Simple Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
41 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5
Collapse

1 star reviews (8) See All

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Jan 02, 2019
Closed with no reason given
Foolishkarma Account Holder

Closed my account almost two weeks after opening it while I was waiting on a deposit. Refused to tell me why. This tied up my money for almost a month. Really frustrating. Stay away from Simple.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 10, 2019

Same experience. Stay away.

 
Nov 20, 2018
Lomoore Account Holder

They don’t have the answers to anything and the “chat” team that has the answers is full of ****. They go around and around in circles and then tell you to call customer service who the tells you to reach out in chat. It’s a bunch of ****. And just not a good “online” bank. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 05, 2018

🤦🏻‍♂️

 
Nov 15, 2018
Not simple at all.
surharafleming Account Holder

Customer service is terrible. Wait times are 15 minutes. My customer service message on their website wasn't answered for 48 hours. The applicatoin process does not disclose all of the information needed. 

more ...
Oct 11, 2018
Corrupt
VKMO Account Holder

Took $5,000 from my external account without my knowledge. When I called them to ask where my money was, they denied it, claiming they didnt see any transfers. I had to get the external bank involved and it took over a week to resolve. They had no sympathy that they took a large sum of money and were not at all in any hurry to help. Were extremely rude and incompetent. Stay far away from this bank.

more ...
Jun 09, 2018
Simple Bank Is Constantly Being Hacked
mylifeispink Account Holder

I've been a customer with Simple since February 2014 and my account balance is consistently inaccurate and my account constantly being hacked thru third party apps! 

WARNING steer clear of these people!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 10, 2018

Where is the proof they are being "hacked"? What third party apps? Are these apps you are allowing access to your Simple account?

 
May 14, 2018
Great on surface, horrible inside
RedDog3773 Account Holder

I've been a simple customer for a while, so I don't submit this as a newbie. I love the app, but Simple has some big issues. They aren't a bank, they are a 3rd party that interfaces with a bank. Communication has been poor. I had to mail in a check to deposit because it was over the mobile deposit threshold. The deposit got rejected, but nobody could tell my why or where my check was and said it would be mailed back within 7 days. The check was endorsed and had my account information on it. As far as I knew, someone stole my check and they really didn't care. I kept getting different answers each time I called in. They interface with BBVA Compass bank on your behalf. They can't even transfer you to someone at BBVA who might actually handle your money. Managers will not call you back and just send messages through the app. I really wanted to love Simple, but simple they are not, it's really complicated and the customer pays the price. Simple sounds great in concept, but there are deep flaws, and the customer is not the priority.

more ...
May 02, 2018
Restrictive support.
dmcvey92 Account Holder

Used this bank for years, recommended it to my girlfriend. Boasted about how the support was easy and helpful. Well it says her identity can't be verified for some reason, none given. I call support thinking they'll get it fixed right away. Nope, they can't help or tell why she wasn't approved. Her credit was completely clean. No idea what the issue was.

Sent her to Chime instead and she got setup without any issues. Very disappointed in SImple and will not recommend to anyone else because of it.

more ...
Mar 30, 2018
Inactivity
bigspeakers Account Holder

Card will become dormant and unusable, if you don't use it often??!! Went to the store and got embarrassed! Messaged support and they are saying my card has gone dormant. Because I haven't used it in a while!! WHO DOES THAT??!!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations