First Investors Financial Services Auto Refinance Reviews

2.1 out of 5 stars
33 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2 5

Compare Auto Loan Rates

View your top Auto Loan recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 30, 2017
Satisifed customer
trishawisha86 Borrower

I was hesitant at first to refinance, but my interest rate went down 3%, so I switched to this company. In the past few months, I've been at least a week late every month due to a temporary change in my financial situation to where I fell behind. I called them up and they allowed me to apply for a two month extension so I could get my finances in order and get back on track. They mentioned that they only give out so many a month, so I didn't get my hopes up. After a couple of days, I didn't get a call or email, so I was worried about if it went through or if I was going to continue to struggle. I decided to go

online and view my account, where my due date had already been changed. I am very grateful for them working with me because they didn't have to. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 03, 2017
Lots of hidden fees
Anonymous Borrower

Reports to credit bureau are inaccurate. No reporting on good payment history, only if you go past due, you will not build your credit using this company. My initial balance after refinancing with them was about 19k, and I was with them for 18 months. monthly payments were 407.00  and three of those months I made payments of $1500.00each month. The following month I was sent a statement that showed my balance of $13900.00. I went back through the financials to be sure the # of payments and amounts were correct. Found they charged all kinds of fees that aren't disclosed on the monthly statement. The math sure doesn't add up since I paid $10,605.00 towards the loan. I purposefully fell behind two months while I put together the money for a down payment on another car, then called them voluntarily surrendered the vehicle they had financed. My credit report shows more than 6 months in late payments. I was late twice only. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Jun 11, 2017
LIARS! Frauds! Shame! Horrible people!!
AmyJ2731 Borrower

They should all be ashamed of themselves. Shane's! 

more ...
Jun 08, 2017
Can't make extra payments to principle
Rselderman Borrower

In order for you to be able to pay extra on your principle you must be 12 payments ahead. Make sure you read the fine print. Other than that I have had no issues.

more ...
Jun 06, 2017
Shoddy
Ghizm0 Borrower

Dodges a bullet. Thanks for the feedback!

more ...
May 21, 2017
Suck
Anonymous Borrower

A lot of hidden fees and will call you the day after your payment is due, this will not honor their own 5 day grace period within the contract. Buyer beware!

more ...
May 04, 2017
Stay away!
Anonymous Borrower

By far the WORST customer service in the history of customer service. They gave me a late on my credit because of a customer service error and will not remove it. Unwilling to help, rude, and will tell you to get a new job if your having trouble making a payment. 

more ...
Apr 30, 2017
Satisifed customer

I was hesitant at first to refinance, but my interest rate went down 3%, so I switched to this company. In the past few months, I've been at least a week late every month due to a temporary change in my financial situation to where I fell behind. I called them up and they allowed me to apply for a two month extension so I could get my finances in order and get back on track. They mentioned that they only give out so many a month, so I didn't get my hopes up. After a couple of days, I didn't get a call or email, so I was worried about if it went through or if I was going to continue to struggle. I decided to go

online and view my account, where my due date had already been changed. I am very grateful for them working with me because they didn't have to. 

more ...
Jun 08, 2017

Just the fact that you had to call them and follow up shows horrible customer service

 
Jun 16, 2017

Not really. Companies don't call you to let you know about an extension lol. They call when you're late. Would've been the same way with any company. That's great they offer extensions many sub prime lenders do not!

 
Apr 30, 2017
Thanks for the reviews.
Anonymous Borrower

I will not do business with this company. A company must respect their customers regardless of their financial status or credit score! 

more ...
Apr 27, 2017
So far so good
Anonymous Borrower

They approved me for 8% less than I was paying.  They have been there for anything I have needed so far 

more ...
Apr 15, 2017
Okay if you need something fast

I had a lot of trouble in the beginning with this company. They lost paperwork and asked for the same things over and over again. I called one time about 3 months after I first got my car and I spoke with 2 of the rudest most unprofessional customers service reps I've ever dealt with. To make a long story short I went to the BBB and it all worked out. I haven't had a problem since with my payments. I always get an email once I make a payments and they do report good credit and when you make your payments on time.

more ...
Apr 06, 2017
No Problems
Ms911 Borrower

I refinanced with this company in aug 2016 , my payment dropped by $78 , The process was fast and smooth and the staff was great when i needed to call . Im looking forward to them adding new services like trading your car in .

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 11, 2017

Fake! First by how it contradicts all the other complaints making this company sound awesome. CLEARLY this company sucks!!

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations