Simple Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
36 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

3.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 11, 2019
Best bank EVER!!!!!!
1Love1Heart Account Holder

This is seriously the best bank ever. You can have seperate accounts AND a joint account,you can set up protected goals/savings,you can transfer money INSTANTLY, the app is extremely clean and 'simple' 😉, the customer service is 5 🌟 alone,if you need anything you can call and directly get a live person,or you can email and get an almost instant response with real help. I have zero complaints,zero!!! Been with them for four years,never regreted it.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 02, 2019
Closed with no reason given
Foolishkarma Account Holder

Closed my account almost two weeks after opening it while I was waiting on a deposit. Refused to tell me why. This tied up my money for almost a month. Really frustrating. Stay away from Simple.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Jun 05, 2019
Great easy to use online Bank
Jno333 Account Holder

NO FEES! 

Amazing and responsive customer service 

Instant notifications after transactions, giving you advantage against fraud detection

more ...
Jun 05, 2019
Simple is Simple!
Jno333 Account Holder

Amazing and responsive customer service,and quick resolutions to any would be issues! Plus did I mention NO FEES ! EVER! 

more ...
Jun 05, 2019
Extremely simple to use!
Jessiep4 Account Holder

Customer service is very friendly and prompt!

more ...
Jun 05, 2019
Removing services at customer expense.
PerryBurner Account Holder

They are removing Bill Pay. I don’t have the time to get into how detrimental this is to the Simple system, but the briefest explanation I can give is that it removes the utility of any of the tools and services provided by the bank. There is no longer any differentiating parts of Simple that put it above its competitors because the removal of Bill Pay makes the remaining features valueless. This move was made by Simple solely as a cost saving meaure on their end. They remove their cost and shift the expense back to customers. At this point I will be transferring in full to my credit union. At least my bills will be appropriately and securely paid on time. To my wife, my family, and my friends who I had convinced to go all in on this bank, I’m incredibly sorry and ashamed that I have set you down this path.

Stay away from this bank. I’ve been an all-in customer since 2013. Stay away from this bank.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 03, 2019

Hi Perry,

I was not exactly happy to see the BillPay feature go away. But honestly, I've only ever used it once and it was for a company that didn't allow me to pay my bills online so mailing a check was the only option. I pay 95% of my bills via auto-pay direct from the companies. This is conjunction with Simple's auto-spend feature allow me to have my bills paid automatically either via ACH or debit card transaction, and the charges are deducted automatically from by expenses or goals based on categories. This has worked well for me, and I think could be a game changer for you in the wake of BillPay's demise.

 
Jun 05, 2019
Removing services at customer expense.
PerryBurner Account Holder

They are removing Bill Pay. I don’t have the time to get into how detrimental this is to the Simple system, but the briefest explanation I can give is that it removes the utility of any of the tools and services provided by the bank. There is no longer any differentiating parts of Simple that put it above its competitors because the removal of Bill Pay makes the remaining features valueless. This move was made by Simple solely as a cost saving meaure on their end. They remove their cost and shift the expense back to customers. At this point I will be transferring in full to my credit union. At least my bills will be appropriately and securely paid on time. To my wife, my family, and my friends who I had convinced to go all in on this bank, I’m incredibly sorry and ashamed that I have set you down this path.

Stay away from this bank. I’ve been an all-in customer since 2013. Stay away from this bank.

more ...
Jun 05, 2019
Guanniqusi Account Holder

If you want to keep good track of your expenses with a lot of useful automation when it comes to saving towards a goal, Simple is definitely your bank!

more ...
Jun 04, 2019
Your money is not your money with simple
ZA78 Account Holder

If you’re a young adult, perhaps college student who wants a good app with solid budgeting tools this bank is an okay choice. But once it comes time to start moving large sums of money, say enough to pay for your wedding or transfer funds for the down payment for your house, they are the most inept and incapable financial institution out there. There are no wire transfers, small daily limits on access to your cash, and if you call for help the customer service will literally start crying on the phone because they are unable to help you. Your money is not liquid or accessible here. I was legitimately worried my house purchase was going to fall through and I’d lose my earnest money until I called my local credit union I still had accounts with and they were able to help me form a work around. Please don’t bank here, it’s extremely frustrating and there is zero accountability. Leaving and going to an adult bank. 

more ...
May 15, 2019
Very inept and have scam tendencies....
Robert7799 Account Holder

We have been with Simple for roughly a year.  We deposited a $700 check from my wife's employer and Simple notified us that they would be holding the check for 5 days.  I called Simple and they stated that this was a random hold and they could not remove it.  I notified them to not proceed with the deposit that I would instead take it to the issuing bank and cash it.  6 weeks later Simple notifies me that the check did not clear as it had already been deposited (duh).  They then put a negative $700 deduction in my account.  I called them and asked them to show me where in my account this money was deposited and they couldn't.  I asked for a statement that shows a running balance and they said that they don't provide a running balance statement.  I asked to speak to a manager and was told that they don't have managers.  I asked for the employees name and badge number and was only told her first name.  Because I have two individual accounts (one is mine and one is my wifes) I asked if they would pull the funds from either of those accounts without my permission.  I was informed that only in the extreme case would they do so and that this would be for a negative balance lasting over one month.  She assured me that I would have more than enough time to research this issue.  That very evening, they took $700 out of my wifes account to bring the balance back to $0.  This money that they took from my wifes account was a gift from her mother for some home interior items so I called Simple and requested that they honor what I was told and to put the money back into my wifes account until I could research it.  I was told to pound sand.  I had high hopes for Simple but did not realize that I was dealing with an unethical company.  I will be contacting the FDIC regarding this.

more ...
May 02, 2019
Most useful bank I've ever had
rolawson Account Holder

This bank has many features that make managing money easy and fun. The Expenses, Goals, and Protected Accounts features are invaluable.

more ...
Apr 17, 2019
Be Cautious
Corgi1234 Account Holder

I've been a Simple customer for over 2 years now and in the beginning, it was amazing! Their customer service via messaging was quick, kind, and effective. I had no issues with application, getting a card, or communicating with them. Something seems to have shifted internally because their customer service is just awful now. I lost my debit card about two months ago and sent a message to get a new one. I heard nothing back from them for 5 days until I reached out to them again. They gave me a poor excuse that they were simply too busy to respond in a timely manner. Quite frankly, I find this excuse insulting. Eventually, they sent out a new card and it took a week for the card NOT to be sent to me. They had to re-verify my address, which took 3 days, and they sent out the card again for it to be delivered to the wrong address AGAIN. After about 3 weeks, I finally got my debit card. Two weeks later, there was a fraudulent charge on my debit card. I called their customer service line (since their chat support is useless) and the rep asked if I was "sure" I didn't make the charge. I had to file a dispute and am unsure if I can get my money back. Simple has an amazing product but their awful customer service negates the benefits of envelope budgeting. Their lack of transparency seems shady and they don't have the best interest of their customers in mind. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations