Auto Loan Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Honda Financial Services

1.8 out of 5 stars
24 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2 5

Compare Auto Loan Rates

View your top Auto Loan recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 21, 2016
Anonymous Borrower

GOOD INTEREST RATE. FLEXIBLE PAYMENT SUCH AS I CAN MAKE SEVERAL PAYMENTS AT A TIME AND I  DON'T NEED TO MAKE PAYMENTS UNTIL MY EXTRA PAYMENT IS APPLIED. FOR EXAMPLE, MY PAYMENT WAS 278.00 A MONTH, I PAID $1000.00  THIS AMOUNT WILL COVER FOR THREE PAYMENTS. ALSO HONDA SERVICES DON'T REPORT  MINOR LATE PAYMENTS TO CREDIT COMPANIES. SOME CREDITORS MAKE FALSE CREDIT REPORT EVEN THEY ARE AT FAULT BUT NOT HONDA.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 06, 2016
Horrible customer service!
Anonymous Borrower

I authorized 1 payment and my bank account was billed twice.  I called Honda and was on hold for 37 minutes.  When I finally got to speak with a customer service representative- he was a condescending and refused to help.  Now I am stuck with multiple overdraft fees because I payed all my bills on the same day and when they went through there  were insufficient funds due to the car payment being charged twice.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Nov 13, 2016
Terrible customer service..
Anonymous Borrower

Don't do online business with them. Send your payment in by mail. Their quick to post late payment on your credit, even though they screwed up. 

more ...
Oct 27, 2016
bronxite27 Borrower

I leased a new 2016 Honda CR-V in April 2016, only to have a drunk driver total it while it was parked in June 25, 2016. I had the vehicle for less than 2 months. I paid May and June (due by the 30th of the each month) because I was told I should continue payments until my insurance company assesses the damage as a total loss. The assessment was made on July 12, and as per my lease I did not have to make any payments until I get the final bill. The final payment was due by 9/16/16 and I had paid it off by the 12th. 

However, someone should have told American Honda Financial Services about their own lease agreement, because I kept receiving phone calls asking for my payments and had to tell the rep each time about my situation. Every Time. 

AHFS kept reporting to the credit bureaus that I was delinquent and my score took a nosedive, because my of their own mistakes.  I couldn't even replace the car and I desperately need one. 

I was told by AHFS that they report every 30 days, so they should have had the corrected information in my Sept. reporting. But, of course that was not done. I had to manually dispute the account with each bureau, more than once. 

I will never do business with HFS again. 

more ...
Oct 23, 2016
Cannot make a payment
Anonymous Borrower

Bought a Honda with financing at the dealer. Went to Honda Financial Services site to set up an automatic payment but they did not send an email acknowledgment and take the first payment on time and say the payment is still due. There is no way on the site to report problems. Will be calling on phone during their very limited support hours to complain. Will not be buying another Honda.

more ...
Oct 16, 2016
Random act of discrimination
Anonymous Borrower

Honda should give us our money back for doing this or give us a he'll of a deal when we trade in for charging us minorities higher rate then whites I guess they thinking white matters.

more ...
Oct 08, 2016
Dreadful service
Anonymous Borrower

48-month lease comes to an end, never missed a payment, and no notice from Honda lease was ending until after the fact. Treated like a scofflaw. Won't ever buy a car from them again.

more ...
Sep 09, 2016
Horrible Customer Service
Anonymous Borrower

They increased my monthly bill by over $20 with absolutely no explanation.  When I called customer service, I was told the estimated waiting time was over 16 minutes.  After 18 minutes, I was told the estimated wait time was over 16 minutes.  I then set up on-line access to view my billing statement, and still there was no explanation of the overage.  It then gave me a contact number for customer service and it was the same number I already had.  My husband then called the customer service phone number and the recording said it was a 16 minute wait time.  So much for being a repeat lease customer, never again due to their complete disregard of their customers.

more ...
Jul 30, 2016
Low APR

Approved for .9 APR. Pay your bills on time, most negative reveiws about auto lenders are related to missed payments. Hona Financial approval process was smooth as a babies behind. 

more ...
May 31, 2016
Anonymous Borrower

Very very poor response from customer service. 

more ...
May 31, 2016
Customer Care.. Horrible
KCAMEX Borrower

I called couple of times to Customer Care, every time it took more than 15 min for response

more ...
May 26, 2016
2 auto loans
Melsslhel Borrower

I currently have a auto loan with Honda and had another one in the past. They have been great working with me when I can't make a payment unfortunately I still got a hard credit hit. They make comments on late payments on report. But I still got to keep my car after being out of work due to medical issues. i got a 8% interest with a 620 credit score in 2011.  I had purchased gap insurance when I traded for another Honda they used that for downpayment. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations