Simple Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
41 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 11, 2019
Best bank EVER!!!!!!
1Love1Heart Account Holder

This is seriously the best bank ever. You can have seperate accounts AND a joint account,you can set up protected goals/savings,you can transfer money INSTANTLY, the app is extremely clean and 'simple' 😉, the customer service is 5 🌟 alone,if you need anything you can call and directly get a live person,or you can email and get an almost instant response with real help. I have zero complaints,zero!!! Been with them for four years,never regreted it.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 06, 2018
Merely a Shadow of Their Former Glory
Anonymous Account Holder

I've been a Simple client since 2013. In the beginning they were smart, helpful, and clever - responding to ideas and suggestions, and even playing along with a story about a drunken intern at a holiday party for far longer than was necessary. Sadly since the merger with BBVA Compass that wit and passion appears to have drained away and left only what the corporate overlords will allow.

The straw that broke the camel's back for me was a failure to deliver a rent check. I'd ordered it halfway throught the month, but it never arrived. Had this happened with the Bancorp iteration of Simple I believe they'd have literally fallen over themselves to help out and make things right, but the BBVA Compass iteration mustered a return of funds 2 days after the check was canceled - and only 3/4 of the late fee I was assessed by the leasing company.

Long story short, I'm saddened that what was once a magical, wonderful thing is now just another cog in the machine.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Apr 17, 2019
Be Cautious
Corgi1234 Account Holder

I've been a Simple customer for over 2 years now and in the beginning, it was amazing! Their customer service via messaging was quick, kind, and effective. I had no issues with application, getting a card, or communicating with them. Something seems to have shifted internally because their customer service is just awful now. I lost my debit card about two months ago and sent a message to get a new one. I heard nothing back from them for 5 days until I reached out to them again. They gave me a poor excuse that they were simply too busy to respond in a timely manner. Quite frankly, I find this excuse insulting. Eventually, they sent out a new card and it took a week for the card NOT to be sent to me. They had to re-verify my address, which took 3 days, and they sent out the card again for it to be delivered to the wrong address AGAIN. After about 3 weeks, I finally got my debit card. Two weeks later, there was a fraudulent charge on my debit card. I called their customer service line (since their chat support is useless) and the rep asked if I was "sure" I didn't make the charge. I had to file a dispute and am unsure if I can get my money back. Simple has an amazing product but their awful customer service negates the benefits of envelope budgeting. Their lack of transparency seems shady and they don't have the best interest of their customers in mind. 

more ...
Apr 03, 2019
Never turning back
kccarl Account Holder

No fees (ever). Digital envelope budgeting, Safe-to-Spend only displaying how much of your bank balance hasn't already been spoken for (aka helping you to stay away from the belief that you actually have all $1200 of that paycheck to drop on a tv... Kind customer service representatives. Only difficulties come when paperwork gets a little wonky - trying to iron out some of those details with an online only bank does complicate things. But I will NEVER stop recommending Simple (unless it turns into Fifth Third Bank).

more ...
Apr 03, 2019
No fees, no fines, ever.
ShellyJMcD Account Holder

If you are living paycheck to paycheck this may not be for you but if you have a little wiggle room it is great.  Superb customer service, great app with awesome tools for saving and creating goals.  I've been using them for about 5 years now and have zero complaints

more ...
Apr 03, 2019
Innovative approach to money management
AndDoYouEver Account Holder

With other Banks, I could tell how much money I had, but not whether it was "enough". Like my balance might look good but that's because I hadn't paid rent and utilities yet...
With Simple, I don't have to worry about this, I have my account set up so that all my known upcoming expenses have money set aside throughout the month. Simple does all the math and makes sure the expenses are fully funded by their due dates.
Simple shows a "safe to spend" balance that is a true reflection of how much money I have that isn't already "spoken for". It's fantastic and I love it.

more ...
Mar 26, 2019
good app horrible bank
Emersonck Account Holder

I love the app on this bank. The website is easy to use as well. However as a bank they are the worst I've ever delt with. Banks are supposed to do two things: Protect your money and allow you convient access to it. And Simple is not good at either. Last year I had a 50$ fraudulent charge on my card. They're only option is to deactivate your current card and have you wait two weeks for a new one. The only way you can get money is you can make a one time withdraw from your bank account at an atm while on the phone with a staff memeber. That's it. You gotta make whatever you pull outta that atm last you two weeks. If you lose your card like I did a couple weeks ago. You are out of luck. Besides venmo and paypal - neither of which you can buy groceries or gas with - you can't get your money out. for two weeks!! This is unacceptable. I called three times looking for ways to get money and was never told of any way to expedited the new card. Eventually I couldn't pay my phone bill so I couldn't call. I messaged them on their website and after two days and three messages I got a reply that they were passing along my message to the apropriate team. It's been 3 days and I've messaged them 5 times - no reply. I messaged them on facebook and someone told me they'd "let their team know". Don't know what that means but I haven't gotten a reply. They bank is not a safe for you money it's a prison, and their customer service is beyond bad.  

more ...
Mar 06, 2019
The best thing to happen to finance
enlnc Account Holder

I'm baffled by some of the harsh reviews on here. I've been a member of Simple since it's early BankSimple days, and I have to tell you, this is company is amazing. Maybe its years with Wells Fargo that is setting the bar a little too low, but Simple has phenomenol customer service, intuitive budgeting features, and a top rate app. I think most people don't realize how powerful and numerous the features are, like automatic check mailing and the Goals/Expenses sections.  I love their high yield savings account that lives inside your account -- its not the *very* best yield APY but it's close to the best, and given the instantaneous transfer to my regular checking account, it totally wins. What else can I say. Exporting your data off their site is super easy.  Writing memos about each transaction is a godsend. One minor bonus, I was one of the lucky ones to get in their paper check program, which I hope they expand to more customers; it allowed us to completely rid ourselves of Wells Fargo for that 1-2 times a year we needed to write a paper check. I'm not one to write reviews, but this is one of those few companies that I will totally evangelize and tell everyone about - it's just that good. 

more ...
Jan 11, 2019
Best bank EVER!!!!!!
1Love1Heart Account Holder

This is seriously the best bank ever. You can have seperate accounts AND a joint account,you can set up protected goals/savings,you can transfer money INSTANTLY, the app is extremely clean and 'simple' 😉, the customer service is 5 🌟 alone,if you need anything you can call and directly get a live person,or you can email and get an almost instant response with real help. I have zero complaints,zero!!! Been with them for four years,never regreted it.

more ...
Jan 02, 2019
Closed with no reason given
Foolishkarma Account Holder

Closed my account almost two weeks after opening it while I was waiting on a deposit. Refused to tell me why. This tied up my money for almost a month. Really frustrating. Stay away from Simple.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 10, 2019

Same experience. Stay away.

 
Jan 02, 2019
Customer Service is Extremely Outstandin
IrishGot10 Account Holder

Mobile Apps do not get any better than this

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations