Ally® Bank Auto Loan Reviews

Ally® Bank Auto Loan Reviews
1.3 out of 5 stars
8 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5

Compare Auto Loan Rates

View your top Auto Loan recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Jul 28, 2021
Paid off months ago, no report
Flyboyjake Borrower

I took out an auto loan in November and paid it off early in June.  I called to find out why there had been NO credit reports since May 3rd of this year and was told that they would report the early payoff by July 15th.  I paid of the loan the first week or so in June and there is still NO REPORT GIVEN TO CREDITORS since May 3rd, coming up on three months!I would have to say that for the entire time I dealt with these folks I had no problems whatsoever.  None.  I found them to be just fine... Until I expected that my credit report would reflect the early payoff weeks ago.

more ...
Jun 22, 2021
Add fees to total hoping you dont notice
Dontes3k Borrower

I got an auto loan from Ally back in April 2017, and I missed one payment back in Jan 2018, and made it up in the next month by paying for January and February plus the late fee for January and February even though my payment was on time that month. So I was already back to being current, but they never set me to caught up, so they added another late fee from January onto my total hoping I wouldn't notice. And every month since January 2018 they hadn't told me I was behind(cause I wasn't) or that I was accruing late fees they just added it to my balance hoping I didn't do the math, even if I wasn't late, and if I was late I had to pay a late fees, then they also added another to my total. Now I just noticed because the last few months I fell behind and I finally paid them 1058 dollars, and only around 500 was taken from total, so it was pretty easy to see something wasn't right. They've been blindly adding late fees to my total after every payment for 2 and a half years, even if I wasn't late, and if I was late I pay a late fee and get one added on. In my opinion Ally Financial is a criminal organization.

more ...
Jun 17, 2021
Absolutely horrific customer service.
Matt54321 Borrower

Took over a month, more than 5 hours and almost 20 calls to get them to remove a lien for a paid off loan. Avoid at absolutely any cost.

more ...
Apr 06, 2021
Ugh
SamMatt88 Borrower

Finally paid these people off in March. Still waiting for my credit reports to show that. Had issues of them taking multiple payments. Then telling me they would apply to the next month. The next month..marked unpaid and late fees ensued. During one of these issuea they put a 30day late notice on my credit. Apoke with them multiple times and recieved letters confirming they would fix their mistake and change the credit report. Needless to say 2 years later and that payment still shows unpaid! My mom was on my loan with me and it also affected her perfect credit. That caused a world of drama in my family and still..not my fault...still not fixed. I do not recommend them. Also, in 5years. Never once spoke to an American that I could understand 🤦

more ...
Nov 02, 2020
Ally Auto Loan
Angry1969 Borrower

If I could give a zero I would! My auto loan account was charged twice in the end of September. At the end of October I was charged a full amount again. All Ally can do is to send out a check with the waiting period of 10-14 days. Meanwhile my bank account is on minus and I have other bills pending. This is not the first time this has happened with this company. I am thoroughly disgusted with how they treat their customers.

more ...
Nov 02, 2020
Ally Auto Loan
Angry1969 Borrower

If I could give a zero I would! My auto loan account was charged twice in the end of September. At the end of October I was charged a full amount again. All Ally can do is to send out a check with the waiting period of 10-14 days. Meanwhile my bank account is on minus and I have other bills pending. This is not the first time this has happened with this company. I am thoroughly disgusted with how they treat their customers.

more ...
Aug 14, 2020
Reporting Inaccurate Information
julion92 Borrower

Account shows up to date payments on Equifax and Transunion , but account was reported as closed with Equifax , I disputed it and it's still being reported as closed. They reported missed payments to Transunion which I had to dispute. Also , I have autopay setup so I don't miss payments and the amount is higher than the minimum payment due , yet they periodically report balance increases. Caused my credit to drop about 35-40 points in the last few months. They are really terrible , I would never recommend to anyone unless it is truly the only option available.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 21, 2020

Poor customer service. They report inaccurate information. I bought out my lease and they are reporting that I did not make the last payment. Tried solving on the phone at least a dozen times. Told them I have a new loan for the car and that they received payment for the vehicle. After acknowledgement of them getting all the money they said that the dealer did not provide them with 100% of the paperwork. The dealer said they in fact did so multiple times. Still Ally put on my credit report that I have a late payment. I had never been late with Ally with any of my leases. My credit score dropped 110 points. I am furious.

 
Aug 10, 2020
Company can't even follow their own mott
TakenByAlly Borrower

I can't even say they deserve a 1 star rating.  I talked with them several times and gained authorization from my husband for them to speak to me regarding our account.  They don't know how to make notes on the account pertaining to his authorizations being given so his work day had to be interrupted many times due to their negligence.  We're trying to pay off account and my financial institution requested payoff and sent check.  Somehow the check got lost so after 3 weeks of them not receiving it, my bank cancelled that check, reissued a new check and sent it overnight it to Ally.  Prior to them receiving my payment, they had indicated they would backdate to date requested once the payment had posted.  So the payment posted, I called Ally to see if they could backdate the check and they told me NO because it wasn't their fault the payment wasn't received on time.  Their motto is "We’re dedicated to doing it right — every day."  I have to disagree 100%.  They are not willing to work or do right by the customer from what I've experienced!!!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations