Bank of America Auto Loans Reviews

1.9 out of 5 stars
16 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2 5

Compare Auto Loan Rates

View your top Auto Loan recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 15, 2017
Excellent Loan Only For EXCELLENT Credit
JJFinancialGuru Borrower

So worked as a banking center manager at Bank of America for 5 years. We didn't do auto loans in the branch so we would put the customers on the phone with a rep in that department or steer them to applying online. I will tell you the truth. You'll need a score of around 800 or more and a very low Debt To Income Ratio (DTI under 27%) to get approved. If you are approved (which was surprisingly rare) then you'll have a letter of approval to take to the dealer at which point you can sign and drive away. You'll know literally within seconds if you're approved or not in most cases. Sometimes they'll need more information or proof from you and usually if you provide it, you'll get approved. The rate will be one of the lowest out there and you'll get all the perks of free banking, including free safety deposit box. It's nice and easy to pay your loan online from your BofA checking. 

I will say that the autoloan department is a very different breed of customer service from other departments in the bank. Just about every single one I ever spoke with when helping a customer had two brain cells and could care less about approving someone. If you're lucky, you'll get someone who has a brain and excellent customer service. The bank had made the move to really cut down on auto loan approval, got rid of the people in that department and hired a bunch of poorly trained, low salaried individuals. We used to do them in the branch when I was a personal banker 10 years ago. The approval process became much harder after they made changes. 

In a nut shell: Excellent rate, easy process, must have low DTI and excellent credit (true excellent--although I have seen a few slip though the cracks in the high 700's credit score), customer service is a hit or miss. Definitely go into a branch and speak with a manager if you have a problem so they can hash it out with them. If the manager wants to stick you on the phone with that department, then go to a different branch until you get a manager who will fight for what's right. If your manager can not come to a solution, go to the district manager (it will be hard to speak with them, so go down to their office and bug them daily when they don't call you back-- you'll have almost guaranteed results of a solution that way, once they get invovled) Try to work it out with these guys alone at your own risk. Basically, you'll get a great loan, have an easy application process and be able to sign and drive away with no hassle, if you're very credit worthy. I hope this help you understand BofA's auto loan. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Nov 29, 2016
Decent loan, terrible customer support
Anonymous Borrower

The loan itself isn't too bad. I received this loan through my car dealership, they gave me a 3.89% interest rate (the best available to me at the time). The issues came when it actually came time to pay the loan. It takes about 30 steps and several days to set up an online account, still not sure I did it right. It kept redirecting me to one site, where it recognized me but I could not actually pay my loan (it would just let me look at it). I have to keep forcibly going to the full site every 2 or 3 minutes (requesting the desktop site brings me to an equally useless site...meaning there are for some reason 3 options for account pages?). I pay almost all of my bills online and have never had this much trouble. I feel like everything they are doing is designed to make payment that much more difficult so you end up accidentally making a late payment. They really need to make their entire system more user friendly.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Apr 21, 2017
It wasn't a good experience at all.
Anonymous Borrower

I bought a car with my boyfriend.  We went through his bank which was Bank of America.  A few months after we got the loan we decided to try to refinance to get a better payment and we were denied.  We still had the loan but they didn't really explain why we were denied or even offered to try again later.  Few years later we broke up and I got the car and payment.  It took 6 months of figuring out where te bill was going. It stopped coming to me. It wasn't going to him. We each called repeatedly to find out where the statement was going. It turns out it was going to his mother's house in a different state, several thousand miles away. So we got it stopped from going to her as she had nothing to do with the loan. Still neither one of us got a statement. So each time I went to the branch to pay it I said I don't know my account number because I don't get the statement. I finally had to ask for a manager who actually fixed the issue.  She asked why I didn't call the 800 number to have it fixed. I was a little upset by that and she had to listen to why I did actually call in as well as my ex. I paid the car off and I will never use them again.

more ...
Apr 04, 2017
Very high interest rate,
richie2048 Borrower

BOA has very high interest rate on auto loan. I just refinaniced my auto loan with campus USA

more ...
Mar 08, 2017
Auto loan
Anonymous Borrower

They do not have a representative to speak in person about servicing auto loan. 

more ...
Mar 04, 2017
Descending interest payments are a trap
Anonymous Borrower

BOA has started sending threats now that I have paid off most of the interest. Web services are terrible. Go to a credit union. 

more ...
Feb 28, 2017
Shady business
Hadj1977 Borrower

I was a customer once with bank of America and I don't trust them. Lots of hidden fee and illegal charges. They were in trouble not long ago just like wells Fargo.

more ...
Jan 20, 2017
HORRIFIC BANK
Jdavis904 Borrower

WHAT customer service? 

I wanted to resolve a simple error with my personal info, and woud up so angry at the runaround, I went in to a branch, who then made me even madder.

Avoid these people at all costs.

more ...
Jan 18, 2017
Good and Bad

I'm a platinum tier BofA reward member, and for that I could enjoy the .35% discount on my interest rate. Application and approval were fast and easy. I had my dealer negotiate down the rate BofA initially gave me, and got 2.64% in the end. That's not the best rate out there, but considering that it wass my first auto loan, and that just 2 credit cards were in my credit history, I believe I am borrowing at a decent to competitive rate. I applied to chase auto loan and the auto company's finance program at the same time and were denied by chase, and were asked to provide a whole bunch of extra paperwork by the auto company. In the end, for the ease of process, and for the good-enough rate, I borrowed from BofA.

That said, I can also concur with the view that the BofA auto loan is not for everyone. It's good for the existing BofA clients with relatively large balances, but not such an attractive option for people not affiliated with the bank.

more ...
Jan 18, 2017

i just wanted to add my 2 cents worth on B.O.A. customer service.  i didn't purchase a car but i opened a new credit card with them, through credit karma.  I had a dispute on a charge that was placed on my card twice for a single purchase.  the fault lie with the business i purchased from but, when i disputed the charge B.O.A. told me i needed to handle it with the business rather than dispute it through them.  CitiBank has NEVER made me speend hours of my time trying to reach a custoimer service department or drive across town when that failed.  i would not recommend B.O.A for this reason.

JH

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 24, 2017

Im a current boa credit card user and have never had this problem. In fact my experience has been quite the opposite. Disputed charges are immediately removed and investigated. Ive been a boa customer for over 7 years. I think how you are treated also depends on your track record with the company and credit worthiness.

 
Jan 15, 2017
Excellent Loan Only For EXCELLENT Credit

So worked as a banking center manager at Bank of America for 5 years. We didn't do auto loans in the branch so we would put the customers on the phone with a rep in that department or steer them to applying online. I will tell you the truth. You'll need a score of around 800 or more and a very low Debt To Income Ratio (DTI under 27%) to get approved. If you are approved (which was surprisingly rare) then you'll have a letter of approval to take to the dealer at which point you can sign and drive away. You'll know literally within seconds if you're approved or not in most cases. Sometimes they'll need more information or proof from you and usually if you provide it, you'll get approved. The rate will be one of the lowest out there and you'll get all the perks of free banking, including free safety deposit box. It's nice and easy to pay your loan online from your BofA checking. 

I will say that the autoloan department is a very different breed of customer service from other departments in the bank. Just about every single one I ever spoke with when helping a customer had two brain cells and could care less about approving someone. If you're lucky, you'll get someone who has a brain and excellent customer service. The bank had made the move to really cut down on auto loan approval, got rid of the people in that department and hired a bunch of poorly trained, low salaried individuals. We used to do them in the branch when I was a personal banker 10 years ago. The approval process became much harder after they made changes. 

In a nut shell: Excellent rate, easy process, must have low DTI and excellent credit (true excellent--although I have seen a few slip though the cracks in the high 700's credit score), customer service is a hit or miss. Definitely go into a branch and speak with a manager if you have a problem so they can hash it out with them. If the manager wants to stick you on the phone with that department, then go to a different branch until you get a manager who will fight for what's right. If your manager can not come to a solution, go to the district manager (it will be hard to speak with them, so go down to their office and bug them daily when they don't call you back-- you'll have almost guaranteed results of a solution that way, once they get invovled) Try to work it out with these guys alone at your own risk. Basically, you'll get a great loan, have an easy application process and be able to sign and drive away with no hassle, if you're very credit worthy. I hope this help you understand BofA's auto loan. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 01, 2017

Now this is information everyone can use.
Thank you!

 
Jan 15, 2017
Perfect for check in hand car shopping.
Anonymous Borrower

Approval was same day with 2.74% for a used car and 30 days to make the deal. I only needed a 25,000 max loan although when I spoke to the loan admin she told me I could get more if needed.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 12, 2017

What was your credit score?

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations