Simple Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
105 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

3.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 03, 2014
Simple is "simple"
dragonfyre13 Account Holder

I can't say I've ever really "liked" a bank before, but Simple changed that. It really is simple to do most all the normal workflows a customer would want to do, and they've approached creating a bank, an interface, and a customer service organization from the perspective of "how is this easiest from a customer perspective". No hidden fees and usage of actual modern technology makes this above and beyond any other bank out there.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 07, 2017
Absolute scam
Anonymous Account Holder

I opened my bank account in Nov. 2016 for my wedding money that was given to me, they were going to be adding shared accounts so that my fiance and I would both be able to access the money. As soon as I deposited the first check, my account was frozen due to Simple needing verification documents. I sent my documents and called to confirm they had what they needed. The agent was very kind and stated to expect a support message from the "Verification" team later that day. 24 hours later I still had no message so I called to ensure that they didn't need anything. The caller stated that this process takes time and that they would get back with me. I asked the agent what kind of time we were talking and she stated she had no idea, but that they would get back to me. I allowed 4 days to pass, and still heard nothing. Mind you, my account and MY money was locked. I then called and spoke with someone again who stated she couldn't tell me when the team would review my documents, nor would I be able to speak with that team. I even spoke with 2 different managers who stated they couldn't give me any answers but that it would take time for them to unlock my account. Not to mention, the final phone call I had with them the two support team members were rude, condescending, and absolutely robotic in their responses. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Jul 22, 2017
Great experience and Simple.
Maxose Account Holder

For the basics of banking, I would choose this checking account.

more ...
Jul 05, 2017
Seamless, user friendly, and responsive.
Anonymous Account Holder

Best bank I've ever had. Literally no fees for anything, ever. Everything you think you'll lose are all things I never used in the first place. It's everything I need and nothing I don't. The functionality is a bit lacking but that will change over time. As of now, you still need a traditional bank as backup for when you need to do very traditional things, such as buying a house or writing the occasional check but it's worth it.

more ...
Jul 05, 2017
Excellent
Anonymous Account Holder

Excellent online, and mobile experiences. Best customer service across all industries.

more ...
Jul 04, 2017
Zero support - unreliable
Anonymous Account Holder

I am living abroad and using SImple as my backup bank card. I lost my wallet a couple of days ago and found out to my horror that I can't log in to my Simple account online and that it keeps wanting a phone verification code which I am not receiving. I try to call their support phone number but it is out of service and they are not responding on Twitter or Facebook. It feels like there is no one operating or maintaining this organization which is considerably more of a problem since it is handling my money!

more ...
Jun 24, 2017
Just don't do it!
Anonymous Account Holder

Sure at first it was great. I enjoyed no fees it was awesome. But then it took a turn when an ATM stole money from me and there was little to no effort to get my money back. When I filed a dispute no one could tell me information, I had to wait almost a week for someone to message me. This company loves to give the run around. At first it seemed like they really valued me as a customer, but now not so much. Right now they are refusing to send me a card until I verify and address that I've already verified several times. Just don't do it, there will be times when you can't access your money! It's terrible. 

more ...
Jun 14, 2017
Awesome customer service & UI!
jduran159 Account Holder

Although Simple is a tech company and doesn't actually handle your money, they're great and you'd never know BBVA was involved if they didn't tell you! Safe to spend is awesome, their goals are amazing. I personally use Goals for short-term goals whereas some people may prefer to save long-term. People are more than 10 times more likely to post a negative review than a positive one so this review goes out there as an honest one! Please give this bank a try if you've been on the fence. I am a Chase Private Client and they're supposed to provide "concierge" banking, but that doesn't come close to what Simple offers. Genuine human goodness, just like they advertise! 

There is some sort of trust/psychological safety you'll have to establish since everything is handled online and over the phone app. It's worth it. They give you all the tools to succeed and their support website is phenomenal! 

more ...
Jun 08, 2017
Great way to manage money!
Anonymous Account Holder

Love this service. No more over spending and great way to watch your account.

more ...
Jun 08, 2017
This bank is a joke
Anonymous Account Holder

If you link an external account to simple, simple will freeze youre account until you can prove its your account. If you linked accounts are new like mine were, you will not be able to submit the required info which is 2 most recent monthly statements. My account has been frozen for 6 months. Customer service is a joke. Send in a message to customer support and it take 6-7 days to get a response. Stay away from this place.

more ...
Jun 07, 2017
Best self-serve banking experience
alexandreuribe Account Holder

If you're just getting a bank account, or tired of mediocre apps and customer service, go with Simple. You'll still want to maintain independent brokerage/high-yield savings accounts, but for checking and small savings, absolutely great.  

more ...
Jun 07, 2017
Simple is just that... simple.
Anonymous Account Holder

I've contacted support (text and phone) and always had an amazing experience.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations