Nationwide® Bank Auto Loans

2.8 out of 5 stars
14 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

3 5

Compare Auto Loan Rates

View your top Auto Loan recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 17, 2016
BIG SAVINGS!!
SoldierMike6ft2 Borrower

Received a NW Re-Fi notice in the mail a couple of months ago. I ignored it. Purchased my current vehicle through Chase Bank 6 months ago at 12.75% APR.  Today I signed onto CK to review my credit and Nationwide popped up once again in my Recommendations Tab.  I decided to give it a shot with NW since Chase told me that my car was not eligible for re-fi due to its current mileage.  Long story short, I filled out the NW application online and within 3 minutes (or less) I was approved for a $31,000 refi loan with a APR of just 4.5%!!  Everything was done completely online without me having to even speak with a single person on the phone.  When they sent over the documents for me to e-sign, they also provided me with a credit letter notifying me of what credit bureau they used to consider my application (Transunion - 680). This was 17 pts higher than what Creditkarma was showing my TU score as. I'm definitely glad I decided to do this because it is saving me about $9,000 in interest payments! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 26, 2016
Horrible experience!!!

After my first payment paid automatically from my CU bill pay, I received a letter stating that I had used the wrong address and which listed the address I should use.  I updated my bill pay information accordingly.  Two weeks after my second payment due date, I received a collection letter stating that they had sent me a letter about a past due payment (which I never received) and to contact the collection department immediately, which I did.  I explained that I have it set up to be paid 3 days before my due date and about the letter received regarding the address change.  The collections department told me to  contact customer service, which I did.

They have the rudest, most uncooperative "customer service -- ha!" representatives I have EVER dealt with.  Because of my first couple conversations with them which were a lesson in futility and during which I got a "bit" upset, I'm sure I'm now on their b**** list and they are immediately on the defensive.  They were insisting that I pay another payment plus $20 late fee for a payment which had been sent to an incorrect address that Nationwide told me to use!!!  I told them I could not send them another payment when the other one had already been deducted from my account.  They wouldn't listen.  My CU sent them proof of payment showing it was paid 3 DAYS BEFORE MY PAYMENT DUE DATE.  Wasted effort.  I checked online. They still show my payment 3 weeks late and charged me $20!!!  Of course the CU won't refund the late fee because they used the address which Nationwide told me to use.

It's a real shame that I cannot talk to someone at Nationwide Bank who is knowledgeable and will take responsibility for this mess!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Apr 02, 2017
Great, fast, saved thousands of dollars.
Anonymous Borrower

The loan rate was half of what the dealer could find. All they did was ding my credit rating with 6 hits.

more ...
Mar 24, 2017
Good

I had issue getting approved for the amount the dealer was asking for which SUCKED.  They were so easy to work with though and the application process was fast. Finally got it worked out with the car dealer and was able to get approved and buy my car. Nationwide was the only auto loan that approved me for even CLOSE to the amount i was needing to get to buy my car. Never had one problem wih customer service and in fact they were super helpful and super friendly and a few wen out of their way to help me when I had a question

more ...
Mar 21, 2017
Auto loan
Anonymous Borrower

This is the single worst company, they say your payments are late but they don't check the mailbox often. They try to claim you owe more than you really owe. And their costumer service is the absolute worst, they are very rude and short when they are asked questions.

more ...
Mar 16, 2017
Terrible for private sales
Anonymous Borrower

I have had a very bad experience getting my loan worked out with private seller. It will take 2 weeks in total to take posesion of the car from the moment the loan was approved.
The process with private sellers is not clear on thier site and what they describe only applies to dealer sales. 

They take 4-5 days to get the check in your hand and now the bank is holding the funds for 7 days because the check they issue looks fake. 

When I asked them what I can do and if there were any options such as EFT, I was told "find another lender". There cutomer service person had a serious attitude. 

I would not reccomend Nationwide for private sales, dealer sales might be better.

more ...
Mar 16, 2017
Terrible for private sales
Anonymous Borrower

I have had a very bad experience getting my loan worked out with private seller. It will take 2 weeks in total to take posesion of the car from the moment the loan was approved.
The process with private sellers is not clear on thier site and what they describe only applies to dealer sales. 

They take 4-5 days to get the check in your hand and now the bank is holding the funds for 7 days because the check they issue looks fake. 

When I asked them what I can do and if there were any options such as EFT, I was told "find another lender". There cutomer service person had a serious attitude. 

I would not reccomend Nationwide for private sales, dealer sales might be better.

more ...
Mar 02, 2017
Lack of communication, long hold times
jnrowell Borrower

The terms of the loan were good, the application process, all online, was innovative and simple. However, their customer service is sadly lacking. It's next to impossible to speak to customer service due to their long hold times and early hours (they close at 5pm Eastern Time which is 2pm Pacific Time, and you have to wait on hold seemingly forever). On the other hand, their new applications department answers right away. That ought to tell you something about their priorities - happy to welcome new customers, but once you're locked in they don't care about you any more.

more ...
Mar 02, 2017
Definitely NOT on my side.
outkastUK Borrower

Fairly easy online aplication process. Very unfriendly user interface and horrible customer service.

more ...
Feb 22, 2017
Auto Payment Set Up
Anonymous Borrower

Right now I am very frustrated with the way Nationwide does business. I have never heard of a company that refused to change your payment due date. I was recently approved for an auto loan. During the application process they ask for a date for your first payment (auto withdrawl) so I put in a date of the middle of the month. Turns out once you submit your application with this date you can't change it. So now payments will be coming out of my bank, automatically, before my pay check enters. This makes me unhappy. I literally haven't made one payment yet they refuse to change my due date. If I want to change the date or the frequency of withdrawl I'd have to start the process all over. Well that won't work becasue I've already purchased my car! 

more ...
Feb 28, 2017

How this work if I apply for 50,000$ auto loan the send the money or direct deposit or how it work I'm in credit kama

 
Mar 28, 2017

**** this really sucks i hope you get this fixed

 
Oct 19, 2016
False advertising
Anonymous Borrower

I recieved approver finaning letter at my home with a super proposal and after completing all my information, including banking account, they denied my loan. I was not thinkg of doing it at this moemnt, but since I received the offer, I decided to accept. Now, my credit score will decrese for nothing. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 07, 2017

Read the fine print. No one is pre approved via mail advertising. It's an Ad!

 
Sep 21, 2016
Easiest refinance I have ever done.
Billybob15 Borrower

Was approved and papers signed in less than an hour. great rate and experience. Transunion 730 score.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 10, 2017

How much was the refinance done for?At what percentage did they offer you?

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations