Auto Loan Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

RateGenius

4.8 out of 5 stars
120 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

5 5

Compare Auto Loan Rates

View your top Auto Loan recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Aug 09, 2016
Please read this before applying!
DJcapitaloneFAN Borrower

I was very skeptical of this company because I decided to follow the link on CK to go to Lending Tree and see if I pre-qualified for any car refi loans. At the same time, I had also been made aware of checking pre-approval offers on credit card websites and I knew that didn't count as a hard credit check. So I wrongly assumed that the same thing would happen at Lending Tree. Lending Tree ended up pulling my report three times (because they match you with various companies). I thought this would negatively affect my credit, but it didn't. Turns out, the credit reporting agencies want you to shop around for the best rate, and they consider ONLY auto and mortgage inquiries within two weeks as ONE pull. Word of advice: When you go to Lending Tree, enter the CORRECT info as that is what will be used on your application with the bank if you choose to move forward. Their application process doesn't look very official, but it is. 

A few banks emailed me but Rate Genius gave me the best vibe. However, I was still skeptical. I read a lot of reviews and for the most part they seemed really good. I thought it was odd that a lot of reviews mention the loan officer's name. In my mind, that was the loan officer or someone on his/her team writing the review in hopes people would request them. For that reason, I'm not going to leave my loan officer's name here. 

Rate Genius came back to me with an approval for a 4.3% APR loan, which was almost half of my (then) interest rate of 7.89%. I will say that I have worked tirelessly to improve my credit score from a low of about 570 in 2013. When I got the 7.89% loan, it was January of 2015 and my credit score was about 650. My refi occured this month (August, 2016), so I waited a year and a half to try and refi. My current score is 730. The only odd thing was that I was told I was officially approved, and then my loan officer called me a few days later and told me they declined my application. He left me a voicemail and told me to call him back to discuss other options. But then the next day (before I called him back), I received a call saying a payoff check was sent and I was good to go. So I'm not sure what happened, but today I received my welcome packet from Elements Financial and my Capital One Auto Finance loan is $0.00. 

I hope this helps! And I hope from the detail I included, you know that this isn't a manufactured review!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 07, 2016
Anonymous Borrower

They have hidden fees. They lied to me and now I'm paying for it. My mistake?

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Dec 03, 2016
Painless auto refinance
Tom0406 Borrower

After coming out of Chapter 13, it was time to rebuild credit. I financed a good truck, but at a high interest rate of 8.9 percent. After a year, I went to RateGenius to find a lower interest rate. After about a day, they called me with three options. My interest rate was cut in half. Matthew explained my options, gave me time to consider them, and off we went. I was emailed the paperwork and a shipping label to send them in. Within week or so, the process was complete. 

No complaints!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 06, 2016

Enter Your Reply

 
Dec 03, 2016
Do yourself a favor and save some $$
Anonymous Borrower

Easy application, all done through phone, fax, and mail. Cut my interest rate by more than half, Reducing my payment by $200 a month.

more ...
Dec 02, 2016
Awesome service from beginning to end!
Anonymous Borrower

Agent worked hard to get best rates and gave extra one on one attention to help me get what I needed prepared.

more ...
Dec 02, 2016
Awsome!
Anonymous Borrower

RateGenius provided the most professional and quick service that I have ever received.  Their staff was very professional and did an awsome job getting my vehicle re-financed.  I would recommend them to everyone who wishes to re-finance their loan(s.)

more ...
Dec 02, 2016
Easy
Anonymous Borrower

Chad explained everything in detail, made the process effortless, no surprises..great rate!

more ...
Dec 01, 2016
Quick, professional, friendly!
Mishanne Borrower

This was truly one of the most painless processes I've ever gone through. I'd only recently established my good credit (I was at a high 690 / low 700 rating) and didn't have a long credit history to go by, so I wasn't really certain whether they'd be capable of helping me or not but I decided to give it a try. Within a few days, I was contacted by Jacob - not only was he extremely informative and helpful, but he was so personal and friendly to boot, and stayed in touch with me throughout the entire refinancing process, answering questions whenever I had them and assisting me with what I needed to get done and when. They halved my interest rate and made my payments smaller by setting me up with a new bank and I couldn't be happier. I was expecting to be told "no, I'm sorry, we can't do anything for you," and they made it happen, quickly and professionally, and I'm so appreciative. I didn't experience any issues whatsoever and absolutely recommend them to anyone looking to refinance. Thank you, RateGenius!

more ...
Dec 01, 2016
Just Okay

They are quick to get you on the hook but not the best communication during the process. When they do respond you get a very short responce.

more ...
Dec 01, 2016
Refinanced my auto loan quick and easy!
DJMRG Borrower

Lowered my loan with improved credit over 7 points.  Found a lender, sent docs, was approved and off we go.  Didn't get a ton of hounding via phone and email like some other sites.

more ...
Dec 01, 2016
super easy!!! Great service!!
Anonymous Borrower

super great experence will be working with again in the near future!

more ...
Dec 01, 2016
IT WAS GREAT
IPAA Borrower

AT LEAST AM SAVING SOME MONEY

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations