Exeter Finance Reviews

Exeter Finance Reviews
2.5 out of 5 stars
14 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2.5 5

Compare Auto Loan Rates

View your top Auto Loan recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Aug 15, 2019
Good company, easy to deal with
HyperDream23 Borrower

What everyone writing bad reviews has to understand is that if your credit is crap, you're going to get a high interest rate.  If you don't pay your car payment, they'll come get your car.  Any financial institution has to protect their assets, and are there to provide a service to you.  With your poor credit, you don't get to pick their policies - you have to follow them.  There were some comments about payment dates, interest calculation and some other stuff... come on, do some research!  If you don't know how APR or car loans work, look it up.  If you don't know the policies about payment dates, grace periods, autopay or other loan requirements, call and ask!  People act like the banks need to do what the customer asks, regardless of policy - but that's not how life works.  You all need to chill out, fix your credit and get a loan with low interest or just pay cash for your car if you don't want to deal with subprime companies.  I knew what I was in for, but so far, it's plesantly worked out with Exeter for me!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 16, 2020
Marmarlena Borrower

They don't care about the current covid situation and how much impact it's taken financially. They dinged my credit and still keep charging me late fees. After they said they wouldn't. Don't finance here they don't care about the current pandemic. They will still take your car 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Jul 21, 2020
They worked with me
stingexy Borrower

So I got this loan due to my bad credit.  To be honest, I had a high payment and it made it very unaffordable which caused me to be late monthly but not greater than 30 days.  Exeter would call, but as long as I had my payment scheduled they left me alone.  God has blessed me to refinance my vehicle with a 14% reduction in rate and I am so relieved.  I will not talk bad about them, but it would be a last resort.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 28, 2020

They let you refinance?

 
Jun 21, 2020
Organized Crime
770orBust Borrower

Exeter Finance has a very peculiar business model. For example you finance a vehicle for $15K. Exeter adds all of the finance charges and fees to the loan on the front end - for example Exeter will add and additional $10K to the loan at signing so the amount financed becomes $25K. Then they will charge a daily usage fee (they refer to this as their simple interest loan) . Ultimately you end up paying $30K ++ for a $15K loan. I have one of their representatives on record (she was aware of the recording) saying their business model is designed around consumers defaulting. With that, if you default, they will repossess the vehicle while still holding the consumer liable for the full amount - principal + interest. Then they sell the same vehicle for even more financial gain. Sounds more like a payday loan business model to me. What a ripoff and NO I DO NOT RECOMMEND. Deal with this company and you will find yourself still owing the full original cost of the loan 4 years into a 5 year contract. Needless to say, trying to obtain any information on your account is the most painful of all. You are better off riding a bike or using public transportation than dealing with this type of organized crime. ...

more ...
Jun 12, 2020
Amazing. Fast. Quick. Process
KevinG08 Borrower

This company is simply amazing, I have horrible credit and they still approved me within minutes. I went in and picked the car I wanted, paid my down payment and drove off within hours. I don't know what you all expect from a company who Finance bad credit, if you want better do better. Love this company and thanks for allowing me to get the care of my dreams😉

more ...
Apr 16, 2020
Marmarlena Borrower

They don't care about the current covid situation and how much impact it's taken financially. They dinged my credit and still keep charging me late fees. After they said they wouldn't. Don't finance here they don't care about the current pandemic. They will still take your car 

more ...
Mar 13, 2020
Refuse to repossess the vehicle
Baxter50 Borrower

My son can't  afford to pay the car loan any longer.  He tried to voluntarily surrender the vehicle June 2019 the company refused to pick it up.  My son has since left the country to live with family overseas, I have called since October 2019 for them to come and get this car out of my yard and repo it.  No, they refuse to get the car.   If anyone needs a car and can't afford to pay, this is the company to go too.

more ...
Feb 18, 2020
It’s not the rate I would of wanted
Kennyd1991 Borrower

Look they spell it all out for you in black and white, be upset if you want about the terms but for example I see a lot of people complaining about the rates, but they very clearly explained to me how many times I was gonna pay them 450$ and it's gonna far exceed the price of the truck but that's the nature of the beast when your credit is all junked up, so far so good with them 

more ...
Jan 27, 2020
WHAT A WASTE OF TIME!!!
JDHC Borrower

I literally had my vehicle for one week and they suddenly decided they weren't going to finance me because the car wasn't going to be parked in my driveway. They also told me how much of a deductible I had to have on my insurance. They are extremely rude and wouldn't even let me explain my situation. I have never in my life had a finance company just up and change their minds. 

more ...
Jan 12, 2020
Pricey but what do you expect?
Happ2789 Borrower

Very easy to work with. I have been to multiple dealerships and they al tell me what vehicle They can put me in. I literally picked out the car I wanted and it approved and my credit is rebuilding. I never expected to be approved without going through credit acceptance program of some sort. Yes my interest rate is high but that's what refinancing is for. You build your credit up and use that to get a better rate. I'm very happy with my vehicle and I have nothing bad to say about Exeter. I'm loving that I'm making payments on something I wanted rather than something I didn't want and didn't choose from the get go. 

more ...
Sep 21, 2019
HORRIBLE company!
LKidwell Borrower

STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY!  You will end up paying DOUBLE what your loan was.  They don't care about their customers, they only want to squeeze as much money out of you as they can!!  I have made 54 payments at $285 a month for an $11,800 car and I still owe almost $5,000???  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 25, 2020

My loan wasn’t doubled! My interest is high my payment is high 2 more months of on time not one day late I can refinance. But they have been great to deal with

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations