Fifth Third Bank Auto Loans

Reviews: Fifth Third Bank Auto Loans

Reviews: Fifth Third Bank Auto Loans

Fifth Third Bank Auto Loans

Overall lender rating

1.6
out of 5
33 reviews
from Credit Karma members


Member ratings

All member reviews (33)

1
4
2
0
26
Sep 21, 2022
No automated recurring payments
Credit Karma member

My auto loan with fifth third is literally the only bill that I have to manually pay every month. They won't let you setup recurring debits unless its from a fifth third checking account. There's no doubt that its an intentional design rather than a system limitation. The bar for a sufficient auto loan experience is so low and they can't even address the basic need of automatic recurring payments.

Helpful0
Not Helpful0
Comment0
Flag

Sep 19, 2022
Ridiculous
Credit Karma member

Heartless. If your co signer dies you are screwed. Always always speak to your probate lawyer before you send money.

Helpful0
Not Helpful0
Comment0
Flag

Sep 02, 2022
Run Away!
Credit Karma member

Horrible customer service. Stayed on the phone for an hour and received no help. Was hung up on by the first rep who continually tried to talk over me as I was explaining the issue. I paid my auto loan over a week in advance, and received notification a day after it was due that they were unable to process it and we’re charging me a fee. They somehow tried to bill the member number for my credit union instead of my actual account number. Blatantly refused to try to figure out how this came to be. Wouldn’t even waive the fee. I’ll be refinancing as soon as possible.

Helpful0
Not Helpful0
Comment0
Flag

Aug 25, 2022
Good
Credit Karma member

Check

Helpful0
Not Helpful0
Comment0
Flag

Mar 18, 2022
Designed to Steal from the Borrower
Credit Karma member

They bought my car loan without me knowing. I can't auto-pay unless I have a 5/3rd checking account. I can't get a 5/3rd checking account because they "don't offer it in my area." So I can't auto-pay my installment car loan. Period. They're just waiting for you to trip up and designing the user experience so that you do. Avoid at all costs. These guys should NOT be in business. I will be re-financing my car loan away from this awful experience I've been forced into. I did not choose to be involved with this lender and I'm sad that I was forced to be. Don't you make the same mistake by choice...

Helpful1
Not Helpful0
Comment0
Flag

Mar 08, 2022
HELP???? NOT AN OUNCE OF IT AVAILABLE...
Credit Karma member

What a nightmare. Hold times are over 30 minutes. The rep flat out lied to me today as well. She refused to transfer me to the title department, saying I wasn't a signatory. I asked how she knew as I provided no info to ID myself nor the account. Asked her is she had it pulled up in front of her and she said 'no'. An absolute waste of my time. Requested I be transferred to a supervisor. Told him to listen to the call and tell her not to lie anymore. Customer Service is NON EXISTANT. FIND ANOTHER BANK!!!!!!! NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I KNOW I AM.

Helpful0
Not Helpful0
Comment0
Flag

Feb 19, 2022
No Help at All
Credit Karma member

Very hard to get in touch with the correct department. Went to retitled a car in another state. Cannot get a fax number for the car title department. Do not do business with this organization...you only get the run around!

Helpful0
Not Helpful0
Comment0
Flag

Feb 15, 2022
Can’t recommend this bank
Credit Karma member

All of the negative reviews are unfortunately accurate. I was suckered in by a promotion and I have regretted it every day since… Transactions are held in pending for days; transfers (both in and out) take at least 3 days to post; holds are kept longer than other banks; etc. In short, if you need access to your money you better be willing to wait…

Helpful0
Not Helpful0
Comment0
Flag

Jan 18, 2022
AWFUL
Credit Karma member

AWFUL! Please do not waste your time with them for a car loan. There has been many months where I have made a payment online and either for some reason days later they dont receive it OR it takes DAYSSSS for them to actually debit it from your account

Helpful1
Not Helpful0
Comment0
Flag

Apr 25, 2019
The Worst Bank EVER!!!
Credit Karma member

Back in 2014 I got a car loan from this bank, and all was ok, until, something happened and all my scheduled payments got cancelled (not by me) and were never processed. Since I had the payments set up I wasn't even thinking to check if they were clearing, as I was busy with other things (recently bought a house and was renovating it). As a result I missed 2 or 3 payments, but no one bothered to call me, because supposedly they didn't have permission to contact me by phone, email and mail, but apparently they did have permission to enter my premises and reposes the car. I literally made over 30 calls to figure out what happened and how I can get the car back, and each time they hung up on me without providing any information. At one point, one of the customer service representatives asked me if there is anyone with me, because she heard voices. I replied that I'm standing in line in the store and she told me that she needs permission from the people around me to talk to me. When I asked if she is serous she said yes and if I don't comply she will have no choice but to end the call. So I asked again, "do you seriously need permission from a stranger to speak to me about my personal matter?" and she hung up on me. When I called back, the same person answered and she literally denied talking to me a minute earlier, and she hung up on me again. Eventually, I was able to get info how to get my car back. So I paid through Western Union, waited for the bank to process the payment and went to pick up the car all the same day. When we got to the parking lot where the car was held the repo guy who picked up our car previous night told us that all this parking lot was jam-packed with cars financed through 5/3 bank. He himself admitted that he gets 90% of his business from this bank alone. Few months later, I saw a repossession on my credit, so I called the bank and asked if there is a way to remove it. I offered to pay off the loan and in return I asked if they could remove the repo from my credit history. I wasn't even surprised when even before I finished the sentence I hear NO. The explanation was that their, policy calls for accurate reporting. Wish it also called for reporting how unprofessional and deceitful this bank is. Honestly, even if my life depended on it, I don't want to have anything to do with this bank ever again, because nothing but trouble can be expected.

Helpful1
Not Helpful0
Comment0
Flag

1-10 of 33

These ratings and reviews are provided by our users. Banks, issuers and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee this content, are not responsible for it, and may not even be aware of it.

†† The opinions you read here come from our editorial team. Credit Karma receives compensation from third-party advertisers, but that doesn’t affect our editors' opinions. Our marketing partners don’t review, approve or endorse our editorial content. It’s accurate to the best of our knowledge when it’s posted.