Ally® Bank Auto Loan Reviews

2.3 out of 5 stars
37 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5

Compare Auto Loan Rates

View your top Auto Loan recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 26, 2017
Auto loan
Anonymous Borrower

I always pay extra on my loan and really appreciate the fact that they take the extra off the front end of the loan as opposed to the end of it. Thanks to this policy I am now 4 months ahead on my loan and can choose my own payment each month!!!  (as long as I keep paying in advance)  Thamk you Ally!!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Nov 07, 2016
shady dealing
Tineifrinn Borrower

This company is shady and corrupt in its dealings with customers who fall even the slightest behind. They lose records and refuse information asked for, they say that they have set up a payment arrangement but continue to act as if there is not one.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Aug 13, 2017
Worst auto loan ever!!
Anonymous Borrower

They are the worst. There customer service is horrible as well. They don't ever listen to you and they don't want to help you. I promise you they will screw you over.  

more ...
Aug 04, 2017
Frustrating
Anonymous Borrower

customer service is the worst! Very nice to you, but can't EVER help you with anything. Ridiculous company policies, outsourced customer service in the Philipeans. Not once have they sent me the right thing. If you're getting a car and they say Ally financial, RUN- please trust what I'm saying. I took out ANOTHER loan to pay them off because they're so ridiculously retarded and now they owe me, but I can't cash the check because the idiots also added my father's name to the check and won't remove it, so I have to travel to a different state, to get my dad and open a bank account with him, just to get gen money back! By the time I do all that, I would have spent more money! Ally doesn't care, because if I don't do it, they'll keep the money. So basically they just robbed $530 from me. 

more ...
Jul 18, 2017
A Rip Off
Anonymous Borrower

Ally auto does not refinance. Once you accept their loan you can not refinance with them. You would have refinance with someone else.

more ...
Jul 12, 2017
Horrible customer service.
britwoe Borrower

I got an auto loan through them in July 2016. I was given a horrible Interest rate but that was expected as we were first time buyers with bad credit. The dealership told me after 6 on time payments I could refinance through them and lower the payment (which is a whopping $510 a month) so I called Ally after 6 months and was told I had to wait a year (for a total of 12 on time payments) for a rewrite. I called them today after 12 on time (actually always early) monthly payments to rewrite the loan as I had a child with complications & had to quit my job and am depending solely on my husband's income now, and was told I had to make 18 on time payments to qualify for the rewrite. I tried to explain that we can not afford the high monthly payments anymore & the rep told me I shouldn't have had a kid then! They are rude, liars, and all around this has been a bad experience! I will never bank with them again, I am looking for an other job so I can find a new loan company that will refinance me!

more ...
Jun 28, 2017
Nightmare to work with.
Anonymous Borrower

Be prepared for add on fees with this company. Also it isn't located in the US so you can never speak to someone that you can understand. 

more ...
Jun 26, 2017
Customer service is Horrible
Anonymous Borrower

I lost my job 2 weels ago. I called Ally to see if i could get a extension for this month. The manager had called me back and said no they can not because i have already used one 2 years ago amd they only give one extension for the life of loan. They do NOT work with you at all. They do not care if you are in a financial crisis. I would NEVER EVER EVER get a car loan again through them. There customer service is HORRIBLE. and they do not care to work with you at ALL..

more ...
Jun 26, 2017
Auto loan
Anonymous Borrower

I always pay extra on my loan and really appreciate the fact that they take the extra off the front end of the loan as opposed to the end of it. Thanks to this policy I am now 4 months ahead on my loan and can choose my own payment each month!!!  (as long as I keep paying in advance)  Thamk you Ally!!!!

more ...
Jun 25, 2017
Car loan
Anonymous Borrower

Horrible to work with!  They are hard to understand and don't listen to what you have to say.  They don't work with you much.  They DO NOT communicate with each other.  One person tells you one thing and assures you they will put it in their system but when you make contact with them again, they have no clue what you are talking about and you have to start over.  This has happened on several occasions.  There are so many more institutions that have better customer care that I would rather have a loan with.  

more ...
Jun 17, 2017
Good
Anonymous Borrower

Easy to get a loan thru, financed with a low score, pretty good, no problems with anything so far, have had the loan so far for over a year. i just dont like the statements they have online.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 28, 2017

How much was the loan for and what was your credit score with them?

 
Jun 01, 2017
Crooks

I financed my car through Ally Auto and I regret this decision wholeheartedly. I pay my payment every month. This month, I paid my payment on the 20th, and Ally did not attempt to take the money from my account until the 31st. ELEVEN DAYS. I know that Ally has the technology to take the money out sooner than 11 days. When I called Ally about this, they blamed it on my bank who I have a checking account with. NO. I make plenty of other payments to other companies and the money is out by the next day. I feel that Ally does this intentionally to get late fees from customers. They are absolutely crooked and I recommend not financing a car through them! Do it the smart way and go through your local credit union. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations