Auto Loan Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Wells Fargo Auto Loans

1.9 out of 5 stars
33 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year


Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2 5

Compare Auto Loan Rates

View your top Auto Loan recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.


Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 07, 2016
Pleased with Wells Fargo Dealer Services
YoungKelz89 Borrower

I felt the need to write this review after reading all the negative ones. First of all, Wells Fargo was there when I needed a vehicle the most. At the time, my score was 610 and Capital One approved me for a loan with a rate of 17.99 %. The financial advisor for the Hyundai dealership told me I should try with Wells Fargo, so I agreed. They not only approved me for a loan, but the rate was lower at 11.99%. Yes, it was high, but I made poor choices between the ages of 18 - 21. I am 24 months into my loan and I have NO COMPLAINTS. I have never been late and I have never needed to speak with a customer care specialist since the website is simple and easy to use. I intend on refinancing this loan next month.. but the moral of it all is the following: They were there when I needed them and AS LONG AS I PAY ON TIME.. THERE ARE NO PROBLEMS. If you agree to a loan, pay the **** thing on time. By paying this loan on time, along with responsible use of my two credit cards, my score is now 710. ALL IN TWO YEARS TIME! All these 1 and 2 star reviews are seriously uncalled for. Anyway, I hope if you are reading this and you need a car and have been trying your best to improve your credit, give Wells Fargo a look. Just be reasonable and take an honest look at your finances. Purchase a vehicle well within your budget and what you can afford monthly. Don't be a fool. Anyway, Wells Fargo has been good to me. You won't be dissapointed. :)

more ...

Was this review helpful?


Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 07, 2016
Corrupt Unfair Credit Reporting
t00ngir1 Borrower

Paid loan in full 2010  (have letterhead to prove), yet they made multiple 30 day late entries on my credit reports dated 2011. Filed several disputes to no avail (they refuse to remove the negative items).  BBB report filed today. Considering legal action.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?


These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Oct 06, 2016
Agoodin71 Borrower

They hit me with bogus late fees at pay off and it took me 3 years to get my title because they kept screwing it up!! Never again!

more ...
Sep 22, 2016
Anonymous Borrower

The only company I know that within 18 months of having the loan has repeatedly applied additional principle payment to future interest and deposited my auto loan payment over a week before due date then turns around and charges late fees and has hateful collectors call demanding payment for a payment you already made in full PLUS some!  A W F U L

more ...
Sep 06, 2016
Tth96 Borrower

I'm not sure why people are dissing this loan. This was my first auto loan. Was offered it at 14.99% interest. With a cosigner it dropped to 5.91%. Never have had a late payment, they report to the credit companies. Never had an issue so far. Their customer service could be a bit better. Longest I waited was about 15 minutes.

more ...
Aug 16, 2016
New car day after bankruptcy
bwell99 Borrower

I was able to finance a brand new Kia the day after my bankruptcy discharged with no down payment. They treated me well. Saved 1/2 point for opening a checking and 1/2 point for autopay. Never had a problem. But I was living in California so I could just walk in a branch and never had to use their customer service. Will be visiting them for a refi as soon as I can pay down my credit cards. 

more ...
Aug 07, 2016
horrible interest rate

i had to go to the branch to finish this loan and they dont communicate with whoever approved the loan! ****ty interest rate as well! i applied at pentagon federal credit union and got 10% less apr than wells fargo offered me!!

more ...
Aug 01, 2016
Auto Loan from Wells Fargo
Anonymous Borrower

Despite never having a late payment I consistently receive the worst phone customer service of my life. Frequent bogus charges are added to the account which takes literally hours and up to five phone calls to resolve. Each customer service agent is rude and apparently very uneducated. Stay away from this group for an auto loan. 

more ...
Jul 26, 2016
Anonymous Borrower

wells fargo sucks they said i have all of these late payments i sent them proof and they still have not removed them from my credit report it,s killing my credit score 

more ...
Jul 02, 2016
Hak1002 Borrower

The loan process was fine no issues there. Trying to get a lein release in a timely manner is ridiculous, especially if you're working with home lenders that need the paid in full letter right away. They also do not report every month. Has not reported since May.

more ...
Jun 27, 2016
Worst Loan Provider Period!!!
IHateWF2 Borrower

Stay away from Wells Fargo Dealer services, unless you feel like being treated like a kindergartner every day you have the loan with them. You will have to have your auto insurance agent send them documentation every time your policy renews or they threaten you with providing their insurance. Which is probably 20x higher than your currently paying for insurance? If you like that level of service then this provider is for you.

more ...
Jun 20, 2016
Auto loan - Horrible web interface
Anonymous Borrower

Wells Fargo Dealer Services has the most antiquated website interface I have encountered in many years.  After scheduling a payment, if you want to reschedule, there is no web option to manage future payments, you must call them, during limited business hours.  The username rules are some of the most convoluted and pointless security theatre I have ever seen.  The password rules actually make it LESS secure.

Horrible web interface.  Poor customer experience.  Avoid using them as a loan provider.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations