Simple Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
101 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

3.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 03, 2014
Simple is "simple"
dragonfyre13 Account Holder

I can't say I've ever really "liked" a bank before, but Simple changed that. It really is simple to do most all the normal workflows a customer would want to do, and they've approached creating a bank, an interface, and a customer service organization from the perspective of "how is this easiest from a customer perspective". No hidden fees and usage of actual modern technology makes this above and beyond any other bank out there.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 07, 2017
Absolute scam
Anonymous Account Holder

I opened my bank account in Nov. 2016 for my wedding money that was given to me, they were going to be adding shared accounts so that my fiance and I would both be able to access the money. As soon as I deposited the first check, my account was frozen due to Simple needing verification documents. I sent my documents and called to confirm they had what they needed. The agent was very kind and stated to expect a support message from the "Verification" team later that day. 24 hours later I still had no message so I called to ensure that they didn't need anything. The caller stated that this process takes time and that they would get back with me. I asked the agent what kind of time we were talking and she stated she had no idea, but that they would get back to me. I allowed 4 days to pass, and still heard nothing. Mind you, my account and MY money was locked. I then called and spoke with someone again who stated she couldn't tell me when the team would review my documents, nor would I be able to speak with that team. I even spoke with 2 different managers who stated they couldn't give me any answers but that it would take time for them to unlock my account. Not to mention, the final phone call I had with them the two support team members were rude, condescending, and absolutely robotic in their responses. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

May 22, 2017
Could not be easier
Anonymous Account Holder

My wife and I have two separate accounts for our "mad money". This could not be easier, every month money gets deposited into our accounts, and we spend it. If our funds are too low, the card will not let me go into overdraft. Transferring money between simple members takes 15 seconds, making paying back the other person for half the cost of a meal easy.

This is how you operate a bank. No fees, easy app, simple.

more ...
May 19, 2017
Simple is very efficient and simple
Anonymous Account Holder

They don't have any charges for any function. They have great budgeting tools as well as great support service and response time. Best bank I've ever had and they even help save some money.

more ...
May 19, 2017
Easy to use and responsive service
Anonymous Account Holder

Simple is just that; Simple. None of the cruft and problems of big name banks that don't really care about you. They give you excelent tools (online, app) and your card for purchases and ATMs and then they get out of your way and don't give you any problems.

If you have a problem or need help, you can write to them in the dead of the night and they'll answer your question or address your issue in 24h without having to call them on the phone.

They have "Goals" to help you set aside money for savings and now they have shared accounts for sharing money goals, savings, and expenses with other people (not just joint account holders) with a minimum of problems.

more ...
May 18, 2017
I've been happy with them
NathanVideoPerson Account Holder

I've never had an issue with them, and their comunications have always been clear and direct.

more ...
May 18, 2017
Notifications & Goal Setting Heaven
Anonymous Account Holder

Simple is a completely online bank. I get an alert for every transaction instantly on my smartphone. I'm able to classify transactions based on predefined categories, and also create custom tags using the hashtag symbol for easy reporting. Creating goals is easy and you can move money in/out of goals just as simple. Funds moved into goals are still available in case you need it so transactions are not declined.

more ...
May 18, 2017
Seriously the best bank experience.
buccamb7 Account Holder

Simple has amazing customer service, an amazing app and web interface, and truly useful and intuitive tools to help plan spending and encourage saving.  Nothing bad to say, I think I had an issue once, and it was a pleasure to get in contact with them (I know that sounds weird, but I mean it), and they fixed it promptly.

more ...
May 18, 2017
Best online banking system I'll ever use
jnfordman Account Holder

Just try it. You'll be loving it.

more ...
May 17, 2017
Worst online banking Company!!!!
Anonymous Account Holder

Beware!! Nothing convenient about it! They love to withhold your money and take days to transfer. Easily hacked, my account was hacked without my knowledge! I didn't get any verification via email or text letting me know someone linked their account to transfer my funds! Then they tried to close my account and would not send me my balance! Worst experience I've ever had!!!!! Never again! 

more ...
May 14, 2017
Do not even think about it!
Anonymous Account Holder

Do not even think about it!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations