RateGenius Reviews

RateGenius Reviews
4.6 out of 5 stars
329 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Compare Auto Loan Rates

View your top Auto Loan recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 22, 2020
I saved over $6000 in interest!
KYoung6115 Borrower

I refinanced my car through rate genius and saved over $6k in interest. If you are considering using rate genius, some things you should now:

Rate Genius is a third party that uses their connections to find a bank/credit union that will refinance your car with a lower interest rate. Rate Genius does not refinance the car themselves.

When you refinance your loan, do not go with the higher term (60 months). My original loan had 46 months left on it and originally they tried to refinance me for 60 months, which would have resulted in me being upside down on my car loan. Choose your new terms as close to the original term as possible (my new term is 48 months) You can always ask your loan officer for a shorter term. 

When you refinance, you don't have to pay a car note for a whole month! I refinanced at the end of September and my first payment due will be in November. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jul 13, 2020
Awful Approval Process!
DawnBlackBaum Borrower

I was approved to refinance my car loan and after working with the agent for a few weeks, today, I had to give my final information such as insurance deductibles, license #, etc. only to be told that I owe too much on my current loan and would need to bring it down by a $1,000!  The reason I applied to refinance was to save $! This caused a hard inquiry on my credit report dropping it by 47 points.  The agent from Rate Genius was not willing to negotiate with Apple Finance on my behalf so if I want the loan offered and rate, I now have to wait three months. Very frustrating. They should have never taken me this far and asked for all my personal information, approve me then tell me I have to wait. Very frustrating and not trustworthy at all! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Jan 20, 2021
XAP truly the best
PenceJune07 Borrower

There’s a popular saying which says “gratitude is an application for more”. I’m here to appreciate XAP Credit Solution for the great job they did to my family. I had a bad credit score with a lot of repos, collections, eviction and charge offs that brought my score so low and deprived me of getting a home and almost lost my car. After I read about them I quickly contacted XAP all he promised to do, he did and raised my score to 789 in less than 7days and a week after was able to apply for a home loan which was granted and the auto company never called anymore. If you got similar need do well to write via X A P C R E D I T S O L U T I O N @G M A I L . C O M 

more ...
Jan 17, 2021
Best rate. Lackluster service.
Ragnarok99 Borrower

I had a pretty good experience overall with Rate Genius for the most part. Sometimes my loan officer was hard to get ahold of. I was an easy case and when I would call to move forward with the next step I wouldn't get a call back if I left a voicemail, or I had to wait on hold for a long time. I stuck with it because the interest rates they were offering me were phenomenally better than anything else I had found. After my loan was secured and everything transfered over, they emailed me EVERY DAY for a week asking for a review. So here is your review. I probably would have given them 5 stars despite being hard to get a hold of, but spamming my inbox is not a way to win me over after you blew me off during the process. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 18, 2021

Ragnarok99, thank you for your feedback. We're pleased to hear you were able to save money with RateGenius, but we're disappointed that you had trouble getting in touch with our team during the refinance process. We are aware of certain opportunities for improvement within our follow-up processes and responsiveness, and we are actively working on ways to improve both our organizational and technological infrastructure to better fit our customer's needs.

We understand how this can be frustrating, and we sincerely apologize for any stress, confusion, or inconvenience. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to work with you again in the future.

 
Jan 17, 2021
Found me the best deal possible!

They found me the best deal possible. These guys are great!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 18, 2021

We’re pleased to hear you had a great experience with RateGenius, Fieryturtle31! Make sure you tell your friends and family about it. Our referral program is simple and easy – you’ll both get $50 when they fund with us. We hope to serve you again in the future! https://www.rategenius.com/referrals/

 
Jan 09, 2021
Simple easy and great customer service.
The87jackal Borrower

Nothing to lose

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 11, 2021

The87jackal, thanks for taking the time to post a review! We strive to provide great service, and we are always excited to see our customers share their positive experiences. If you have any friends or family who might like to refinance their vehicles, be sure to send them our way! If they fund, you’ll both receive $50. You can learn more here: https://www.rategenius.com/referrals/

 
Jan 04, 2021
More difficult than it should have been.

I think this was more stressful, than my home loan. Seemed to have to jump through way too many hoops. Granted I was in the middle of a move, to a new home, so that didn't help. Had to sign papers twice, that had to be notarized, as a result, as the loan officers wanted my new address, and proof of residency, for a house I hadn't even been in, for a month, at that point. After all of that, the credit union that handled the loan, sent everything to my old address, and had to do a change of address, with them, anyway. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 05, 2021

Logainofhades, thank you for your feedback. Because we always strive to provide our customers with excellent service and communication, we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was anything less than perfect. Our process should be quick, easy, and straightforward, and clearly here that was not the case.

We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience, stress, or confusion. We will use this feedback internally to identify opportunities for improvement within our process. We enjoyed working with you and we hope to have the opportunity to do so again in the future.

 
Jan 03, 2021
Excellent Repair

 kmax cybe rservices at gmil dot com really help my life last month, he did a wonderful job on my credit score.

more ...
Jan 03, 2021
Okay loan, poor customer service

Poor customer service. Tried repeatedly to add on some ‘insurance’ without letting me read any of the details. Also did not provide me with account number/ login details so I can start making payments towards my new loan. Still waiting to hear back.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 05, 2021

Hi Screennameasdf - thank you for your feedback. We're disappointed to hear your experience with RateGenius did not meet your expectations. For more information about payments, due dates and your balance, you'll need to contact your new lender directly.

If you have any additional questions or concerns, you can reach out to us again at pr@rategenius.com and we'd be happy to help! We enjoyed working with you and we hope to have the opportunity to do so again in the future.

 
Dec 30, 2020
Did heavy lifting to find better rate!
joshg3 Borrower

I had a great customer service experience with the happy folks at Rate Genius. They're HQ is in Austin, TX so that makes sense! Great new rate and terms, and speed to close was surprisingly fast. Thanks so much!! Saving $50/mo in interest! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 04, 2021

We’re pleased to hear you had a great experience with RateGenius, Joshg3! Make sure you tell your friends and family about it. Our referral program is simple and easy – you’ll both get $50 when they fund with us. We hope to serve you again in the future! https://www.rategenius.com/referrals/

 
Dec 28, 2020
Awesome service and processing
RickB66 Borrower

The most smooth and painless process for a loan I ever experienced

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 29, 2020

Rickb66, thanks for taking the time to post a review! We strive to provide great service, and we are always excited to see our customers share their positive experiences. If you have any friends or family who might like to refinance their vehicles, be sure to send them our way! If they fund, you’ll both receive $50. You can learn more here: https://www.rategenius.com/referrals/

 
Dec 19, 2020
Not on top of the process.
jdalday Borrower

They try to lie even after I said I am a loan person myself.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 21, 2020

Jdalday, thank you for your review. Because we always strive to provide our customers with excellent service and communication, we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was anything less than perfect. We'd like to hear more about what happened so that we may work to resolve this for you and identify opportunities for improvement. Please email us at pr@rategenius.com and provide us with your app ID and additional information about the incident. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope to hear from you and we hope to work with you again in the future.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations