Nationwide® Bank Auto Loans

Reviews: Nationwide® Bank Auto Loans

Reviews: Nationwide® Bank Auto Loans

Nationwide® Bank Auto Loans

Overall lender rating

2.0
out of 5
57 reviews
from Credit Karma members


Member ratings

All member reviews (57)

6
4
4
11
32
Mar 19, 2019
A complete fraud
Credit Karma member

IF THEY REPO YOUR CAR THEY WILL NOT CALL YOU BACK SO YOU CAN GET YOUR PROPERTY BACK. LOST MY JOB MY HOME, MY CAR AND NOW EVERY SINGLE THING I OWN WAS IN IT. JOY DOMINGUEZ REPO DEPT MANAGER WAS CONTACTED TO EXAUSTION. DO NOT TRUST THIS LOW AND LOVELESS LENDER.

Helpful0
Not Helpful0
Comment1
Flag

Nov 21, 2018
Auto Loan
Credit Karma member

Nationwide is not on your side! They sold my loan to 1st Investors in Texas. I made my payment today and was charged a $4 fee to process it. Aren't these people already charging me interest.....are they so cheap that they can't afford to process payments.....do they hire it out!!

Helpful0
Not Helpful0
Comment2
Flag

Feb 04, 2018
Poorly managed by lender
Credit Karma member

You will not be able to make advance principal payments without a written request and mailing a check to New York. Customer service is minimal and you can find better lenders if you look around. Nationwide Bank is a Sub-Prime lender. I would not choose them again.

Helpful0
Not Helpful0
Comment0
Flag

Feb 01, 2018
Credit Karma member

make sure don't refinance you car in this bank. They send you a preapproval letter with lowest interest rate. when you apply for it you don't get approve for it. It's wasting time and adding hard inquiery to credit report.

Helpful0
Not Helpful0
Comment0
Flag

Jan 10, 2018
Horrible Experience
Credit Karma member

I made the mistake of refinancing my Capital One loan with Nationwide Bank and once I moved over to Nationwide, I found out it is still back in 1975. The nightmare started when I had to MAIL them a document to transfer my title and if they didn't receive it, they threatened to raise my interest rate to 24.99% - which would defeat the purpose of me refinancing, of course. The letter said to return the documentation in the enclosed envelope - only there was no enclosed envelope, so I had to pay to overnight it to make sure they received it, because they never received the one I sent regular mail and the clock was ticking on the new interest rate. They tried to say they never received the overnight one, but I had their signature and offered to show them proof it was delivered and after being on hold for about 20 minutes, miraculously they found it. Once the loan is finalized, I realize, there is no end to the nightmare they made of managing my account: 1. There is no "Pay my bill" feature on what they pass off as a website. You have to either use your online bill pay from your OWN bank, or set up some sort of external transfer with them. I opted to let them take the payments out of my account automatically, which I hope I don't regret once I go back to Capital One. 2. Nationwide Bank doesn't generate statements for you - so you can't see any type of statement online. 3. If for some reason you need your account number, you had better have your loan documents handy because you definitely can't find it online. 4. The only way to make a "principal only" payment is to MAIL IT to the payment address (I don't even know where a mailbox is and haven't been to the Post Office in 1,000 years). For the aforementioned reasons, I am going BACK to Capital One. Luckily, I won't take a hit for it, and I might even save $1,000 in interest by doing so, but if you are the type of person that doesn't manage your accounts, you just let them get paid automatically and don't need to see what's going on with your account or do anything additional, then by all means, refi with Nationwide. But if you are like me and need to go online every month, maybe make an additional payment or two, see what your maturation date is, and actively manage your account, then do NOT get bamboozled by Nationwide. They are so far behind the times it is really unbelievable. If you're under the age of 85 and are computer-literate - don't use Nationwide Bank. They are not for you.

Helpful0
Not Helpful0
Comment0
Flag

Dec 14, 2017
everything was great until........
Credit Karma member

Everything was great... was going to shorten my loan by a year and save almost 30$ a month... Finished all the stuff it asked for... Then gets to last page with the ACTUAL rate i'm going to pay, which was 20$ higher than my current monthly payment with an interest rate that was 2% higher than what it quoted me with after running all my information. You show everything to look great then at the end... changed the whole deal to higher interest, more money and higher payments for me... What a waste of my time.

Helpful0
Not Helpful0
Comment0
Flag

Dec 01, 2017
Bad Customer Service
Credit Karma member

Credit Karma recommended I apply for a refi. I was turned down due to the value of the car versus the loan payoff. I called to ask what they valued that amount because I knew I was in a grand or so which I could have put cash in on it. After a few more emails they never got back to me. Lesson: Call first before putting a inquiry on your credit to see where the loan amout to payoff ratio is, your book value.

Helpful1
Not Helpful0
Comment0
Flag

Nov 07, 2017
Absolutely ridiculous
Credit Karma member

I recieved a couple calls asking me to send additional documentation. I was told twice by the person calling that they would send an email with a list of required documentation. I never recieved either email. I recieved a letter from them threatening to raise the rate to 24.99% since I hadn't sent the title and a copy of my drivers license and that to avoid it, I should send it in the pre-addressed envelope that was enclosed. No pre-addressed envelope was enclosed so I used one of mine and sent the required documents. A week later I recieved the same threatening letter again, this time with the pre-addressed envelope. She told me that the rate would not be raised but they didn't have the required documentation still and she hoped that it would show up in the mail. She told me that I should have paid to overnite the documentation and they would have reimbursed me. Not sure why that was relevant at this point. I'l never refinance a vehicle or borrow from these jokers again. I'm cancelling my auto insurance and homeowner's insurance with them.

Helpful0
Not Helpful0
Comment1
Flag

Sep 21, 2017
Credit Karma member

They have great rates very fast efficient no problems for me whatsoever got an answer within 30 minutes the reason why I did not do five stars is because they do not have gap insurance for the loan overall so far the experience has been great it could get better if they had an app for us to make manual payments the world isn't perfect I have called in spoken to them they have excellent customer service would highly recommend to a friend or family member if you are the type of person that does not like to be on auto pay and don't select it pay a percent more and call in your payments not recommended for roaches lol if you're responsible you have credit cards and you make payments on time I highly recommend Nationwide

Helpful0
Not Helpful0
Comment0
Flag

Sep 17, 2017
STAY AWAY!
Credit Karma member

I currently have my auto loan with State Farm with an APR of 5.34%. I have been with them for over a year now and I kept getting pre-approval offers from Nationwide saying I was pre-approved for an auto loan for 2.34% APR. I ignored it for awhile and then I decided to act on it and then I applied online. After I submitted practically everything, including my pay off quote with State Farm which was about $19,600.00, It then said my APR for my loan was then approved at 3.34% which was still good so then I submitted my loan application and right away it said my APR would be 5.10% with payments higher than what I am paying now. It made me very frustrated knowing I was originally pre-approved for 2.34% then all of a sudden 3.34% and then once the application was submitted, it was FINALLY 5.10%. UNBELIEVEABLE!! Now I have a hard inquiry on my credit report because of this shady company! Since I'm basically not saving any money if I switch, I'm just going to stick with State Farm. And then to top it off, you can't even get a live representative! My advice, STAY FAR AWAY & GET RID OF ANY PRE-APPROVAL LETTERS BECAUSE THEY ARE BOGUS!!

Helpful0
Not Helpful0
Comment0
Flag

1-10 of 57

These ratings and reviews are provided by our users. Banks, issuers and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee this content, are not responsible for it, and may not even be aware of it.

†† The opinions you read here come from our editorial team. Credit Karma receives compensation from third-party advertisers, but that doesn’t affect our editors' opinions. Our marketing partners don’t review, approve or endorse our editorial content. It’s accurate to the best of our knowledge when it’s posted.