RateGenius Reviews

RateGenius Reviews
4.6 out of 5 stars
292 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Compare Auto Loan Rates

View your top Auto Loan recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

1 star reviews (7) See All

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Oct 27, 2020
Bad experience
AVIMVYAS Borrower

Keeps on getting increase your credit score

more ...
Oct 27, 2020

Share the details

 
Oct 28, 2020

Thank you for providing your feedback and letting us know about this issue, Avimvyas. We set a high standard for ourselves and are truly sorry to hear that standard was not met in your interaction with us. Please get in touch with us at (866) 728-3436 and we'd be happy to help you out.

 
Sep 29, 2020
Misleading
Keith1227 Borrower

The loan is not coming from Rategenius. Rategenius is the middle man hunting for you a loan with other financial institutions.

more ...
Oct 01, 2020

OBVIOUSLY so what

 
Oct 01, 2020

Hi Keith1227 - thank you for your review. RateGenius is a web-based auto refinance loan broker. We work with over 150 financial institutions to help customers save money on their car payments. We're apologize for any stress or confusion. We hope we have the chance to work with you in the future!

 
Oct 17, 2020

Not for sure why televin1216 has to be so rude, aggressive, and condescending in ALL of his posts. This is a forum, and not everyone has the same level of financial understanding and savvy.

Creditkarma, you give this individual the title of "top contributor" but all he contributes is bullying and shaming. Rather than giving people titles for the amount of posts, perhaps give them titles based upon the QUALITY of the post.

 
Aug 12, 2020

Rate Genius is not responsive and add fees that were not disclosed.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 17, 2020

Taliaplusone, thank you for your feedback. Because we always strive to provide our customers with excellent service and communication, we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was anything less than perfect. We are aware of certain opportunities for improvement within our follow-up processes and responsiveness, and we are actively working on ways to improve both our organizational and technological infrastructure to better fit our customer's needs.

We understand how this can be frustrating, and we sincerely apologize for any stress, confusion, or inconvenience. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to work with you again in the future.

 
Jul 21, 2020
It's a scam
Archowl Borrower

Guys read the positive reviews. 90% of them are bots saying the same thing except the negative ones. It's 2020 and ppl still getting scam it's unbelievable Jesus be smart.

more ...
Jul 31, 2020

Thank you so much for this information.

 
Aug 05, 2020

It's not a scam

 
Aug 06, 2020

Jesus is the epitome of smart

 
Aug 09, 2020

Because it came from CreditKarma, I investigated and used RateGenious services. It is NOT a scam, I am NOT a bot, and I saved money on my auto refinance.

 
Jul 13, 2020
Awful Approval Process!

I was approved to refinance my car loan and after working with the agent for a few weeks, today, I had to give my final information such as insurance deductibles, license #, etc. only to be told that I owe too much on my current loan and would need to bring it down by a $1,000!  The reason I applied to refinance was to save $! This caused a hard inquiry on my credit report dropping it by 47 points.  The agent from Rate Genius was not willing to negotiate with Apple Finance on my behalf so if I want the loan offered and rate, I now have to wait three months. Very frustrating. They should have never taken me this far and asked for all my personal information, approve me then tell me I have to wait. Very frustrating and not trustworthy at all! 

more ...
Jul 14, 2020

What did you have to give them far as personal information?How long have you been paying on the car loan you?

 
Aug 12, 2020

DawnBlackBaum, thank you for your review. Because we always strive to provide our customers with excellent service and communication, we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was anything less than perfect. We'd like to hear more about what happened so that we may work to resolve this for you and to internally identify opportunities for improvement. Please email us at pr@rategenius.com to provide us with that information. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope to hear from you and we hope to work with you again in the future.

 
Dec 23, 2020

Genuinely I'll tell you the answer to your problems is a hacker, you can get any sophisticated hack services by contacting Jamiehacking99 at Gmail doT com, I talk from good experience with him( I found him on a dark web forum for hackers). Get your score fixed up to 790-820 instantly with him. Or you can request a blank atm/debit card from him. The card contains about 89,700k in it, the amount in the card renews after every 60 days, it's a splendid algorithm hack for ATM's, so you can withdraw unlimitlessly without being noticed. That card was really my saving grace. Do you know how many of my financial problems I have solved? quite SPLENDID!!

 
Jul 03, 2020
Inaccurate financing documents!
unhappyuser Borrower

Rate Genius' process is very slow; they seem indifferent to actually completing the process; the closing documents were full of errors (not in my favor!); and customer service is practically non-existent.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 12, 2020

unhappyuser, thank you for your review. Because we always strive to provide our customers with excellent service and communication, we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was anything less than perfect. We'd like to hear more about what happened so that we may work to resolve this for you and to internally identify opportunities for improvement. Please email us at pr@rategenius.com to provide us with that information. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope to hear from you and we hope to work with you again in the future.

 
Mar 11, 2020
Incredibly frustrating
LordSwank Borrower

The entire process was overly complex and frustrating. When it first started it was supposed to be straight forward. As it went on, there were more hoops to jump through, i had a number of items that I had to do myself and in the end had to pay an additional payment on my loan before everything was closed and had to track down the payoff check to my previous lender. It was not a happy experience.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations