SunTrust Auto Loans Reviews

2.0 out of 5 stars
8 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2 5

Compare Auto Loan Rates

View your top Auto Loan recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

May 21, 2017
No problems
Anonymous Borrower

I have had my car loan with them for a year.  Have not had any problems.  Just wish I could make my payment on line and not have to call or mail.

more ...
Apr 28, 2017
horriable!!!!!
Anonymous Borrower

DUE DATE FOR MY CAR PAYMENT IS THE 21ST OF EVERY MONTH LATE PAYMENT KICKS IN ON THE 6TH OF THE NEXT MONTH. BUT THEY WILL START CALLING ON THE 27TH  IF YOU ARE MORE THEN 8 DAYS LATE THEIR COLLECTIONS DEPARTMENT WILL CALL YOU . EVEN AT 9PM AT NIGHT. WORST CAR LOAN COMPANY I HAVE EVER HAD A LOAN WITH. STAY AWAY IF YOU CAN.

more ...
Mar 15, 2017
Worst bank in Florida
mothman2u Borrower

Customer service is awful, their online website and ap never works and when you call them, their excuse is "its not on our end" But I have had every geek in a 30 mile radius hired to check my system and its in good order. When you call, you get a miserable employee who hates their job and hates you. I have been a customer since 1998 and just cancelled everything in 2016 as I just got sick and tired of it. I could never log in my account as there was always errors. The ap was horrible. 1 day it works then for a week it doesnt.

Do not sign up any accounts with this bank. I am with Bank of America now and its such a breath of fresh air. Their online website works, ap works, customer service is much better. AVOID SUNTRUST at all costs.

more ...
Jan 06, 2017
If I could give this one star I would!
Anonymous Borrower

You can't view your loan account unless you have a bank account with them. Long story short they went in my bank account and took my payment without my permission. I had other stuff coming out of my account. What if I didn't have enough to cover everything? I didn't know this was legal. So disappointed! 

more ...
Sep 23, 2016
Horrible
kcca Borrower

They have the worst customer service I have ever had to deal with!  I consigned for my sons loan and actually am the one who made the payments.  They would not give us a form to say he was current on the loan in order for him to get a small loan for a used motorcycle.  We had to do a 3-way call and then 2 weeks later we were told they were repossessing the vehicle.  We fought to no avail and ended up selling his car and paying off the loan to suntrust.  THen it took us a full month for them to finalize the paperwork and submit the info to our state for the title to be released.  This almost caused us to lose the sale of the vehicle!  This company really SUCKS for customer service and policies.  Still not sure how we went from payed up to date to getting reposed in less than a month!

more ...
Sep 19, 2016
Auto Loan
Pixpix Borrower

I got my auto loan through Suntrust (nothing else, I abnk with another institution) since they gave me the lowest rates. I don't understand all the comments about no online payment, I set up an autopayement that drafts directly from my checking account monthly. I've had no problems and I am  happy with the rates I got on this loan.

more ...
Sep 05, 2016
Auto loan.
Anonymous Borrower

Contrary to one post suggesting that we are all lazy because we complain we can't pay our payments thru an app, it's because my life is so busy with not much extra time that I appreciate the convenience of a mobile app to quickly make a payment. So quite the opposite. I only have the auto loan with them. I can make my payment from my laptop but I cannot make it from the mobile app. I.have a Samsung Galaxy S6 so I don't think the issue is my phone. This is very frustrating. I too am going to refinance just to get away from this problem.

more ...
Jul 07, 2016
Anonymous Borrower

SunTrust bank is a JOKE. Have to have checking account to do ANYTHING online, checking account requires large minimum dep, amd $7 a month maintenance fee. Really guys? No way to check receipt of payment or anything. Absolutely rediculous. I will NEVER deal with them again. And I highly recommend that you don't either. They desperately need to get with the times.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations