Nationwide® Bank Auto Loans Reviews

2.5 out of 5 stars
18 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5

Compare Auto Loan Rates

View your top Auto Loan recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 17, 2016
BIG SAVINGS!!
SoldierMike6ft2 Borrower

Received a NW Re-Fi notice in the mail a couple of months ago. I ignored it. Purchased my current vehicle through Chase Bank 6 months ago at 12.75% APR.  Today I signed onto CK to review my credit and Nationwide popped up once again in my Recommendations Tab.  I decided to give it a shot with NW since Chase told me that my car was not eligible for re-fi due to its current mileage.  Long story short, I filled out the NW application online and within 3 minutes (or less) I was approved for a $31,000 refi loan with a APR of just 4.5%!!  Everything was done completely online without me having to even speak with a single person on the phone.  When they sent over the documents for me to e-sign, they also provided me with a credit letter notifying me of what credit bureau they used to consider my application (Transunion - 680). This was 17 pts higher than what Creditkarma was showing my TU score as. I'm definitely glad I decided to do this because it is saving me about $9,000 in interest payments! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 26, 2016
Horrible experience!!!

After my first payment paid automatically from my CU bill pay, I received a letter stating that I had used the wrong address and which listed the address I should use.  I updated my bill pay information accordingly.  Two weeks after my second payment due date, I received a collection letter stating that they had sent me a letter about a past due payment (which I never received) and to contact the collection department immediately, which I did.  I explained that I have it set up to be paid 3 days before my due date and about the letter received regarding the address change.  The collections department told me to  contact customer service, which I did.

They have the rudest, most uncooperative "customer service -- ha!" representatives I have EVER dealt with.  Because of my first couple conversations with them which were a lesson in futility and during which I got a "bit" upset, I'm sure I'm now on their b**** list and they are immediately on the defensive.  They were insisting that I pay another payment plus $20 late fee for a payment which had been sent to an incorrect address that Nationwide told me to use!!!  I told them I could not send them another payment when the other one had already been deducted from my account.  They wouldn't listen.  My CU sent them proof of payment showing it was paid 3 DAYS BEFORE MY PAYMENT DUE DATE.  Wasted effort.  I checked online. They still show my payment 3 weeks late and charged me $20!!!  Of course the CU won't refund the late fee because they used the address which Nationwide told me to use.

It's a real shame that I cannot talk to someone at Nationwide Bank who is knowledgeable and will take responsibility for this mess!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Jun 21, 2017
Angelemill Borrower

Loan not bad, horrible customer service. They don't ever know what to do. Loan says 1-3 businesses days ...I've been waiting still no loan ...

more ...
Jun 20, 2017
Incredibly disorganized service. Really.
gayliffe Borrower

Getting the loan was pretty simple; having the loan and getting through the title process has been excruciating, partly because the most technologically advanced thing they do is faxing. Due to Nationwide's inefficiency and confusion, we ended up having to pay a $180 penalty at the DMV when we paid our state taxes on the purchase. We recommend you use almost anyone else.

more ...
Jun 06, 2017
Great experience so far...
Anonymous Borrower

Was sent a pre-approval letter, ignored it. Purchased a new vehicle from Ford for $71,330 and was given an interest rate of 5.34% with Ford Credit, which prompted me to act on the Nationwide pre-approval. Went online, filled out the usual information and at the end was told "we need more time to make a decision" which usually is a polite way of saying no. I applied with Chase Bank, I figured since I have excellent standing with them, checking, savings, credit card, mortgage, etc that they would give me the ok, they said no. My credit score is in the low 800's, the issue was the loan amount. Nationwide sends an email, stating they need W2 and last 2 pay stubs, I procrastinate a few days figuring that it's a lost cause. Finally submit those and was notified that I was approved at 2.5% within 1 hour! Finished signing documents online, created an online account and setup autopay from my Chase checking. So in my limited experience, Nationwide was easy, timely and cut my interest rate in half over Ford Credit. I will update this review if something changes, but I know that I certainly had a better experience than others have had and I feel obligated to post something positive for a change.

more ...
May 16, 2017
Haven't applied and I'm not looking....
JetPino Borrower

What to do, hmmmmm!?!?

more ...
May 03, 2017
Wish I'd Known
taraleesav Borrower

If I could do it all over agian I would of gone with the credit union. They won't let you change your due date after the application process. I've never heard of this before. They're online portal is worthless. It's a joke. They finally changed it and I got a temp password in the mail. That doesn't work! So now I'm unable to log into my account and having a heck of a time getting help. I wish I could change my loan provider. I have 5 years on this loan and I'm not excited about it being with nationwide. 

more ...
Apr 26, 2017
Frustrating
Anonymous Borrower

I called to speak with a loan representative to ask when the funds would be available.  I was told that once I'm pre-approved and enter the automobile information, and the dealer did their part, the funds would be available later that day.  After the dealer completed their information online a message appeared stating that funds would not be available until 1-3 days.  This is VERY differnt from what the loan rep said.  When I called him back, he said that he never said that and that it takes 3-5 business days for the funds to be ACH transfered to the dealership.

I wasn't mislead, I was blatantly lied to in order to have me fill out the pre-approval and loan application.  Very frustrating!

more ...
Apr 02, 2017
Great, fast, saved thousands of dollars.
Anonymous Borrower

The loan rate was half of what the dealer could find. All they did was ding my credit rating with 6 hits.

more ...
Mar 24, 2017
Good

I had issue getting approved for the amount the dealer was asking for which SUCKED.  They were so easy to work with though and the application process was fast. Finally got it worked out with the car dealer and was able to get approved and buy my car. Nationwide was the only auto loan that approved me for even CLOSE to the amount i was needing to get to buy my car. Never had one problem wih customer service and in fact they were super helpful and super friendly and a few wen out of their way to help me when I had a question

more ...
Mar 21, 2017
Auto loan
Anonymous Borrower

This is the single worst company, they say your payments are late but they don't check the mailbox often. They try to claim you owe more than you really owe. And their costumer service is the absolute worst, they are very rude and short when they are asked questions.

more ...
Mar 16, 2017
Terrible for private sales
Anonymous Borrower

I have had a very bad experience getting my loan worked out with private seller. It will take 2 weeks in total to take posesion of the car from the moment the loan was approved.
The process with private sellers is not clear on thier site and what they describe only applies to dealer sales. 

They take 4-5 days to get the check in your hand and now the bank is holding the funds for 7 days because the check they issue looks fake. 

When I asked them what I can do and if there were any options such as EFT, I was told "find another lender". There cutomer service person had a serious attitude. 

I would not reccomend Nationwide for private sales, dealer sales might be better.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations