Nationwide® Bank Auto Loans Reviews

2.4 out of 5 stars
19 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5

Compare Auto Loan Rates

View your top Auto Loan recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 06, 2017
Great experience so far...
Anonymous Borrower

Was sent a pre-approval letter, ignored it. Purchased a new vehicle from Ford for $71,330 and was given an interest rate of 5.34% with Ford Credit, which prompted me to act on the Nationwide pre-approval. Went online, filled out the usual information and at the end was told "we need more time to make a decision" which usually is a polite way of saying no. I applied with Chase Bank, I figured since I have excellent standing with them, checking, savings, credit card, mortgage, etc that they would give me the ok, they said no. My credit score is in the low 800's, the issue was the loan amount. Nationwide sends an email, stating they need W2 and last 2 pay stubs, I procrastinate a few days figuring that it's a lost cause. Finally submit those and was notified that I was approved at 2.5% within 1 hour! Finished signing documents online, created an online account and setup autopay from my Chase checking. So in my limited experience, Nationwide was easy, timely and cut my interest rate in half over Ford Credit. I will update this review if something changes, but I know that I certainly had a better experience than others have had and I feel obligated to post something positive for a change.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 03, 2017
Wish I'd Known
taraleesav Borrower

If I could do it all over agian I would of gone with the credit union. They won't let you change your due date after the application process. I've never heard of this before. They're online portal is worthless. It's a joke. They finally changed it and I got a temp password in the mail. That doesn't work! So now I'm unable to log into my account and having a heck of a time getting help. I wish I could change my loan provider. I have 5 years on this loan and I'm not excited about it being with nationwide. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Jun 29, 2017
Worst Customer Service Ever!!!
Anonymous Borrower

I have a problem when I cannot pay my bill online. Then I decided to call them, picked up the phone is the lady voice which is very tired and small voice like she stand 10 -20 feet away from the telephone. I cannot hear them everthing at all. I tried to explain my situation about I cannot pay bill online bla bla bla. She just say" I cannot pay my bill online for refinance car". I said" What?". She said "You just only pay your bill via phone". Then she recommended me to transfer the phone back again to auto loan customer service. They just transfer the phone around for 30' without help. Worst customer service ever. For those who could consider Nationalwide for refinance auto loan you should think again before apply. So now I tried to email them and hopefully they help.

more ...
Jun 26, 2017
Terrified!
z71txman Borrower

I was thinking about refinancing my vehicle considering I received information that Nationwide may be a good candidate.  After reading the reviews, I am highly skeptical of following through with this company.  I wonder if Nationwide ever checks these reviews.  Some are very bad. 

more ...
Jun 21, 2017
Angelemill Borrower

Loan not bad, horrible customer service. They don't ever know what to do. Loan says 1-3 businesses days ...I've been waiting still no loan ...

more ...
Jun 20, 2017
Incredibly disorganized service. Really.
gayliffe Borrower

Getting the loan was pretty simple; having the loan and getting through the title process has been excruciating, partly because the most technologically advanced thing they do is faxing. Due to Nationwide's inefficiency and confusion, we ended up having to pay a $180 penalty at the DMV when we paid our state taxes on the purchase. We recommend you use almost anyone else.

more ...
Jun 06, 2017
Great experience so far...
Anonymous Borrower

Was sent a pre-approval letter, ignored it. Purchased a new vehicle from Ford for $71,330 and was given an interest rate of 5.34% with Ford Credit, which prompted me to act on the Nationwide pre-approval. Went online, filled out the usual information and at the end was told "we need more time to make a decision" which usually is a polite way of saying no. I applied with Chase Bank, I figured since I have excellent standing with them, checking, savings, credit card, mortgage, etc that they would give me the ok, they said no. My credit score is in the low 800's, the issue was the loan amount. Nationwide sends an email, stating they need W2 and last 2 pay stubs, I procrastinate a few days figuring that it's a lost cause. Finally submit those and was notified that I was approved at 2.5% within 1 hour! Finished signing documents online, created an online account and setup autopay from my Chase checking. So in my limited experience, Nationwide was easy, timely and cut my interest rate in half over Ford Credit. I will update this review if something changes, but I know that I certainly had a better experience than others have had and I feel obligated to post something positive for a change.

more ...
May 16, 2017
Haven't applied and I'm not looking....
JetPino Borrower

What to do, hmmmmm!?!?

more ...
May 03, 2017
Wish I'd Known
taraleesav Borrower

If I could do it all over agian I would of gone with the credit union. They won't let you change your due date after the application process. I've never heard of this before. They're online portal is worthless. It's a joke. They finally changed it and I got a temp password in the mail. That doesn't work! So now I'm unable to log into my account and having a heck of a time getting help. I wish I could change my loan provider. I have 5 years on this loan and I'm not excited about it being with nationwide. 

more ...
Apr 26, 2017
Frustrating
Anonymous Borrower

I called to speak with a loan representative to ask when the funds would be available.  I was told that once I'm pre-approved and enter the automobile information, and the dealer did their part, the funds would be available later that day.  After the dealer completed their information online a message appeared stating that funds would not be available until 1-3 days.  This is VERY differnt from what the loan rep said.  When I called him back, he said that he never said that and that it takes 3-5 business days for the funds to be ACH transfered to the dealership.

I wasn't mislead, I was blatantly lied to in order to have me fill out the pre-approval and loan application.  Very frustrating!

more ...
Apr 02, 2017
Great, fast, saved thousands of dollars.
Anonymous Borrower

The loan rate was half of what the dealer could find. All they did was ding my credit rating with 6 hits.

more ...
Mar 24, 2017
Good

I had issue getting approved for the amount the dealer was asking for which SUCKED.  They were so easy to work with though and the application process was fast. Finally got it worked out with the car dealer and was able to get approved and buy my car. Nationwide was the only auto loan that approved me for even CLOSE to the amount i was needing to get to buy my car. Never had one problem wih customer service and in fact they were super helpful and super friendly and a few wen out of their way to help me when I had a question

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations