Exeter Finance

1.5 out of 5 stars
55 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

1.5 5

Compare Auto Loan Rates

View your top Auto Loan recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Aug 09, 2015
Exeter has been great to me!!
Jenbug421 Borrower

I went to Carmax to originally buy a car with a roadloans approval, but I wanted to see if I could get a better rate with a different finance company. I did not think anyone would even approve me besides roadloans. Exeter came back with a slighty higher interest rate with a term of 60 months instead of 72 and the payments were lower!! Don't ask me how that happened, but it was a win. They got my account setup very fast, and I am still in shock. Awhile back ago, around 2 years ago, I made a very bad decision and got myself into a extremely high interest title loan with the car that I traded in (DON'T EVER EVER GET A TITLE LOAN WITH 1 STOP TITLE LOANS, THEY WILL RIP YOU OFF). I'm just very thankful that I got out of that nightmare and my payments in now almost cut in half, and they are being reported to the credit agencies where previously they weren't. I got a fantastic reliable car that I absolutely love. I have never been so happy in my entire life. I feel like I won the lottery! Thank you Exeter Finance!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 18, 2017
High interest rates and no refinancing
meckad Borrower

Pick another loan company. I have made 25 payments on the loan it only went down $2,000 and the car payments are almost $600 a month. It's almost like being scammed. Going on 3 years in this contract I will end up paying over $40,000 or car not even worth $25,000 brand spanking new. Oh yeah they don't put gap insurance in this overly priced loan either so If you stay this in this contract for over 1 year your screwed.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Apr 22, 2017
The loan was high
Anonymous Borrower

They repo'd my car after missing 2 payments. I had been paying timely for a year and only had 9G left to pay. I had been unemployed for 4 months prior and still made my payments and explained that. I got a paycheck the next week from my new job but it was too late. Will never use them.

more ...
Apr 12, 2017
Record your calls
Anonymous Borrower

Tell Exeter that you record your calls. Then they will tell you they can no longer speak with you because they know their line is secure but not yours. They accepted the payment, returned it but money was not credited to my bank, then said I didn't pay.

more ...
Apr 10, 2017
Anonymous Borrower

They literally suck ***!!! And are definitely scammers!!!

more ...
Apr 09, 2017
High interest car loan.
Anonymous Borrower

Took this loan right as I was switching jobs. Car dealer knew this but did not inform Exeter. Exeter called me on what they assumed was my lunch hour, but wasn't because I was in a different time zone. They demanded that I talk to them and take action immediately to get them the info they needed. I tried to explain that I was driving to a meeting with my boss in a state where hand held phone use wasn't legal while driving, but they called the dealer and told him I just refused to talk with them. And then he called and yelled at me. Wish I had backed out of the loan right then. I struggle with varying income depending on season because I work on commission that varies by season. If I am even a day behind they start calling me all day long even though I am working and when I really struggle to pay they sometimes refuse to accept payments and make me beg to be allowed to pay. Extremely high  interest loan also, so it is hard to get ahead. This loan has been extremely stressful.

more ...
Apr 08, 2017
Anonymous Borrower

Horrible company.

more ...
Apr 07, 2017
Second Chance Lender SCAM
Anonymous Borrower

My loan was paid in full, yet Exeter is still hitting my credit report with delinquencies. Their customer service department can't let you speak with their credit dispute department.  Disputes take 30-90 days.  Are you kidding me!?   NO.  Don't use them.

more ...
Mar 29, 2017
Auto Loan
Anonymous Borrower

Their customer service department is an absolute farce and assumes no responsibility when attempting to solve your problem.

more ...
Mar 22, 2017
Horrible.
Anonymous Borrower

The customer service employees are horribly rude. I have never dealt with anyone so rude in my life. They like to cut you off when you are in the middle of talking and argue with you. I will NEVER finance through this company again. EVER.

more ...
Mar 15, 2017
rotten fish is more polite
Anonymous Borrower

I have never had such terrible service with a company not only that there customer service is terrible and they do not treat you like customers rather they treat you like they are bothered by one reaching out to them. I would not wish this fiance company ever on anyone not even an enemy.  I actually prayed that this company would get shut down during my morning prayers I like what the other review said Zero Star Club is where they belong.

more ...
Mar 14, 2017
SIck
Anonymous Borrower

I tried to pay of my loan and the most they would accept is 3000 at a time. This is the only company that would not take my payment in full. When i asked them why they said b/c of faud hmmm wise ones im the one paying you zero star club

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations