Exeter Finance Reviews

1.5 out of 5 stars
61 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

1.5 5

Compare Auto Loan Rates

View your top Auto Loan recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Aug 09, 2015
Exeter has been great to me!!
Jenbug421 Borrower

I went to Carmax to originally buy a car with a roadloans approval, but I wanted to see if I could get a better rate with a different finance company. I did not think anyone would even approve me besides roadloans. Exeter came back with a slighty higher interest rate with a term of 60 months instead of 72 and the payments were lower!! Don't ask me how that happened, but it was a win. They got my account setup very fast, and I am still in shock. Awhile back ago, around 2 years ago, I made a very bad decision and got myself into a extremely high interest title loan with the car that I traded in (DON'T EVER EVER GET A TITLE LOAN WITH 1 STOP TITLE LOANS, THEY WILL RIP YOU OFF). I'm just very thankful that I got out of that nightmare and my payments in now almost cut in half, and they are being reported to the credit agencies where previously they weren't. I got a fantastic reliable car that I absolutely love. I have never been so happy in my entire life. I feel like I won the lottery! Thank you Exeter Finance!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 18, 2017
High interest rates and no refinancing
meckad Borrower

Pick another loan company. I have made 25 payments on the loan it only went down $2,000 and the car payments are almost $600 a month. It's almost like being scammed. Going on 3 years in this contract I will end up paying over $40,000 or car not even worth $25,000 brand spanking new. Oh yeah they don't put gap insurance in this overly priced loan either so If you stay this in this contract for over 1 year your screwed.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Jun 22, 2017
The worst place to get a loan.

THIEF ALERT!!!! DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY FOR ANYTHING!!! If I could give this company 0 stars I would. I have never missed a car payment nor have I been late. They stole over $600 from me this month and have put me through the ringer in getting it back. I set up automated payments five months ago for the 15th of each month. This month, as usual the payment was not taken on the 15th. So, on the 16th I paid my bill. On the 19th they stole $618.06 out of my account after knowingly receiving my payment on the 16th. They told me to send a running bank statement from my bank and after I did so, they informed me that they could not use it to give me back my money after days passed and being informed that the money would be in my account after 24 hrs. The customer service representatives are rude and the managers can not help you and tell you that they are the only people you can talk to. I am going to get my money back one way or another. I will be going to my bank to reverse the payment and refinancing my car with a trustworthy company with better rates and decent customer service. I will not give my money to thieves!!

more ...
Jun 21, 2017
Scam
Anonymous Borrower

Very high interest, no refinance option, bad customer service, lost payments; need I say more?

more ...
Jun 09, 2017
Dont get
Anonymous Borrower

They make paying a payment almost impossible. Also have really messed up my credit over the years. Ive had the loan for over 3 years and pay $400 a month and somehow have only paid off $4000 total off my loan. I highly recomend staying away. My loan with anyone should be paid off by now in full but its not even close. Also their customer service is not very good, they do not listen to anything you say. All they care about is getting their money, which they make it very difficult to pay. My only option I have left to pay my bill is by going to Walmart Money gram and it costs me $10 to do each month. They are liars, thiefs, manipulators, and dont care anything about you. They make you pay alot over a few years and then deliberately set you up to fail. Even though I have been a great customer and have jumped through all these hurdles and still have paid my bill on time every month they keep making it difficult to pay, now its getting almost impossible and it took me 5 days past my due date one time and I am getting threatend with repo. STAY AWAY!

more ...
Jun 09, 2017
A terrible process.
Anonymous Borrower

They sent me a notice that my loan was declined. Upon calling they said that they had accepted the loan and that notice should have been a bill that hadn't been paid.

more ...
Jun 06, 2017
Predatory Lending
Anonymous Borrower

Exeter preys on vulnerable population's so they know they'll get the car back. Their loan underwriting sets you up to fail. It's their business plan. Don't believe the BBB input, it's not accurate and is located near Exeter. Exeter must finance their employees cars. Exeter is out to repossess your car. Don't trust a dealer that uses them or them.

more ...
May 27, 2017
Overcharged, then made ME Prove it

I paid off my car using multiple payments because they only accept a max of $3,000 increments. I set up 5 payments of $3,000, but they charged me 6 payments. They refuse to take any documentation other than my complete bank statement, even though they can go to my account and see that I only authorized 5 payments, yet they sent me confirmation for 6 payments. I'm taking them to small claims court and having my attorney address the issue. 

Don't use them. They will steal your money, then try to make you prove it. 

more ...
May 25, 2017
Predatory
Anonymous Borrower

DO NOT finance with Exeter. They overcharge, FCRA violations, send default notices when you're current. Worse financing company ever. Protect yourself and take your business elsewhere.

more ...
May 24, 2017
It was unorganized and a rip off.
Anonymous Borrower

My biggest problem with this company is that any answers i got depended on who you talked to on the phone. Very unorganized and if they don't know the answer Theyll just make an educated guess.

more ...
May 20, 2017
A Total Tyrannous Rip Off
Anonymous Borrower

Extremely high daily interest rate.  You will NEVER pay for your car--unless you end up paying 3x what the car is worth.  You cannot sell the car because of lost equity.  Takes about 2.3 years just to put a small dent in the principal.  This company does not reduce your interest rate, stating that they cannot do so because of the loan contract--it cannot be altered.  19.9% APR out to be illegal.  Exeter prides itself in helping the consumer financially.  They will give you a loan when other won't --but you are going to pay out of the wahoozie for it.

more ...
May 18, 2017
They're for themselves and not you
Anonymous Borrower

Very easy to get on with them but they are in the business of repossession.  Theyll get you with the highest rates possible and if you pay they come out on top with the interest rates.  If you dont pay they repossess and resell the car and do it all over again.  Prepare to get screwed if you're ok with it.  I had no other choice at the time I purchased and I've been able to make the payments but Im treading water on payments and the car wont be paid off until 2018 and I started payments in 2013 at $425. You do the math and tell me if thats a fair price for a 2012 Chevy Malibu.  If it is go for them, if not keep looking.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations