Auto Loan Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Ally® Bank Auto Loan

2.7 out of 5 stars
23 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

2.5 5

Compare Auto Loan Rates

View your top Auto Loan recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Feb 22, 2016
Good
Anonymous Borrower

I was able to get a 6% rate on $20k car loan with no credit.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 21, 2016
Down Right Dishonest!!!
Sprinkey Borrower

On 10/9/2015 I refinanced my loan with another institute. they got the payoff amount on that same day. on 10-20-2015 Ally tried taking another payment from my acct. knowing it was being paid off by the other bank. Ally had already recieved payment by then and wont admit it but the new financial institute told me they had cleared the check by then. So the loan should be paid right, wrong. apparently getting a payoff for the exact amount owed isnt enough they want more from you. apparently they want your kids, dogs, and everything else after that loan has been paid. So the conclusion to my story is when you do math, math never lies. if i owe $32793.29 on 10-9-2015 wih a per diem of x amount of dollars added for interest. that is what the payoff should be. Not a whole other payment like these thieves are trying to take from me. 

Dont use them, both my wife and I have had terrible experiences with this lending institute!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Feb 11, 2017
Auto loan
Anonymous Borrower

havent had any issues so far. Had for ~3 yrs. paid off in full today, but waiting for title. car dealer put through my application. have not had to call aout anything so I cannot speak to that but essentially, it's been a walk in the park! However, will certainly come back to rant if i have any issues obtaining my title!

more ...
Jan 30, 2017
Worst loan experience I've ever had!!!
Jpetro444 Borrower

Bought my car July 2016... never missed a payment. Go to refinance our property to build our dream home and there is a 30 day late from Ally??? Call Ally over and over for 2 months. Not one person speaks english. They keep saying it is in review.. hired an attorney to send letters and make calls. Ally says the show no record of letters or calls from my attorney so now my attorney is taking action against them. Re financing no matter the interest rate tomorrow! Why can I not leave 0 stars?!

more ...
Jan 11, 2017
New Car Auto Loan
Kellyjo24 Borrower

Appealing to use this loan service because of the 0% financing offiered. However, do not do it!  The customer service is horrible. My car was totalled in August, it's December and my insurance company still hasn't gotten the documents it needs from Ally. A simple Letter of Guarentee that my insurance company overnighted to them for the third time. When I called to ask about it no one could help me, after being transferred three times I finally got to the total loss department. I had never spoken to or heard from this department before, waited on hold for 35 minutes. 

I understand if you have a lower credit score they approve you fast and easy, but honestlyif you can get a loan through any other company I would. Ally is basically a predatory lender. 

more ...
Jan 06, 2017
Car loan
Anonymous Borrower

Customer service is spot on i was lucky they helped me considering my credit . when times got tough they found every possible way to help me AGAIN to make sure payments were good and on time . Thanks ally

more ...
Dec 13, 2016
Auto loan! VERY DISHONEST!
Dmimiof6 Borrower

My husband and I were able to pay off our auto loan 5 years early. I received the payoff amount and paid a lump sum of over 23,500.  The next week I went to look to make sure it was paid off and low and behold it showed I still owe money? I called and believe me you can't speak to anyone who knows english! I asked and they are from the Philippines. I tried to find a phone number that is here and there are none available. They tried to explain to me why I owed the money.  They seperated my one payment into 3 different payments therefore making them additional interest money.  PLEASE don't do business with these people.

Sinerely,

D. Neal

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 14, 2016

We got our first loan with them pay early very current with them and then we went to them for another loan and they acted as if they never done business with them! Hence the reason for getting a mortgage after being mortgage free for years to pay off the one we have and to get the second car so we can cancell current and future business with them.

 
Dec 02, 2016
Auto

This is the worst company I have ever worked with. Twice they falsley report that my loan was 60 days past due. Each time I called they insisted 60 days then when I walked them through all of the payments they said "Oh you're only 30 days past due" (even if that wast true I was not 60 days) then when I would again walk them through they realize their mistake and offer me a letter that I then have to pay to be sent to the bureaus. They're awful!!!!

more ...
Nov 07, 2016
shady dealing
Tineifrinn Borrower

This company is shady and corrupt in its dealings with customers who fall even the slightest behind. They lose records and refuse information asked for, they say that they have set up a payment arrangement but continue to act as if there is not one.

more ...
Oct 29, 2016
Great company.
lilybeth12 Borrower

I was approved for this auto loan with no down payment.  The interest rate is a little high, but I expected that due to my credit score. I have had the loan for two years now and I have had excellent customer service whenever I have called.

more ...
Oct 28, 2016
Excellent!
Anonymous Borrower

Fast, efficient, reasonable interest rate!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations