Auto Loan Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

VW Credit

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Borrower Ratings
2.5 5

Compare Auto Loan Rates

View your top Auto Loan recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.


Most Helpful Positive Review

Sep 23, 2014
Approved for new 2015 GTI with 645CK

VW Credit approved me when I thought I couldn't get financing on a new car. I have 8 derogotory marks on my credit report. On top of that I am self-employed with no verifiable income, & I was a first time car buyer.

Even with all the odds agains me. VW Credit was one of two lenders willing to give me a shot. The other lender wanted to see proof of income, which I couldn't provide. I can highly appreciate the trust Volkswagen has on their cars and their customers. 

Becuase my credit is bad, I expected my interest to be high. It is, at 10%, but I needed a car now & I plan to refinance in a couple of years. 

In all it was a quick approval at the dealer & I couldn't be happier with my new car!

more ...

Most Helpful Negative Review

Nov 26, 2012
VW Credit
Anonymous Borrower

I traded my car, which was leased with VW Credit. The dealer I traded the car with sent two cashier checks to pay off the car. VW Credit sent the dealer the title to the car I traded in and the car was sold. VW Credit now claims I owe them $14k+ because one of the cashier checks wasn't signed. Mind you, they never called me nor did they call the dealer. I called them because they owe me $2400 that I over paid. They refuse to refund my money and continue to claim that I owe them. Every time I call, I am left on hold for 30 mins+ while the person tries to figure out what is going on. They continue to promise to return my calls and never do. This corporation is very irresponsible and unprofessional. No one knows what they are doing. Do NOT do business with these people. I am likely going to take legal action. 

more ...

Reviews (49)

Add Review
Oct 16, 2016
Autopay for 59 payments, fails on final
Anonymous Borrower

I don't really know what's happening, but I assume they updated their system with some sort of "off by one" error, whereby a final payment on autopay will never happen.  It's kind of funny, but I suppose it hurts my credit.  I'm going to call them Monday since they think it's 31+ days late now.  Clearly based on other folks posts here I'm not the only one with this silly issue.  VW just can't figure computers out.

more ...
Sep 19, 2016
Anonymous Borrower

I've had 2 cars loaned through vw credit. I've never been late with a payment or caused a problem. I only had to call them once in 5 years. After paying them thousands of dollars, Chan, let me know that they would do me a favor and get me a document I needed within the hour. After I spent all day on hold and told him I live an hour away and am stuck at the court house. His response again was they are going out of theit way to do me, the paying customer, a favor. Isn't that customer services job? Vw you just lost a long time customer because you treated me like I'm disposable. I'll spend my money on different cars from now on.

more ...
Aug 21, 2016
Anonymous Borrower

Approval even with poor credit.

more ...
Aug 03, 2016
Horrible Customer Service
Anonymous Borrower

The customer service of Audi Financial is the worst. It is not match to Audi Brand itself. Actually, it gives bad reputation and diminishes your brand equity.

more ...
Jul 13, 2016
Anonymous Borrower

I have a loan with them . They wrote the wrong numbers to pull the money. I had to pay the next month for two payments. They said it was their fault. They reported me to credit report for being 30 days late. I call and complain . They say they can't remove it. I'm going after them now to the BBB. And my lawyer. Shame on VW to allow this. Will never buy a VW again.

more ...
Jul 02, 2016
sassyerica Borrower



more ...
Jul 25, 2016

Just wait until something weird happens to your account.

Apr 01, 2016
Anonymous Borrower

Bought a car from Audi dealer, who got a loan from VW credit.Later on I found that dealer can keep part of finance charge.When cotacted Vw credit what is the loan rate approved thru Iliinois Attorney general's office,they forwarded the letter to Audi financial in Oregon with pobox address and a tel# which accepts voice mail only.

Audi dealer refused to give what VW credit loan offer was??,It  seems that they allow dealers a commission of 1% or kickback or bribe to get business.Interestingly they do it openly,on sale contract at dealership.

These guys are masters of financial engineering not just pollution engineers. 

more ...
Apr 17, 2016

This is standard in the auto industry. Interest rates when you are not Tier 1 are negotiable.

Mar 11, 2016
Horrible Customer Service
tvall829 Borrower

I lease a car through Audi Financial. I have never once in my life had a late payment on anything. I logged in to the website, submitted a one time payment and signed up for auto-pays. A few weeks later I recieved a phone call that my account was 36 days overdue. I had no idea how this was possible, I logged in and paid it. I immediately paid it in full but they STILL reported me to the credit agencies for a late payment, after I paid. They called me at 36 days past due, instead of 29 days, and they still reported me even though I immediately paid it.  This brought my near perfect credit score down 90 points! Yes, one payment, 90 points!

I immediately called them to fight this and they just kept saying there was nothing they could do. I searched my browser history and sent them a screen shot of all the landing pages- me paying the bill and submitting auto-pay! It was all there, everything I said that I did. Some kind of technical issue caused they payment to not appear on their end. They claim this is not sufficient evidence!

A phone call, email, letter, something notifying me about a late payment before reporting me to the credit agencies is just customer service- and this company has none. We are expecting our first child and can no longer buy the home we had planned on because our rate will be so affected by this one payment. We were about to lease another car next month for when the baby arrives and we had a VW picked out. Not anymore, I absolutely refuse to ever work with this company again, worst customer experience encounter I have ever had. 

more ...
Apr 17, 2016

So you blame VW for you not checking to make sure your payment posted? You didn't notice you had extra money in your account for over a month? I HIGHLY doubt ONE late payment cost you 90 points. If it did, you do not have perfect score.

Jul 25, 2016

Sadly the same thing happen to us, although we were traveling and came back to a notice mailed while we were out about our payment not taking.. They never called us at all, had they call us, we could have made our payment in time. Our checking account balance is high enough, that I didn't notice it hadn't come out of ur account. With 20 years of no lates and credit in the high 700's this was very disappointing for us, as now we are at 680.

Jan 26, 2016
Class action
Anonymous Borrower

You people seem to be having the same issues you all should be getting something in the mail. A class action is coming. 

more ...
Apr 29, 2016

Formerly a VW Fan, since 1986

Apr 29, 2016

I made a mistake - financed a TDI through VW Credit thinking I'd refinance at the credit union shortly I did with my previous Sportwagen TDI. However, the stinky car scandal erupted not long after I bought the car...and NOBODY wants this car OR wants to refinance it. It's not about me, it's about my Volkswagen. Volkswagen credit's policy, according to a Supervisor, is that they simply do not refinance. End of story. HOWEVER, according a judge in San Francisco, Volkswagen MUST come up with a possible buy back program, a possible reimbursement plan, and a possible "fix it" plan. The judge MUST approve what VW proposes by the end of July, 2016. So some positive steps are formulating. This car is producing almost 40 times more nitrous oxide than is allowable by law. Not ok.

Jan 11, 2016
Horrible, Inconsiderate company
Anonymous Borrower

I've had my 2015 Vw Jetta for a year. And I ran across troubles in my life and needed help from them and they won't do anything for me. They'll tell once I make one payment the give me an extension. Once I do that they'll add another stipulation as to why they can't give me an extension. If you are considering doing business with them don't. Better financing through bank or credit union. I would never in my life do business with again. 

more ...
Apr 17, 2016

They run a business. If it isn't in your contract, that isn't there fault. Give yourself one star for not having a fall back fund. You need some Suze Orman in your life.

Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this loan overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this loan?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations