Auto Loan Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Wells Fargo Auto Loans

2.0 out of 5 stars
35 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2 5

Compare Auto Loan Rates

View your top Auto Loan recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 07, 2016
Pleased with Wells Fargo Dealer Services
YoungKelz89 Borrower

I felt the need to write this review after reading all the negative ones. First of all, Wells Fargo was there when I needed a vehicle the most. At the time, my score was 610 and Capital One approved me for a loan with a rate of 17.99 %. The financial advisor for the Hyundai dealership told me I should try with Wells Fargo, so I agreed. They not only approved me for a loan, but the rate was lower at 11.99%. Yes, it was high, but I made poor choices between the ages of 18 - 21. I am 24 months into my loan and I have NO COMPLAINTS. I have never been late and I have never needed to speak with a customer care specialist since the website is simple and easy to use. I intend on refinancing this loan next month.. but the moral of it all is the following: They were there when I needed them and AS LONG AS I PAY ON TIME.. THERE ARE NO PROBLEMS. If you agree to a loan, pay the **** thing on time. By paying this loan on time, along with responsible use of my two credit cards, my score is now 710. ALL IN TWO YEARS TIME! All these 1 and 2 star reviews are seriously uncalled for. Anyway, I hope if you are reading this and you need a car and have been trying your best to improve your credit, give Wells Fargo a look. Just be reasonable and take an honest look at your finances. Purchase a vehicle well within your budget and what you can afford monthly. Don't be a fool. Anyway, Wells Fargo has been good to me. You won't be dissapointed. :)

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 07, 2016
Corrupt Unfair Credit Reporting
t00ngir1 Borrower

Paid loan in full 2010  (have letterhead to prove), yet they made multiple 30 day late entries on my credit reports dated 2011. Filed several disputes to no avail (they refuse to remove the negative items).  BBB report filed today. Considering legal action.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Nov 29, 2016
Bad customer service
Anonymous Borrower

I always made my auto loan payments online so I went online to do my payment and after numerous attempts of not being able to because of an error that kept popping I had to call to make my payment.After waiting on hold for half an hour, I finally got a representative on the phone who told me I had to be transferred to my account manager because after three insufficient funds occurrences in a year I would no longer be able to make my payments online or on the phone - I would have to make my payment through them and was given a direct contact number. First of all, I feel as a customer I should've been forwarned about this so it wouldn't happen again but I never ever received any warning. I was transferred to an account manager who then proceeded to tell me that I would have to submit a CASH PAYMENT!! Are you kidding me?! One thing after another. At this point I was livid and asked why in the world I never received a notice/ warning that this was close to happening. The representative ignored my question and told me that I could do my payment at a Wells Fargo branch in cash or money gram order. I hung up out of frustration. I don't know about other people but I feel as a valued customer I should have been warned about the possibility of this before it happened. I am now looking to refinance with someone and will never do business with Wells Fargo ever again or refer them to anyone.

more ...
Nov 18, 2016
no problems
Anonymous Borrower

I've had no problems with my Wells Fargo auto loan. And I got an even lower rate than quoted!

more ...
Nov 08, 2016
Very terrible experience with auto loan.
Anonymous Borrower

I got charge off in my credit file even after having my gap insurance and car collision insurance. Nobody contacted me after my car loss and after a long period they called me that you still owe $500. 

The resources are so not very friendly and will not explain you anything and leave you completely alone with an charge off on your account.

Please never ever take loan from them.

more ...
Oct 06, 2016
Agoodin71 Borrower

They hit me with bogus late fees at pay off and it took me 3 years to get my title because they kept screwing it up!! Never again!

more ...
Sep 22, 2016
Anonymous Borrower

The only company I know that within 18 months of having the loan has repeatedly applied additional principle payment to future interest and deposited my auto loan payment over a week before due date then turns around and charges late fees and has hateful collectors call demanding payment for a payment you already made in full PLUS some!  A W F U L

more ...
Sep 06, 2016
Tth96 Borrower

I'm not sure why people are dissing this loan. This was my first auto loan. Was offered it at 14.99% interest. With a cosigner it dropped to 5.91%. Never have had a late payment, they report to the credit companies. Never had an issue so far. Their customer service could be a bit better. Longest I waited was about 15 minutes.

more ...
Aug 16, 2016
New car day after bankruptcy
bwell99 Borrower

I was able to finance a brand new Kia the day after my bankruptcy discharged with no down payment. They treated me well. Saved 1/2 point for opening a checking and 1/2 point for autopay. Never had a problem. But I was living in California so I could just walk in a branch and never had to use their customer service. Will be visiting them for a refi as soon as I can pay down my credit cards. 

more ...
Aug 07, 2016
horrible interest rate

i had to go to the branch to finish this loan and they dont communicate with whoever approved the loan! ****ty interest rate as well! i applied at pentagon federal credit union and got 10% less apr than wells fargo offered me!!

more ...
Aug 01, 2016
Auto Loan from Wells Fargo
Anonymous Borrower

Despite never having a late payment I consistently receive the worst phone customer service of my life. Frequent bogus charges are added to the account which takes literally hours and up to five phone calls to resolve. Each customer service agent is rude and apparently very uneducated. Stay away from this group for an auto loan. 

more ...
Jul 26, 2016
Anonymous Borrower

wells fargo sucks they said i have all of these late payments i sent them proof and they still have not removed them from my credit report it,s killing my credit score 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations