Capital One® Auto Finance

Reviews: Capital One® Auto Finance

Reviews: Capital One® Auto Finance

Capital One® Auto Finance

Overall lender rating

3.4
out of 5
353 reviews
from Credit Karma members

Most helpful positive review

Jan 09, 2022
Such a GREAT help!
Credit Karma member

Iv been out of work due to the family getting covid, I luckily didn't get it but my work has their own regulations on how to go about being around someone with covid. Those are you can't go back to work for 10 days even if you test negative to the test me just being around people who have it in my home made it so I actually had to stay home longer then the people who tested positive. So I unfortunately had no income or anything planned for this. I had used my emergency pay when my brother fell off of a cliff and I was the only one who could take care of him. So emergency pay was off the page for us, and I had my phone bill due, rent and car payment to pay for. I'm a server so I make my money on my performance everyday. When I check to see how bad I was falling into the hole I applied for an extension on my auto loan payment not believing I would ever get it (with the bad luck strike iv been facing the past year or two) so when I checked today to see I was approved for it I literally felt a weight being lifted off me. So grateful for this company and for making me feel the slittiest bit of hope. So I truly recommend to work with Capitol One ♡

Helpful6
Not Helpful0
Comment0
Flag

Most helpful negative review

Nov 11, 2021
Total nightmare from the start
Credit Karma member

When I first refinance my loan I spent over a year of aggravation with them calling me and telling me I had to sign paperwork which I had done already. Very hard and takes a long time to talk to an actual human being. Hopefully you never have a time when you need to skip a payment because they are very difficult and they will find a reason not to do it for you. My car is almost paid off and then I will be done with them. I’ll never ever refinance a vehicle with them again I’ll stick with a credit union they are at least human

Helpful11
Not Helpful0
Comment0
Flag

Member ratings

All member reviews (353)

179
29
16
17
112
Nov 29, 2022
Incompetent customer service.
Credit Karma member

Making simple changes on your account like a simple name change is virtually impossible. They give you the runaround. Department to next department. They tell you something different every time you call. Never again.

Helpful0
Not Helpful0
Comment0
Flag

Nov 19, 2022
Use another loan company
Credit Karma member

They are such a terrible company to get a car loan with and as soon as I can get away from them I will. You have a grace period which I haven't had to use until now they charge almost 10 bucks a day in interest until its paid and won't help you at all! Every once in a while people have a hard time geez us! I've had MANY car loans with even worst loan companies but never did they rip me off like this!

Helpful0
Not Helpful0
Comment0
Flag

Oct 20, 2022
A complete Joke
Credit Karma member

Stay away if you can! Capital One title department were supposed to transfer my vehicle title to Arizona from California in May. The paperwork was sent to them by California mvd but was never done. Here I am in October trying to renew my registration and find out my title was canceled or non existent was what the dmv said. I talk to them and it turns out i have to wait 4-6 weeks for them to finish what they were doing in May. and ANOTHER 4-6 weeks for them to mail the information to my local dmv. They have offered no help. I AM PAYING FOR A VEHICLE THAT CANT BE DRIVEN SINCE 6 MONTHS AGO AND STILL HAVE TO WAIT ANOTHER 3 MONTHS TO BE ABLE TO DRIVE IT AGAIN! They won't even acknowledge their mistake. So here i am paying for a vehicle that won't be drivable for a total of 9 months.

Helpful1
Not Helpful0
Comment0
Flag

Sep 27, 2022
Horrible, don’t get involved with their programs.
Credit Karma member

Horrendous. Impossible to work with. They lie about their interest rates, and the customer support is completely incompetent. The higher up the chain you go, the more incompetent they become. The president hides, unwilling to address any problems. I spoke to 10 Capital One Representatives and got 10 different answers. They start threatening you if you’re 1 day past due. They seem to want your vehicle more than your money. I think their in the car turn over business, instead of the banking business. You can offer them whatever money you want, but they would rather have the car. Guedo banking at its best.

Helpful0
Not Helpful0
Comment0
Flag

Sep 19, 2022
Gap Insurance Loss
Credit Karma member

I will tell you that once you have refinanced an auto loan through Capital One, if you had Gap insurance on the previous loan then it will not carry over to the Capital One loan, since you are not a dealer. Think twice if you get in an accident most insurance companies only pay off the wholesale amount and you are responsible for the money left. Including if you rolled old payments into the car, from an older loan.

Helpful1
Not Helpful0
Comment0
Flag

Aug 25, 2022
Don’t do it
Credit Karma member

Terrible customer service. I cannot speak with any customer service representatives that speak English. I proceeded two different payments in the same day with different banks they processed one which said pending and posted the amount. They still have the other payment as Scheduled. I definitely will be looking to refinance and get away from this company

Helpful2
Not Helpful0
Comment0
Flag

Aug 24, 2022
Office of the president?!
Credit Karma member

So I fell behind on two month payments due to being laid off. I get a call from Capitol One Auto Financing and they suggest to me some payment plan the first option was to add the value of the two months to the next three payments I make, which was not a good plan since I just got a new job and there is a waiting period for payroll to catch. So they said how about if you just pay your monthly payment for August and the two months will be added to the end of the life of the loan. I said that would work for me. I schedule a payment which I had to change because I knew I would not have the funds in my Capital One 360 checking account. After the weekend when the payment was scheduled I was able to get the $775 that was needed to make this payment. So Aug 8th 2022 I made the payment. That week however Capital One Auto Finance called me to ask for the payment again. I asked why because I had already made the payment they stated that the funds were reversed. I asked to what account because my checking shows it was debited but not credited to my checking account. They even asked me to fax them proof of my checking account showing the payment was made to Capital One Auto Financing. I thought that was ridiculous because who now a days own a fax machine. They said that was the only way. So August 15 I faxed them the proof they asked for. Since then they have been calling every day to ask for the payment which I have to explain again the issue. Today they transferred me to Capital One 360 checking which they verified with me on the phone that the payment did clear to Capital One Auto Financing. I asked checking rep Luis if we could three way Capital One Auto Financing to let them know. We spoke to a rep who we escalated to a supervisor who was going to escalate to a department that I thought was so made up, get this, the department s name is…. ‘The office of the president’ If anyone works for Capital One Auto Financing, could you please confirm with us that such a department exists. The supervisor had us hold for a long time and then said that the department was closed and stated that I would need to fax the proof. Which of course I was ready for I told him when I faxed the proof as well as the fax number and confirmation that the fax had been received. He went quite and stated he would call me tomorrow to let me know what the status is. The two star for customer service is because they have been telling me the same thing over and over but no such solution to my problem they just say too bad, so sad. I bumped them up a star because Luis from Capital One Checking suggested he stay on the line with me to let them know the payment posted. Overall because they have called me every day this month and last they get a one star because I did make my payment, I am just sorry they can read their computer screen properly. Capital One is very understanding except the reps that reside in the Pacific Islands.

Helpful1
Not Helpful0
Comment0
Flag

Jul 22, 2022
Horrible
Credit Karma member

Most predatory auto loan company. Currently paying $470/mo. Only $166 goes towards principle balance. Paid over $15k and still owe $14k on a 18k car. Will not let you refinance or renegotiate. Don’t waste your time or resources.

Helpful0
Not Helpful0
Comment0
Flag

Jul 21, 2022
Can’t change my phone number!
Credit Karma member

Got a new phone number. Haven’t been able to log in to the app or the website since. I called to change my number and they need me to send proof of who I am, then wait 7-10 days. I’ve had zero issues with any and all other creditors. If I am able to verify my security information, why can I not just change my phone number? Paid off my account and won’t use them again!

Helpful0
Not Helpful0
Comment0
Flag

Jul 05, 2022
Carlos
Credit Karma member

Chrysler

Helpful0
Not Helpful0
Comment0
Flag

1-10 of 353

These ratings and reviews are provided by our users. Banks, issuers and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee this content, are not responsible for it, and may not even be aware of it.

†† The opinions you read here come from our editorial team. Credit Karma receives compensation from third-party advertisers, but that doesn’t affect our editors' opinions. Our marketing partners don’t review, approve or endorse our editorial content. It’s accurate to the best of our knowledge when it’s posted.