Auto Loan Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Ally® Bank Auto Loan

2.8 out of 5 stars
24 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

3 5

Compare Auto Loan Rates

View your top Auto Loan recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Feb 06, 2016
528 TU 548 EQ Approved
itsjusmeandu Borrower

Ford Credit turned me down for lease and purchase.  Ally approved me at 11.95% on a 35k car loan.  High rate but fair to me since I had a bankruptcy a few years ago and recent late payments on a mortgage.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 21, 2016
Down Right Dishonest!!!
Sprinkey Borrower

On 10/9/2015 I refinanced my loan with another institute. they got the payoff amount on that same day. on 10-20-2015 Ally tried taking another payment from my acct. knowing it was being paid off by the other bank. Ally had already recieved payment by then and wont admit it but the new financial institute told me they had cleared the check by then. So the loan should be paid right, wrong. apparently getting a payoff for the exact amount owed isnt enough they want more from you. apparently they want your kids, dogs, and everything else after that loan has been paid. So the conclusion to my story is when you do math, math never lies. if i owe $32793.29 on 10-9-2015 wih a per diem of x amount of dollars added for interest. that is what the payoff should be. Not a whole other payment like these thieves are trying to take from me. 

Dont use them, both my wife and I have had terrible experiences with this lending institute!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Dec 02, 2016
Auto

This is the worst company I have ever worked with. Twice they falsley report that my loan was 60 days past due. Each time I called they insisted 60 days then when I walked them through all of the payments they said "Oh you're only 30 days past due" (even if that wast true I was not 60 days) then when I would again walk them through they realize their mistake and offer me a letter that I then have to pay to be sent to the bureaus. They're awful!!!!

more ...
Nov 07, 2016
shady dealing
Tineifrinn Borrower

This company is shady and corrupt in its dealings with customers who fall even the slightest behind. They lose records and refuse information asked for, they say that they have set up a payment arrangement but continue to act as if there is not one.

more ...
Oct 29, 2016
Great company.
lilybeth12 Borrower

I was approved for this auto loan with no down payment.  The interest rate is a little high, but I expected that due to my credit score. I have had the loan for two years now and I have had excellent customer service whenever I have called.

more ...
Oct 28, 2016
Excellent!
Anonymous Borrower

Fast, efficient, reasonable interest rate!

more ...
Oct 25, 2016
Great!

Approved instantly for a 2016 Ram Truck with no money down. APR is 12.9% which is high to some but I'm rebuilding so I thought the rate was pretty good! My current credit is in the 620-640 range. Customer service was great when I called in and had a couple of questions. Very pleased so far!

more ...
Oct 20, 2016
thieves
Anonymous Borrower

I'm still paying them off got a piece of the lawsuit settlement where they were discriminating against people who had middle eastern names or of black heritage .. They are not reporting my payments to the Credit Bureau's, they have me owing over 18,000 an not having had made a payment since sometime in 2015. I can't wait to pay them off. They charge excessive APR if your black or of a foreign decent. 

more ...
Sep 29, 2016
Great 2 Deal With Highly Recommend Ally
SSTT0816 Borrower

Fellow Members,

I had gotten Ally financial loan on my Acura TL at a low interest rate and after paying off Capital one auto with my other car another good company to deal with I have to say don't really listen to most on people on here. The people are downright ****ed off at this and many other companies only beacuse it seems everyone else is to blame for their own personal issues 90% of the time. Just read some stories and and soon as you do you will see in the first few words that its already the customers fault...Oh I had this happen or I paid these guy on time for 90 month then " I missed only 4 payments" I don;t care if its a payment you made a contractual obligation when buying a car so pay it ! Banks are not in the " Personla issues" Business. yes things happen but don't expect the bank to be responsible for your problems. remeber they were nice enought the day you accepted the loan that they paid your car dealer 10,20,30,000 $$$ In 1 payment so you can take that nice new car home....Now pay it and stop complaining. I have had nothing but good experienecs with my car loans, Credit card and banks remember you do the stuff to yourself not the banks fault ! ALLY GREAT ALL THE WAY TO THE BANK HIGHLY RECOMMEND !

more ...
Sep 16, 2016
car loan
Anonymous Borrower

do not have any dealings with this company they are the worst company i ever delt with costumer service is a joke they have no idea what they are doing and they lie to you even on the message center they lie have no idea how to find or send paperwork just need to have a letter signed by them they say it is already sent to who because it was not sent to me

more ...
Aug 21, 2016
Anonymous Borrower

I had a auto loan with them and they billed me every month to my new address and then when I paid off my loan they send all of the information to my current address. Then they went and sent my title to my old address??!! The worst part is they aren't helping me with getting a new title when it was clearly their fault 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations