Auto Loan Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Ford Credit

2.7 out of 5 stars
24 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

2.5 5

Compare Auto Loan Rates

View your top Auto Loan recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 29, 2016
1.9 % 72 months !
Anonymous Borrower

I was concerned I would not qualify.  660 credit score.  No problems no hassle!  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Sep 16, 2016
Just don't use ford credit. Seriously.
Anonymous Borrower

There is nothing good I can say about ford credit. I had so many bad experiences with them I've just decided to pay off my car instead of being stuck with them for 2 more years. I ran into various payment issues like autopay failing to do its job. When stuff like that happens, they don't contact me directly. They contact my brother(who was also on the account but is secondary since this is my loan). I've tried to get them to contact me(or the both of us if they want) instead but that never happened. And when autopay doesn't go through(I set it up correctly), they wait until a few days before next month's due date to blow up my brother's phone nonstop. The last rep I called was not only useless, but also condenscending even though the problem did not come from my end. They'll say it's your fault no matter what. If you have their loan, you're aleady stuck with them. Cusotmer service is a joke. 

Calls pretty much are like this, Rep: You......, Me: No I didn't, Rep: Our syste showed that you.... Me: No I didn't, I did this this this, Rep: (My action)That's not showing up in our system. 

I'm 25. My memory is fine. I know how to make simple car payments. I don't understand why there are so many issues. It's stessful. I make payments manually every month and have to log in days later to check and make sure the payment is received. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Feb 06, 2017
Let me rebuild my credit

I put money down with a credit score of 620 back in Dec 2014 on 2015 Escape thinking I wouldn't get approved for a lease. Not only did I get approved but gave me a great rate. I was told to never miss a payment and I will be able to come back to lease again. I decided to turn my lease in early for a 2017 just last week thinking let's see if the dealer was correct about getting approved easily again. Sure enough I got approved and was told I was a Tier 1 customer so I got an upgrade. I'll stick to the same plan of paying a half car payment every 2 weeks so I will always be ahead of the loan. The finance manager said when he talked to Ford they loved how I did the payments and asked if I would be doing the same? I told them yep, and I will back again in 3 years!

more ...
Jan 26, 2017
Been using Ford Motor credit for years
Anonymous Borrower

I started with Ford Motor credit when My credit was weak to say the least. They gave me a fair rate. Since that time I have fixed my credit issues and have finainced two other vehicles through them at excellent rates. Never an issue.

more ...
Jan 24, 2017
They won't let you Refi with your bank!
nfck0413 Borrower

I love Ford. My family loves Ford. We all buy from Mooresville Ford. I've never owned anything but a Ford. But I will NEVER use Ford Credit again. Beware of the enticing rebate to go through Ford Credit and take your vehicle home with you tonight! Especially if you are planning on refinancing within a few months with your credit union/bank so you can save on interest.

I have been requesting a copy (JUST A COPY) of the title so I could refinance the loan because the rate at my FCU was more than 4% less than Ford Credit. I was downright refused twice on the phone with Ford Credit customer service saying I had to go to NC DMV. So I got a hold of the DMV finally (that's not an easy task) and they told me they don't have the title - Ford does!

I have been getting jerked around by Ford Credit since November and now after I finally found a representative that would put in the request for the title print which he said would be about 2 weeks, NOW the title department person from Ford said it is going to take 6 WEEKS!

If they would have told me back in November that they could put in the request then I would have had my refinance by now, but no... NOW I have to pay another 2 months of payments with the high interest payments which is going to be about another $400-$500 in interested on top of the already $600 I've paid. So the $500 rebate that suckered me in has now cost me over $1,000. Yaaayy!

I'll also be posting, tweeting, reviewing, pinning, snapping, etc. just in case this one doesn't make it to the page. FYI - this won't keep me from owning my Fords but it's a PSA about the Ford Credit customer service. My FCU said that Ford Credit is notorious for dragging this process along more so than any other loan company! Your reputation precedes you in the loan world so I'm just helping my fellow Ford buyers :)

more ...
Jan 12, 2017
Reports false info to credit bureau

Ford Credit started off on the wrong foot with me when I made my very first payment.  Hadn't gotten any information from the dealer as to account information, just knew it was through Ford Credit.  When I finally got an invoice (got 4 peices of mail about my loan on the same day--for some reason they all went out at once) and went online to pay electronically, it was on a Friday afternoon.  The payment, even if I made it then, was not going to be processed until the following Tuesday! and then a late charge would be due.   I work with electornic payments all the time in day to day work and Ford is one of the only companies who waits so long to post a payment.  There is no need for it other than to have an excuse to charge fees.  If the IRS, every credit card I have and loan can process a payment the same day there is no reason why Ford shou;ld take 4 days.    Now when I'm going to get another car loan I'm finding that Ford has reported me as being 60 days late.  Went ot their web site and printed out the report of all payments, there is nothing even close to 60 days (not even 30) listed, so I don't know how they can get that.  Becuase of that one late payment on my credit report (only late in 5 years) I am having trouble getting a mortgage. 

In addition, part of the way through my lease, my car was totaled by a drunk driver.  Trying to reach someone in the loss department to take care of things was a nightmare.  Even the insurance claims person ran into hours-long hold times to try to reach someone.  It took them 2 weeks to return a call the first time.  Calling the main customer service number didn't help--they would just say I had to call another 800 number that resulted in endless hold. 

more ...
Jan 07, 2017
Easy to Complain...
Anonymous Borrower

...when your credit sucks!  And when you pay your bills and have an +800 credit score like me, there isn't a problem.  I'm a Ford customer and proud of it.  I love their product, and their loan application process is a breeze!  I'll continue to buy from Ford, and will continue to be amazed at those who gripe when they are ultimately the problem.

more ...
Dec 17, 2016
Auto
Anonymous Borrower

Paid off by my insurance company after it was totalled.  Ford Credit keeps billing me and charging me late fees, and no one there is willing to talk to me to fix it.

more ...
Nov 17, 2016
Ford Credit just wants your money.
Anonymous Borrower

Ford Credit charged me $75.00 to process an application that did not even get approved! Not only are they charging me for it at the same time as my $300 car payment, but they are making me pay it 2 months after my paperwork being denied!! What an awful thing. I have been a loyal customer to them for the past 5 years, never had 1 late payment & they do this to me? I will never ever use them again, nor do I recommend this credit company to anyone.

more ...
Nov 12, 2016
Absolutely useless!
Anonymous Borrower

I rung up to change my payment date they confirmed it will change in September but it never did and they took two payments! I rung up to complain all they could do is apologise, and then they said the date is changed for October, but yet again it wasn't! They yet again tried taking two payment and then I rung up not happy! In November it happened again and they took two payments on the same date! No one seems to know what there doing there.  I get to give my car back in 2 'months and would never take a car with fords again. Would never recommend them!

more ...
Oct 28, 2016
Great!
rosco2011 Borrower

I have been doing business with ford credit for years and i would't switch to any other company. i love ford credit and would tell everyone that's the company to go with.

more ...
Oct 18, 2016
Anonymous Borrower

If there were no stars, that would be the correct feedback! Ford is the most unprofessional inconsiderate company I have ever had to deal with. From the time a bought my car it was a big mistake. I took my car to Gilboy Ford DEALERSHIP for a simple oil change and they forgot to put the cap back! Once i brought this to their attention they acted like this isn't a big deal, probably because it happens all the time. I went to trade my car in and the Finance Manager at gilboy is also extremely unprofessional making comments to the other dealership. Ford then took the payment out of my account after the car was sold because their employees are not trained on the correct procedures. That was in the beginning of Septemeber. It is not October 18th and i still do not have my check to repay me for the money they took out! 

I WILL NEVER REFER ANYONE TO FORD EVER! ESPECIALLY GILBOY FORD! 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations