Nationwide® Bank Auto Loans Reviews

2.5 out of 5 stars
24 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5

Compare Auto Loan Rates

View your top Auto Loan recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 06, 2017
Great experience so far...
Anonymous Borrower

Was sent a pre-approval letter, ignored it. Purchased a new vehicle from Ford for $71,330 and was given an interest rate of 5.34% with Ford Credit, which prompted me to act on the Nationwide pre-approval. Went online, filled out the usual information and at the end was told "we need more time to make a decision" which usually is a polite way of saying no. I applied with Chase Bank, I figured since I have excellent standing with them, checking, savings, credit card, mortgage, etc that they would give me the ok, they said no. My credit score is in the low 800's, the issue was the loan amount. Nationwide sends an email, stating they need W2 and last 2 pay stubs, I procrastinate a few days figuring that it's a lost cause. Finally submit those and was notified that I was approved at 2.5% within 1 hour! Finished signing documents online, created an online account and setup autopay from my Chase checking. So in my limited experience, Nationwide was easy, timely and cut my interest rate in half over Ford Credit. I will update this review if something changes, but I know that I certainly had a better experience than others have had and I feel obligated to post something positive for a change.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 02, 2017
Definitely NOT on my side.
outkastUK Borrower

Fairly easy online aplication process. Very unfriendly user interface and horrible customer service.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Nov 07, 2017
Absolutely ridiculous

I recieved a couple calls asking me to send additional documentation. I was told twice by the person calling that they would send an email with a list of required documentation. I never recieved either email. I recieved a letter from them threatening to raise the rate to 24.99% since I hadn't sent the title and a copy of my drivers license and that to avoid it, I should send it in the pre-addressed envelope that was enclosed. No pre-addressed envelope was enclosed so I used one of mine and sent the required documents. A week later I recieved the same threatening letter again, this time with the pre-addressed envelope. She told me that the rate would not be raised but they didn't have the required documentation still and she hoped that it would show up in the mail. She told me that I should have paid to overnite the documentation and they would have reimbursed me. Not sure why that was relevant at this point. I'l never refinance a vehicle or borrow from these jokers again. I'm cancelling my auto insurance and homeowner's insurance with them.

more ...
Oct 12, 2017
AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!!!!
Anonymous Borrower

Rate was good, application was approved quickly.  From there it all went downhill.  Their customer support is not knowledgeable in any way.  You can never actually speak to anyone live outside of customer support. All of their voicemails are full so you cannot leave a message.  It's a boarderline scam there at Nationwide.  I closed on an auto loan from them and showed up a my dealership with a nice down payment so they let me take the vehicle assuming that they would get their money from Nationwide within 3 days as it states on the funding notice that they get from Nationwide.  We're on day 6 now and the dealership still hasn't gotten paid. Meanwhile they're sweating because they've let me take a 75k vehicle from them for only a 10k downpayment!   Absolute joke Nationwide is.  DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH NATIONWIDE!!  

more ...
Sep 21, 2017

They have great rates very fast efficient no problems for me whatsoever got an answer within 30 minutes the reason why I did not do five stars is because they do not have gap insurance for the loan overall so far the experience has been great it could get better if they had an app for us to make manual payments the world isn't perfect I have called in spoken to them they have excellent customer service would highly recommend to a friend or family member if you are the type of person that does not like to be on auto pay and don't select it pay a percent more and call in your payments not recommended for roaches lol if you're responsible you have credit cards and you make payments on time I highly recommend Nationwide

more ...
Sep 16, 2017
Love reviews
Anonymous Borrower

After reading all the reviews NO WAY will I give this company a chance , thank you to everyone taking the time to inform me :) 

more ...
Aug 10, 2017
Easy Process
Anonymous Borrower

Loan was very easy. I applied and had a decision in 15 minutes. While there are bad customer service reviews - I've never called an auto loan lender and have never had to call during this process. The rate is great and I am savings significant interest from my previous loan. I don't mind a few hurdles for the financial benefit, if they end up coming. They've recently added the ability to pay online through self-service, which would have been my only complaint as I try to make additional payments outside of my normal ACH.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 12, 2017

You can tell that this review was left by a Nationwide Employee.

 
Jul 30, 2017
I applied. Results in minutes.
Bew1067 Borrower

Everything done online. I personally had a great experience with them. No flaws or kickbacks at all. First payment went thru with no problem at all

more ...
Jul 28, 2017
Refinance a brand new vehicle
GL47NSB Borrower

The loan process is longer items keep getting added.

Here is my big issue my first payment was due and they did not take the funds out of my account. They first mixed up my account numbers. I have called the five times to pay them. They still says there is an issue with routing and bank information which is BS.

I have never had a supervisor return a call to me..

Be careful they are not customer caring. Sad when you are trying to pay them....

more ...
Jun 29, 2017
Worst Customer Service Ever!!!
Anonymous Borrower

I have a problem when I cannot pay my bill online. Then I decided to call them, picked up the phone is the lady voice which is very tired and small voice like she stand 10 -20 feet away from the telephone. I cannot hear them everthing at all. I tried to explain my situation about I cannot pay bill online bla bla bla. She just say" I cannot pay my bill online for refinance car". I said" What?". She said "You just only pay your bill via phone". Then she recommended me to transfer the phone back again to auto loan customer service. They just transfer the phone around for 30' without help. Worst customer service ever. For those who could consider Nationalwide for refinance auto loan you should think again before apply. So now I tried to email them and hopefully they help.

more ...
Jun 26, 2017
Terrified!
z71txman Borrower

I was thinking about refinancing my vehicle considering I received information that Nationwide may be a good candidate.  After reading the reviews, I am highly skeptical of following through with this company.  I wonder if Nationwide ever checks these reviews.  Some are very bad. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 10, 2017

Why did you bother rating them and writing a "review" if you didn't even use them? Idiot.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations