! I use the Expenses to easily budget for my recurring expenses, the Goals to save up for big purchases (like our wedding), and I always know how much I can safely afford to spend by looking at my Safe-to-Spend balance. It tags purchases into different categories, to automatically pay them from their respective Expenses, and tt shows spending and earning summaries online. I love how the mobile app is almost as fully featured as the website, and that there are no fees for anything ever. No overdraft fees, and it's impossible to overdraw the account anyway; if I don't have the money to cover a transaction, it declines. It is great. My fiance and I use Simple Shared to pay for all our household expenses and budget for our shared Goals.

more ...
Oct 03, 2018
Everything I Needed to Get on my Feet
WuLF0491 Account Holder

Simple Bank was so helpful to me in building better budgeting skills. They blocked all the normal fees that would normally trip me up when I got down to the last of the money in my account and they provided me s pretty strong system to manage my money with. I am very glad I found them a few years back. Only a few months ago did I start to feel the constraints of their system and opt for YNAB instead.

more ...
Oct 03, 2018
Simple: the ultimate bank sophistication
BriennaParsons Account Holder

Simple has always had responsive and friendly customer service. Over the years it has added to that and its renowned "Goals" system additional features that help individuals, and families, budget smarter. Not only assisting in saving every day, or once a week/month/etc., for your Goals, but also for your Expenses, your Savings Goals, and your Emergency Funds. This is one of those banks, that you simply can't afford to miss out on. 

more ...
Oct 03, 2018
They use to be great, then they stopped
kreeverss Account Holder

I don't know whats happening internally, but over the last three years since the BVAA absorption, they have been slow at best in providing customer service and providing updates that were suppose to sepatate them from the other banks. I have been here from the start and theyre just finally getting close to request that have been asked from the begining ("shared" accounts, triggered expenses) but there not as fully complete as their counter parts. It's mind-numbingly frustrating to see a company just stop competing. I'm already looking for a better bank, because the name is no longer true.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations