Capital One® Auto Finance Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
53 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

4 5

Compare Auto Loan Rates

View your top Auto Loan recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 28, 2017
Awesome!
Honeybeegirl74 Borrower

I am coming out of a divorce..my credit score was 600 TU and 685 Equifax. I just started my job after being a stay at home mom for 16 yrs. I applied, prequalified for rate between 2.9 and 12. They required NO documentation. I found my car..played with the numbers. Went to dealership, was super nervous....just too easy and to get approved upto 32k with not great credit. The dealership was great, ran the credit app through Cap one... my deal was exact same as on my letter.. no docs requested. Same terms, ect..left with a 2014 with 25k miles. I am a happy customer! I do have a small line credit card with capital one I have had for a long time in which I always pay on time. I highly recommend them for anyone with my credit situation.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 18, 2017
Under state review for deception
Anonymous Borrower

Capital One Auto Finance engages in a deceptive practice.  For refinance loans, the terms of its note charge interest from the date of execution, whereas it mails payoffs to the previous lenders more than one week later.  During this period, Capital One sits on free money, at the expense of the borrower.  This practice is being investigated by the South Carolina Office of Consumer Finance, which is part of the state's Board of Financial Institutions.

Had I known this, I would have gone elsewhere.  Capital One Auto Finance preys on consumers.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Sep 29, 2017
LuluM6844 Borrower

There is no way to contact these people electronically - even when you have a loan and have signed in and try to speak with customer service.  There is NO customer service at all.  Do not use these people to finane anything.  I had forgotten I had a credit card years ago with these people - I paid it off in full and cancelled the card.  Apparently they haven't learned anything new since then about customer service

more ...
Sep 23, 2017
Great!
Anonymous Borrower

They always work with you

more ...
Sep 17, 2017
Anonymous Borrower

Got a pre  approval set up a appointment with dealership that capital one partnered with just for them to pull from 6 other lenders 😡 I told them NO I only want you to pull for capital one so they did and we got denied wtf why would capital one send us **** if they didn't want us then we tell the sales guy we don't want to go through anyone else he tried to tell us if we had $1,500 or so to put down he could get us in a program **** you guy for that kind of money I can buy a used car out right !!!!!

capital one stick to what your good at credit cards!!!! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 24, 2017

You were lied to by the dealer. They have to only run the capital one pull. Did you call capital one right then and there to make sure everything was in order? I don't think so.

 
Sep 13, 2017
Anonymous Borrower

I am a Finance Manager and this process is a very easy way to go.  Cap One makes the execution of your loan very easy. The information they request is minimal and straight forward

more ...
Sep 12, 2017
Easy process

I received pre-approval for an auto-loan with CS 560, went to the dealership with pre-approval form, test drove the car, and the dealership took care of the rest. Everything was easy and smooth. The only thing I didn't like is that there were two hard inquiries into my credit (one by the dealership, the other by Cap One). 

more ...
Sep 10, 2017
Easy and fair even with my bad credit.
sdh11911 Borrower

I have 2 credit cards with capital one. I recieved a pre approval for a car so I went to the dealership they partner with just to check it out. Turns out I was able to walk out with no money down on a certified pre owned car with 21k miles. Loan was for about 16k with tax and title. Rate is 20.40% but you know what its better than my last car loan at 24.89%. I have several medical collections and my credit cards are **** near always maxed out and they let me walk out with a practically new car with no money down. Nobody else I have found would give me this option? I have auto pay set up with my bank and have the capital one app on my phone to manage my C cards and car loan with one click access.

more ...
Aug 20, 2017
Easy process!
rams05 Borrower

Process was easy thankful for capital one giving me a chance. Also got a great rate with a mid 600 CS.

more ...
Aug 20, 2017
Easy Process!
rams05 Borrower

Was a very easy process took some time picking out a car. Thankful capital took a chance on me with great rate.

more ...
Aug 19, 2017

What Cap One says your approval rate is, will be your approval rate. Don't let the dealership talk you out of what they say Cap One offers. If you go in with a good interest rate (we had a 3.24%) don't let them run your credit to find a better rate bc odds are they can't. Cap One was great through the entire process. Will def use them next time we buy a car!

more ...
Aug 18, 2017
Under state review for deception
Anonymous Borrower

Capital One Auto Finance engages in a deceptive practice.  For refinance loans, the terms of its note charge interest from the date of execution, whereas it mails payoffs to the previous lenders more than one week later.  During this period, Capital One sits on free money, at the expense of the borrower.  This practice is being investigated by the South Carolina Office of Consumer Finance, which is part of the state's Board of Financial Institutions.

Had I known this, I would have gone elsewhere.  Capital One Auto Finance preys on consumers.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations