Auto Loan Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Ally® Bank Auto Loan

2.8 out of 5 stars
21 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year


Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

3 5

Compare Auto Loan Rates

View your top Auto Loan recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.


Most Helpful Positive Review

Nov 10, 2015
Anonymous Borrower

Even with a "FAIR" credit rating, Ally beat my credit union's interest rate!

more ...

Was this review helpful?


Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 21, 2016
Down Right Dishonest!!!
Sprinkey Borrower

On 10/9/2015 I refinanced my loan with another institute. they got the payoff amount on that same day. on 10-20-2015 Ally tried taking another payment from my acct. knowing it was being paid off by the other bank. Ally had already recieved payment by then and wont admit it but the new financial institute told me they had cleared the check by then. So the loan should be paid right, wrong. apparently getting a payoff for the exact amount owed isnt enough they want more from you. apparently they want your kids, dogs, and everything else after that loan has been paid. So the conclusion to my story is when you do math, math never lies. if i owe $32793.29 on 10-9-2015 wih a per diem of x amount of dollars added for interest. that is what the payoff should be. Not a whole other payment like these thieves are trying to take from me. 

Dont use them, both my wife and I have had terrible experiences with this lending institute!

more ...

Was this review helpful?


These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Oct 20, 2016
Anonymous Borrower

I'm still paying them off got a piece of the lawsuit settlement where they were discriminating against people who had middle eastern names or of black heritage .. They are not reporting my payments to the Credit Bureau's, they have me owing over 18,000 an not having had made a payment since sometime in 2015. I can't wait to pay them off. They charge excessive APR if your black or of a foreign decent. 

more ...
Sep 29, 2016
Great 2 Deal With Highly Recommend Ally
SSTT0816 Borrower

Fellow Members,

I had gotten Ally financial loan on my Acura TL at a low interest rate and after paying off Capital one auto with my other car another good company to deal with I have to say don't really listen to most on people on here. The people are downright ****ed off at this and many other companies only beacuse it seems everyone else is to blame for their own personal issues 90% of the time. Just read some stories and and soon as you do you will see in the first few words that its already the customers fault...Oh I had this happen or I paid these guy on time for 90 month then " I missed only 4 payments" I don;t care if its a payment you made a contractual obligation when buying a car so pay it ! Banks are not in the " Personla issues" Business. yes things happen but don't expect the bank to be responsible for your problems. remeber they were nice enought the day you accepted the loan that they paid your car dealer 10,20,30,000 $$$ In 1 payment so you can take that nice new car home....Now pay it and stop complaining. I have had nothing but good experienecs with my car loans, Credit card and banks remember you do the stuff to yourself not the banks fault ! ALLY GREAT ALL THE WAY TO THE BANK HIGHLY RECOMMEND !

more ...
Sep 16, 2016
car loan
Anonymous Borrower

do not have any dealings with this company they are the worst company i ever delt with costumer service is a joke they have no idea what they are doing and they lie to you even on the message center they lie have no idea how to find or send paperwork just need to have a letter signed by them they say it is already sent to who because it was not sent to me

more ...
Aug 21, 2016
Anonymous Borrower

I had a auto loan with them and they billed me every month to my new address and then when I paid off my loan they send all of the information to my current address. Then they went and sent my title to my old address??!! The worst part is they aren't helping me with getting a new title when it was clearly their fault 

more ...
Aug 20, 2016
Very Annoying

This is by far the worst car loan company! Choose Capital One or get approved through you bank.  I paid my bill on time each month and still they call my co-owner that a payment is due that month. No one speakxs english, will mail you invices even when you ask for it all online. The website is easy to use but the harassment is not worth it with this company. I am looking to trade and refinance just to get rid of this company. 

more ...
Aug 07, 2016
Beware lie cheat and steal
Hunnybug420 Borrower

This company is the worst. They hang up on you intentionally They set up payment plan then send repo guy the next day. They tell you thanks for payment then say it was never paid they add due to payment they are horrible dishonest and the worst mistake of my life.

more ...
Aug 07, 2016
Worst thing i ever did
Anonymous Borrower

The customers service is the worst the hang up on you intentionally. They are scams and no one should ruin life with this. Company.

more ...
Jun 29, 2016
Anonymous Borrower

I financed by first vehicle with them several years back and was able to get 0% APR for 60 months. They’ve always provided excellent customer service. I also have a savings account through them. So far so good! No complaints.  I’m considering going through them to the finance my second car if I’m able to receive the same interest rate.

more ...
May 27, 2016
DcCouple Borrower

Getting the loan wasn't the problem, paying it off was!

A payoff is a payoff!

We went to our car salesperson and asked how to pay off our lease. The car company called Ally and got a payoff amount. We called our bank, who sent a check out the same day. Several months later they started calling our phones and leaving nasty messages. We called and tried to explain that the loan was paid off. They insisted we still owed several hundred dollars. We had the bank call them and the car company. They still insisted we owed them money. They began to call our phones nonstop, day and night. I asked them to stop and they began to send registered letters. After several months of this, my husband gave up out of exhaustion and fear for our credit rating and agreed to a settlement. Apparently this company does not know what "PAYOFF" means!  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

1 Reply
Jun 21, 2016

This is true. We had the same problem!!!

Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations