RateGenius Reviews

RateGenius Reviews
4.6 out of 5 stars
286 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Compare Auto Loan Rates

View your top Auto Loan recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

2 star reviews (13) See All

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Dec 19, 2020
Not on top of the process.
jdalday Borrower

They try to lie even after I said I am a loan person myself.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 21, 2020

Jdalday, thank you for your review. Because we always strive to provide our customers with excellent service and communication, we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was anything less than perfect. We'd like to hear more about what happened so that we may work to resolve this for you and identify opportunities for improvement. Please email us at pr@rategenius.com and provide us with your app ID and additional information about the incident. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope to hear from you and we hope to work with you again in the future.

 
Nov 17, 2020
I wouldn't use them again
enoblett Borrower

It took 6 weeks to get approval and funding.  I made a payment on the 23rd, they paid off the loan on the 29th and my first payment was due on the 13th.  So i had to make two payments in one month.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 18, 2020

Enoblett, thank you for your feedback. Because we always strive to provide our customers with excellent service and communication, we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was anything less than perfect. Our process should be quick, easy, and straightforward, and clearly here that was not the case.

We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience, stress, or confusion. We will use this feedback internally to identify opportunities for improvement. We enjoyed working with you and we hope to have the opportunity to do so again in the future.

 
Oct 13, 2020
Not as good as advertised!
Manditex Borrower

Just be careful, and stay on point. Ask tons of questions. There are a lot of missed communications, and LACK of communication. You will go around in circles trying to get knowledgeable customer service. As with most companies, once they sign you up, or get the sale, they will desert you and make it very hard to get someone on the phone. This is what happened with the rep, Mr Mitchell who signed me up. Overall, my rate was not as low as advertised, but yet I had to take a hard hit anyway, and yes I will save monthly, but I won't really be saving bc the length of the loan increased. Now they told me my new bank is Money One, but no one has contacted me through call or email. I have a payment due 10/26 and have no idea where or who to pay! Super unprofessional! This is  2 star review, but this page is scammy and only lets you post 4 or more! That goes to show you be very hesitant with this company!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 16, 2020

Manditex, thank you for your feedback. Because we always strive to provide our customers with excellent service and communication, we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was anything less than perfect. We are aware of certain opportunities for improvement within our follow-up processes and responsiveness, and we are actively working on ways to improve both our organizational and technological infrastructure to better fit our customer's needs.

For more information about how to make your first payment, you'll need to contact your new lender directly. If you'd like for RateGenius to share a copy of your contract, you can reach out to us directly at pr@rategenius.com. Be sure to include your name and application number.

We sincerely apologize for any stress, confusion, or inconvenience during this process. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to work with you again in the future.

 
Sep 10, 2020
Car loan
bassetman25 Borrower

I got the loan in a pretty easy process.  After the loan was approved, I lost all customer service contact, never recieved any loan paperwork, and my car has still not been registered with the state of Virginia.  Everytime i call the customer service line, the line goes dead suddenly, or the agent suddenly has trouble hearing me and hangs up.  Horrible customer service.

more ...
Sep 11, 2020

Bassetman25, thank you for your review. Because we always strive to provide our customers with excellent service and communication, we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was anything less than perfect. Would you mind emailing us at pr@rategenius.com and providing us with your application ID? We'll be able to help you get a copy of your loan documents and resolve any outstanding issues. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope to hear from you and we hope to work with you again in the future.

 
Sep 12, 2020

Enter Your Reply

 
Aug 18, 2020
Loan with final lender is great
Keanoknick Borrower

The fina lender is great,  the clown at rate genius, was no better than a used car salesman,  the second he had what he wanted he wouldn't answer my calls or return my messages.  I left over 6 messages for him, and then 6 for his "manager"  Never recieved a call back on any of them.  Was told they wouldn't process my loan unless I signed and dated disclosure documents, that were blank.   I don't know if this was isolated to my "loan officer" or is company wide, but overall pathetic service, shady practices, and being ignored were my take aways from Rate Genius.   Still have not received any paperwork on the "Required" GAP insurance I was made to purchase.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 21, 2020

Keanoknick, thank you for your feedback. Because we always strive to provide our customers with excellent service and communication, we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was anything less than perfect. We are aware of certain opportunities for improvement within our follow-up processes and responsiveness, and we are actively working on ways to improve both our organizational and technological infrastructure to better fit our customer's needs.

We understand how this can be frustrating, and we sincerely apologize for any stress, confusion, or inconvenience. Will you send us an email with your application ID number to pr@rategenius.com? We can look into your situation and help you get your GAP insurance documents. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to work with you again in the future.

 
Jul 17, 2020
Not the best experience
Davezeb Borrower

Poor inner office communication. Process took way to long. There was a very avoidable VIN # mistake that apparently disrupted the whole process. Asked for a refund of $10 due to an error, and nobody even acknowledged my request, I even sent in a receipt with the paperwork and received no response. Multiple requests for the same paperwork.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 12, 2020

Davezeb, thank you for your review. Because we always strive to provide our customers with excellent service and communication, we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was anything less than perfect. We'd like to hear more about what happened so that we may work to resolve this for you and to internally identify opportunities for improvement. Please email us at pr@rategenius.com to provide us with that information. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope to hear from you and we hope to work with you again in the future.

 
Jul 11, 2020

The representative was kind and polite.  But they omitted the fact the fee was apparently over $700 according to the balance difference of the old loan vs the new loan. When I saw what my payoff was and the new loan balance I became very disappointed with the lack of honesty.  I was only told of a $23 fee to join the credit union.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 12, 2020

disappointed1623, thank you for your feedback. Because we always strive to provide our customers with excellent service and communication, we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was anything less than perfect. We are aware of certain opportunities for improvement, and we are actively working on ways to improve both our organizational and technological infrastructure to better fit our customer's needs.

We understand how this can be frustrating, and we sincerely apologize for any stress, confusion, or inconvenience. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to work with you again in the future.

 
Jul 09, 2020
Almost regretting it...

I thought it would be a good idea to refinance my loan, and after comparing prices with Autopay I decided to go with Rate Genius. After I put in my info, my agent, Bilal Islam, was very persistent to get things moving, which was good... But then I had an issue when my loan transferred over. I noticed that $1000 had been added to it. Not sure if it was the new lender, or Rategenius, or the old lender, but when I called my agent and left several messages, he never got back to me. When I finally talked to someine else, they had no answers and told me to talk to my old lender; CRBauto, who were very professional, but were as perplexed as me. So, I'm still without any answers to why an additional $1000 was added to my loan, and have been constantly passed around. If it was part of the process, or something shady, I have not received a satisfactory explanation from Rate Genius. 

more ...
Jun 28, 2020
hidden fees

I applied and was approved. The process was simple and hassle free. But once the loan process was complete, I discovered the new loan was $795 higher than my payoff on my old loan.  During the process, the only fee mentioned was $23 fee to join the credit union where the new loan was processed.  The purpose of refinancing was to save money.  I am left wondering "how much did I really save".  I don't recommend any company that is not up front with their fees. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 11, 2020

Did you get gap insurance? Your gap insurance is non transferable so if you wanted to keep it you would have to pay for it again. The saving is in a lower percentage apr.

 
Jun 12, 2020
26 emails, 8 phone calls, and 3 letters…

If anyone had warned me about how difficult this process was going to be I would've never started it. I should go ahead and admit that CreditKarma did connect me with Rategenius who did connect me with Capitol Credit Union who did get me a loan at 3%, a pretty good rate. But you have to wonder what the rate would've been if I'd not had 2 middlemen involved.

As for the application process, I was told on the phone that I could provide bank info electronically if I didn't have checks but then they kept telling me I needed checks even though I kep telling them I didn't have checks and they already told me I wouldn't need checks. The whole process was very disorganized, required me printing and UPSing a large packet, and involved several phone calls. The ending was the best when RateGenius said I owed $11 to open the bank account but I couldn't pay it because their payment tool was asking for an ID number I had never gotten, they couldn't tell me what the number was, the bank said they didn't have numbers like that. I asked the bank why I owed $11 if my account was already set up. They said "it's not $11, it's $5, and you don't owe it – it was automatically included with the loan."

If you want to many many hours of your life I would wholheartedly recommend RateGenius. At least the people were friendly, though!

more ...
Jun 16, 2020

*** long did it take you, was your credit score higher than a 650? DO you think Is should just contact Capitol Credit Union.?

 
Jun 17, 2020

They don’t ask for checks they ask for paystubs, and it’s not 11$ is a 5 $ member fee, seem like you didn’t pay attention to what they needed from you . They sent me a package next day air , I filled everything out correctly and had no issues

 
Jun 22, 2020

You are complaining about a 3% loan. Only in America

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations