Auto Loan Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Exeter Finance

1.6 out of 5 stars
47 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

1.5 5

Compare Auto Loan Rates

View your top Auto Loan recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 02, 2016
Anonymous Borrower

Great for second chances. Only people that complain are those that can't keep their word on making payments on time. If you can't make payments on time, take the bus and stop complaining!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 29, 2017
Don't do it!
Anonymous Borrower

I have had this loan for about 4 years and it's been nothing but a headache. Prior to being off work on disability I never missed a payment or paid late. Once you make 1 late payment replete with late fee, it's all down hill. It's as if they flag your account and start a cycle of harassment. Today marks the 3rd time they've repoed my car and though the last time I paid the account down to zero as they stated was required, I still owe the same amount as when I originally finance the car. How sway?

At this point all the interest should be paid. I even write on my payments to apply to the principal but obviously they are not. I'm done with these bloodsuckers. They can keep that **** car

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Feb 26, 2017
Garbage
Anonymous Borrower

I'm in the marine corps and I'm currently deployed, I was told by a representative that I didn't have to pay my note because I was in a combat zone and that I was protected by it. Come to find out that was a lie so I missed 5 months of payments and they charged my account off. They refused to work with me and come to an agreement to at least lower my interest rate or knock the money from the months I missed off and I feel like they scammed me. Exeter finance corps is not military friendly and will screw you over in a heartbeat.

more ...
Feb 26, 2017
Garbage
Anonymous Borrower

I'm in the marine corps and I'm currently deployed, I was told by a representative that I didn't have to pay my note because I was in a combat zone and that I was protected by it. Come to find out that was a lie so I missed 5 months of payments and they charged my account off. They refused to work with me and come to an agreement to at least lower my interest rate or knock the money from the months I missed off and I feel like they scammed me. Exeter finance corps is not military friendly and will screw you over in a heartbeat.

more ...
Feb 26, 2017
A horribic 6 years + 8 deferred payments
Anonymous Borrower

Ask questions, read the paperwork thoroughly and challenge there incompetence in regards to their knowledge.

more ...
Feb 24, 2017
Sinful
Anonymous Borrower

Terrible service, this company is the new modern day tax collectors as spoke about in the bible, stop taking advantage of people!

more ...
Feb 18, 2017
High interest rates and no refinancing
meckad Borrower

Pick another loan company. I have made 25 payments on the loan it only went down $2,000 and the car payments are almost $600 a month. It's almost like being scammed. Going on 3 years in this contract I will end up paying over $40,000 or car not even worth $25,000 brand spanking new. Oh yeah they don't put gap insurance in this overly priced loan either so If you stay this in this contract for over 1 year your screwed.

more ...
Feb 15, 2017
No Issues!
Anonymous Borrower

I'm shocked to read all of the bad reviews. I've never had a bad experience with Exeter. They have always worked with me if I had an issue. I typically pay my note on time consistently and the times that I haven't been able to make my payment, they have worked with me. I've never had a bad experience with any of the reps that I have spoken to on the phone. I guess my experience is rare, based on the reviews I've read. I feel kind of blessed right now. 

more ...
Feb 14, 2017
I have a car and am still paying
Anonymous Borrower

I want to give them the car and don't pay anymore .  Is it still bad for my credit??????    

Please help me with guidance 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 18, 2017

If you do this it's called surrendering the vehicle and it does have a negative impact on your credit. I wanted to give it back as well. Your better off just trying to find someone else to refinance the vehicle

 
Feb 12, 2017
Horrible
Anonymous Borrower

The customer service is horrible. My car was totaled and they took forever to send over the paper work to StateFarm. StateFarm was ready, but my loan payoff took longer because of Exeter. It then took at least 2 months to send the paperwork. Which made me pay 2 more payments to a car I no longer had, so my credit wouldn't get messed up.  Every time I call the representatives are rude and I can barely understand them. I had several bad encounters to where they didn't even understand my question. 

more ...
Feb 12, 2017
Horrible
Anonymous Borrower

The customer service is horrible. My car was totaled and they took forever to send over the paper work to StateFarm. StateFarm was ready, but my loan payoff took longer because of Exeter. It then took at least 2 months to send the paperwork. Which made me pay 2 more payments to a car I no longer had, so my credit wouldn't get messed up.  Every time I call the representatives are rude and I can barely understand them. I had several bad encounters to where they didn't even understand my question. 

more ...
Feb 10, 2017
0 Stars
kellykellz4 Borrower

Customer services reps are completed incompetent. They cannot assist you with the most basic of requests. The customer services supervisors are even worse - apparently, they have less power than the customer service reps. I posed a very simple question to the customer service SUPERVISOR and was told '..maybe we can't do anything because we are a new, small company.. and companies like Wells Fargo are better.' Well, at least the employees know other banks are better.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations