RateGenius Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
522 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Compare Auto Loan Rates

View your top Auto Loan recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

2 star reviews (5) See All

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Apr 09, 2019
Terrible Follow Up
sky12coop Borrower

Steve who was assigned my loan didn't return calls or emails (left on vacation mid applicaiton?). His manager got involved late in the process which was a difficult to navigate and required multiple trips to the DMV. I can only hope there are better services out there for vehicle refiances. On the bright side I got a good rate and was required to put zero down.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 10, 2019

sky12coop, thank you for your feedback. Because we strive to provide our customers with excellent service and communication, we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was anything less than perfect. Though we're glad that we were able to save you money, we can also see why your experience with us was frustrating. We wouldn't want to be unable to get a hold of our loan officers, and we definitely wouldn't want to have to go to the DMV multiple times, either - so we definitely don't like it when we have to put our customers through that. We'll relay this feedback internally and identify opportunities for improvement to ensure that your experience is isolated. We apologize for any inconvenience, stress, or confusion that we may have caused. Thank you again for your valuable feedback and we hope to have another opportunity to serve you in the future.

 
Jan 03, 2019
disappointing out dated bank
RicoD54 Borrower

So the new bank that rate genius recommend is so antiquated they can't take your payment online. Only via a wire transfer or over the phone, both of which cost me extra money every time I make a payment. I would not have chosed this bank had this been disclosed to me upfront. I should have known better than to use an online service like this for my financial needs. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 16, 2019

Rico, thanks for your review. Though we're glad that we were able to refinance your loan, we're disappointed to hear that the lender we matched you with didn't meet your expectations. We want all of our customers to be satisfied with their new loan and trust that we will connect them with a great new lender. That does sound excessive, especially in 2019, so we understand why that's frustrating. We'll research this matter internally and identify ways to ensure that your experience is isolated. We appreciate your feedback, as it helps us constantly improve. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience, stress, or confusion, and we hope to have another opportunity to save you money in the future.

 
Nov 14, 2018
Getting loan was a nightmare!
docmike007 Borrower

The process was terrible the rate kept going higher and higher. We make over 300k a year. We live with our 96 year old mom, pay no rent and they wanted a notorized letter stating such.  Not about to drag a 96 year old out for that. So for that the rate got jacked up a 1/4 point.  I personally would not use this company again.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 15, 2018

Thanks for your review, docmike007. We're so sorry that your experience with us wasn't smooth. Sometimes our lender network's offers or requirements (such as a notarized housing document) can change based on information received either through the application process or documentation phase. As you likely know, lenders like to ensure that the loan they agree to is as low-risk as possible, which is why they can sometimes change their requirements in response to new information. We know that can be frustrating, especially since your situation definitely wasn't ideal for that type of lender request. We hope that we were still able to find you savings, and we appreciate your feedback!

 
Oct 28, 2018
Rate Genius not clear about loan details
nicholasfo Borrower

Rate Genius is not clear about what you're signing up for. They often give your loan to banks that force you to pay fees and try to make it hard to pay the monthly payment on time. I talked with them about all of this before signing up and they assured me the lenders are all easy to pay with online and have no fees. That was wrong. Plan on paying fees of $5 additional transaction fees per month if you go with rate genius banks.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 30, 2018

Nicholasfo, thank you for your feedback. Uh oh! That's not good. Though all members of our massive lender network have different rules and regulations, that doesn't seem like something we'd advocate. We hold our lender network to the same standard of service that we hold ourselves (it's a commitment to excellence), so we'll look into this to make sure that your experience is not repeated. We never want our customers to feel like we either don't know details about our lenders or that we're being dishonest about them, as it's important for us to always be honest with everyone we encounter. We apologize for any inconvenience, stress, or confusion that we may have caused and we'll do our best to rectify this issue. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have another opportunity to serve you in the future.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations