Simple Reviews

Simple Reviews
4.1 out of 5 stars
42 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Aug 07, 2019
We Went Full Simple
mattchimento Account Holder

My small family moved all of our banking to Simple after using them on and off for several years. We immediately began to save money faster, were able to build multiple successful budgets, and better plan our financial future. I honestly don't understand why bigger banks lack these features. We're pretty much cashless, but when we do need cash, the ATM network has worked perfectly every time.

Simple may not be for everybody, but it's the best bank I've ever used. Highly recommend.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 24, 2019
NEVER PUT YOUR MONEY IN SIMPLE BANK!
KR8090 Account Holder

Don't put your money here because you will not be able to get it out when you need it! Simple Bank is not actually a bank, they are an internet facilitator. The money you think is at Simple is really at BBVA USA. Simple bank can't wire or perform instant transfers like other banks can because they DON'T HAVE THE MONEY. They have to request it from BBVA. I have been a mortgage broker for 30 years. My clients, first time buyers, bank with Simple. When they contacted them to ask for their down payment money to be wired to the title company so they could close, Simple Bank said no. Simple's "solution" is for them to transfer no more than 10K per day to a different bank that the clients link to Simple. Then that transfer takes 3 days to occur, then they need to wait until the funds have been in the second bank long enough to wire. We dont have that kind of time. We did a conference call to Simple Bank, Tanya at Simple Bank refused to transfer us to a supervisor - said their supervisors don't take calls. Then we got a customer experience rep who was the one who admitted they can do a rush on a cashiers check because they dont' actually have the money. This "bank" is a fraud and a scam. if I could give them zero stars I would.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Jun 25, 2020
Love it.
Anonymous8 Account Holder

Honestly I should have tried Simple sooner, but I was skeptical and now I'm kicking myself in the teeth. Having this account quite literally makes my financial live simpler. I can't stress enough how great the budgeting aspect of this account has been for me. I am finally able to keep my money in one bank yet SEPARATED. I'm getting rid of two of my major banks in favor of this one. The only thing I wish for (as with all mobile banks) is an easier way to add cash. But I will say that transferring money from my other bank accounts onto this one has been painless so far!

more ...
Jun 25, 2020
good til it wasn't....
yld4rae Account Holder

The safe to spend is a joke and is not real time...the lady actually told me that your safe to spend balance is not actually what's in your account.  Be that as it may, I keep very detailed records of my spending outside of the app, and my balance never adds up.  i was told, on one occasion that i my account went up by $50 because of a hold that was released by merchant.  but when i asked if merchants hold an amount larger than what was paid, I was told no.  So then, who was holding this $50 and why did it just pop up in my account??? thusly,  if I pay a bill, and if the company doesn't take it out over the weekend, Simple will credit a portion back to your account but there won't be an actually transaction in your ledger. 

Basically your daily  "safe to spend" will vascilate with the wind if you pay bills or try to conduct any type of real business.  And then, not helpful or sympathetic.  Twice I've gone to bed with a positvite balance then woke up to a notification that I've spend $30 or $40 over what was "safe to spend" and my account was in the negative.  If I get paid $100 and spend $95 in bills...whatever holds and payments should be for $95. and if a merchant is doing shady ****, protect me as a consumer.  I"ve been a client for several years.  thousands of dollars in paychecks. you think they were willing to help?  not at all.  it doesn't make sense...if I never took my balance to 0, how could i have overspent????  how sway????

more ...
Jun 17, 2020
Simply amazing
RainyKae Account Holder

Simple is hands down the best bank. I've been using them for years now with absolutely 0 complaints. Excellent customer service, I love the goals, expenses, and safe-to-spend features. And the company is full of all-around wonderful people. Plus, no fees for pretty much anything, including overdrafts!

more ...
Jun 05, 2020
Simple makes banking simple!
cgarcia19 Account Holder

I have been a customer for 6 years now and have never had any issues with Simple. The features that are offered on Simple are so helpful with managing your finances. They also don't charge you any fees! Their mobile app is super easy to use and gives you a notification any time there is a charge on your card. It has really helped me keep track all of my expenses and overall learn how to manage my finances. I will never go back to using a regular bank!

more ...
Jun 03, 2020
Pasclerasc Account Holder

It's super helpful for setting a budget and controlling your spending.

more ...
Jun 03, 2020
SIMPLE.
ricrawfo Account Holder

Just like their whole motto, everything is simple for a millenial. I do see how someone who is less tech savy would have an issue but i dont think that is the majority of their clientel. Its allowed me to save up for so many things ive been meaning to get, as well as help organize my expenses. 

more ...
Jun 03, 2020
Great App, Impossible to get your money
devolve76 Account Holder

App is great, website is great. The moment you need to make a big official purchase, you are screwed. there are no cashier's checks, no billpayment.  Buying a house, car, etc is going to be a huge problem with simple.

more ...
Apr 10, 2020
Robrogan Account Holder

I love the design and that's what got me in at first. Now I stay for the zero fees, handy savings features and a decent interest return (almost unheard of from any other checking account). They don't have physical banks so that's the only trade off. I honestly never need it though. They have partnered with some ATM companies to get us free ATM access and that's about all i need.

more ...
Apr 01, 2020
DUH!
rowansal Account Holder

You should switch already, don't be an idiot.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations