RateGenius Reviews

RateGenius Reviews
4.5 out of 5 stars
121 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Compare Auto Loan Rates

View your top Auto Loan recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 22, 2020
I saved over $6000 in interest!
KYoung6115 Borrower

I refinanced my car through rate genius and saved over $6k in interest. If you are considering using rate genius, some things you should now:

Rate Genius is a third party that uses their connections to find a bank/credit union that will refinance your car with a lower interest rate. Rate Genius does not refinance the car themselves.

When you refinance your loan, do not go with the higher term (60 months). My original loan had 46 months left on it and originally they tried to refinance me for 60 months, which would have resulted in me being upside down on my car loan. Choose your new terms as close to the original term as possible (my new term is 48 months) You can always ask your loan officer for a shorter term. 

When you refinance, you don't have to pay a car note for a whole month! I refinanced at the end of September and my first payment due will be in November. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Oct 13, 2020
Not as good as advertised!
Manditex Borrower

Just be careful, and stay on point. Ask tons of questions. There are a lot of missed communications, and LACK of communication. You will go around in circles trying to get knowledgeable customer service. As with most companies, once they sign you up, or get the sale, they will desert you and make it very hard to get someone on the phone. This is what happened with the rep, Mr Mitchell who signed me up. Overall, my rate was not as low as advertised, but yet I had to take a hard hit anyway, and yes I will save monthly, but I won't really be saving bc the length of the loan increased. Now they told me my new bank is Money One, but no one has contacted me through call or email. I have a payment due 10/26 and have no idea where or who to pay! Super unprofessional! This is  2 star review, but this page is scammy and only lets you post 4 or more! That goes to show you be very hesitant with this company!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Jun 15, 2021
Refinance Nightmare
KricketS Borrower

This place was the worst company that I've ever had the displeasure of doing business with. They were rude from beginning to end. Unorganized and mismanaged. I had to file a complaint because my agent was arguing with me about being able to add my husband as a co-signer because he's here on a VISA through marriage. Despite the fact that my husband and I have another vehicle in both of our names. I called again to change the agent. I spoke with someone else for awhile. All he did was save all of my info and then send it to the original agent. The original agent would only communicate with me through text message and the other guy would ignore my calls. The agent sent me my loan offer and explained that I shouldn't have added my husband because it made it $40 more expensive and the interest was 1% higher. My husband and I are in the process of trying to build his credit and I didn't appreciate the guy trying to make our financial decisions for us, by trying to lie about what we could and could not do. I contacted management and shared my frustration. The woman j spoke with didn't even understand why we were angry with our experience. She gave an inauthentic apology and then said she'd take over our case. It took her days to come back with the same exact offers that the previous agent gave to us. I picked one and after that it was so difficult to stay in contact. It took 7 weeks for all of this to happen. I had the loan picked out and sent them all the info they needed, but they would never get back to me. Finally my payment for my car rolled around and I had to pay more toward my car with a higher interest than I would have, if they had just stayed communicated with me and done their job.
Don't use this company unless you have a lot of time and patience. They don't give you accurate information and they offer you what loans best suits their company, not you. They are rude, uncommunicative, and untrustworthy.

more ...
Jun 15, 2021

That was $40 more and 1% higher than the first loan that was offered to me. Not more than the loan I had previously. It was still a lot less than what I was paying. I didn't appreciate that he lied about it because I "should have listened to him" as he said.

 
Jun 21, 2021

KricketS, thank you for your review. Because we always strive to provide our customers with excellent service and communication, we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was anything less than perfect. We'd like to hear more about what happened so that we may work to resolve this for you. Please email us at pr@rategenius.com and provide us with your app ID so that we may investigate. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope to hear from you and we hope to work with you again in the future.

 
May 27, 2021
Easy with very helpful reps.
mvjazi3 Borrower

I'm a little worried about adding more time to my auto loan, but the lower monthly payment and rate will help right now.  It's worth it.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 28, 2021

Hi, Mvjazi3 - thanks for your feedback! We're thrilled we were able to help you lower your monthly payment. We wanted to make sure you know about our refer program where we'll give $50 to both you and your friend if they fund. We hope we have the opportunity to work with you again in the future. https://www.rategenius.com/referrals/

 
May 27, 2021
Ok approved- poor comunication

Ok processed and approved in about a week.  Communication is poor I had to upload my documents twice and on the day I was approved I also received and email saying I was denied.

-Contacting them for clarification took a few days because the loan processors would not call me back.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 27, 2021

jdparker1982, thank you for your feedback. Because we always strive to provide our customers with excellent service and communication, we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was anything less than perfect. We are aware of certain opportunities for improvement, and we are actively working on ways to better address our customer's needs.

We understand how this can be frustrating, and we sincerely apologize for any stress, confusion, or inconvenience. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to work with you again in the future.

 
Apr 27, 2021
Blanca0521 Borrower

Rate Genius is the best at processing loans. Oma Dawn was very helpful explaining the options that I had. Excellent service!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 29, 2021

Blanca0521, thanks for taking the time to post a review! We strive to provide great service, and we are always excited to see our customers share their positive experiences. If you have any friends or family who might like to refinance their vehicles, be sure to send them our way! If they fund, you'll both receive $50. You can learn more here: https://www.rategenius.com/referrals/

 
Apr 21, 2021
Better terms than I had before.
Kbright2269 Borrower

Easy peasy.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 26, 2021

We're pleased to hear you had a great experience with RateGenius, Kbright2269! Make sure you tell your friends and family about it. Our referral program is simple and easy – you'll both get $50 when they fund with us. We hope to serve you again in the future! https://www.rategenius.com/referrals/

 
Mar 30, 2021
Easiest Auto Refinancing Ever
Macy30 Borrower

Rate Genius made refinancing my vehicle so easy. After working on building my credit, Credit Karma had recommended using Rate Genius to see if I can find a better car loan. I ended up getting a way better loan and saving over $200 a month on my current car payment. Oma Dawn at Rate Genius was quick to respond and was great to work with. I highly recommend using Rate Genius if you are looking to refinance your auto loan. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 31, 2021

Macy30, thanks for taking the time to post a review! We strive to provide great service, and we are always excited to see our customers share their positive experiences. If you have any friends or family who might like to refinance their vehicles, be sure to send them our way! If they fund, you'll both receive $50. You can learn more here: https://www.rategenius.com/referrals/

 
Mar 27, 2021
Refinanced my auto loan
NancyKG Borrower

Was contacted by Jake at RateGenius who guided me thru the process professionally and effortlessly.  My payment went from $400 to $320.  Great experience 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 29, 2021

We're pleased to hear you had a great experience with RateGenius, Nancykg! Make sure you tell your friends and family about it. Our referral program is simple and easy – you'll both get $50 when they fund with us. We hope to serve you again in the future! https://www.rategenius.com/referrals/

 
Mar 23, 2021
Very easy and fast
Ironman217 Borrower

Jeremy Odom was very professional and easy to deal with during the loan process.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 25, 2021

We're pleased to hear you had a great experience with RateGenius, Ironman217! Make sure you tell your friends and family about it. Our referral program is simple and easy – you'll both get $50 when they fund with us. We hope to serve you again in the future! https://www.rategenius.com/referrals/

 
Mar 20, 2021
Automobile loan

Refinanced my automobile loan to lower the interest rate. Communication took a very long time. I went a week sometimes without response. I was told my agent was away for a week and that there was issues with office power and internet. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 22, 2021

Hi Blueyeviking57 - thank you for your review. We are disappointed to hear your experience with RateGenius was anything less than perfect.

We wanted to let you know that many of our team members, who work remotely in Austin, Texas, were impacted by Winter Storm Uri in February. Many were experiencing power outages for several days due to severe weather, and we were experiencing delays sending and receiving documents due to icy road conditions. We do apologize for this inconvenience.

We hope we were able to clarify, and we hope we have the opportunity to work with you again in the future!

 
Mar 20, 2021
Passed
smt119 Borrower

it was easy doing loan online. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 22, 2021

Hi, Smt119 - thanks for your feedback! We're thrilled you had a great experience with RateGenius. We wanted to make sure you know about our refer program where we'll give $50 to both you and your friend if they fund. We hope we have the opportunity to work with you again in the future. https://www.rategenius.com/referrals/

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations