Auto Loan Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Exeter Finance

1.6 out of 5 stars
38 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

1.5 5

Compare Auto Loan Rates

View your top Auto Loan recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Feb 15, 2016
Anonymous Borrower

High interest loan   I'm rebuilding my credit

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 19, 2016
Anonymous Borrower

Repossessed your car quick!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Sep 27, 2016
Worst place to take out loans.
Anonymous Borrower

What if u you surrender your car if you can't pay anymore?  will it be really bad on your credit?

more ...
Sep 22, 2016
Anonymous Borrower

This is by and large the worst company I have ever worked with. While the manager was pretending to listen to me ask questions about my existing loan to understand it, he thought he had his phone muted and called me "not the brightest tool in the shed" to a coworker. This is what you can expect from such a reputable company. Later when we called to pay off the loan completely to be done with it they refused to take our payment citing that we had to send them certified funds and for every day that it took we were liable for added interest due to their refusal of the payment method we had. Who doesn't take a credit card in this day and age. My advice would be to go through any company but this one when looking to secure your loan. Credit unions are typically the best and have the skilled staff on hand to help you understand things from start to finish. I talked to the manager today who informed me that unfortunately the customer service reps for their company aren't familiar with the total loss processes and therefore they provided me inaccurate information on multiple accounts. Please don't make my mistake - go somewhere you can be taken care of where the employees of the company are cross trained to handle or escalate situations accordingly. -M

more ...
Sep 21, 2016
Anonymous Borrower

Everyone is right, they will call you 15 times a day when your payment isn't even late. Also, I recently payed off my loan, Praise God, with an overage of $900. That was 4 weeks ago and I still don't have my refund. Believe me, I have returned the favor and called them just as much as they have me. I was told it takes 30-45 days AFTER processing an overpayment to mail it out and mine hasn't even been processed yet. If you want THE worst customer service of all time, and 15 phone calls a day then they're the company for you. I will NEVER get mixed up with this company again. 

more ...
Sep 13, 2016
stay clear of this company!
Anonymous Borrower

Problems all around. Customer service is 3rd rate. Interest rates are WAY to high! Keep track of your payments, they don't always mark full as mount on account. Took over a year just to get my address correct.

more ...
Sep 01, 2016
High rate.
Anonymous Borrower

I came into hard times due to health issues and while waiting for surgery that would have me off of work for 3 months I tried to initiate a voluntary repossession. I called and got blown off for a whole month so they could add on another overdue payment and added 19% interest also. I think it's totally unfair when you try to be honest. Nobody expects to be out if work for surgery so I didn't expect it when I signed my contract. So when I applied at such a high interest they told me to refinance in a year, but my car lost $5000.00 in value as soon as I drove off the dealers lot. No compassion and no appreciation for honesty. Never go with them, they will hound you for your payment when it's 1 day late.

more ...
Aug 25, 2016
Incompetent Liars- broke into my account
Anonymous Borrower

They can't fnd a bill, recipt, proper address or give a call back. They CAN call you non stop whether you owe, don't owe, their system is down or dog ate the homework...

Over 22 left messages! NON returned (yes- I have a list)

I have NEVER experienced somethng like this. A joke.

more ...
Aug 23, 2016
They will work with you.

I received my loan for a used vehicle in 2011 at a 21% interest rate, I have always received a professional and courteous response from their customer service reps. they worked with me through two relocations when I was late twice on my loan, by assisting me with options on making payments. I can't complain about this company as the contract I signed with them I choose to honor the terms and pay off my loan, knowing what I know about credit, I would never take out another loan on a used or new vehicle ever again, I have also become more responsible with my credit and to educate myself as to how credit really works, as I was very ignorant in that department. I paid off my loan in 2016 received the title to my truck and paid in full letter. the only thing this was not reflected on my credit profile, and I contacted them this morning and was assured it would be taken care of.

more ...
Aug 22, 2016
BAD SERVICE AWFULL
Anonymous Borrower

THE COMPANY TOOK 2 MONTHS TO RELEASE MY TITLE AFTER THEY CASHED MY CHECK. THE CHECK WAS CASHER 2 DAYS AFTER THEY RECEIVED IT.. CALL 4 TIMES AND THEY TOLD ME THE TITLE WAS ON THE WAY AND NOW TODAY 8/22/16 THEY SAY IS ELECTRONIC TITLE.. WHAT A AWFULL SERVICE AND DISHONEST...NOT HAPPY WITH EXETER

more ...
Aug 20, 2016
100% satisfied.
Anonymous Borrower

AllI can say is, after a repossession, Exceter gave me a second chance by financing me with a new loan for another car.

more ...
Aug 16, 2016
Anonymous Borrower

The interest rate is ridiculously high. I wish I read the fine print before signing. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations