Capital One® Auto Finance

3.8 out of 5 stars
59 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

4 5

Compare Auto Loan Rates

View your top Auto Loan recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Dec 16, 2013
Dealer running yr credit after the fact
Anonymous Borrower

First, let me state my credentials. I was an Account Supervisor for a major auto loan company before I retired.  It is absolutely NOT necessary for any dealer to run your credit after your lender has approved your loan. The dealer is simply trying to get you to switch to their preferred lender so they can get more money out of the deal. Don't let them try to pressure you into dropping YOUR lender by saying things like "you lender has a bad reputation," or "the dealership got burned by the lender and refuses to work with them," whatever their excuse may be. If the dealer refuses to work with you once you have secured your own loan, WALK AWAY FROM THE DEAL because your lender is giving the loan to you, not the dealer. Once you make a deal for the vehicle, then you will be responsible for the difference, usually your down payment amount. A lot of  dealers will shoot your application for a loan out to many lenders, who will check your credit. Too many inquires on your credit can adversely affect your credit score. (Suggestion: Never apply for an auto loan first if you are trying to buy a house. Secure your home mortgage before you apply for an auto loan.)

There are three separate items you are dealing with when you buy a vehicle from a dealer: the price of the vehicle, your financing, and the value of your current vehicle. We've already talked about your financing, so lets talk about the other two: First, the price of the new vehicle; NEVER go by the MSRP, just remember, it is the SUGGESTED retail price which could be a lot higher than the fair market value of the vehicle. Even if the dealer gives you unbelievable discounts or credits. Tell the dealer you want to see the 'Dealer's Invoice" for the vehicle you are interested in. That invoice is what the dealer paid the manufacturer for the vehicle plus shipping costs. The dealer might include 'options' or 'add ons' on the invoice. That's ok because it gives you a starting point to begin you negoiation with the dealer. Your goal should be to give the dealer a fair profit for the vehicle without being rediculously over charged. Now there are dealers like CARMAX that have a flat price for their vehicles with very little room, if any, for negotiating. They act like a retail store.

Dealers will offer to combine all three elements into the deal as a 'service to you.' But they will simply be trying to control the whole deal to get the maximum amount of money from you. These are three separate items, treat them as such.

Now, the third element, your trade-in. You can trade in your old vehicle in hopes of getting a lower price on the new vehicle. That's ok, if you wish to to do it tha way, but just remember, the dealer will offer you a price lower that you could get by selling it to an individual. You might try Kelly Blue Book at KBB.com to get an idea of the different values of your old vehicle before you decide which way you want to go. Important note: if you own the vehicle outright and sell it to an individual, then any money you get is pure profit for you. If you still owe money on it, your leinholder gets paid first and then you get what is left over, so make sure you sell the vehicle for at least the balance of the loan if you go that route.

THIS IS IN NO WAY LEGAL ADVICE. IT IS SIMPLY BASED ON WHAT I LEARNED AS AN ACCOUNT SUPERVISOR FOR A MAJOR AUTO LOAN COMPANY.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Sep 24, 2013
Extra payment application
Anonymous Borrower

Read Finance charge and payments section carefully in contract. Any extra payment you make does NOT go toward the principal until you are three months ahead in payments. The extra is applied to next payment, does not go toward principal until you are more than three months ahead in payments and stay three months ahead in payments. While you can make extra payments toward the principle, it can only be done on-line.and must be done separate from regular payment. Thus charging you more interest in the long run.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Apr 20, 2017
Car buying made easy
Anonymous Borrower

Works just like it should .... shows all local vehicles and payments ... was simple and I already knew what payment would be before going to the dealer ... and peace of mind knowing I can get it financed and payments where I wanted it ... highly recommend

more ...
Apr 18, 2017

Love their website, easy to pay online and sents you reminders that your payment is due.

more ...
Apr 07, 2017
Always there for Low Creditors !!
RamSe Borrower

Capital One was always there, even with my less than average Credit. They rejected me the first time I applied with lower 500s. Then I took 3 months to build it to 590 and voila, they got me pre-approved for upto 25K with the best APR in competition.

The Application process was by far the easiest. All electronic, no paper work, no calls or follow-ups. Applied through their website, Pre-approved the same day, Routed to their "Auto Navigator" site that has almost all Dealers you see in Autotrader/Cars.com listed, found my Car and Drove it home.

more ...
Apr 05, 2017
Capital One is unwilling to help
Anonymous Borrower

Capital One does not help their clients at all. I asked to put one payment behind and was told no. This happened a few time. No reason  except "it's policy". I asked them "so you would rather see someone lose their car than to help at all". I received a BS reply as usual. I made payment arrangements after asking and asking and asking. Finally they agreed. They want me to pay almost $600 a month! for a used car! Customer service is so below par there isn't even a level for it. When I asked to speak to a supervisor, they put another customer service rep on the phone with me. He was rude, talked over me and down to me. Things like "let me help you understand". I was so aggravated with him I hung up on him. I have never been treated so poorly!  If you want a decent car loan company, go with Ally. They're  always nice and polite and accommodating. Capital one needs to fire all of their CS reps and hire people who have people skills. When I fell behind, I called to update them on my situation and the first words out of the reps mouth was "Is there a tow truck in front of your house":? I was threatened as well. If you have a choice Do Not get a loan with capital one. One final note: You cannot call Corporate Headquarters either because the phone does not give an option to speak to anyone. How's that for service?

more ...
Mar 28, 2017
Awesome!

I am coming out of a divorce..my credit score was 600 TU and 685 Equifax. I just started my job after being a stay at home mom for 16 yrs. I applied, prequalified for rate between 2.9 and 12. They required NO documentation. I found my car..played with the numbers. Went to dealership, was super nervous....just too easy and to get approved upto 32k with not great credit. The dealership was great, ran the credit app through Cap one... my deal was exact same as on my letter.. no docs requested. Same terms, ect..left with a 2014 with 25k miles. I am a happy customer! I do have a small line credit card with capital one I have had for a long time in which I always pay on time. I highly recommend them for anyone with my credit situation.

more ...
Mar 22, 2017
easy
Anonymous Borrower

I got an auto loan through capitol one becasue I already had a pre paid credit card through them so it was very easy. When I buy anther car I will go through them again.

more ...
Mar 14, 2017
Awesome Experience
lfleming01 Borrower

Received the letter from Capital One Auto Navigator stating I was pre-qualified.  Thought it was too good to be true, but it was true.  Awesome and smoothest process ever buying a car.  Bought a 2017 Ford Explorer no money down and 4.84% interest! 

Love it, will definitely use again!

more ...
Mar 07, 2017
Smoothest experience!
Anonymous Borrower

Received a surprise letter from Capital One that I had been pre-approved for up to $35k and interest between 18-23%.  I have had bad credit in the past and have been slowly climbing up in the past couple years.  Was nervous this was just a fake sales pitch.  But, took a chance.  Went to the dealership listed on the letter and quickly found a car I liked (2013 Ford Taurus).  Did a credit application to explore best options, but did wind up going with capital one auto loan.  Put down $500 an walked away with a car in just a couple hours - 18% interest.  High, yes, but was encouraged to refinance in 2 years of on-time payments.  Surprised I got as nice as a car that I did - defintely the best i have ever had and a reward that my work to rebuild my credit is paying off!  

more ...
Mar 05, 2017
Absolutely fantastic experience
ikj972 Borrower

The process was super easy to apply and provide the needed details without a hit to my credit.

Could not believe how easy it was and then when I actually got approved for a car I was amazed.

I thought it was a scam or unreal but it turned out to be a life saver as i would not be in a nicer vehicle if it was not for capital one giving me a chance.

I would highly recommend.

I will add once you get approved you have 45 days so make sure you do not let it expire. If your credit changes in that time you may not get approved if you reapply.

more ...
Feb 24, 2017
phenomenal!!!
Anonymous Borrower

Great! I don't know where to begin I have been working on my credit for the last year and to say the least its most definitely not where it needs to be and for that reason I thought that I wouldn't be approved for a new auto loan! But I was wrong. capital one approved me online in minutes and pre approved me with a fair amount the process was super easy the customer service is outstanding!!! They found a solution for any issue I might have come across very thorough heaven sent! I'm so happy it feels unreal thank you capital one for helping me out when no one else would thank you thank you!!!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations