Wells Fargo Auto Loans Reviews

1.8 out of 5 stars
20 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2 5

Compare Auto Loan Rates

View your top Auto Loan recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 07, 2016
Pleased with Wells Fargo Dealer Services
YoungKelz89 Borrower

I felt the need to write this review after reading all the negative ones. First of all, Wells Fargo was there when I needed a vehicle the most. At the time, my score was 610 and Capital One approved me for a loan with a rate of 17.99 %. The financial advisor for the Hyundai dealership told me I should try with Wells Fargo, so I agreed. They not only approved me for a loan, but the rate was lower at 11.99%. Yes, it was high, but I made poor choices between the ages of 18 - 21. I am 24 months into my loan and I have NO COMPLAINTS. I have never been late and I have never needed to speak with a customer care specialist since the website is simple and easy to use. I intend on refinancing this loan next month.. but the moral of it all is the following: They were there when I needed them and AS LONG AS I PAY ON TIME.. THERE ARE NO PROBLEMS. If you agree to a loan, pay the **** thing on time. By paying this loan on time, along with responsible use of my two credit cards, my score is now 710. ALL IN TWO YEARS TIME! All these 1 and 2 star reviews are seriously uncalled for. Anyway, I hope if you are reading this and you need a car and have been trying your best to improve your credit, give Wells Fargo a look. Just be reasonable and take an honest look at your finances. Purchase a vehicle well within your budget and what you can afford monthly. Don't be a fool. Anyway, Wells Fargo has been good to me. You won't be dissapointed. :)

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Nov 15, 2012
TERRIBLE WITH PAYOFF DIRECTIONS!!!
Anonymous Borrower

I work for an auto dealership.  Part of my job includes sending payoff checks to lenders for customers who have traded in their vehicles.  Wells Fargo Dealer Services is by far the most disorganized lender I have ever dealt with.  Roughly 50% of the time I send a payoff (with a clear endorsement and title directions) to this bank they mail the title to the previous owner.  When I call to ask where the title is and why I haven't received it I am told that they can't release the information to me as I am not the account holder.  Let me be clear, the ONLY TIME they say this to me is when they have mailed the title to the wrong person.  Any other time they are completely forthcoming with title information.  It is very frustrating that such a large financial institution is unable to follow simple instructions and even more sad that when they do make a mistake, instead of telling the truth about it and trying to help find a solution, they pretend they are following some sort of privacy act guideline.  Why can they tell me everything I want to know about this customers loan when they haven't mismailed the documents?  Does the law change based on the address of the out going mail??  I think not.  It all comes down to the inability to admit mistake and instead hide policy and procedure that they normally follow.  If you are a dealer, keep your dealer rep's number on speed dial if you have to pay on loans off at WFDS!!! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

May 27, 2017
Anonymous Borrower

Very Rude with me, I truly will never do business with them again. Customer service is HORRIBLE.

more ...
May 11, 2017
Auto Loan
Anonymous Borrower

Bought a car and financed it with the intention of paying it off right away.  They will not accept a payoff over $3000 online or over the phone.  The only option they give for this is snail mail.  Which means you better guess how long it takes the post office to deliver it because they are charging daily interest for every day they don't receive their money.  Ridiculous.  Everyone I talked said there was nothing they could do to waive the additional interest accrued.  The last person I spoke to stated 'that is the cost of doing business with them'.  Great response in customer service.

more ...
Mar 13, 2017
Anonymous Borrower

THEY HAVE BAD CUST SRVC

more ...
Feb 22, 2017
Absolutely terrible
Anonymous Borrower

They play with your money however they like, and always to the bank's benefit, with total disregard for the client's best interests and wishes.

Stay away from Wells Fargo at all costs, or prepare for an early payoff with hundreds/thousands of dollars worth of completely unnecessary fees.

more ...
Feb 04, 2017
Good service, low interest rate
Jason1856 Borrower

Anyone who has anything negative to say is a result of them not making payment. Wells Fargo has been the best to me as a far as Auto loans.. and I have delt with some of the worst. Iam talking getting attorneys, and involving the police, the DMV and the dealer investigator unit of the DMV. Just to obtain my title. But Wells Fargo dealer service have been nothing but the absolute best. My advice to those who are complaining. You should pay your bill, and pay your insurance and there will be no issue. God Bless

more ...
Feb 02, 2017
Terrible Experience
PSD04 Borrower

Dealing with WFDS is equivalent to doing business with the MOB.  I couldn't wait to pay off my car loan just to avoid dealing with WFDS. 

They kept losing my insurance information and attempting to take out a private insurance policy on my vehicle.  I ALWAYS had the vehicle insured!

Getting the insurance situation fixed was a complete joke, they're nothing but a bunch of thugs.  STAY AWAY

They harassed me non stop about this insurance situation when I flat out refused to pay their insurance.

more ...
Jan 17, 2017
Never released the lien
Anonymous Borrower

I paid off my loan early. A year later when I sold the car it still hadn't been released and now the buyer is unable to register the car. What a nightmare for me the seller and for the buyer. Wells Fargo Customer Service had very little answers and said it would take up to a week to process... What a joke. It is almost as if they don't care. Well if they don't care then they will never again have my business!

more ...
Dec 28, 2016
DO NOT USE WELLS FARGO
gramsey1621 Borrower

Wells fargo is the worst lender when it comes to fees and customer service. As someonw who personally wrks in the financial industry i can attest that wells fargo is unethical and just plain rude when it comes to how they treat their customers. Be prepared to be blindsided by fees during the end of your loan and the nightmare that is the payoff waiting period. I would suggest using any other lender or holding off on that loan until you are approved by a more reputable and honest company.

more ...
Nov 29, 2016
Bad customer service
Anonymous Borrower

I always made my auto loan payments online so I went online to do my payment and after numerous attempts of not being able to because of an error that kept popping I had to call to make my payment.After waiting on hold for half an hour, I finally got a representative on the phone who told me I had to be transferred to my account manager because after three insufficient funds occurrences in a year I would no longer be able to make my payments online or on the phone - I would have to make my payment through them and was given a direct contact number. First of all, I feel as a customer I should've been forwarned about this so it wouldn't happen again but I never ever received any warning. I was transferred to an account manager who then proceeded to tell me that I would have to submit a CASH PAYMENT!! Are you kidding me?! One thing after another. At this point I was livid and asked why in the world I never received a notice/ warning that this was close to happening. The representative ignored my question and told me that I could do my payment at a Wells Fargo branch in cash or money gram order. I hung up out of frustration. I don't know about other people but I feel as a valued customer I should have been warned about the possibility of this before it happened. I am now looking to refinance with someone and will never do business with Wells Fargo ever again or refer them to anyone.

more ...
Nov 18, 2016
no problems
Anonymous Borrower

I've had no problems with my Wells Fargo auto loan. And I got an even lower rate than quoted!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations