Capital One® Auto Finance

3.8 out of 5 stars
59 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

4 5

Compare Auto Loan Rates

View your top Auto Loan recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 09, 2016
Legit
zeekeo Borrower

Got pre-approved for 40k at 2.49% on a new car. Went to a dealer and drove out 3 hours later in 2016 accord sport at said rate. Only papaerwork provided was license and prrof of insurance to the dealer. No income verification or additional paperwork. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Sep 08, 2016
Was great 2 years ago....
Anonymous Borrower

On a whim 2 years ago I applied for a CO Blank Check for a new car purchase. CS at the time was around 540. I was immediately approved for $18,000 at 17%. (I started 6 months prior to this by getting a secured card from CO and then a Quicksilver card) Purchased a 2013 Nissan Altima with my blank check. I have never had an issue with purchasing the car, using the blank check, making any payments, dealing with customer serivce, or anything else. It has been a dream come true. I've made payments on time on all three accounts (car and 2 cards). It is not 2 years later, my CS is up to 635 and I have decided to trade my car in. I have been getting these emails from CO about applying for the "Auto Navigator Program" so today I decided to take the plunge and see what kind of interest rate I could get. I figured I would get about 20k @ 5-10%. Well....I was flat out denied. Ive been a loyal customer for 3 years, always paid on time, had several CL increases, credit score went up by100 points...but nope. I called them to see what the deal was and the lady on the phone told me that she couldnt tell me anything, that a computer decides who gets approved and for how much and I just had to wait until I got the letter in the mail in 7-10 business days. It doesnt make any sense to me. I really wanted to get a new car in the next few months and I really wanted to use another CO Blank Check.  Guess I am stuck with this car for another 6 months or so....

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Mar 22, 2017
easy
Anonymous Borrower

I got an auto loan through capitol one becasue I already had a pre paid credit card through them so it was very easy. When I buy anther car I will go through them again.

more ...
Mar 14, 2017
Awesome Experience
lfleming01 Borrower

Received the letter from Capital One Auto Navigator stating I was pre-qualified.  Thought it was too good to be true, but it was true.  Awesome and smoothest process ever buying a car.  Bought a 2017 Ford Explorer no money down and 4.84% interest! 

Love it, will definitely use again!

more ...
Mar 07, 2017
Smoothest experience!
Anonymous Borrower

Received a surprise letter from Capital One that I had been pre-approved for up to $35k and interest between 18-23%.  I have had bad credit in the past and have been slowly climbing up in the past couple years.  Was nervous this was just a fake sales pitch.  But, took a chance.  Went to the dealership listed on the letter and quickly found a car I liked (2013 Ford Taurus).  Did a credit application to explore best options, but did wind up going with capital one auto loan.  Put down $500 an walked away with a car in just a couple hours - 18% interest.  High, yes, but was encouraged to refinance in 2 years of on-time payments.  Surprised I got as nice as a car that I did - defintely the best i have ever had and a reward that my work to rebuild my credit is paying off!  

more ...
Mar 05, 2017
Absolutely fantastic experience
ikj972 Borrower

The process was super easy to apply and provide the needed details without a hit to my credit.

Could not believe how easy it was and then when I actually got approved for a car I was amazed.

I thought it was a scam or unreal but it turned out to be a life saver as i would not be in a nicer vehicle if it was not for capital one giving me a chance.

I would highly recommend.

I will add once you get approved you have 45 days so make sure you do not let it expire. If your credit changes in that time you may not get approved if you reapply.

more ...
Feb 24, 2017
phenomenal!!!
Anonymous Borrower

Great! I don't know where to begin I have been working on my credit for the last year and to say the least its most definitely not where it needs to be and for that reason I thought that I wouldn't be approved for a new auto loan! But I was wrong. capital one approved me online in minutes and pre approved me with a fair amount the process was super easy the customer service is outstanding!!! They found a solution for any issue I might have come across very thorough heaven sent! I'm so happy it feels unreal thank you capital one for helping me out when no one else would thank you thank you!!!

more ...
Feb 15, 2017
Holding title for 15 business days
Anonymous Borrower

I paid off loan via bank tranfer, CapitalOne holds the title for 15 business days. They have the funds, it's not like I gave a check...it was a bank tranfer!!  I will never do business with them again, nor do I recommend them for this process. 

more ...
Feb 11, 2017
Great experience
Anonymous Borrower

I was in need of a car since my husband and I were separating and we only had one car. I had only been on my job for 1 month. Had two credit cards through cap one that were still in collections and hadn't been paid on. I honestly was expected to get a preapproval but I did! I submitted my pay stubs online and a week later they informed me I was preapproval. My rate is high 17.9% but at least I was approved.

I was worried that once I applied at dealer which is required that I eventually be denied but I wasn't. I put $1250 down on car and financed a car for $8000. 

Im so thankful to cap one auto finance for giving me a chance. My first payment will be due in March. I'm looking forward to rebuilding my credit!

more ...
Jan 26, 2017
This bank is bull crap
Anonymous Borrower

I hate everything about this bank. I hate there website.There customer service is laughable. I got a car through them recently put a big down payment. My credit was decent.

I am paying on two other cars plus this one again credit is good. I should of not even go the car. I did not need it just wanted it. I have a history of paying my bills. They still kept the intrest higher than it should of been. Did I say Ihate this bank

more ...
Jan 22, 2017
Easy to work with
kanda321 Borrower

It isn't easy to find a loan on a car for less then 10k. We got a really good deal on a pre owned vehicle and top dollar for our trade in and only needed to finance $7500. Capital one was one of the few companies who would do it and they gave us a fantastic rate! Definitely recommend.

more ...
Jan 07, 2017
Excellent !!!

Accepted me for a new car the day I was discharged from Chapter 7. I paid on time time for one year and traded in my 2015 Toyota Corolla for a 2016, and got accepted for 2.9% on Toyota Finance.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations