Honda Financial Services Reviews

1.7 out of 5 stars
21 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5

Compare Auto Loan Rates

View your top Auto Loan recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 07, 2017
I had no problems with honda financial
Anonymous Borrower

The loan i took out of my side by side was great experience

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 24, 2017
Worst experience of my life!
dlflyboy Borrower

Let me tell you about my past experience with Honda Financial. I purchased a new 2009 loaded accord back in the fall of 2008. I had that car up till 2012. I've never been late with them once and used their auto draft from my credit union. They would always send me my paper statements and I would look over them. Well one Friday in May of 2012 I was at work and received an email stating my online account for Honda Financial had been turned off. So, here's were everything goes downhill. Upon reading the email I immediately give customer service a call to inquite what was going on. I was told my account was turned off for nonpayment and I would need to turn my car back in or it would be up for repo. I was absolutely floored! I explained I had auto draft and none of my paper statements reflected any past dude balances, nor did I receive any communication on the matter aside from that email. He said I had to made a payment in about 6 months. The amount he said I was behind was roughly 2500.00. I immediately paid the whole amount, but my car would still need to be given back or they would have it repossessed. I asked for a supervisor who basically said the same information. But, she did say they drafted the payments and my credit union took the money back because it was unauthorized. After getting off the phone with them I called up my credit union to ask them about the payments. It turned out honda financial was deducting the payments from another members account. I called them back and asked for a supervisor. Basically he said so sad too bad you'll need to give the car back. They did open up a case. And then they finally put it on my credit. I was so livid I called everyday for a week and demanded the situation to be fixed. They finally agreed to not take my car due to the mixup but I would need to make payments to their collection dept going forward. I explained this simply would not due. I demanded my account to be reinstated agrrrdccpujt it previously was and to have everything any negative info they just reported on my credit removed or I would immediately seek legal action. I was fed up. The supervisor who originally was handling the case disappeared. I think she quit or was fired. I really don't know. I do know within a few days of me threating to take legal action my account and credit was restored to normal. I will not, nor would I recommend using these clowns! Stay far away!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Sep 27, 2017
Anonymous Borrower

They suck from initial to end, they are an embarrassment to the quality Honda. Do yourself a favor steer clear of them. Especially if you are military associated and want to relief your self from a lease.

They are not Military friendly as they claim!

more ...
Sep 24, 2017
I will never finance a Honda again!
Anonymous Borrower

This loan was a nightmare from its origination. They quoted one rate, but then gave me another. Still a low rate, but not the 0.9% they claimed it would be when I was selecting my vehicle. The only time this loan was easy was when I set it up on automatic payments. Dealing with Honda has been a nightmare. They have made an error on my credit reporting history, and trying to get someone to fix it has been a complete nightmare. I have never made a late payment, and ended up paying it off early, and yet, American Honda Finance sits on my credit history as a negative item, reducing my credit score. I will never finance a Honda again. In fact, I may never even PURCHASE a Honda again because of this financing experience.

more ...
Jul 28, 2017
No problems
edkirton Borrower

I set up autopay and had no issues for 4.5 years.  They have a descent website in which you can see your account information and make payments, which I used to pay the loan off early.  They sent me the title rapidly, it was lost in the mail (I believe them, I've had repeated problems with USPS), the customer service rep I called was courteous and helpful and promptly send me out another for a $30 fee, which seems reasonable for a legal document.  I would borrow from them again.

more ...
Apr 03, 2017
Unprofessional and deceptive
Anonymous Borrower

They do not have any grace period for a late payment and are unforgiving with anything. They will repo you within 30 days.

more ...
Mar 27, 2017
Payoff amount not applied to account
Anonymous Borrower

Honda cashed my payoff check two months ago and still haven't applied it to my account for payoff.  I'm still receiving bills, late fees, and harassing phone calls.  Every time I call they reassure me it's "being taken care of", including the hits I'm receiving on my credit reports for my "overdue" payments.  If I could give zero stars I would.

more ...
Mar 13, 2017
SCAM ARTISTS WHEN RETURNING LEASED CAR
Anonymous Borrower

WHEN YOU WANT TO RETURN YOUR LEASED CAR AND YOU DO NOT LEASE ANOTHER CAR FROM THEM THEY CHARGE YOU THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS IN PHONY DAMAGE ISSUES WITH THE CAR, RETURN CAR FEE AND TAXES.  BEWARE OF THESE SCAM ARTISTS.  I WILL NEVER LEASE OR OWN A HONDA AGAIN.   DO NOT DEAL WITH THIS INSTITUTION!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

more ...
Mar 07, 2017
I had no problems with honda financial
Anonymous Borrower

The loan i took out of my side by side was great experience

more ...
Mar 06, 2017
OK
Anonymous Borrower

Pros:

East financing; competitive rates (beat NFCU and Penfed); fast title after pay off; good customer service; overall decent experience. 

Cons:

Credit Reporting. I paid my car off 3 years early. I would make my monthly payment and sometimes an extra one. Honda picked random dates to update my CR. Sometimes they would reprt when the statement cut and othertimes randomly. For example, I paid my car off on 16 Feb, but they reported my Feb balance on 3 Feb. My statement closes on 21 Feb. Een though my account is closed and paid off, they still haven't updated my CR yet. YMMV with reporting, so don't expect a certain date.

Overpriced GAP insurance from dealer. Total rip off. Was able to cancel through the dealer (as it was their product). GAP was 4x NFCU's rate.

more ...
Mar 05, 2017
lies
Anonymous Borrower

the final document was much different than Honda's part of the worksheet we filled out for a credit check.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations