RateGenius Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
503 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Compare Auto Loan Rates

View your top Auto Loan recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jul 25, 2018
Quick, easy and awesome rate!
ashleyf1028 Borrower

This was SUCH an easy process from start to finish. It only took about one day to apply, have my loan approved, and begin sending in the required info. Once my loan was approved, they e-mailed and sent physical documents for me to fill out within 2 days. I sent them back and that was the most work I had to do throughout the whole process. When I originally purchased my vehicle, I had a lower credit score (in the upper 500's) and had an interest rate of almost 13% (I know, awful). So I got my credit back up (I was around 730's when I applied with RateGenius) and was approved for just under 4%  interest with a local credit union. I will save thousands with this new loan. Great service and would 100% recommend going through RateGenius!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 03, 2019
disappointing out dated bank
RicoD54 Borrower

So the new bank that rate genius recommend is so antiquated they can't take your payment online. Only via a wire transfer or over the phone, both of which cost me extra money every time I make a payment. I would not have chosed this bank had this been disclosed to me upfront. I should have known better than to use an online service like this for my financial needs. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Apr 24, 2019
I Must Say it was Rather Simple

I got a FAIR rate and not alot of hoops to jump through. Very positive experience.

more ...
Apr 24, 2019
Refinanced my auto loan.
smitty2750 Borrower

The process was quick and easy. My apr was actually cut in half. RateGenius called me and answered every question I had. I highly recommend them.

more ...
Apr 23, 2019
Lots of back and forth through text
ginac333 Borrower

The rate they advertise is far lower than anything you'll receive. There was very little explanation of the process until I received a phone call one day that lasted more than 20 minutes without warning. Ultimately I went through with the refinance but the back and forth with text messages and lack of answering my calls made this pretty frustrating. When I finally did get someone on the phone he was very nice and helpful, but there was a portion of this process where I was pawned off to another person who would never answer calls and only would text. She wouldn't answer my or my insurance company's calls thereby delaying the process by a few days. I felt in the dark through some of this. Additionally I wasn't given anything to compare, simply one option for refinance. The loan funded by to date I have received no information from the new lender and rate genius kind of drops off once that happens. I think for future I will be my own advocate and seek out refinance options. Using this service as a middle man ended up being more frustration that it was worth. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 25, 2019

ginac33, thank you for your feedback. Because we always strive to provide our customers with excellent service and communication, we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was anything less than perfect. We are aware of certain opportunities for improvement within our follow-up processes and responsiveness, and we are actively working on ways to improve both our organizational and technological infrastructure to better fit our customer's needs. We understand how this can be frustrating, and we sincerely apologize for any stress, confusion, or inconvenience. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to work with you again in the future.

 
Apr 23, 2019
Too Easy!
Rosario135 Borrower

I applied, and within a day obtained a response. My loan manager from RateGenius was knowledgable, and extremely helpful. I obtained a great rate offer, and was able to smoothly transition loans. It was an awsome experience! I am so greatful to have refinance through RateGenius.

more ...
Apr 23, 2019
Dropped my payments by $67/mo overnight
carljlevine Borrower

The team at RateGenius was instrumental in getting me a great rate on refinancing my truck, The whole process happened quickly and efficiently. 

more ...
Apr 21, 2019
Excellent service!
BRS1968 Borrower

The application process was quick, approval was quick, and RateGenius easily matched my needs. Thank you!

more ...
Apr 20, 2019
ReFi of my car

Everything went so smooth and easy. Everything was done literally in a matter of days. My interest rate was literally cut in half! Would definetly recommend!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 20, 2019

Did it extend the life of your loan? If so by how much?

 
Apr 19, 2019
Quick and Easy
jedimama Borrower

It was sooo easy! And the person I worked with was amazing. He was helpful, kind and kept me updated every chance he had. Very personalized and made sure I knew exaclty what I was getting. My percentage dropped GREATLY and my coverage is better than ever. As a single mom of 3 this was the perfect process. Thank you!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations