Ally® Bank Auto Loan

2.6 out of 5 stars
29 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5

Compare Auto Loan Rates

View your top Auto Loan recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Nov 10, 2015
Approved!
Anonymous Borrower

Even with a "FAIR" credit rating, Ally beat my credit union's interest rate!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 21, 2016
Down Right Dishonest!!!
Sprinkey Borrower

On 10/9/2015 I refinanced my loan with another institute. they got the payoff amount on that same day. on 10-20-2015 Ally tried taking another payment from my acct. knowing it was being paid off by the other bank. Ally had already recieved payment by then and wont admit it but the new financial institute told me they had cleared the check by then. So the loan should be paid right, wrong. apparently getting a payoff for the exact amount owed isnt enough they want more from you. apparently they want your kids, dogs, and everything else after that loan has been paid. So the conclusion to my story is when you do math, math never lies. if i owe $32793.29 on 10-9-2015 wih a per diem of x amount of dollars added for interest. that is what the payoff should be. Not a whole other payment like these thieves are trying to take from me. 

Dont use them, both my wife and I have had terrible experiences with this lending institute!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Apr 06, 2017
total cluster@#$%

Ally financial uses offshore telephone crews for customer service and collections. Rule number one of good customer service broken. Communication in both chat and over the phone is next to impossible, they do not comprehend english. They follow phone scripts and simply frustrate and **** you off until you hang up on them! Go anywhere else for a loan, do yourself a favor! I have spent three days tracking downb a five thousand dollar payment I made to them. Thank goodness my bank trtacked it, ALLY has no clue whree it is, and guess what, I'm not making another one!

more ...
Apr 06, 2017
mrZombie Borrower

I was approved with bad credit (520) and 10k downpayment for 12% interest rate. Paid the bills for 15 months and refinanced with the other bank.

I can't say anything bad about ALLY. They have good customer service (through live chat, I never had to call them), easy mobile app and simple online payment system. They also let me refinanace the loan pretty quickly without any delays.

more ...
Mar 30, 2017
If I could give negative stars, I would.

I bought a car and was approved through Ally at a lower interest rate than what my local bank could do. I mistakenly went with this company, and wish I hadn't. I get paid once a month, and my payment date was off by a few days. I understand it's the policy of most lenders to ask you to pay one month before they change your requested date, so I started A MONTH ahead of time to avoid this situation. I was informed I had to make a partial payment to process the request, which I did within the required timeframe. I was also required to sign papers - no problem. Multiple (I'm talking 7+) phone calls later, and they still haven't processed my request after repeated assurances to the contrary. I submitted the required paperwork via their secure message center in my account, and never received a response. I also faxed the paperwork as I was requested to do, and never received a response there either. Multiple phone calls following this assured me that they had received everything, didn't need anything else, and would expedite my request and would have it ready within 24-48 hours. This waiting period happened 3 times with no resolution whatsoever. I was concerned that my account and my credit would have a negative mark on it for a late payment, and after less than impressive service, I switched to my local bank. My payment only went up by about $16, and I think this is definitely a situation where you get what you pay for. After I switched my account to a different bank, I received another correspondence from Ally indicating that I would need to make an additional partial payment to complete my request .... I think I made the right decision to cut ties with them.

more ...
Mar 23, 2017
Auto loan
Anonymous Borrower

I financed a work van through Ally. The vehicle was paid off one year before final payment was due, and I used the vehicle as a trade in to purchase another vehicle. I recently had my credit report check and Ally is claiming that the first work van was repossessed. I have been fighting this for just about 30 days and can get nowhere with having this removed from my credit report. I would never use or recommend this Bank for any type of a loan if they are this difficult to deal with even when you have documentation proving what you are saying.

more ...
Mar 17, 2017
Worst experience ever
Anonymous Borrower

I will never in a million years do business with Ally financial again in regards to an auto loan. Worst experience ever. At the end of my lease I was hit with a $400 wear and tear bill to damage that was done on my car in the time between me dropping it off at the walk-away process and when an Ally inspection agent came and looked at my car, I called to try and dispute the damages and all I received was a rude agent claiming "it's your fault" when asked to speak to a supervisor I was told no. Who says no to a customer??? I will never ever ever be a customer to Ally financial.

more ...
Mar 17, 2017
Great rate and terms
Anonymous Borrower

Purchased a 2016 Ford F-250 in November of 2015.  Was approved right away for 1.9%.  I actually saved money by financing with Ally than financing with Ford with their higher rate and incentives.  I pay on time every month and have never had any issues.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 18, 2017

I think that you work for them and this is a fake review

 
Feb 24, 2017
FEELING RIPPED OFF
Anonymous Borrower

Let me make this short and sweet....we bought a 2015 Chevy Silverado and used Ally as our financing. Soon we discovered that after making payments for almost a year and a half our loan amount owed had only gone down maybe $4000 and we pay $675 a month! We also discovered that some months we actually paid more in interest than we were to principle but otherwise at least half of our monthly payment was interest! We just refinanced through our credit union today, so let's see if we have any issues.....-CH

more ...
Feb 20, 2017
It's ok
Anonymous Borrower

It's not the best loan in the world but it's ok this company do what they want to do keep all records of payments I fell behind on a few payments but I caught up b4 they could have took my car I try not to call these ppl no one speaks English & no one will help you with any matter 

more ...
Feb 11, 2017
Auto loan
Anonymous Borrower

havent had any issues so far. Had for ~3 yrs. paid off in full today, but waiting for title. car dealer put through my application. have not had to call aout anything so I cannot speak to that but essentially, it's been a walk in the park! However, will certainly come back to rant if i have any issues obtaining my title!

more ...
Jan 30, 2017
Worst loan experience I've ever had!!!
Jpetro444 Borrower

Bought my car July 2016... never missed a payment. Go to refinance our property to build our dream home and there is a 30 day late from Ally??? Call Ally over and over for 2 months. Not one person speaks english. They keep saying it is in review.. hired an attorney to send letters and make calls. Ally says the show no record of letters or calls from my attorney so now my attorney is taking action against them. Re financing no matter the interest rate tomorrow! Why can I not leave 0 stars?!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations