OpenRoad Lending Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
140 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Compare Auto Loan Rates

View your top Auto Loan recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Nov 01, 2018
Very satisfied with my results!
SavvyC123 Borrower

I had been paying $405 monthly on a 2016 Versa. Open Road Leanding cut my interest rate in half and lowered my monthly payments by $123. They did everything as advertised. Thanks Melanie F. for helping me with my refinancing process. By the way.. applying through Credit Karma helps you avoid taking any hard hits to your credit score.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 21, 2018
HORRIBLE
onyxbeauty1988 Borrower

The entire process was a nightmare. 

Lie #1: Intrest rate 

When I initially applied I was told my interest rate would be 7.29% with a 72 month term. I asked the loan care agent if they could do any better than that and she checked and said they could do 6.49%. I asked specifically if lowering the payment term would lower the interest and she said no — this is a lie. I have written documentation from the loan care agent of this that the interest rate was reduced to 6.49%. I said ok and she sent me the loan documents. The documents said 6.7%. I asked about this inaccuracy and was told I wasn’t told that. After referring to the proof she admitted that she misspoke but it is actually 6.7%. 

MORAL: READ YOUR LOAN DOCUMENTS CAREFULLY AND BEWARE OF BAIT and SWITCH. 

Ok fine.... on to issue #2 

LIE #2 - Identification & Gift Card

During our first conversation I was asked to send in various documents, first being my valid drivers license which I submitted to them on 5-18-2018. I was told all documents were approved on 5-21-2018. On 5-31-2018 all of a sudden my VALID Michigan drivers license was no longer acceptable and I was told I had to get a drivers license out of the state of Illinois, where I live part of the year, despite having a valid drivers license from Michigan — mind you I purchased the vehicle in Illinois while having an out of state ID. The loan care agent even went as far to tell me they would raise my interest rate over 12% if I didn’t. My previous rate wasn’t even 12%! So I had to take a day off work. I was told I would receive a $100.00 gift card for the inconvenience. I spent from 8 am to 1:30 pm at the Secretary of State and then provided them with the ID. It would seem as though if this was a requirement It would have been told to me on 5/18/2018 that this was required when they saw my drivers license to begin with — why wait until 5/31/2018. So, when I called to check on my loan status and when gift card was going to be mailed I was told I was never told I would get a 100.00 gift card and I would only be sent a $25.00 which I have of course not received. Another BAIT AND SWITCH tactic.

Finally, after exhausting back and forth, my loan was complete with Kinecta Federal Credit Union at a 58 month term at 6.44%. This leads me to .....

Lie #3 - Due Date

So, I like to pay my car note early and intended on keeping the same cadence as I normally had been. So I logged into the open road lending website and saw my "truth in lending" statement I opened it and it stated my first payment would be due on 7/20/2018. This was a lie. I immediately contacted Kinecta Federal Credit Union to make a payment and they told me it is due on 7/8/2018. Now— obliviously I paid way early but the point is they have the wrong date so based off of that date I would have been 12 days late on my first payment! 

All in all I refinanced a 11.5% loan down to a 6.44% and I shaved time off my loan and saved myself thousands of dollars. However, I would recommend for anyone to stay away from this company. Why? You can do you research and go directly through a credit union. This way you won’t have to deal with multiple inquiries and you won’t be paying their middle man mark up on the interest rate. Also, you want to not just research open road lending — you need to research whatever lender they match you with to see what THAT banks reviews are. 

Another reason to stay away is all the lies. The loan care agents will say anything to get you off the phone or get you to sign the contract. With anything you must read every word on the contract. Another issue with their contract was that it stipulated that I have an insurance company that does business in the state of California which mine doesn’t. They ended up changing the contract for me but if I wouldn’t have paid attention to that they could have but on forced placed insurance which would have cost me thousands, negating all savings and actually costing me more! 

I have a YouTube channel with only over 12,000 subscribers but I will be doing a detailed video on my experience showing proof of how this was handled from beginning to end. If can save a single person from this horrible experience it will be worth it. If you’re going to deal with them, don’t believe anything they say and read over your loan documents with a fine tooth combo— TWICE!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Feb 14, 2019
Best rate and easy to apply!
Babykins529 Borrower

I refinanced my vehicle through OpenRoad Lending because they were able to give me a better rate than Capital One and the application process was simple and quick.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 16, 2019

How long had you had your Capital One loan- I have a Capital One Auto loan but it's only been about 5 months

 
Feb 09, 2019
Excellent communication!
Brollymakyo Borrower

As long as you're willing to do everything they ask in a timely manner the loan process is very painless. Plenty of communication via text and email made the process fluid. Solid company.

more ...
Feb 02, 2019

Lowered my interest rate in half. Lowered my payment by 40$. Highly recommend 

more ...
Feb 01, 2019
Refinance Automobile Loan
joan87301 Borrower

The customer service is great.  Always returned calls and e mails.  I would recommend them to anyone that has a loan with high interest rate, they lowered my interest rate by 9%.

more ...
Jan 29, 2019
It was a lifesaver
kelseysnan Borrower

It simplified my car loan to a reasonable payment.

more ...
Jan 23, 2019
Quick...Easy...Professional
NessH Borrower

I worked with Emily and she was absolutely amazing. She communicated every step with me, answered any and all of my million questions along the way and secured me a great loan and saved me so much! I 100% recommend Open Road Lending, they don’t mislead, they’re very open on what they can or can’t do! Five stars from me! 

more ...
Jan 21, 2019
As Advertised!
GatorNick81 Borrower

I was skeptical at first, but I could not be more happier at the moment. One quick application, a few phone calls from Mona and a notorized document saved me 7% APR and close to $60 a month. I was not paid nor asked to leave a review.

more ...
Jan 20, 2019
An excellent, streamlined experience!
teichin Borrower

Cody was so helpful and always available to answer my questions.

more ...
Jan 16, 2019
Would recommend

Lowered interest from 18% to 11% and payment from 398 to 343$. Easy to do all over the phone and email. Would recommend.

more ...
Jan 10, 2019
Worth a shot to lower your interest rate
jeortiz84 Borrower

I'm pleased to save money. However, there were a number of hoops I had to go through and it was stressful making sure the documents were just right, having to get a document notarized a few different times because the notary messed up one letter when writing the name of the month, and having to send a document twice because I filled out my name and address before signing it - which I apparently was not supposed to do even though no one told me not to because why would I sign a doc without my name on it? I understood there was a time crunch but I had just moved and it was difficult getting the documents I needed.

Again, I'm glad to save money, but saving $30 a month is almost not worth the hassle. I hope I can refinance again at some point and save more as I feel the interest rate is still too high but I understand I have made mistakes and am paying for those mistakes. Overall, I would say OpenRoad Lending did accomplish its goal of saving me money, but after a very stressful process. This may just be unique to me and I know others have had a great experience. I'm just writing down what I experienced.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations