Toyota Financial Services Reviews

1.4 out of 5 stars
10 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5

Compare Auto Loan Rates

View your top Auto Loan recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Jan 17, 2018
Inaccurate and merciless
xferior Borrower

I have a five-year loan. First 50 payments were all made on time. When I got a new bank account, I switched my automatic payment to deduct from the new account. I received VERBAL CONFIRMATION from a representative on the phone at Toyota. Apparently later that day they cancelled my automatic payments and never informed me, by phone or by email. Since I assumed that automatic payments were going through, I didn't notice I missed two payments. When they called to collect, I paid immediately. Meanwhile, they reported the missed payment and my credit scores went down by 120 points. I called to ask them to rescind the report since THEY cancelled my automatic payments without telling me, and they said "we'll see". Seriously, "we'll see"! Two weeks pass before I am informed that they don't care at all and aren't going to change anything. SHAME SHAME SHAME ON YOU. What is the point of automatic payments if you have to check every month to make sure they didn't just decide to cancel them?

more ...
Jan 09, 2018
Total Loss Department
Anonymous Borrower

I was in a car accident on 10/23/16. My car was deemed a total loss, and I still owed over $12,000 on my car loan. Now, I have gap insurance that I bought through the dealer, TOYOTA, for over $500. So after I go my settlement from my car insurance for over $10,000, I thought the rest would be taken care of by gap. This was my first car accident and I've had no experience with this in the past, but both TransAmerica (gap insurance) and Toyota Financial Services have been a complete NIGHTMARE. First of all, Toyota does not work with you whatsoever concerning your payments. They won't lower your payment. They won't waive a payment for a TOTALLED CAR THAT YOU CAN NO LONGER DRIVE. Nothing. From the beginning, they haven't done their job. They didn't tell me everything I needed to know. I have had to call both gap and them countless times, essentially on top of them to do even the tiniest of things. For example, they said they filed the gap claim and everything was in order. Then I called GAP, and they told me that there was a mechanical breakdown warranty that needed to be cancelled and refunded before they could process their claim. No one at Toyota told me about this, and when they called about it they said I should contact my dealer directly to get this done. Keep in mind, this is a month down the line and I'm having to make payments on a car I can't drive and on a car i had to get it to replace it. So I have to harass my dealer to cancel the warranty and refund the warranty amount to the dealer. That took an entire MONTH. Once the refund was received at Toyota, the people I spoke with kept saying that a payment history was sent to my gap insurance so that gap could FINALLY process my claim. At this point, I've had to make 2 payments on a totalled car. So i'm out of over $500, and they can't even guarantee me that I will reimbursed. So I call Gap to confirm that they've received the payment history, and guess what, they HAVEN'T. Toyota sent it over a week ago, and they haven't received it. On top of everything, these people are insanely rude and useless. They can't do anything for you. I'm trying to get a copy of the payment history for myself because I no longer trust this company or their employees, and none of their faxes are coming through. So I call 3/4 times and on the last time they tell me..."oh it will take up 48 hrs for the fax to come through!" NOT ONE OF THE FIRST 3 PEOPLE I TALKED TO SAID THAT TO ME. NOT ONE! I owe basically nothing on my loan now, less than what I paid for gap insurance in the first place. PLEASE! PLEASE DO NOT GET A LOAN WITH TOYOTA FINANCIAL SERVICES, DO NOT BUY TOYOTA CARS, AND DO NOT BUY GAP THROUGH YOUR DEALER!!! These people screw you over. 

more ...
Nov 29, 2017
Unprofessional charlatans
Anonymous Borrower

Leased 2014 corrola.

Made all payments to June 2017 5 months later they had sent my details to Credit Collection company demanding $800+, despite car being returned to dealer in excellent condition and with 2,000 miles less than the 36,000 originally leased for. Toyota never informed me of any payment due, they simply sent it to a 3rd party now my credit rating has been hit. Do not believe anyone at Toyota, especially the finance people, they all just want your money without any return service.

more ...
Sep 18, 2017
Never ending fees with a Toyota lease
Anonymous Borrower

Know that when you lease a Toyota you will be paying fees at the beginning of the lease, in the middle and at the end.  You may think you are done paying, but they will keep sending you fees for various, made-up charges.  I now have a Ford which doesn't charge bogus fees.  At least with a Ford I know what my monthly payments truly are.

more ...
Jul 12, 2017
Inaccurate and merciless.
Zetta Borrower

Had a loan for 5 years. It ended back in 2014.

I start shopping for cars about a month ago and notice there is a single negative remark on my credit score from Toyota Financial in 2012 for "$0 Overdue".

I reach out to them and pull old bank statements from the date to show them I paid them on time.

They respond by saying that they believe their records are accurate and would not reverse the negative mark.

Even so, you'd think that with this mark being 5 years old they may have reversed it on good faith even if they found some fault. 

Now I need to submit to the credit companies directly.

I've been with Toyota for a long time, but now it's time to say goodbye.

more ...
May 09, 2017
Credit never came!
Anonymous Borrower

We cancelled our gap insurance way back in January 2018.  It is now May 2017 and we have yet to see the credit in the account.  I have called Toyota Financials every 2 weeks for the last 4 months and everytime I called they say they have to go back to the gap insurance division and find out where the check went.  The gap insurance dept has acknowledged that the check has already been cashed but no one seems to be able to trace where it is and so no one can give us the credit.  In the meantime, us the consumer is that it is being looked at and should be reflected in the account in 7-10 days and 2 weeks pass, it is still not in our account and I get to call again and go through the same routine.  Been doing this for 4 months and still waiting.  There has to be something that can be done with this.

more ...
Apr 28, 2017
Where is my title?!
Anonymous Borrower

It's been over a month now and still no title in hand. Multiple calls and each time they tell me "it was shipped yesterday". They are in Torrance California, I'm in San Francisco California... if they shipped it "yesterday" I would of had it in my hands in a few days! This is ridiculous. Every single time I call them no one knows what's going on. I'm always getting transferred to different departments, get placed on hold again then they tell me it was shipped yesterday, every single time. They are literally causing me financial problems because I need to sell my vehicle before I leave out of state. I cannot even purchase my plane ticket because I don't know when I'll get my title so I can sell my vehicle. 

I cannot believe such a huge company could be so disorganized. When I ask for a tracking number for my title they say they don't offer tracking. All the money I've spent and they cannot even pay a few bucks for tracking? That's my original vehicle title they are shipping! 

I've had a Nissan, a honda and an Audi prior to switching to Toyota. I have received my title from all three Nissan, Audi  and Honda within two to three weeks after payoff, I never even had to call them for it. Toyota, I have to jump through hoops and do tons of research only to still not get where I need to be because of their incompetence. This alone is the reason I'll never trust and buy from toyota as a whole ever again. First and last time. Ill stick all other companies from now on and skip out on all toyotas. 

Toyota, get your financial services department organized. When people don't know what department to send customers to or when the correct department does not have the answers then you're not organized. Even just one customer you lose is a huge loss to your company. Especially with how many people one person can reach in their entirety on social media.... with over 22 million followers on all my accounts I will be ranting on my social media pages in the coming weeks about my whole ordeal with this company.

- Smosh

more ...
Apr 15, 2017
They stolen my money
l3arfee Borrower

They over charged me $300 , after calling for 6 month they gave me a check , and now the check was returned , and i got charged for another $12.
They are modern thiefs, will never buy toyota again.

more ...
Mar 01, 2017
Great
Anonymous Borrower

TFS is great and my Corolla is almost paid off and looking at getting a new car. 

more ...
Mar 01, 2017
HORRIBLE!
Anonymous Borrower

I used TFS for a lease of a Prius.  Following the lease, I puchased the vehicle but TFS continued debiting the lease payment.  I have been requesting a refund of the overpayment for nearly 6 months and getting absolutely nowhere.  At this point, they acknowledge the overpayment but need to do further research on why it happened before they can process a refund.  Hello????  It may be their business model to defraud customers with the expectation that it will never catch up with them?  I would never do business with this company again. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations