Auto Loan Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

SunTrust Auto Loans

2.4 out of 5 stars
11 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2.5 5

Compare Auto Loan Rates

View your top Auto Loan recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Dec 15, 2015
Auto Loan
Anonymous Borrower

Best rate out there on an auto loan. 

No online payment unless you bank with them. Not a big deal, just set a recurring payment through your bank's bill pay system. If you don't have a bank that has a bill pay system then you have no room to complain about another bank's lack of online services. Just sayin...

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 15, 2016
Poor customer service, no online payment
Anonymous Borrower

Suntrust gave me a good rate, so I went with them. I have been with Suntrust for nearly a year and honestly, they hire reps that are rude and uneducated, and their customer services are terrible. Not to mention they have NO online payment, you have to pay with their so call "coupon book" or call them to make a payment every month. Which is extremely inconvenience especially there are no local branches around. I would not use them again.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Sep 23, 2016
Horrible
kcca Borrower

They have the worst customer service I have ever had to deal with!  I consigned for my sons loan and actually am the one who made the payments.  They would not give us a form to say he was current on the loan in order for him to get a small loan for a used motorcycle.  We had to do a 3-way call and then 2 weeks later we were told they were repossessing the vehicle.  We fought to no avail and ended up selling his car and paying off the loan to suntrust.  THen it took us a full month for them to finalize the paperwork and submit the info to our state for the title to be released.  This almost caused us to lose the sale of the vehicle!  This company really SUCKS for customer service and policies.  Still not sure how we went from payed up to date to getting reposed in less than a month!

more ...
Sep 19, 2016
Auto Loan
Pixpix Borrower

I got my auto loan through Suntrust (nothing else, I abnk with another institution) since they gave me the lowest rates. I don't understand all the comments about no online payment, I set up an autopayement that drafts directly from my checking account monthly. I've had no problems and I am  happy with the rates I got on this loan.

more ...
Sep 05, 2016
Auto loan.
Anonymous Borrower

Contrary to one post suggesting that we are all lazy because we complain we can't pay our payments thru an app, it's because my life is so busy with not much extra time that I appreciate the convenience of a mobile app to quickly make a payment. So quite the opposite. I only have the auto loan with them. I can make my payment from my laptop but I cannot make it from the mobile app. I.have a Samsung Galaxy S6 so I don't think the issue is my phone. This is very frustrating. I too am going to refinance just to get away from this problem.

more ...
Jul 07, 2016
Anonymous Borrower

SunTrust bank is a JOKE. Have to have checking account to do ANYTHING online, checking account requires large minimum dep, amd $7 a month maintenance fee. Really guys? No way to check receipt of payment or anything. Absolutely rediculous. I will NEVER deal with them again. And I highly recommend that you don't either. They desperately need to get with the times.

more ...
Mar 15, 2016
Poor customer service, no online payment
Anonymous Borrower

Suntrust gave me a good rate, so I went with them. I have been with Suntrust for nearly a year and honestly, they hire reps that are rude and uneducated, and their customer services are terrible. Not to mention they have NO online payment, you have to pay with their so call "coupon book" or call them to make a payment every month. Which is extremely inconvenience especially there are no local branches around. I would not use them again.

more ...
Feb 02, 2016
Used Auto Loan
Anonymous Borrower

The loan had a lower interest rate than most, but the customer service was terrible.  When I called to talk to someone they would act like I knew nothing and was very rude.

more ...
Jan 28, 2016
Terrible customer service
Anonymous Borrower

Now that they have online payments their system is horrible. I set up automatic payments with the online account I have. After a month my online account was suspended without my knowledge due to "suspicious activity" mind you I only have a loan account with them. My automatic payments were not received I called up after I realized I had not been charged and they had sent my account to collections. All this without them ever once contacting me. I even spoke with a representative on the phone to figure out why they couldn't have contacted me and his only response was well they should have. They have all my correct information, but never once contacted me about multiple different issues. I'm planning on refinancing asap and if that doesn't work just selling the car and eating the difference. This bank is terrible for any loan services as you can see by their reviews. I strongly recomend you use anyone other than suntrust. 

more ...
Jan 25, 2016
no online payment
Anonymous Borrower

its 2016, i can't pay online or check my balance.  Thats insane.

more ...
Jan 19, 2016
Sun Trust Car Loan
Anonymous Borrower

I have a car loan with SunTrust Bank. It was a pretty good deal and there is no problem with the loan. But I feel compelled to add my voice to the others that have come before me on one issue. It's 2016 and no option to pay online!!! Can't believe they still provide coupon books. It's so '80s. I have my loan for more than three years and have faithfully mailed it in. I did not want to pay a fee to pay by phone. However, recently I called them and found out that they now have a free option to pay by phone. Thank goodness - it's progress, but you're still way behind, SunTrust!

more ...
Jan 18, 2016
Excellent Service

I have brought my credit up enough over the last nine months to where Suntrust approved me at a 3.9% loan through my local Toyota dealer for a brand new car. Out of the 4 that approved me, SunTrust offered the best rate so they spun the deal through them. I was able to setup an account online, where I can make payments, and see exact details on my loan such as original balance, current balance, payment info and interest paid to date. I do not have a checking or savings acount with SunTrust as I have dealt with WellS Fargo for years (they were the only ones to actually decline me for my recent loan!) so that might be changing very soon. Overall I am quite pleased and Grateful they gave me a chance to get out of my previus updide down and high interest Drivetime loan.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations