Ally® Bank Auto Loan Reviews

Ally® Bank Auto Loan Reviews
1.0 out of 5 stars
8 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1 5

Compare Auto Loan Rates

View your top Auto Loan recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

1 star reviews (8) See All

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Apr 06, 2021
Ugh
SamMatt88 Borrower

Finally paid these people off in March. Still waiting for my credit reports to show that. Had issues of them taking multiple payments. Then telling me they would apply to the next month. The next month..marked unpaid and late fees ensued. During one of these issuea they put a 30day late notice on my credit. Apoke with them multiple times and recieved letters confirming they would fix their mistake and change the credit report. Needless to say 2 years later and that payment still shows unpaid! My mom was on my loan with me and it also affected her perfect credit. That caused a world of drama in my family and still..not my fault...still not fixed. I do not recommend them. Also, in 5years. Never once spoke to an American that I could understand 🤦

more ...
Nov 02, 2020
Ally Auto Loan
Angry1969 Borrower

If I could give a zero I would! My auto loan account was charged twice in the end of September. At the end of October I was charged a full amount again. All Ally can do is to send out a check with the waiting period of 10-14 days. Meanwhile my bank account is on minus and I have other bills pending. This is not the first time this has happened with this company. I am thoroughly disgusted with how they treat their customers.

more ...
Nov 02, 2020
Ally Auto Loan
Angry1969 Borrower

If I could give a zero I would! My auto loan account was charged twice in the end of September. At the end of October I was charged a full amount again. All Ally can do is to send out a check with the waiting period of 10-14 days. Meanwhile my bank account is on minus and I have other bills pending. This is not the first time this has happened with this company. I am thoroughly disgusted with how they treat their customers.

more ...
Aug 14, 2020
Reporting Inaccurate Information
julion92 Borrower

Account shows up to date payments on Equifax and Transunion , but account was reported as closed with Equifax , I disputed it and it's still being reported as closed. They reported missed payments to Transunion which I had to dispute. Also , I have autopay setup so I don't miss payments and the amount is higher than the minimum payment due , yet they periodically report balance increases. Caused my credit to drop about 35-40 points in the last few months. They are really terrible , I would never recommend to anyone unless it is truly the only option available.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 21, 2020

Poor customer service. They report inaccurate information. I bought out my lease and they are reporting that I did not make the last payment. Tried solving on the phone at least a dozen times. Told them I have a new loan for the car and that they received payment for the vehicle. After acknowledgement of them getting all the money they said that the dealer did not provide them with 100% of the paperwork. The dealer said they in fact did so multiple times. Still Ally put on my credit report that I have a late payment. I had never been late with Ally with any of my leases. My credit score dropped 110 points. I am furious.

 
Aug 10, 2020
Company can't even follow their own mott
TakenByAlly Borrower

I can't even say they deserve a 1 star rating.  I talked with them several times and gained authorization from my husband for them to speak to me regarding our account.  They don't know how to make notes on the account pertaining to his authorizations being given so his work day had to be interrupted many times due to their negligence.  We're trying to pay off account and my financial institution requested payoff and sent check.  Somehow the check got lost so after 3 weeks of them not receiving it, my bank cancelled that check, reissued a new check and sent it overnight it to Ally.  Prior to them receiving my payment, they had indicated they would backdate to date requested once the payment had posted.  So the payment posted, I called Ally to see if they could backdate the check and they told me NO because it wasn't their fault the payment wasn't received on time.  Their motto is "We’re dedicated to doing it right — every day."  I have to disagree 100%.  They are not willing to work or do right by the customer from what I've experienced!!!

more ...
Jul 26, 2020
ALLY AUTO NEEDS TO BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE!
DSSH Borrower

Ally Auto has not reported my payments since November 2019.  They also refused or neglected to dispute I filled with Transunion regarding their failure to report to credit bureas resulting in my auto loan being removed or deleted by Transunion as required by law.  Due to Ally Auto irreponsiblity my credit score has been adversely affected, which will affect the rates I receive if I apply for mortgage. They refuse to answer emails since June.  I finally recieved a call from some 3rd world agent who said they have been updating their reporting system and will fix this immediately - that was weeks ago.  Whatever you do, do not let the dealer get your auto loan with Ally as you will regret it just as many others who posted here have.  These people should be shut down and forced to transfer these loans to another institution.  My payments are paid up a year in advance and yet they are causing my credit score to be lowered.  They outsource to 3rd world country so I guess none of this is a surprise.  Nice for them while they evade US taxes.

more ...
Jul 23, 2020
Auto Loan
Jparsons91 Borrower

DO NOT EVER USE THIS BANK. Do not let any car dealer let you finance through them. They lose your payments every time your call and pay through THEIR system. If you miss a payment, no more online paying for you. You must call and pay, and then call later to find out the money has been "allocated in another account" when you only have one account with them! I WISH I had the ability to refinance and get away from them. But because of them ruining my credit, I can't leave them! Thanks Ally for being such an "Ally" to your customers.

more ...
Jul 07, 2020
emichaels12 Borrower

They wont report to Credit Bureaus when you pay thousands off princible, but they will immidiately if your payment is a day late and still not update your loan balance  

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations