Exeter Finance Reviews

Exeter Finance Reviews
2.1 out of 5 stars
7 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2 5

Compare Auto Loan Rates

View your top Auto Loan recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Jul 21, 2020
They worked with me
stingexy Borrower

So I got this loan due to my bad credit.  To be honest, I had a high payment and it made it very unaffordable which caused me to be late monthly but not greater than 30 days.  Exeter would call, but as long as I had my payment scheduled they left me alone.  God has blessed me to refinance my vehicle with a 14% reduction in rate and I am so relieved.  I will not talk bad about them, but it would be a last resort.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 28, 2020

They let you refinance?

 
Jun 21, 2020
Organized Crime
770orBust Borrower

Exeter Finance has a very peculiar business model. For example you finance a vehicle for $15K. Exeter adds all of the finance charges and fees to the loan on the front end - for example Exeter will add and additional $10K to the loan at signing so the amount financed becomes $25K. Then they will charge a daily usage fee (they refer to this as their simple interest loan) . Ultimately you end up paying $30K ++ for a $15K loan. I have one of their representatives on record (she was aware of the recording) saying their business model is designed around consumers defaulting. With that, if you default, they will repossess the vehicle while still holding the consumer liable for the full amount - principal + interest. Then they sell the same vehicle for even more financial gain. Sounds more like a payday loan business model to me. What a ripoff and NO I DO NOT RECOMMEND. Deal with this company and you will find yourself still owing the full original cost of the loan 4 years into a 5 year contract. Needless to say, trying to obtain any information on your account is the most painful of all. You are better off riding a bike or using public transportation than dealing with this type of organized crime. ...

more ...
Jun 12, 2020
Amazing. Fast. Quick. Process
KevinG08 Borrower

This company is simply amazing, I have horrible credit and they still approved me within minutes. I went in and picked the car I wanted, paid my down payment and drove off within hours. I don't know what you all expect from a company who Finance bad credit, if you want better do better. Love this company and thanks for allowing me to get the care of my dreams😉

more ...
Apr 16, 2020
Marmarlena Borrower

They don't care about the current covid situation and how much impact it's taken financially. They dinged my credit and still keep charging me late fees. After they said they wouldn't. Don't finance here they don't care about the current pandemic. They will still take your car 

more ...
Mar 13, 2020
Refuse to repossess the vehicle
Baxter50 Borrower

My son can't  afford to pay the car loan any longer.  He tried to voluntarily surrender the vehicle June 2019 the company refused to pick it up.  My son has since left the country to live with family overseas, I have called since October 2019 for them to come and get this car out of my yard and repo it.  No, they refuse to get the car.   If anyone needs a car and can't afford to pay, this is the company to go too.

more ...
Feb 18, 2020
It’s not the rate I would of wanted
Kennyd1991 Borrower

Look they spell it all out for you in black and white, be upset if you want about the terms but for example I see a lot of people complaining about the rates, but they very clearly explained to me how many times I was gonna pay them 450$ and it's gonna far exceed the price of the truck but that's the nature of the beast when your credit is all junked up, so far so good with them 

more ...
Jan 27, 2020
WHAT A WASTE OF TIME!!!
JDHC Borrower

I literally had my vehicle for one week and they suddenly decided they weren't going to finance me because the car wasn't going to be parked in my driveway. They also told me how much of a deductible I had to have on my insurance. They are extremely rude and wouldn't even let me explain my situation. I have never in my life had a finance company just up and change their minds. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations