Exeter Finance

1.6 out of 5 stars
49 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

1.5 5

Compare Auto Loan Rates

View your top Auto Loan recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 11, 2017
If you keep up with payments on time..
Anonymous Borrower

Exeter is like any other financing company.  If you make your payments on time, and even if you don't and call them ahead of time, you should not have anything to complain about.  When we purchase a car and agree to their terms, we have to be diligent in keeping up with our part of the contract (paying).  I' was late one time for 15 days after the due payment, and they never called me harrasing about the payment.  I did call them on time and set an expected payment date.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 18, 2017
High interest rates and no refinancing
meckad Borrower

Pick another loan company. I have made 25 payments on the loan it only went down $2,000 and the car payments are almost $600 a month. It's almost like being scammed. Going on 3 years in this contract I will end up paying over $40,000 or car not even worth $25,000 brand spanking new. Oh yeah they don't put gap insurance in this overly priced loan either so If you stay this in this contract for over 1 year your screwed.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Mar 22, 2017
Horrible.
Anonymous Borrower

The customer service employees are horribly rude. I have never dealt with anyone so rude in my life. They like to cut you off when you are in the middle of talking and argue with you. I will NEVER finance through this company again. EVER.

more ...
Mar 15, 2017
rotten fish is more polite
Anonymous Borrower

I have never had such terrible service with a company not only that there customer service is terrible and they do not treat you like customers rather they treat you like they are bothered by one reaching out to them. I would not wish this fiance company ever on anyone not even an enemy.  I actually prayed that this company would get shut down during my morning prayers I like what the other review said Zero Star Club is where they belong.

more ...
Mar 14, 2017
SIck
Anonymous Borrower

I tried to pay of my loan and the most they would accept is 3000 at a time. This is the only company that would not take my payment in full. When i asked them why they said b/c of faud hmmm wise ones im the one paying you zero star club

more ...
Mar 13, 2017
**** company
mts832002 Borrower

Approved us with 6k down went to purchase jumped to 8k. Found another vehicle 5400 down...have had vehicle for 10 days now they're saying they ate having trouble with the financing..

more ...
Mar 11, 2017
If you keep up with payments on time..
Anonymous Borrower

Exeter is like any other financing company.  If you make your payments on time, and even if you don't and call them ahead of time, you should not have anything to complain about.  When we purchase a car and agree to their terms, we have to be diligent in keeping up with our part of the contract (paying).  I' was late one time for 15 days after the due payment, and they never called me harrasing about the payment.  I did call them on time and set an expected payment date.

more ...
Mar 04, 2017
Predatory Lender Interest is Horrible
Anonymous Borrower

I purchased my car in 2013 ai have made all my payments but 2 which I deferred. Yet I have only paid off 6,000 of my original balance. I will pay more than $30,000 in interest alone. They don't refinance their loans and the balance was too high for other refinance programs. Scam However, my experiences with customer service has been okay. They will call you everyday if you are late.

more ...
Feb 26, 2017
Garbage
Anonymous Borrower

I'm in the marine corps and I'm currently deployed, I was told by a representative that I didn't have to pay my note because I was in a combat zone and that I was protected by it. Come to find out that was a lie so I missed 5 months of payments and they charged my account off. They refused to work with me and come to an agreement to at least lower my interest rate or knock the money from the months I missed off and I feel like they scammed me. Exeter finance corps is not military friendly and will screw you over in a heartbeat.

more ...
Feb 26, 2017
Garbage
Anonymous Borrower

I'm in the marine corps and I'm currently deployed, I was told by a representative that I didn't have to pay my note because I was in a combat zone and that I was protected by it. Come to find out that was a lie so I missed 5 months of payments and they charged my account off. They refused to work with me and come to an agreement to at least lower my interest rate or knock the money from the months I missed off and I feel like they scammed me. Exeter finance corps is not military friendly and will screw you over in a heartbeat.

more ...
Feb 26, 2017
A horribic 6 years + 8 deferred payments
Anonymous Borrower

Ask questions, read the paperwork thoroughly and challenge there incompetence in regards to their knowledge.

more ...
Feb 24, 2017
Sinful
Anonymous Borrower

Terrible service, this company is the new modern day tax collectors as spoke about in the bible, stop taking advantage of people!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations