RateGenius Reviews

RateGenius Reviews
4.6 out of 5 stars
242 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Compare Auto Loan Rates

View your top Auto Loan recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 22, 2020
I saved over $6000 in interest!
KYoung6115 Borrower

I refinanced my car through rate genius and saved over $6k in interest. If you are considering using rate genius, some things you should now:

Rate Genius is a third party that uses their connections to find a bank/credit union that will refinance your car with a lower interest rate. Rate Genius does not refinance the car themselves.

When you refinance your loan, do not go with the higher term (60 months). My original loan had 46 months left on it and originally they tried to refinance me for 60 months, which would have resulted in me being upside down on my car loan. Choose your new terms as close to the original term as possible (my new term is 48 months) You can always ask your loan officer for a shorter term. 

When you refinance, you don't have to pay a car note for a whole month! I refinanced at the end of September and my first payment due will be in November. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jul 13, 2020
Awful Approval Process!
DawnBlackBaum Borrower

I was approved to refinance my car loan and after working with the agent for a few weeks, today, I had to give my final information such as insurance deductibles, license #, etc. only to be told that I owe too much on my current loan and would need to bring it down by a $1,000!  The reason I applied to refinance was to save $! This caused a hard inquiry on my credit report dropping it by 47 points.  The agent from Rate Genius was not willing to negotiate with Apple Finance on my behalf so if I want the loan offered and rate, I now have to wait three months. Very frustrating. They should have never taken me this far and asked for all my personal information, approve me then tell me I have to wait. Very frustrating and not trustworthy at all! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Mar 30, 2021
Easiest Auto Refinancing Ever
Macy30 Borrower

Rate Genius made refinancing my vehicle so easy. After working on building my credit, Credit Karma had recommended using Rate Genius to see if I can find a better car loan. I ended up getting a way better loan and saving over $200 a month on my current car payment. Oma Dawn at Rate Genius was quick to respond and was great to work with. I highly recommend using Rate Genius if you are looking to refinance your auto loan. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 31, 2021

Macy30, thanks for taking the time to post a review! We strive to provide great service, and we are always excited to see our customers share their positive experiences. If you have any friends or family who might like to refinance their vehicles, be sure to send them our way! If they fund, you'll both receive $50. You can learn more here: https://www.rategenius.com/referrals/

 
Mar 27, 2021
Refinanced my auto loan
NancyKG Borrower

Was contacted by Jake at RateGenius who guided me thru the process professionally and effortlessly.  My payment went from $400 to $320.  Great experience 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 29, 2021

We're pleased to hear you had a great experience with RateGenius, Nancykg! Make sure you tell your friends and family about it. Our referral program is simple and easy – you'll both get $50 when they fund with us. We hope to serve you again in the future! https://www.rategenius.com/referrals/

 
Mar 23, 2021
Very easy and fast
Ironman217 Borrower

Jeremy Odom was very professional and easy to deal with during the loan process.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 25, 2021

We're pleased to hear you had a great experience with RateGenius, Ironman217! Make sure you tell your friends and family about it. Our referral program is simple and easy – you'll both get $50 when they fund with us. We hope to serve you again in the future! https://www.rategenius.com/referrals/

 
Mar 20, 2021
Automobile loan

Refinanced my automobile loan to lower the interest rate. Communication took a very long time. I went a week sometimes without response. I was told my agent was away for a week and that there was issues with office power and internet. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 22, 2021

Hi Blueyeviking57 - thank you for your review. We are disappointed to hear your experience with RateGenius was anything less than perfect.

We wanted to let you know that many of our team members, who work remotely in Austin, Texas, were impacted by Winter Storm Uri in February. Many were experiencing power outages for several days due to severe weather, and we were experiencing delays sending and receiving documents due to icy road conditions. We do apologize for this inconvenience.

We hope we were able to clarify, and we hope we have the opportunity to work with you again in the future!

 
Mar 20, 2021
Passed
smt119 Borrower

it was easy doing loan online. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 22, 2021

Hi, Smt119 - thanks for your feedback! We're thrilled you had a great experience with RateGenius. We wanted to make sure you know about our refer program where we'll give $50 to both you and your friend if they fund. We hope we have the opportunity to work with you again in the future. https://www.rategenius.com/referrals/

 
Mar 11, 2021
Credit Repair
Tm10123 Borrower

I needed help with repairing my credit, as far as best strategy and I already paid another company a lot of money to help and they really couldn’t do anything to improve my credit, so it was a total waste of time and money. I recently read an article that had the email ( Computer WareHouse Group 1 AT gmail DOT com. ) They were well spoken of so I hired them with my fingers crossed. I related my credit issues to them and after a couple of days, they deleted all the collections, student loans and medical bills showing on my public record and on my profile. They also raised my score to 793. That was like a complete relief for me, I am grateful for the good job. You can email them if you need help fixing your credit.

more ...
Mar 11, 2021
Credit solution

760PLUS CREDIT SCORE no doubt is the best credit repair company that is professional and efficient in credit score related issues. My Grand Pa introduced me to this credit expert who he has worked with for years and I can’t believe that after 16days, I was asked to check my new credit score in the 3 credit bureaus and my score raised from 567,562 and 558 to 798,804 and 810 respectively. They also cleared 11 inquiries, student loans and derogatory all gone! Can’t keep quiet than to recommend them to public domain and mention to them that Miss Christina  Kubat recommended their services .Text them on: 760pluscreditscore at gmail dot com /  304   774   5902.

more ...
Mar 11, 2021
Credit Solution
pdora Borrower

The aftermath of my encounter with Excellent credit repair is one that can't be forgotten in a rush. I was approved for an auto finance but with high interest because of my low credit score coupled with some hard inquiries and late payments. Excellent credit repair came in for me and raised my score to 880, removed the hard inquiries and late payments on my credit report and leaving me with a better chance of getting same auto loan with lower interest. I feel so happy right now. Needing a permanent fix? Feel good to reach out to him on: excellentcreditrepair900 @ cyberservices . com

more ...
Mar 11, 2021
Credit Solution
joshua8907 Borrower

The aftermath of my encounter with Excellent credit repair is one that can't be forgotten in a rush. I was approved for an auto finance but with high interest because of my low credit score coupled with some hard inquiries and late payments. Excellent credit repair came in for me and raised my score to 880, removed the hard inquiries and late payments on my credit report and leaving me with a better chance of getting same auto loan with lower interest. I feel so happy right now. Needing a permanent fix? Feel good to reach out to him on: excellentcreditrepair900 @ cyberservices . com

more ...
Mar 11, 2021
Credit Solution
joshua8907 Borrower

The aftermath of my encounter with Excellent credit repair is one that can't be forgotten in a rush. I was approved for an auto finance but with high interest because of my low credit score coupled with some hard inquiries and late payments. Excellent credit repair came in for me and raised my score to 880, removed the hard inquiries and late payments on my credit report and leaving me with a better chance of getting same auto loan with lower interest. I feel so happy right now. Needing a permanent fix? Feel good to reach out to him on: excellentcreditrepair900 @ cyberservices . com

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations