Ford Credit Reviews

2.7 out of 5 stars
18 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

2.5 5

Compare Auto Loan Rates

View your top Auto Loan recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Feb 06, 2017
Let me rebuild my credit
Stockmanjim76 Borrower

I put money down with a credit score of 620 back in Dec 2014 on 2015 Escape thinking I wouldn't get approved for a lease. Not only did I get approved but gave me a great rate. I was told to never miss a payment and I will be able to come back to lease again. I decided to turn my lease in early for a 2017 just last week thinking let's see if the dealer was correct about getting approved easily again. Sure enough I got approved and was told I was a Tier 1 customer so I got an upgrade. I'll stick to the same plan of paying a half car payment every 2 weeks so I will always be ahead of the loan. The finance manager said when he talked to Ford they loved how I did the payments and asked if I would be doing the same? I told them yep, and I will back again in 3 years!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 28, 2017
Shady end-of-lease procedures, TERRIBLE
Anonymous Borrower

Be careful if you lease through Ford and then don't want to buy another Ford at the end of your lease. They refused to give me a lease payoff once they found out I wasn't buying another Ford. In fact, when I started car shopping I logged into my Ford Credit online account and printed a payoff letter (like any other manufacturer lease I've had before)  - when it was time for the dealer to pay Ford for the car they REMOVED the link and make it impossible for me to get a payoff letter. Refused to give me a payoff and forcing me to go to a dealer in a city where I don't even live. They stated it says in my lease contract this is their process (even though I can't find where it says this) and the payoff check for the vehicle must come from a Ford dealer. The funny thing is the dealer who sold me the brand X car is ALSO a Ford dealer - so the check IS coming from a Ford dealer. Have traded in other Fords off lease early, at different Ford dealerships, without any problem before. Will never lease or buy through Ford Credit again. Strongarming customers is a terrible way to get repeat business and an even worse way to spread positive word of mouth. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Aug 17, 2017
Poor service after the fact - VERY poor
Anonymous Borrower

I needed some simple documents in order to register my vehicle in a new state when I moved; its been 8 days and I still don't have a reply.  In fact, they can't even confirm if they rec'd my request.  I've called 5 times, each time i speak to a customer service rep that couldn't care less about my request or helping me in any way, shape or form.  Needless to say this will be the last vehcile I lease or purchase from Ford, not that they care.

more ...
Aug 03, 2017
Disaster
Anonymous Borrower

No customer loyalty. Will for sure hurt Ford Motor.

more ...
Jun 20, 2017
Life savers!
Anonymous Borrower

Ford Credit was amazing to work with! Several years ago, I NEEDED a car. I only had one which got me to work & my kids to school but mine had died.. First of a they approved me after I'd just gone through a divorce with messy financial issues. Even with a better rate than my bank (if they would've approved me, which they wouldn't). Then a few years into the loan, being a single mom, being furloughed (govt worker) resulting in pay cut, Ford was exceptional & extremely understanding when I was having difficulty making payments some months. They gave me options, even letting me skip a month when I didn't think I'd be able to buy my kids Christmas presents! I've often said I wouldn't go anywhere else & now that I'm looking for a car again, there's no question where I'll go!

more ...
Jun 04, 2017
I LOVE FORD CREDIT !
AMSSHEPHERD Borrower

I AM A LOYAL CUSTOMER AND ALWAYS WILL BE! 

0% Financing - DONE 

Needed to move my payment date - DONE No Problem 

I have nothing but good to say about Ford .  My Mustang loan is paid off and i willbe going and getting a truck!!!   LOVE FORD CREDIT!!!!!!!!! 

more ...
May 25, 2017
Ford Credit was great to me
doggett65 Borrower

 I was layed off and asked ford credit for an extension the lady on the phone was more than helpful , that gave me the breathing room I needed til I found another job . I will always appreciate that ford credit helped me at a low point in life.

more ...
Apr 03, 2017
Don't check their own information!
Anonymous Borrower

We were denied the original loan because Ford Credit inaccurately placed a judgement on my husband's credit (which should show as excellent).  They don't review their own information, and dinged his credit instead of his father's, potentially costing us 6 months of interest payments.  We are still attempting to remedy the situation, however have had no word yet.

The dealership we went through is trying to do their best to remedy a stupid clerical error on Ford Credit's part.  They need to be more careful, because if we had not caught it, this could have been an even larger issue.

more ...
Mar 28, 2017
Shady end-of-lease procedures, TERRIBLE
Anonymous Borrower

Be careful if you lease through Ford and then don't want to buy another Ford at the end of your lease. They refused to give me a lease payoff once they found out I wasn't buying another Ford. In fact, when I started car shopping I logged into my Ford Credit online account and printed a payoff letter (like any other manufacturer lease I've had before)  - when it was time for the dealer to pay Ford for the car they REMOVED the link and make it impossible for me to get a payoff letter. Refused to give me a payoff and forcing me to go to a dealer in a city where I don't even live. They stated it says in my lease contract this is their process (even though I can't find where it says this) and the payoff check for the vehicle must come from a Ford dealer. The funny thing is the dealer who sold me the brand X car is ALSO a Ford dealer - so the check IS coming from a Ford dealer. Have traded in other Fords off lease early, at different Ford dealerships, without any problem before. Will never lease or buy through Ford Credit again. Strongarming customers is a terrible way to get repeat business and an even worse way to spread positive word of mouth. 

more ...
Feb 06, 2017
Let me rebuild my credit

I put money down with a credit score of 620 back in Dec 2014 on 2015 Escape thinking I wouldn't get approved for a lease. Not only did I get approved but gave me a great rate. I was told to never miss a payment and I will be able to come back to lease again. I decided to turn my lease in early for a 2017 just last week thinking let's see if the dealer was correct about getting approved easily again. Sure enough I got approved and was told I was a Tier 1 customer so I got an upgrade. I'll stick to the same plan of paying a half car payment every 2 weeks so I will always be ahead of the loan. The finance manager said when he talked to Ford they loved how I did the payments and asked if I would be doing the same? I told them yep, and I will back again in 3 years!

more ...
Feb 27, 2017

This gives me some hope!

 
Jun 20, 2017

What was your rate?

 
Jan 26, 2017
Been using Ford Motor credit for years
Anonymous Borrower

I started with Ford Motor credit when My credit was weak to say the least. They gave me a fair rate. Since that time I have fixed my credit issues and have finainced two other vehicles through them at excellent rates. Never an issue.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 25, 2017

Just curious, what kind of a rate did they give you when your credit was weak? I've been speaking with a dealership about buying a new Ford Explorer, and one of their requirements for a lower price was financing with Ford Motor Credit. My credit according to Credit Karma, Credit Sesame, and Credit.com is anywhere from 621 to 674.

 
Jan 24, 2017
They won't let you Refi with your bank!
nfck0413 Borrower

I love Ford. My family loves Ford. We all buy from Mooresville Ford. I've never owned anything but a Ford. But I will NEVER use Ford Credit again. Beware of the enticing rebate to go through Ford Credit and take your vehicle home with you tonight! Especially if you are planning on refinancing within a few months with your credit union/bank so you can save on interest.

I have been requesting a copy (JUST A COPY) of the title so I could refinance the loan because the rate at my FCU was more than 4% less than Ford Credit. I was downright refused twice on the phone with Ford Credit customer service saying I had to go to NC DMV. So I got a hold of the DMV finally (that's not an easy task) and they told me they don't have the title - Ford does!

I have been getting jerked around by Ford Credit since November and now after I finally found a representative that would put in the request for the title print which he said would be about 2 weeks, NOW the title department person from Ford said it is going to take 6 WEEKS!

If they would have told me back in November that they could put in the request then I would have had my refinance by now, but no... NOW I have to pay another 2 months of payments with the high interest payments which is going to be about another $400-$500 in interested on top of the already $600 I've paid. So the $500 rebate that suckered me in has now cost me over $1,000. Yaaayy!

I'll also be posting, tweeting, reviewing, pinning, snapping, etc. just in case this one doesn't make it to the page. FYI - this won't keep me from owning my Fords but it's a PSA about the Ford Credit customer service. My FCU said that Ford Credit is notorious for dragging this process along more so than any other loan company! Your reputation precedes you in the loan world so I'm just helping my fellow Ford buyers :)

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations