Auto Loan Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

VW Credit

1.4 out of 5 stars
19 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

1.5 5

Compare Auto Loan Rates

View your top Auto Loan recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Feb 14, 2017
Will NEVER lease another VW terrible...
Anonymous Borrower

VW is convinced that I am one month behind in payments but I have proved them worng on several occasions giving my full payment history including paying a property tax which was no applied correctly at first. I will NEVER get near a VW again, the experience with VW Credit has been THAT bad. I wish I had read reviews on dealing with these people prior to signing up. STAY AWAY!

more ...
Feb 08, 2017
Anonymous Borrower

Leased a VW car, the return service is awful.  To schedule a lease return inspection, they give you all the run around.  Was on phone with them for almost 3 days at least 3-4 times per day just to schedule for inspection.  Awful!

more ...
Feb 01, 2017
Leased a golf
Anonymous Borrower

They are absolutely horrible, greedy, crooks. They essentially imprison you in a lease, leaving you with no options. Not to mention, their customer service willl hide things, not tell you the truth or the whole truth, cover things up, and each person you speak to will give you different information. They supposedly offer the "lease transfer" option now, but it's at the complete and total risk of the person originally on the lease, and it is EXTREMELY difficult because everyone at VW customer service is useless. They told me it takes 7-10 days to process a credit application for a potential lease takeover (and yet, it took them 10 seconds to process mine!) and then drag out the entire process by making each step difficult and time consuming. At the end, your're stuck on the lease anyway. I will NEVER lease or buy with VW again. Given the problems they are having with that whole diesel disaster, you'd think they would be wanting to improve their customer service a bit. Do not waste your money, your time, or your stress capacity on these people. Go somewhere else for your car.

more ...
Jan 30, 2017
Charging undue sales tax
bncav Borrower

I moved to another state last year and the lease transfer process seemed to be just O.K. The problem is that they continue to charge the tax from my previous state, even being public that my new state charges all taxes upfront (what I correctly paid at the time of registration). My other two cars are also leases and the other manufacturer's banks just updated their information and amount dues accordingly. But AudiFS would not do that: they want proof that I paid the taxes and transferred the car (what is ridiculous since the DMV here sent the new title to them). NOw, I will need to go to the DMV again and request proof of payment. With this and the number of small anoying problems I had with my car, I will definitely not rely on Audi for my next vehicle.

more ...
Jan 26, 2017
Horrible to deal with
Anonymous Borrower

They tell you one pay off and then when they find out you are not purchasing another VW product the pay off number changes because of added fees. Very unethical and possibly illegal.

more ...
Dec 02, 2016
Unethical business practice
Anonymous Borrower

Never lease VW 

I leased a Volkswagen a few years ago and my lease ended at the end of June 2016. Several months before my lease was up, Lindsay VW sales consultants started contacting me by e-mail, by phone, non-stop to the point I felt harassed. I had never met them, yet they kept contacting me trying to sell or lease another VW vehicle. Reading their good reviews, I believe they write them themselves, my experience was not pleasant compared to other sales representative from other car dealerships I dealt with. 

I have excellent credit rating, paid all my monthly payments and the termination invoice on time. Three months after my lease ended, I started getting property tax invoices for the rest of the year of 2016. It seems that Lindsay VW never contacted the Treasurer's office to inform about the termination of my lease. I don't think it was my responsibility to do so, however,  I did contact them and advised that I had terminated the lease of the vehicle. Regardless of that, nothing  changed VW Credit practice of billing me for property taxes that I don't owe. 

I have now been fighting with VW Credit for over three months for unpaid property taxes. County Treasurer's office has confirmed that I absolutely owe nothing for the rest of the year, yet VW Credit keeps sending me the property tax invoices. Latest invoice I received included first six months of 2016, that I already paid in January, and a decal fee. What a joke. 

In a nutshell, I loved the car but after dealing with relentless, pushy VW sales people and VW Credit unethical business practice, I will never buy or lease another VW,

more ...
Nov 22, 2016
Dont do this to yourself.

Overall a horibble experience. Interest rates were much higher than i was originally told, Payment on their sites dont work at all. Customer service is just terrieble. I miss one payment it i brought my score down 220 points. They do not do good will adjustments and are overall just nightmare. I cant stress enough how unhappy i am with vwcredit. I love volkswagen as vechiles but i will never use their finace option again.

more ...
Nov 09, 2016
WTF
ylou Borrower

Signed up for autopay. Last payment didn't go through because their system is super broken. Now my credit score dropped by ~50 points because they reported a missing payment to the credit agencies despite the VW CSR telling me it was removed. 

Awful. 

more ...
Nov 08, 2016
Horrible Customer Service - Incompetent
Anonymous Borrower

I had a lease with VW credit. I made every payment for 3 years on time - despite all of their system issues which made that very difficult. I'm trying to purchase my car at the end of my lease. Nightmare. I have paid them for my car almost a month ago. I'm already paying on the car loan with my credit union (I couldn't imagine dealing with them for an actual loan after my lease experience). I can't get the title, registration or tax information. I have sent them their documents via trackable mail two times now and faced it and it is always something. I now am looking at a fine if I don't pay the tax on my vehicle within 30 days of purchase. After being on hold close to an hour every time I call, I get a different person with a different answer. Avoid VW Credit at all costs. Worst experience ever. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations