Auto Loan Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

First Investors Financial Services Auto Refinance

2.1 out of 5 stars
24 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2 5

Compare Auto Loan Rates

View your top Auto Loan recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 08, 2016
GREAT! FAST AND EASY! 5 STARS!!!
Anonymous Borrower

EASY APPLICATION.  They approved my TRUCK refinance IN 2 DAYS,  just 1 year after a Chapter 7 bankruptcy and with $10,000+ negative equity!  Fast application and quick approval, but I had all my income info. and bank statements ready to go, and already had 12 months of perfect payments from Chrysler Finance.... and yes, the loan was done by email, fax and snail-mail, but 1ST INVESTORS FINANCE lowered my interest rate from 16.68% to 12.328%. Customer service has always been great, and I've probably called them 15 times with questions. I also call them to make over-the-phone payments.  I am quite satisfied with this company.  Only regret is that they do NOT refinance a loan made with them.  They "rescue" people who have had previous problems and can now show they're better able to make their payments.  ALSO, if you set up the payment due date to be a couple weeks after your normal paydays, you'll have an easier time of getting the money to them on time.  They gave me 45 days before my first payment was due.  INTEREST DID START ON THE DAY THEY APPROVED MY LOAN, which I was NOT happy with, but was doable to get a lower interest rate and longer time to pay off my truck.  On the good side, it is a simple, fixed interest rate.  Anything paid extra goes to the principal and pays it down quicker.   Happy Camper here.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 20, 2016
RUN!! DO NOT TRUST!!
Anonymous Borrower

This is the most janky auto lender i have ever encountered. i have had my payments doubled when drafted out of my account, had several very rude and ghetto customer service reps. This company is horrible. Please do not waste your time. If this is the only company that will finance you, WALK or TAKE THE BUS!! It's that bad! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Feb 17, 2017
Worked for a month! Make it work for you

I was fresh out of a Chapter 7 Bankruptcy and needed a fresh start. I was approved hassled free. Got my car in Dec '16, made first payment Jan '17... refinance for shorter term Feb '17 (72 months originally now 48) and a lower interest rate (was 24.99% now 6.5%)... make it work for you!!! The customer service agents needs a class or 2 on customer service.

more ...
Feb 14, 2017
Definitely won't try this company out
Anonymous Borrower

Bad coustomer service, not reporting to credit bureaus.

more ...
Feb 09, 2017
Crooks and lairs

They DO NOT REPORT YOUR PAYMENT HISTORY. .......and are a hassle to work with on losing your paperwork AVOID there's way better out there

more ...
Feb 03, 2017
Lots of hidden fees
Anonymous Borrower

Reports to credit bureau are inaccurate. No reporting on good payment history, only if you go past due, you will not build your credit using this company. My initial balance after refinancing with them was about 19k, and I was with them for 18 months. monthly payments were 407.00  and three of those months I made payments of $1500.00each month. The following month I was sent a statement that showed my balance of $13900.00. I went back through the financials to be sure the # of payments and amounts were correct. Found they charged all kinds of fees that aren't disclosed on the monthly statement. The math sure doesn't add up since I paid $10,605.00 towards the loan. I purposefully fell behind two months while I put together the money for a down payment on another car, then called them voluntarily surrendered the vehicle they had financed. My credit report shows more than 6 months in late payments. I was late twice only. 

more ...
Feb 03, 2017
RUN AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY!!!
Anonymous Borrower

This company is a ripe-off. Very poor customer service and just plan BAD business. Don't borrow from this company, go anywhere else but them.

more ...
Jan 26, 2017
Great experiance start to finish!
Anonymous Borrower

I just finished up an auto refi and it was great.  my payment dropped more then i expected and i got a better rate then the example on Credit Karma.  Service was friendly and fast. would reccomend for sure. 

more ...
Jan 25, 2017
Dont refinance
Anonymous Borrower

They DO NOT REPORT TO CREDIT BUREAU AT ALL trying to trade vehicle in on something else to GET AWAY from this CROOKED company. ....my statement says this amount for payoff they tell other finances companies its way more and other finance companies had a very hard time getting anyone to call them back with any information when we refinanced with them they lost paperwork and pay stubs countless times READ THE REVIEWS AND YOU'LL THINK TWICE ABOUT THESE CROOKS

more ...
Jan 16, 2017
Anonymous Borrower

WOW!!!!!!   doesn't look good for the customer service dept!!! I'll get a loan elsewhere!!!

more ...
Jan 10, 2017
Cant believe all these people

This company has been great for me customer service is excellent and when im late they are very understanding

more ...
Jan 04, 2017
Great reduced my payment
BrianFit Borrower

I never had a problem with this company.  I never had to call to extend a few days so I can't speak about that. But I would use them again.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations