Capital One® Auto Finance Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
52 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

4 5

Compare Auto Loan Rates

View your top Auto Loan recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 28, 2017
Awesome!
Honeybeegirl74 Borrower

I am coming out of a divorce..my credit score was 600 TU and 685 Equifax. I just started my job after being a stay at home mom for 16 yrs. I applied, prequalified for rate between 2.9 and 12. They required NO documentation. I found my car..played with the numbers. Went to dealership, was super nervous....just too easy and to get approved upto 32k with not great credit. The dealership was great, ran the credit app through Cap one... my deal was exact same as on my letter.. no docs requested. Same terms, ect..left with a 2014 with 25k miles. I am a happy customer! I do have a small line credit card with capital one I have had for a long time in which I always pay on time. I highly recommend them for anyone with my credit situation.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Sep 08, 2016
Was great 2 years ago....
Anonymous Borrower

On a whim 2 years ago I applied for a CO Blank Check for a new car purchase. CS at the time was around 540. I was immediately approved for $18,000 at 17%. (I started 6 months prior to this by getting a secured card from CO and then a Quicksilver card) Purchased a 2013 Nissan Altima with my blank check. I have never had an issue with purchasing the car, using the blank check, making any payments, dealing with customer serivce, or anything else. It has been a dream come true. I've made payments on time on all three accounts (car and 2 cards). It is not 2 years later, my CS is up to 635 and I have decided to trade my car in. I have been getting these emails from CO about applying for the "Auto Navigator Program" so today I decided to take the plunge and see what kind of interest rate I could get. I figured I would get about 20k @ 5-10%. Well....I was flat out denied. Ive been a loyal customer for 3 years, always paid on time, had several CL increases, credit score went up by100 points...but nope. I called them to see what the deal was and the lady on the phone told me that she couldnt tell me anything, that a computer decides who gets approved and for how much and I just had to wait until I got the letter in the mail in 7-10 business days. It doesnt make any sense to me. I really wanted to get a new car in the next few months and I really wanted to use another CO Blank Check.  Guess I am stuck with this car for another 6 months or so....

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Aug 10, 2017
Never again.
Anonymous Borrower

Terrible customer service.

more ...
Aug 01, 2017
Anonymous Borrower

The loan was paid off in bankruptcy in April of 2015, never received title. Had to thru Attorney to receive it, how stupid is that????????? It takes 2 years to receive a title!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

more ...
Jul 02, 2017
Simple process and great results!
missdaisy2u Borrower

I made the mistake in 2013 of going to a dealer and applying for financing and buying a car. I did not get the best deal like this. I applied using Capital One's pre-approval site and I was able to shop around and get a better deal. I didn't have to have numerous inquiries on my credit either. I compared prices knowing excatly what I could afford. I even got my son and brother to purchase their vehicles using Capital One! I also recommend it because it cut down the time you spend at the dealership. My paperwork was ready to go when I got there and I was in and out within about an hour. 

more ...
Jun 19, 2017
Awesome process
chrltt Borrower

I applied for  a car loan, got pre-qualified picked the cars I love from their website and printed out my pre-qualification letter. I went to the dealer, showed them my letter, test drove the car, filled out my credit application and went home with the car I love. In and out of the dealer in less than 2 hours, it's no brainer I will recommend this institution

more ...
Jun 12, 2017
Never again
hbdaniels Borrower

Went though a divorce. Tried to call and explain that my ex gave me the car 30 days behind. I got my first ever late payment on my credit report. I expected them to work with me some how but was told they have no "good will" policy and that was that. I had to refinance because of the divorce, didn't know the car was behind, and the payoff check is literally in the mail. They gave no ****s.

more ...
Jun 08, 2017
Excellent Buying Experience
missdaisy2u Borrower

I just filled out paperwork online, signed papers at the dealership and drove off in my car. Super simple!

more ...
Jun 08, 2017
Excellent Buying Experience
missdaisy2u Borrower

Having my preapproval was an awesome bargaining tool. I went into the dealership and basically signed a few papers and drove off in my new car.

more ...
Jun 06, 2017
Simple & Straight Forward
Anonymous Borrower

The numbers auto navigator gives you as far as what your APR and monthly payments should be is ABSOLUTELY what they should be. I have terrible credit (552) and had $100 in my bank account when the dealership ran my credit (which they apparently don't need to do anyways) and tried to tell me my APR and monthly payments were much more than capital one had projected. Make sure before signing any paperwork that the dealership is giving you the same rate as capital one. In my case it was the dealership trying to pull a fast one on me but luckily I had read other's reviews and knew to call capital one before signing. The dealership sent in paperwork for a Ford Taurus (which they convieniently didn't even sell) when I was purchasing a Chrysler 200. Customer service the three times I called was a 10/10!!

more ...
Apr 20, 2017
Car buying made easy
Anonymous Borrower

Works just like it should .... shows all local vehicles and payments ... was simple and I already knew what payment would be before going to the dealer ... and peace of mind knowing I can get it financed and payments where I wanted it ... highly recommend

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 05, 2017

Enter Your Reply

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations