Simple Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
37 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 11, 2019
Best bank EVER!!!!!!
1Love1Heart Account Holder

This is seriously the best bank ever. You can have seperate accounts AND a joint account,you can set up protected goals/savings,you can transfer money INSTANTLY, the app is extremely clean and 'simple' 😉, the customer service is 5 🌟 alone,if you need anything you can call and directly get a live person,or you can email and get an almost instant response with real help. I have zero complaints,zero!!! Been with them for four years,never regreted it.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 06, 2018
Merely a Shadow of Their Former Glory
Anonymous Account Holder

I've been a Simple client since 2013. In the beginning they were smart, helpful, and clever - responding to ideas and suggestions, and even playing along with a story about a drunken intern at a holiday party for far longer than was necessary. Sadly since the merger with BBVA Compass that wit and passion appears to have drained away and left only what the corporate overlords will allow.

The straw that broke the camel's back for me was a failure to deliver a rent check. I'd ordered it halfway throught the month, but it never arrived. Had this happened with the Bancorp iteration of Simple I believe they'd have literally fallen over themselves to help out and make things right, but the BBVA Compass iteration mustered a return of funds 2 days after the check was canceled - and only 3/4 of the late fee I was assessed by the leasing company.

Long story short, I'm saddened that what was once a magical, wonderful thing is now just another cog in the machine.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Jan 02, 2019
Closed with no reason given
Foolishkarma Account Holder

Closed my account almost two weeks after opening it while I was waiting on a deposit. Refused to tell me why. This tied up my money for almost a month. Really frustrating. Stay away from Simple.

more ...
Feb 10, 2019

Same experience. Stay away.

 
Apr 28, 2019

Sucks to be you. My account opened just fine and stayed open. Maybe you were profiled for something illegal via Patroit Act regulations.

 
Jan 02, 2019
Customer Service is Extremely Outstandin
IrishGot10 Account Holder

Mobile Apps do not get any better than this

more ...
Jan 02, 2019
Nando9345 Account Holder

Customer service is the best ever and the app’s UI is very clean and easy to use. I love the Protected Savings account that it comes with, too.

more ...
Dec 05, 2018
So Simple, and very easy to contact supp
Mmtee Account Holder

It is a fully mobile based bank, woth no branches, but offer many free ATM options.

more ...
Dec 05, 2018
Perfect, very Simple
Den2019 Account Holder

It's Simple just like it's supposed to be. Alot of Banks only care about credit scores, and charge overdraft fees all the time. Simple doesn't have overdraft fees, which keeps more money in my pockets. It's very easy to deposit checks by taking the picture and sending it via the Simple app.

more ...
Dec 05, 2018
duebel Account Holder

This is best bank and the best group of people in the world. Hands down.

more ...
Nov 20, 2018
Lomoore Account Holder

They don’t have the answers to anything and the “chat” team that has the answers is full of ****. They go around and around in circles and then tell you to call customer service who the tells you to reach out in chat. It’s a bunch of ****. And just not a good “online” bank. 

more ...
Dec 05, 2018

🤦🏻‍♂️

 
Apr 28, 2019

Never had any problems with CS. Usually get a response from support email within an hour and phone support was very responsive as well.

 
Nov 20, 2018
Meh! Amateur Bank
jacejasons Account Holder

This was once a good financial service.  Now it seems they have adopted the same practices as the big ****ty banks: don't care about their customers, slow and low customer service performance, crappy service with limited financial products. 

more ...
Nov 15, 2018
Not simple at all.
surharafleming Account Holder

Customer service is terrible. Wait times are 15 minutes. My customer service message on their website wasn't answered for 48 hours. The applicatoin process does not disclose all of the information needed. 

more ...
Nov 12, 2018
Fraud Prevention Needs Work
ShannonSuperfreaker Account Holder

Filed a Duplciate Charge dispute and was ruled against even though teh charges were obviously a duplcaite (same day, same amount by Instacart). 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations