Auto Loan Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Fifth Third Bank Auto Loans

1.2 out of 5 stars
12 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year


Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1 5

Compare Auto Loan Rates

View your top Auto Loan recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.


These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Sep 12, 2016
They rip off children's trust funds
Anonymous Borrower

My daughters had trust funds set up due to their father's death.  The money was supposed to be in cd's(certificate of deposit) and they invested it in the stock  market instead.  They lost  $45,000.00 or more of my daughters money.  

more ...
Sep 12, 2016
Horrible customer service
Anonymous Borrower

It has been 2 months since I got my car with Fifth Third Bank and I am yet to get a statement from them. With my social security I figured my first payment was due two weeks ago but I dont even know my account number! I have tried for DAYS to get a hold of someone but nobody picks up the phone HORRIBLE service. I am trying to pay them and I can't get a hold of them. This should be the easiest way to get a hold of give them money. 

more ...
Aug 03, 2016
auto loan
Anonymous Borrower

horrible customer service, if you are 1 day passed ur due date you can not pay online, you are charged 15$ to pay over the phone and they refuse to talk to my wife about the account after authorizing her many times. 

more ...
Jun 24, 2016
Auto Loan surprise
Anonymous Borrower

If you get a long throught this bank that are partnered with Santander Consumer. You wont find this out right away and when you call the bank, they will have no info about your loan. Be very causious when dealing with this bank as some  car dealers are unware of this this practice.

more ...
Jun 15, 2016
Absolutely from them!
Anonymous Borrower

I co-signed an auto loan for my son.  We moved, he thought he made the payment online as he always does but with a new internet it didn't go through.  We called were told all was fine as long as we re-submitted the payment.  We did right away.  They STILL reported it to the credit bureau in BOTH our names!  Caused my excellent score, which I've always had, to drop 100 points.  Now with a mortgage refinance ready to close because of a balloon payment I might lose it and the house.  I asked if they could do anything; write a letter to the mortgage company explaining, anything.  Nope, then I received a lecture that the fact was it was a late payment so of course they had to report it.  Really?  I've worked with other banks and if there is a legit reason they work with you.  How about all the extra payments my son has made?  I guess those don't count, just one will take you down even if you had legit reasons.  I will NEVER do business with them again, and I would advise others not to also.  We owned up to the mistake, took responsibiity for it, and rectified it.  What more do they want?!

more ...
Jun 07, 2016
Auto Loan for used
Anonymous Borrower

They are terrible.  Stay away.  Four hours to close the loan and five days later I still don't have the docs to get the vehilce registered and plated.

DON'T DO IT, LOOK ELSEWHERE.  Customer care is real bad, nobody home.

more ...
Apr 17, 2016
Car loan.
Anonymous Borrower

Horrible customer service. No online bill pay. They are not easy to work with AT ALL. 

more ...
Apr 08, 2016
Never again!!!!!
Anonymous Borrower

I never had a late payment in my life. I pay off the loan and 7-30 days late marks appear on my credit report. When I called to ask about this, I was met with rude, uncaring customer service agents. These crooks have ruined my credit for the next seven years!! Buyer beware!!

more ...
Jan 15, 2016
Wait time is ridiculous
Anonymous Borrower

I have been on hold forever!!! its like 1 person must work in customer service for the wait to be this long

more ...
Jan 13, 2016
Worst bank to finance a car with.

Our 2006 Chrysler Pacifica was originally financed with Fifth Third Bank. They were horrendous to deal with, no online payments, rude customer service, and they worked in the stone ages. Aftar about six months they sold us to Santander Consumer USA which is awesome compared to Fifth Third. Santander has been wonderful and operate in the modern era.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations