Capital One® Auto Finance Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
28 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

4 5

Compare Auto Loan Rates

View your top Auto Loan recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 14, 2018
Easy as Pie
Mia2511 Borrower

I am greatful to capital one for all of their help! Six months ago my score was a 500 I had just opened a secured card with CO. Fast forward to two days ago, with a 600 score, cap one pre approved me for a 35k loan! I went to the dealership and picked out the car I wanted and left with it in 2 hours!! The process was super easy. I didnr have to print the pre-approval letter. You just show it on your phone and bam! Pick your car, fill out the application and done. The APR was muchhh lower than expected and am I truly greatful for these guys. At every turn even with someone like me with 2 secured cards, they still go above and beyond for you. I’ve never had a problem with customer service, making payments, anything! This is the only way to buy a car. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jul 26, 2018
clarawc Borrower

Capital One always needs at least a $1000 down payment, which is fine, but a lot of people don't have that down payment. Especially if its an emergency like your car was totalled and need to get a new car.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Feb 09, 2019
Helped me out when i had nowhere to turn
PxGRAND Borrower

Capital one helped me get out a basket case which was my old car and they approved my after only having a credit history of 3 months, and i needed to get out of my old vehicles. From the moment i applied online to the time i was walking out of the dealership capital one made it a pleasant and easy experience. From now on every vehicle i buy i will be using Capital One Auto Navigator.

more ...
Jan 11, 2019
I feel super safe with this company.
vp2 Borrower

It was easy and a step in right direction for me.

more ...
Jan 07, 2019
Started off amazing, has gone downhill.
VictoriaV22 Borrower

When I first applied and got a better rate than any other company offered I was super happy. I don't have great credit so it was a godsent when my other cars transmission went out. The first year I did great with my payments, in November of 2017 my husbands grandmother passed away and we had to drive from NM to Ohio. They allowed me to skip a payment because the death put us behind. Since then I have struggled to keep up with my payments but have always payed them even if they were a little late. My husband lost his job a few weeks ago and I tried to skip another payment since it's been a year. They told me that they cant approve a skip payment to help me out but when I ask why the representative cant give me a reason and cant transfer me to someone who can. At this point... I dont know what I'm going to do and literally am just lost. I thought that this company cared about helping their customers but I guess it is just all about the money after all.

more ...
Dec 18, 2018
User friendly website.
apacheann6 Borrower

It was very easy to apply. The website is very user-friendly and they have good customer service. With a good credit rating, the payments are budget friendly.

more ...
Dec 18, 2018
The easiest way to buy a car!

The aplication process is very simple. I was able to get the cars I wanted.  I have purchased 2 vehicles through Capital One Auto financing.  

more ...
Dec 03, 2018
wmfd Borrower

I cannot stress how much Capital One is AMAZING! I got myself a new car in 2015 as a gift for myself for hitting a major accomplisment in my life. Carmax was originally going to finacne my car, but I got a call from Capital One, who offered a lower interest rate. So of course that meant a lower payment. While I am paying $30 less with Capital One, it's $30 I put toward a different credit card each month. That's beside the point, but with Capital One, I am able to split my payment to be drafted on whatever day, every week. Why I waited so late; i don't know. In March or April, I started the split payments. I pay (including extra toward the principal) for less than $90 a week. With the extra added to the payment, I have managed to knock two months off of my maturity date.  
When this one is paid off, and I hot my next major accomplishment, a new car is in the worksm but not a new finance company.

more ...
Nov 16, 2018
Easy to Apply...Shop...then Close!
MLfromAL Borrower

I knew my credit situation was dire, but Capital One Auto Finance was a life saver.  PreQualified, shopped, and then purchased.  Even as I was afraid of a "yo-yo" scam, they talked me through my worries and assured me that I was all good - and they were right!  Would recommend them 1000 times over!

more ...
Nov 09, 2018
Easy application process & preapproval

Great customer service and came through with my refinanced auto loan when others would not.  Interest was a little higher than what was advertised, but not outrageous.  Capital One works with self employed people which is a real bonus.

more ...
Oct 10, 2018
They reward loyalty!
OkfromTN Borrower

Was in a credit rebuild earlier this year. Opened up a CC with Cap One. They gave me a chance when no one else would. I added three other credit cards over a two month period (one secured). I paid my cap one early for six months straight got a credit limit increase. Decided to try to pre qualify with cap one auto finance. They approved me. I uploaded my income verification then went to dealership. They sent my app straight over to cap one and came back with same APR as quoted on my previous qualification letter. In six months cap One gave me a cc and a auto loan when no one else would. In six months my score has gone up 125 points! All thx to cap one. First auto loan was higher apr 9% but if you pay on it six to eight months the second time you apply if you make all your payments your rate will be 3-4% apr. cap one is the best!!!!

more ...
Sep 21, 2018
campost Borrower

Very easy process. Offered me a great rate and were prompt in payment. Will definitely use again!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 01, 2018

What was your credit score at the time and how much did you need to put down?

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations