Simple Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
112 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

3.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jul 05, 2017
Seamless, user friendly, and responsive.
Anonymous Account Holder

Best bank I've ever had. Literally no fees for anything, ever. Everything you think you'll lose are all things I never used in the first place. It's everything I need and nothing I don't. The functionality is a bit lacking but that will change over time. As of now, you still need a traditional bank as backup for when you need to do very traditional things, such as buying a house or writing the occasional check but it's worth it.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 07, 2017
Absolute scam
Anonymous Account Holder

I opened my bank account in Nov. 2016 for my wedding money that was given to me, they were going to be adding shared accounts so that my fiance and I would both be able to access the money. As soon as I deposited the first check, my account was frozen due to Simple needing verification documents. I sent my documents and called to confirm they had what they needed. The agent was very kind and stated to expect a support message from the "Verification" team later that day. 24 hours later I still had no message so I called to ensure that they didn't need anything. The caller stated that this process takes time and that they would get back with me. I asked the agent what kind of time we were talking and she stated she had no idea, but that they would get back to me. I allowed 4 days to pass, and still heard nothing. Mind you, my account and MY money was locked. I then called and spoke with someone again who stated she couldn't tell me when the team would review my documents, nor would I be able to speak with that team. I even spoke with 2 different managers who stated they couldn't give me any answers but that it would take time for them to unlock my account. Not to mention, the final phone call I had with them the two support team members were rude, condescending, and absolutely robotic in their responses. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Aug 10, 2017
Used to be good, got bought, sucks now.
MrAdventure Account Holder

International transaction fees for items bought domestically.

Can't keep the account if you are overseas.

Web interface sucks, unimportant data takes half the screen.

more ...
Aug 03, 2017
Awesome UI, customer service, SIMPLE!
Anonymous Account Holder

This bank bends over backwards for its customers. I've never been on hold for longer than 3 minutes. I'm never charged fees. My transactions are posted the minute I swipe my card. Their budgeting software has changed the way I manage money. Simple is the best bank I've ever had.

more ...
Aug 02, 2017
amazing
Zacliv2323 Account Holder

I have used this bank for going on two years and it’s the best bank ever. The app is amazing. Shared accounts are cool and just no fees it can’t get any better than this. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 03, 2017

fake review 4

 
Aug 02, 2017
So EASY to save
tnmurdock Account Holder

This card makes it so easy to save.... for rainy days, for trips, for ANYTHING. You dream it, Simple will help you save it. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 03, 2017

fake review 3

 
Aug 02, 2017
Incredibly happy user since 2012
synapticsmith Account Holder

My experience with the app, the banking services themselves, and the customer service team have been stellar. And I mean that in the sense that these people are STARS. The app has been awesome from the first version I used and keeps getting better. Every communication I've ever had with customer support has been like a conversation with a friend (or at least a friend of a friend). Sure, ultimately it's modern technology injected into a no-fee checking account, but **** are they getting it right.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 03, 2017

fake review 2

 
Aug 02, 2017
Convenient and thoughtfully designed.
Anonymous Account Holder

I applied for Simple after the Google wallet card was discontinued for the $20-on-signup promotion with the intention of taking the money and leaving the account. After a year and a half, I'm still using it. The well-designed web and app interfaces are a pleasure to use and support has always been very responsive to me. Their budgeting and categorization features are top-notch. 10/10.

more ...
Aug 02, 2017
Goodbye overdraft fees.
BrandonG777 Account Holder

I used to think I was just terrible at managing money. Fast forward a few years using Simple and I've managed to save money and purchase my first home. Now the money that used to go to overdrafts fees goes towards remodeling my home. Can't recommend them enough!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 03, 2017

Fake Review 1

 
Aug 02, 2017
So straightforward and helpful!
Anonymous Account Holder

As the name implies, this bank is so simple, straightforward, easy to use. It's helped me save and budget my money with their unique "Safe To Spend" and "Goals" features. Easy to deposit money. Customer service is quick, efficient and super helpful. The app is perfect and so easy to use. I love everything about Simple!

more ...
Aug 01, 2017
will keep your money !!
Anonymous Account Holder

Closed my account for no reason! Now customer service will not speak to me!!! Will I get my money back ?! Other sites say people never received their money!!!! 

more ...
Jul 28, 2017
Avoid At All Cost
casuallyb Account Holder

Simple has a beautiful and smart banking app.. but thats about it. Simple has awful customer service and communication with its members. They close accounts without explanation, freeze accounts that deposit checks and hold or take your money without any notice or timeline  when you'll get it back. 

In 2015 I discovered Simple Bank, attracted to its clean interface and non-traditional bank claims. 

Today, one of the most costly decisions I've made. I opened up a account, and I loved everything from the card to the ease of use of the product. 

There's only one big issue with Simple Bank....it isn't a bank at all. When real bank issues arrive such as check issues, direct deposit, potential fraud. 

They don't have any solution or concern to help you. Instead, they just close your account with your hard earn money in it and cut off all communications with you.

You don't get a warning, notice, courtesy text, call, email... Only after they close or freeze your account you'll get updated on this and nothing more. Card deactivated, funds held... and no one will speak to you about whats going on. You're treated like a criminal. 

I've had 2 acounts with Simple closed. The first was because I deposited a check from a client that supposedly expired or bounce and the recent account was closed because I had the first account closing. I opened up a new account with them because a rep suggested I should try opening one... and 8 months later they close my account with 3 of my checks in it.. and won't communicate to me about my money.

Now I have to wait to get my money... If I ever get it back.. for no reason. 

This companies business and banking practices are sub par.

This is not acceptable and stay away from this bank.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 03, 2017

This company creates fake reviews after bad reviews and its so obvious. I made this review on the 28th and mysteriously of Aug 2 once they caught it 4 (5) star review in a row.. and look at the pattern... and the quality of the reviews are canned... Seriously... Simple Bank is simply pathetic.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations