Auto Loan Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Capital One® Auto Finance

3.8 out of 5 stars
61 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

4 5

Compare Auto Loan Rates

View your top Auto Loan recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 09, 2016
Legit
zeekeo Borrower

Got pre-approved for 40k at 2.49% on a new car. Went to a dealer and drove out 3 hours later in 2016 accord sport at said rate. Only papaerwork provided was license and prrof of insurance to the dealer. No income verification or additional paperwork. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Sep 08, 2016
Was great 2 years ago....
Anonymous Borrower

On a whim 2 years ago I applied for a CO Blank Check for a new car purchase. CS at the time was around 540. I was immediately approved for $18,000 at 17%. (I started 6 months prior to this by getting a secured card from CO and then a Quicksilver card) Purchased a 2013 Nissan Altima with my blank check. I have never had an issue with purchasing the car, using the blank check, making any payments, dealing with customer serivce, or anything else. It has been a dream come true. I've made payments on time on all three accounts (car and 2 cards). It is not 2 years later, my CS is up to 635 and I have decided to trade my car in. I have been getting these emails from CO about applying for the "Auto Navigator Program" so today I decided to take the plunge and see what kind of interest rate I could get. I figured I would get about 20k @ 5-10%. Well....I was flat out denied. Ive been a loyal customer for 3 years, always paid on time, had several CL increases, credit score went up by100 points...but nope. I called them to see what the deal was and the lady on the phone told me that she couldnt tell me anything, that a computer decides who gets approved and for how much and I just had to wait until I got the letter in the mail in 7-10 business days. It doesnt make any sense to me. I really wanted to get a new car in the next few months and I really wanted to use another CO Blank Check.  Guess I am stuck with this car for another 6 months or so....

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Feb 15, 2017
Holding title for 15 business days
Anonymous Borrower

I paid off loan via bank tranfer, CapitalOne holds the title for 15 business days. They have the funds, it's not like I gave a check...it was a bank tranfer!!  I will never do business with them again, nor do I recommend them for this process. 

more ...
Feb 11, 2017
Great experience
Anonymous Borrower

I was in need of a car since my husband and I were separating and we only had one car. I had only been on my job for 1 month. Had two credit cards through cap one that were still in collections and hadn't been paid on. I honestly was expected to get a preapproval but I did! I submitted my pay stubs online and a week later they informed me I was preapproval. My rate is high 17.9% but at least I was approved.

I was worried that once I applied at dealer which is required that I eventually be denied but I wasn't. I put $1250 down on car and financed a car for $8000. 

Im so thankful to cap one auto finance for giving me a chance. My first payment will be due in March. I'm looking forward to rebuilding my credit!

more ...
Jan 26, 2017
This bank is bull crap
Anonymous Borrower

I hate everything about this bank. I hate there website.There customer service is laughable. I got a car through them recently put a big down payment. My credit was decent.

I am paying on two other cars plus this one again credit is good. I should of not even go the car. I did not need it just wanted it. I have a history of paying my bills. They still kept the intrest higher than it should of been. Did I say Ihate this bank

more ...
Jan 22, 2017
Easy to work with
kanda321 Borrower

It isn't easy to find a loan on a car for less then 10k. We got a really good deal on a pre owned vehicle and top dollar for our trade in and only needed to finance $7500. Capital one was one of the few companies who would do it and they gave us a fantastic rate! Definitely recommend.

more ...
Jan 07, 2017
Excellent !!!

Accepted me for a new car the day I was discharged from Chapter 7. I paid on time time for one year and traded in my 2015 Toyota Corolla for a 2016, and got accepted for 2.9% on Toyota Finance.

more ...
Jan 06, 2017
Excellent

I'm very pleased with how easy the process was for me. My credit score is low, and my interest is pretty high but I'll refinance in a year. I applied online through the auto navigator. Found a car I loved and walked out with a 2016 Hyundai Elantra with a credit score below 600. Zero down payment. My suggestion to you is to call Capital one and confirm the interest rate and payment before you sign your papers. The dealershp tried to pull a fast one on me. 

more ...
Jan 06, 2017
Awesome
lsantg1975 Borrower

I have 3 cc's and a auto loan with Cap One. Just got approved for another auto loan.

more ...
Jan 06, 2017
Great credit card
Anonymous Borrower

I loved this credit card it gave me great  service

more ...
Jan 05, 2017
THEY ARE THE BEST
Asynchris Borrower

Kept getting letters for re finance. I have a 2013 Infiniti M37x. Applied for re financing on my Macbook just tonight and was just approved. Was at a 9.57% and they approved me for a 5.50%. Saving $5,200 to be exact. with a shorter term by 2 years. Funny thing I was going to trade my car in for a Maserati Gran Turismo. Good thing I didn't. Although my payments only dropped 15 dollars, ultimately I saved more. Just imagine what I can do with $5,200 over the term of my loan.

more ...
Jan 05, 2017
Called in and the rep was rude!
Anonymous Borrower

Rep was from overseas, she told me I spoke to quickly and could not understand me. I slowed down my speaking and she stated she still could not understand me and then disconnected the call on me. Extremely rude!!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations