Ally® Bank Auto Loan Reviews

2.0 out of 5 stars
41 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2 5

Compare Auto Loan Rates

View your top Auto Loan recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 26, 2017
Auto loan
Anonymous Borrower

I always pay extra on my loan and really appreciate the fact that they take the extra off the front end of the loan as opposed to the end of it. Thanks to this policy I am now 4 months ahead on my loan and can choose my own payment each month!!!  (as long as I keep paying in advance)  Thamk you Ally!!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 06, 2017
total cluster@#$%
robertriddell Borrower

Ally financial uses offshore telephone crews for customer service and collections. Rule number one of good customer service broken. Communication in both chat and over the phone is next to impossible, they do not comprehend english. They follow phone scripts and simply frustrate and **** you off until you hang up on them! Go anywhere else for a loan, do yourself a favor! I have spent three days tracking downb a five thousand dollar payment I made to them. Thank goodness my bank trtacked it, ALLY has no clue whree it is, and guess what, I'm not making another one!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Nov 26, 2017
NEVER FINANCE THROUGH ALLY
Anonymous Borrower

Read the fine print. Understand how much of your payment lowers your debt ans how much pays the crazy interest. I brought a vehicle for 17000. And after 36 payments paid 13000 in interest and still owed 11000 on a car worth 4000

more ...
Nov 21, 2017
absouletly terrible
Brit0023 Borrower

they dont take payments unless names match, well thats ridiculous. i didnt think i would have to chase someone around for money. the auto pay doesnt always take payments and all the customer services reps are rude. will NEVER use them again!

more ...
Nov 13, 2017
Hard to get any answers about anything.
Anonymous Borrower

If anything ever goes wrong, expect this to be the HARDEST lender to work with customer service wise. 

more ...
Nov 11, 2017
Worst decision ever
Anonymous Borrower

Don't go here

more ...
Nov 09, 2017
There when I needed it.
Anonymous Borrower

The loan is good but customer service is extremely poor.

more ...
Nov 02, 2017
Auto Loan
4266590 Borrower

Paid off early; never got title

Called Ally.  They don't have it.  Said they need to send me a form.  They can't email to me for some reason but can send to an anonymous fax number at my work.  Said they would fax in 24-48 hours.  It takes that long to fax?  We are now at 4 days and no form and no title.  I posted on customer service.  Ally controls this.  They just emailed me and said they can't find me in their system.  But when I called custoemer service I was clearly still in system even though loan paid off.  Wow, how can a company be this messed up?

@allyreallymessedup

more ...
Oct 28, 2017
Fantastic Bank to work with!
Flopster13 Borrower

Bought a car with Ally a couple of years ago. The car dealership put the wrong interest rate at 9.9 percent Ally sent me a letter and automatically lowered the interest to 7.9 without me having to resign any paperwork. As long as you pay your car payment as your suppose to, as I have, you won't ever hear from Ally. Ive been so pleased with my car loan that I opened a bank account with Ally. They are the best bank I have ever worked with. I will be a returning customer!

more ...
Sep 29, 2017
WORST CAR LOAN. DO NOT USE THEM
Jess7154 Borrower

It has taken 3 weeks to get my lien released. I overnighted a secured payment to them, they recieved the next day, and i have waited three weeks for all of the paperwork to clear. Every step i have been told 24-48 hours. It is thieir motto. All customer service reps are difficult to work with and hard to understand. Every single one will give you a different timeline and response. Asking to speak with management is useless as they read from a script to.

BUYER BEWARE- WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY. FINANCE ELSEWHERE!!

more ...
Sep 18, 2017
Disgusted
Anonymous Borrower

I had a loan with Ally, their interest rates stink! No refinancing, nor do they work with you if your falling behind, I missed 1 payment in 2 years and they closed my online acct. was unable to access my acct any longer.  Customer service is rediculous if you can even understand what the heck they're saying. I was so frustrated, they offered me no reassurment nor were they willing to work with me, so I took my unhappy business elsewhere, Im so happy im done with them, I took my loan and refinanced with another company and now my monthly payments were cut in half from $440 a month to $220 Get out while you can stop paying unecessary high intrest rates! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 01, 2017

Where did u go to refinance I want to leave them

 
Sep 16, 2017
Given to me by my car dealership
Anonymous Borrower

I knew nothing about Ally until now..I have tjem they harass you to make payments...they cant speak english...rude unfriendly

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations