Auto Loan Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Nationwide® Bank Auto Loans

3.6 out of 5 stars
7 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Compare Auto Loan Rates

View your top Auto Loan recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 17, 2016
BIG SAVINGS!!
SoldierMike6ft2 Borrower

Received a NW Re-Fi notice in the mail a couple of months ago. I ignored it. Purchased my current vehicle through Chase Bank 6 months ago at 12.75% APR.  Today I signed onto CK to review my credit and Nationwide popped up once again in my Recommendations Tab.  I decided to give it a shot with NW since Chase told me that my car was not eligible for re-fi due to its current mileage.  Long story short, I filled out the NW application online and within 3 minutes (or less) I was approved for a $31,000 refi loan with a APR of just 4.5%!!  Everything was done completely online without me having to even speak with a single person on the phone.  When they sent over the documents for me to e-sign, they also provided me with a credit letter notifying me of what credit bureau they used to consider my application (Transunion - 680). This was 17 pts higher than what Creditkarma was showing my TU score as. I'm definitely glad I decided to do this because it is saving me about $9,000 in interest payments! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 26, 2016
Horrible experience!!!

After my first payment paid automatically from my CU bill pay, I received a letter stating that I had used the wrong address and which listed the address I should use.  I updated my bill pay information accordingly.  Two weeks after my second payment due date, I received a collection letter stating that they had sent me a letter about a past due payment (which I never received) and to contact the collection department immediately, which I did.  I explained that I have it set up to be paid 3 days before my due date and about the letter received regarding the address change.  The collections department told me to  contact customer service, which I did.

They have the rudest, most uncooperative "customer service -- ha!" representatives I have EVER dealt with.  Because of my first couple conversations with them which were a lesson in futility and during which I got a "bit" upset, I'm sure I'm now on their b**** list and they are immediately on the defensive.  They were insisting that I pay another payment plus $20 late fee for a payment which had been sent to an incorrect address that Nationwide told me to use!!!  I told them I could not send them another payment when the other one had already been deducted from my account.  They wouldn't listen.  My CU sent them proof of payment showing it was paid 3 DAYS BEFORE MY PAYMENT DUE DATE.  Wasted effort.  I checked online. They still show my payment 3 weeks late and charged me $20!!!  Of course the CU won't refund the late fee because they used the address which Nationwide told me to use.

It's a real shame that I cannot talk to someone at Nationwide Bank who is knowledgeable and will take responsibility for this mess!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Oct 19, 2016
False advertising
Anonymous Borrower

I recieved approver finaning letter at my home with a super proposal and after completing all my information, including banking account, they denied my loan. I was not thinkg of doing it at this moemnt, but since I received the offer, I decided to accept. Now, my credit score will decrese for nothing. 

more ...
Sep 21, 2016
Easiest refinance I have ever done.
Billybob15 Borrower

Was approved and papers signed in less than an hour. great rate and experience. Transunion 730 score.

more ...
Aug 26, 2016
Horrible experience!!!

After my first payment paid automatically from my CU bill pay, I received a letter stating that I had used the wrong address and which listed the address I should use.  I updated my bill pay information accordingly.  Two weeks after my second payment due date, I received a collection letter stating that they had sent me a letter about a past due payment (which I never received) and to contact the collection department immediately, which I did.  I explained that I have it set up to be paid 3 days before my due date and about the letter received regarding the address change.  The collections department told me to  contact customer service, which I did.

They have the rudest, most uncooperative "customer service -- ha!" representatives I have EVER dealt with.  Because of my first couple conversations with them which were a lesson in futility and during which I got a "bit" upset, I'm sure I'm now on their b**** list and they are immediately on the defensive.  They were insisting that I pay another payment plus $20 late fee for a payment which had been sent to an incorrect address that Nationwide told me to use!!!  I told them I could not send them another payment when the other one had already been deducted from my account.  They wouldn't listen.  My CU sent them proof of payment showing it was paid 3 DAYS BEFORE MY PAYMENT DUE DATE.  Wasted effort.  I checked online. They still show my payment 3 weeks late and charged me $20!!!  Of course the CU won't refund the late fee because they used the address which Nationwide told me to use.

It's a real shame that I cannot talk to someone at Nationwide Bank who is knowledgeable and will take responsibility for this mess!!!

more ...
Jul 09, 2016
NOT TERRIBLE. . BUT SOME MAJOR DOWNFALLS
Kmarty3 Borrower

NationWide is okay... i got approved with a 720 (as reported by creditkarma) for a refinance on a 02 4runner thats I owe 5k on. Payemtns went from 260/month to 100/month with a decent intreest rate. HOWEVER. . . . There is NO OPTION TO PAY ONLINE WHENEVER YOU WANT. Through CapOne (the original loaner) i used to be able to pay extra Principal Amounts whenever i wanted with no ding. Wth Nationwide this is NOT an option UNLESS you mail them checks stating you want a principal payment only. Kind of a hassle seeming as I am 24, and Ive written a check all of maybe 3x my whole life.. They need to get up to speed with technology... ALSO if yo uwish to add your chase cards, bofA cards, any other bank to make a payment? Cant do it on the website... You can only add an online additional payment method if it is a Nationwide Bank Account!!!! So basically, when you sign up, they ask you for a card, that is the card you MUST make all future payments with unless you call and change i guess... but again Im so used to accessing and running all my finances off of my laptop and my phones apps... this can get rather annoying... needless to stay my rpincipal payments i used to make all the time have not been happening and its now going to take the full loan term length to pay off my truck.. not terrible cuz it saves me a few bones each month but id rather save that money later after my truck is paid off... oh well. .. just take that into consideration. 

more ...
Jul 16, 2016

You mean to say they didn't change their entire way of doing business just to suit you? Wow that's rough!!

 
Jul 23, 2016

Kmarrty3,
You ARE able to make extra payments to the principle balance. Just write them a check and mail it in. The effort won't kill you.....it will actually help you to pay it off quicker. Have you tried calling, E-mailing, or writing NationWide to request paying with a different credit card?

 
Aug 24, 2016

This 2016 not 1991. I agree with the poster. Online access would be better. These banks are competing with other banks so it's important to keep up with technology.

 
Jun 02, 2016
Approval in minutes for a 4% rate.
Anonymous Borrower

Very smooth process.  Approved in a matter of minutes for a refinance at the advertised rate of 4% despite a 624 score and saved a lot over my old 10% rate.  Thanks Credit Karma for reccomending this!  Very happy with the process, mostly online with only one document needed to be signed and mailed in.  Credit is getting better, one day at a time, and this helps!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 08, 2016

What does your income have to be????

 
May 17, 2016
BIG SAVINGS!!

Received a NW Re-Fi notice in the mail a couple of months ago. I ignored it. Purchased my current vehicle through Chase Bank 6 months ago at 12.75% APR.  Today I signed onto CK to review my credit and Nationwide popped up once again in my Recommendations Tab.  I decided to give it a shot with NW since Chase told me that my car was not eligible for re-fi due to its current mileage.  Long story short, I filled out the NW application online and within 3 minutes (or less) I was approved for a $31,000 refi loan with a APR of just 4.5%!!  Everything was done completely online without me having to even speak with a single person on the phone.  When they sent over the documents for me to e-sign, they also provided me with a credit letter notifying me of what credit bureau they used to consider my application (Transunion - 680). This was 17 pts higher than what Creditkarma was showing my TU score as. I'm definitely glad I decided to do this because it is saving me about $9,000 in interest payments! 

more ...
Jan 10, 2016
GREAT !!!
Anonymous Borrower

Refinanced a 2001 model year car at 2.99 % back in 2013.............................UNREAL !!!!!!!!!!!!!................. Well Fargo did 8 % and I refinanced with NATIONWIDE.

They were very good/great. It will take awhile to get things handled. Expect a week to 2 weeks total.

For those who do not know, the loan decisions and loan servicing is done by PNC BANK out of Pittsburgh PA.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations