Ally® Bank Auto Loan Reviews

2.5 out of 5 stars
37 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5

Compare Auto Loan Rates

View your top Auto Loan recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Nov 10, 2015
Approved!
Anonymous Borrower

Even with a "FAIR" credit rating, Ally beat my credit union's interest rate!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 21, 2016
Down Right Dishonest!!!
Sprinkey Borrower

On 10/9/2015 I refinanced my loan with another institute. they got the payoff amount on that same day. on 10-20-2015 Ally tried taking another payment from my acct. knowing it was being paid off by the other bank. Ally had already recieved payment by then and wont admit it but the new financial institute told me they had cleared the check by then. So the loan should be paid right, wrong. apparently getting a payoff for the exact amount owed isnt enough they want more from you. apparently they want your kids, dogs, and everything else after that loan has been paid. So the conclusion to my story is when you do math, math never lies. if i owe $32793.29 on 10-9-2015 wih a per diem of x amount of dollars added for interest. that is what the payoff should be. Not a whole other payment like these thieves are trying to take from me. 

Dont use them, both my wife and I have had terrible experiences with this lending institute!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Jun 26, 2017
Auto loan
Anonymous Borrower

I always pay extra on my loan and really appreciate the fact that they take the extra off the front end of the loan as opposed to the end of it. Thanks to this policy I am now 4 months ahead on my loan and can choose my own payment each month!!!  (as long as I keep paying in advance)  Thamk you Ally!!!!

more ...
Jun 25, 2017
Car loan
Anonymous Borrower

Horrible to work with!  They are hard to understand and don't listen to what you have to say.  They don't work with you much.  They DO NOT communicate with each other.  One person tells you one thing and assures you they will put it in their system but when you make contact with them again, they have no clue what you are talking about and you have to start over.  This has happened on several occasions.  There are so many more institutions that have better customer care that I would rather have a loan with.  

more ...
Jun 17, 2017
Good
Anonymous Borrower

Easy to get a loan thru, financed with a low score, pretty good, no problems with anything so far, have had the loan so far for over a year. i just dont like the statements they have online.

more ...
Jun 01, 2017
Crooks

I financed my car through Ally Auto and I regret this decision wholeheartedly. I pay my payment every month. This month, I paid my payment on the 20th, and Ally did not attempt to take the money from my account until the 31st. ELEVEN DAYS. I know that Ally has the technology to take the money out sooner than 11 days. When I called Ally about this, they blamed it on my bank who I have a checking account with. NO. I make plenty of other payments to other companies and the money is out by the next day. I feel that Ally does this intentionally to get late fees from customers. They are absolutely crooked and I recommend not financing a car through them! Do it the smart way and go through your local credit union. 

more ...
May 11, 2017
No Customer Service
Anonymous Borrower

The product is good. But good luck finding someone to talk to if there is an issue. 

more ...
May 10, 2017
Anonymous Borrower

Recently I scheduled my car payment to be withdrawn from 2 separate checking account - half from one and the other half from another. However, when the payment were withdrawn they took the correct amount from the one checking, but withdrew about $700 more than authorized from the other. When we called to see what had happened all they could say was " the amount was authorized" even though I had the email showing it was not. They told us the only way to get the month back was to contact our bank and let them know that they amount was not authorized - but that this process could take 2-3 months and in the meantime we would be expected to continue making our car payment each month. This has set us back on our bills and other payments. It has literally turn our financial world inside down and there is nothing that can be done. Yes, we don't have to make a payment for 2 months because they charges us for a total of 3 payments, but that doesn't help us NOW. I've heard from an acquaintance that this happened to them twice and have read other reviews from people saying this happened to them too. How can a company do this to people. If I could, I would move my car loan to a new company right away and I warn others to really watch what this company is charging you. 

more ...
May 08, 2017
Great 1st auto loan experience
Anonymous Borrower

Their phone app is super handy. While my interest rate was super high (12.4%) because I had little credit history due to my young age, their finance charges were easy to understand. Pay off the loan earlier and pay more than once a month if you can, and you'll pay less in finance charges. Never once had to speak with someone via phone. I would recommend. You work with them, and they'll work with you.

more ...
May 04, 2017
Have nothing but good vibes for Ally .
humpty74 Borrower

Nice folks to deal with. Will try to help you with any problems.

more ...
Apr 26, 2017
Loan 7.39% to high
Anonymous Borrower

2.9%

more ...
Apr 06, 2017
total cluster@#$%

Ally financial uses offshore telephone crews for customer service and collections. Rule number one of good customer service broken. Communication in both chat and over the phone is next to impossible, they do not comprehend english. They follow phone scripts and simply frustrate and **** you off until you hang up on them! Go anywhere else for a loan, do yourself a favor! I have spent three days tracking downb a five thousand dollar payment I made to them. Thank goodness my bank trtacked it, ALLY has no clue whree it is, and guess what, I'm not making another one!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations