Simple

3.6 out of 5 stars
94 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

3.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 03, 2014
Simple is "simple"
dragonfyre13 Account Holder

I can't say I've ever really "liked" a bank before, but Simple changed that. It really is simple to do most all the normal workflows a customer would want to do, and they've approached creating a bank, an interface, and a customer service organization from the perspective of "how is this easiest from a customer perspective". No hidden fees and usage of actual modern technology makes this above and beyond any other bank out there.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 07, 2017
Absolute scam
Anonymous Account Holder

I opened my bank account in Nov. 2016 for my wedding money that was given to me, they were going to be adding shared accounts so that my fiance and I would both be able to access the money. As soon as I deposited the first check, my account was frozen due to Simple needing verification documents. I sent my documents and called to confirm they had what they needed. The agent was very kind and stated to expect a support message from the "Verification" team later that day. 24 hours later I still had no message so I called to ensure that they didn't need anything. The caller stated that this process takes time and that they would get back with me. I asked the agent what kind of time we were talking and she stated she had no idea, but that they would get back to me. I allowed 4 days to pass, and still heard nothing. Mind you, my account and MY money was locked. I then called and spoke with someone again who stated she couldn't tell me when the team would review my documents, nor would I be able to speak with that team. I even spoke with 2 different managers who stated they couldn't give me any answers but that it would take time for them to unlock my account. Not to mention, the final phone call I had with them the two support team members were rude, condescending, and absolutely robotic in their responses. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Apr 24, 2017
This bank is a joke!
SingleMomX2 Account Holder

If they question a deposit, they don't ask for proof of validation....they just shut down your account with no recourse. Thank god I had no money in the account or I wouldn't have received it. I had them for 2 years when they were with bancorp with no problems, within two  months of switching to their new BBVA account, I've been shut down for NO VALID REASON WHATSOEVER! In addition, my daughter had previously signed up for an account, and they put her through a hell of a loop trying to verify with document and document being requested to upload....and then denied her account, I was ready to leave them after that but I had already set up my tax refund to be sent to the account so I was stuck for the moment. If this is how they treat customers, good riddance, I'll go elsewhere!

more ...
Apr 14, 2017
Decent Service, Terrible Handling
Anonymous Account Holder

The app itself is very functional, but the way the handled transferring partners was terrible. My license expired right as they needed new documentation for their partner and completely closed my account. Now I'm left moneyless with no access to my funds trying to figure out how I'm supposed to pay rent and buy food. I've never had such a terrible situation in my life and there is apparently nothing they can do about it.

more ...
Apr 05, 2017
Love it!
ybp9003 Account Holder

It really is Simple. The app is simple, the account is simple to setup. Catagorizing transactions and keeping records is simple. Simple simple simple. 

Oh and don't even get me started on the goals feature. Super Awesome!

Customer service has been great. I love that I can just message them for non-emergency questions and then before I know it, They've answered my questions with a high degree if professionalism mixed with a little charm and humor.

I have yet to have any emergency issues to deal with.

more ...
Apr 05, 2017
Full of features
OkieOtaku Account Holder

It is an online bank, but it's so easy to get around. The app is full of features like fingerprint login, push notifications, plus Android pay

more ...
Apr 03, 2017
Simple froze my account
tiseggs89 Account Holder

I filed a complaint with the BBB and the FDIC because Simple froze my account without warning. I recently changed my address, which took 2-3 days for them to approve, but after they approved it they asked for my ID, social security card, two months of recent bank statements from my linked external account and a utility bill to prove my address. Why didn't they ask for all of that before they approved the address change? Now I have $372 in the account that I can't use and I did not receive my most recent direct deposit from my job because of this mess. I sent them my ID and social security card and called to explain that due to my personal circumstance that I could not provide a utility bill or bank statements and I was told that there was nothing the bank could do to move forward in unfreezing my account until I gave them those documents. I asked how long the process would take and the customer service rep said that she didn't know. I asked if I could speak with someone who would have more information and was told that there was no one else except for the supervisor. The supervisor is not part of the team that reviews accounts and documents. Apparently, I couldn't speak to anyone on that team even though I asked. I spoke with the supervisor and I asked them to close the account and was told that they needed to verify the account before they could close it. So now my money is stuck in limbo until whenever. Based on other complaints I've read, even those who were able and did provide the documents Simple requested still had to go through hoops to get their money, if they ever got it. I understand identity protection, but this is ridiculous. I've been using the account for months now and never had a problem until this past week. I have tried reaching out again by email, but have yet to receive a response, but if I post on their social media accounts I get a reply telling me to contact customer service. I have supplied every access code they have given me to verify my identity. I sent them photographs of my original, unaltered, unexpired social security card and state-issued ID. I haven't heard anything and was told that it could take days or weeks to unfreeze once they did receive everything they asked for. It doesn't seem like it's legal for them to hold my money like this. Terrible experience!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 05, 2017

How many times are you going to tell this same story. What happened is bad yes. Would I leave the bank if it happened to me? Probably. Would I post a negative comment somewhere to let everyone know what happened? Absolutely!
But here's the thing. The "Bank froze my acco**** without warning" is not something that I have ever seen happen in my many years of being in the banking industry. Yes the bank probably froze the account, but the without notice statement is what I take issue with. Unless law enforcement or the government went in and froze the account (which I have seen happen more than once), trust me, you were notified. If you didn't pay attention to those notifications, that's on you. Not the bank.
You can say that I am making assumptions. This is true yes. Here's why. I cannot tell you how many times I've heard someone come into the bank screaming that we did something to their account without notice when they actually ignored the notice. And not just notice, notices. Plural. We made every endeavor to contact them before being forced to take drastic action.
That is the last thing I want to mention. Banks are heavily regulated. They don't just one day decide to close someone account. They have more rules and regulations they have to follow than you can imagine. They make money by having open accounts. Not by closing them. If they forcibly froze your account, it's because they had to. They didn't have a choice in the matter.
Good day.

 
Apr 03, 2017
Simple bank froze my account
tiseggs89 Account Holder

I recently changed the address associated with my checking account with Simple Bank. On 3/28 I received confirmation that the address had been successfully changed to what I requested. I received notice that my checking account with Simple Bank was frozen on 3/30/2017 because Simple could not verify my address. They requested a copy of my unexpired ID, my social security card, two most recent bank statements from the external accounts linked to my Simple account and Residence verification such as a bill. I replied to their email with my ID and social security card, however I could not fulfill their request to supply two recent bank statements for an external account linked to my Simple Bank checking account nor could I supply a bill in my name with the address on my Simple account because I am not responsible for any of the household bills at that address. I explained in both that email and in a phone call placed on 3/31/2017 that I could not provide those things. I was told that until Simple received the documents they requested that they wouldn't be able to move forward in unfreezing my funds. I asked them to close the account, but they replied that they would still need the documents requested before they could close the account. My complaint is I feel that Simple Bank should have requested this information before they approved my address change and subsequently froze my account. I work very hard for my money and I trusted that I would have easy and simple access to it by using Simple's services, but now I do not have it. I feel that if Simple Bank needed to verify my address, then they should have done so before they approved the address change. I have been left without access to my money and based on other customers' experiences that I have read, the process could take a significant amount of time, which I cannot afford. I need access to my money and Simple Bank is blocking me. I have never ever had this issue with any other institution that I have banked with. 

more ...
Apr 03, 2017
Simple froze my bank account
tiseggs89 Account Holder

The past couple of months using Simple have been great--right up until yesterday when I received notice that my account was frozen because they were having trouble with verifying my address. I suppose that was triggered when I changed the address. I changed it online, a couple of days later I received confirmation that the change was successful. Then, yesterday I received an email asking me for my ID, social security card, two most recent bank statements from a linked bank account, and a bill to prove my address. Why didn't they ask for all this when I first changed the address? I sent my ID and social security card, but the bank statements and utility bill I could not provide because of a personal situation that I tried to explain in both an email and a phone call. I was told that until Simple received all of the documents they required that they could not move forward with reviewing and unfreezing my account. That is a huge inconvenience since I was set to receive a direct deposit from my employer on top of the money I already have in the account. Based on what I have read of other customers' experiences, it looks like the verification requirements are never-ending and I simply do not have the time or patience to deal with this. When I asked to close the account I was told that since it was up for review that it could not be closed until I sent in a bank statement and proof of address. I just want my money that I go to work everyday to earn. I really enjoyed getting the mobile alerts when my card was used and I liked that there aren't any fees associated with the account, unless you consider the money that I currently don't and apparently won't have access to anytime in the near future as payment for my use of the account. The representatives apologized for the inconvenience, but I don't need apologies, I need my money. Keeping the customers secure is extremely important, but this is ridiculous. With all of the hoops I have to go through to even login to my account online or on the app, it doesn't seem like I would need to do anything else outside of sending my government issued ID and social security card to prove who I am. I need my money, simple as that. 

Since 3/31/2017 I have made a post to their official Facebook page and to their page in the Google Play Store where the Simple app is listed and Simple has responded to both posts instructing me to contact their customer service department, but have not yet replied to any of my emails using their secure server in response to their inquiry about my address. I still do not have access to my funds and I am afraid of sending more personal identifying information to this company as I have already sent them photographs of my original social security card and my unexpired state-issued ID card. I feel that their business practices are shady and not at all transparent. I will not accept their excuse of not being able to solve this dispute because it violates their Privacy Policy when their policy states that it discloses nonpublic personal information to non-affiliated third parties for everyday business purposes "With your consent or at your direction, including if we notify you that the information you provide will be shared in a particular manner and you provide such information." With all of the hoops I have to go through to even login to my account online or on the app, it doesn't seem like I would need to do anything else outside of sending my government issued ID and social security card to prove who I am. I need my money.

more ...
Apr 03, 2017
Terrible communication
tiseggs89 Account Holder

The past couple of months using Simple have been great--right up until yesterday when I received notice that my account was frozen because they were having trouble with verifying my address. I suppose that was triggered when I changed the address. I changed it online, a couple of days later I received confirmation that the change was successful. Then, yesterday I received an email asking me for my ID, social security card, two most recent bank statements from a linked bank account, and a bill to prove my address. Why didn't they ask for all this when I first changed the address? I sent my ID and social security card, but the bank statements and utility bill I could not provide because of a personal situation that I tried to explain in both an email and a phone call. I was told that until Simple received all of the documents they required that they could not move forward with reviewing and unfreezing my account. That is a huge inconvenience since I was set to receive a direct deposit from my employer on top of the money I already have in the account. Based on what I have read of other customers' experiences, it looks like the verification requirements are never-ending and I simply do not have the time or patience to deal with this. When I asked to close the account I was told that since it was up for review that it could not be closed until I sent in a bank statement and proof of address. I just want my money that I go to work everyday to earn. I really enjoyed getting the mobile alerts when my card was used and I liked that there aren't any fees associated with the account, unless you consider the money that I currently don't and apparently won't have access to anytime in the near future as payment for my use of the account. The representatives apologized for the inconvenience, but I don't need apologies, I need my money. Keeping the customers secure is extremely important, but this is ridiculous. With all of the hoops I have to go through to even login to my account online or on the app, it doesn't seem like I would need to do anything else outside of sending my government issued ID and social security card to prove who I am. I need my money, simple as that.  

Since 3/31/2017 I have made a post to their official Facebook page and to their page in the Google Play Store where the Simple app is listed and Simple has responded to both posts instructing me to contact their customer service department, but have not yet replied to any of my emails using their secure server in response to their inquiry about my address. I still do not have access to my funds and I am afraid of sending more personal identifying information to this company as I have already sent them photographs of my original social security card and my unexpired state-issued ID card. I feel that their business practices are shady and not at all transparent. I will not accept their excuse of not being able to solve this dispute because it violates their Privacy Policy when their policy states that it discloses nonpublic personal information to non-affiliated third parties for everyday business purposes "With your consent or at your direction, including if we notify you that the information you provide will be shared in a particular manner and you provide such information." With all of the hoops I have to go through to even login to my account online or on the app, it doesn't seem like I would need to do anything else outside of sending my government issued ID and social security card to prove who I am. I need my money. 

more ...
Mar 31, 2017
Run, don't walk away from Simple!
Anonymous Account Holder

Long time customer from the start. I had my account closed without explanation and it took me over a month to get my funds returned to me. Think twice!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations