RateGenius Reviews

RateGenius Reviews
4.6 out of 5 stars
292 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Compare Auto Loan Rates

View your top Auto Loan recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

3 star reviews (9) See All

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Jan 17, 2021
Best rate. Lackluster service.
Ragnarok99 Borrower

I had a pretty good experience overall with Rate Genius for the most part. Sometimes my loan officer was hard to get ahold of. I was an easy case and when I would call to move forward with the next step I wouldn't get a call back if I left a voicemail, or I had to wait on hold for a long time. I stuck with it because the interest rates they were offering me were phenomenally better than anything else I had found. After my loan was secured and everything transfered over, they emailed me EVERY DAY for a week asking for a review. So here is your review. I probably would have given them 5 stars despite being hard to get a hold of, but spamming my inbox is not a way to win me over after you blew me off during the process. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 18, 2021

Ragnarok99, thank you for your feedback. We're pleased to hear you were able to save money with RateGenius, but we're disappointed that you had trouble getting in touch with our team during the refinance process. We are aware of certain opportunities for improvement within our follow-up processes and responsiveness, and we are actively working on ways to improve both our organizational and technological infrastructure to better fit our customer's needs.

We understand how this can be frustrating, and we sincerely apologize for any stress, confusion, or inconvenience. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to work with you again in the future.

 
Jan 04, 2021
More difficult than it should have been.

I think this was more stressful, than my home loan. Seemed to have to jump through way too many hoops. Granted I was in the middle of a move, to a new home, so that didn't help. Had to sign papers twice, that had to be notarized, as a result, as the loan officers wanted my new address, and proof of residency, for a house I hadn't even been in, for a month, at that point. After all of that, the credit union that handled the loan, sent everything to my old address, and had to do a change of address, with them, anyway. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 05, 2021

Logainofhades, thank you for your feedback. Because we always strive to provide our customers with excellent service and communication, we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was anything less than perfect. Our process should be quick, easy, and straightforward, and clearly here that was not the case.

We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience, stress, or confusion. We will use this feedback internally to identify opportunities for improvement within our process. We enjoyed working with you and we hope to have the opportunity to do so again in the future.

 
Jan 03, 2021
Okay loan, poor customer service

Poor customer service. Tried repeatedly to add on some ‘insurance’ without letting me read any of the details. Also did not provide me with account number/ login details so I can start making payments towards my new loan. Still waiting to hear back.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 05, 2021

Hi Screennameasdf - thank you for your feedback. We're disappointed to hear your experience with RateGenius did not meet your expectations. For more information about payments, due dates and your balance, you'll need to contact your new lender directly.

If you have any additional questions or concerns, you can reach out to us again at pr@rategenius.com and we'd be happy to help! We enjoyed working with you and we hope to have the opportunity to do so again in the future.

 
Oct 24, 2020
Easy to start but the details are shaky
RajeeW Borrower

I did have my previous loan payed off but I haven't gotten all of the information needed to pay for my new loan.

I didn't ever receive my account number in my email or actual mail. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 26, 2020

RajeeW, thank you for your review. Because we always strive to provide our customers with excellent service and communication, we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was anything less than perfect. We'd like to hear more so that we can help you get the information you need. Please email us at pr@rategenius.com and provide us with your full name and application ID number. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope to hear from you and we hope to work with you again in the future.

 
Oct 01, 2020
It was okay for me
SRM826 Borrower

I didn't like being asked the same exact set of questions like 5 times in the same day.  I also did not like how my loan officer did not contact me back when I called and left voicemails and she did not respond to texts even though she had just texted me.  My interest rate dropped but not significantly even though I have great credit.  Otherwise, filling things out online was pretty easy and straight forward.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 05, 2020

Srm826, thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear you had trouble getting in touch with your loan officer. We are aware of certain opportunities for improvement within our follow-up processes and responsiveness, and we are actively working on ways to improve both our organizational and technological infrastructure to better fit our customer's needs.

We're glad you had a positive experience overall and that we were able to help you save money. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to work with you again in the future.

 
Aug 11, 2020
Very easy to apply, long closing process

It was very quick and easy to get this loan. However, once I was assigned a agent it was very difficult to contact them if I need to ask questions or get any information. My agent went on vacation right in the middle of closing my loan so it got extended another week and I had to make another payment on my old loan because of it. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 12, 2020

JamesD123465, thank you for your feedback. Because we always strive to provide our customers with excellent service and communication, we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was anything less than perfect. We are aware of certain opportunities for improvement within our follow-up processes and responsiveness, and we are actively working on ways to improve both our organizational and technological infrastructure to better fit our customer's needs.

We understand how this can be frustrating, and we sincerely apologize for any stress, confusion, or inconvenience. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to work with you again in the future.

 
Jul 09, 2020
Go to your credit union
Jejetta96 Borrower

Take all necessary info to get your loan processed to then still have the bank/ credit union its actually through ask for similar paperwork. In the end you do the same thing twice. Take the middle man out and just go to bank/credit union.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 22, 2020

I'm sorry I don't quite understand the wording so wanting to make sure, are you saying to take all info/ original paper work from car purchase or from the lease on vehicle to a credit union? Ck suggested openroad lending and its was an disappointment, nothing like quoted. Thanks in advance for any help or insight

 
Jun 25, 2020
Refinancing an auto loan
Fourxc Borrower

They REALLY push for a 72 month option, even though that one has a higher interest rate, so be prepared for that.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 01, 2020

Were there any fees to apply for your refinancing loan.

 
Mar 03, 2020
Chad Mikels lied to me. Rate ok.
2w3e4r5t Borrower

These are all salesmen. Don't trust them as far as you can throw them. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations