Exeter Finance Reviews

1.4 out of 5 stars
65 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

1.5 5

Compare Auto Loan Rates

View your top Auto Loan recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Aug 09, 2015
Exeter has been great to me!!
Jenbug421 Borrower

I went to Carmax to originally buy a car with a roadloans approval, but I wanted to see if I could get a better rate with a different finance company. I did not think anyone would even approve me besides roadloans. Exeter came back with a slighty higher interest rate with a term of 60 months instead of 72 and the payments were lower!! Don't ask me how that happened, but it was a win. They got my account setup very fast, and I am still in shock. Awhile back ago, around 2 years ago, I made a very bad decision and got myself into a extremely high interest title loan with the car that I traded in (DON'T EVER EVER GET A TITLE LOAN WITH 1 STOP TITLE LOANS, THEY WILL RIP YOU OFF). I'm just very thankful that I got out of that nightmare and my payments in now almost cut in half, and they are being reported to the credit agencies where previously they weren't. I got a fantastic reliable car that I absolutely love. I have never been so happy in my entire life. I feel like I won the lottery! Thank you Exeter Finance!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 18, 2017
High interest rates and no refinancing
meckad Borrower

Pick another loan company. I have made 25 payments on the loan it only went down $2,000 and the car payments are almost $600 a month. It's almost like being scammed. Going on 3 years in this contract I will end up paying over $40,000 or car not even worth $25,000 brand spanking new. Oh yeah they don't put gap insurance in this overly priced loan either so If you stay this in this contract for over 1 year your screwed.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Jul 19, 2017
Exeter Finance is one of the worst compa

Exeter Finance is one of the worst companies that you could ever get a loan through! they always seem to have "miscellaneous fees "or "late fees" that you never really in truly have on your account but this the way they make money off of their customers!! I have recorded plenty of conversations with managers as well as Representatives just like they have recorded my conversations for quality assurance and purposes. It makes no sense to me why I continuously have fees after fees of miscellaneous or quote on quote late fees that I never had before, that keeps accumulating to the exact amount of my car note! I have paid off and spoke with managers on top of managers as to why this keeps occurring I have spoken with lawyers about this company and there has never been any good reviews. Someone really needs to put a stop to these person(s) in charge that's taking consumers money and calling it "late fees" are "miscellaneous fees"!! I have been calculating since day one and the amount that has gone from small to great. I'm quite sure others customers are experiencing this exact same problem, but not sure what to do I'm speaking out! Enough is enough this makes no sense what so ever!! instead of trying to get over on someone be honest in your company, AND YOUR will prosper. when you're dishonest your company will fail without a doubt. You will be hearing from my lawyer. Whoever is in charge and allowing these individuals to get over on innocent hard-working individuals should be ashamed of yourself. Account should always be monitored on what's really going on not Fabricated. Enough is enough you would not want it done to you! I am not an angry or upset or mad individual. I'm a real individual hardworking person and I'm tired of being pushed over and gotten over by companies that does not care. but to make a dollar somehow someway. Hire that happened train and know what they're doing with others finances!

more ...
Jul 17, 2017
Worst company
Anonymous Borrower

We were in a tough spot and had to get a car. We were promised that our insanely high interest rate would be able to be lowered (refinanced) after a year of on time payments. We are now on year 3 and still cannot refinance.

more ...
Jul 05, 2017
Completely Incompetent Company
Anonymous Borrower

I have had my car for 2 years making payments every month in the middle of the month. Have the bank records to prove it and now Exeter is saying we have been late on every payment and has came to repo the car. Wish I would have read these reviews before purchasing the car would have gone with someone else.. Such a headache

more ...
Jul 01, 2017
Scam!
Anonymous Borrower

Extremely high interest rates and rude customer service! You will end up paying way more than your car is worth! I wouldn't recommend this company to anyone!! Crooks!

more ...
Jun 28, 2017
Terrible
Anonymous Borrower

Unfortunately this company is a trap for people to poor to get a decent loan or who have mediocre to be credit. Use at your own risk.

more ...
Jun 27, 2017
Stay Away
Anonymous Borrower

High interest rate makes it hard for you to pay off your loan. They're extremely predatory and they prey on individuals with less than perfect credit. 

more ...
Jun 22, 2017
The worst place to get a loan.

THIEF ALERT!!!! DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY FOR ANYTHING!!! If I could give this company 0 stars I would. I have never missed a car payment nor have I been late. They stole over $600 from me this month and have put me through the ringer in getting it back. I set up automated payments five months ago for the 15th of each month. This month, as usual the payment was not taken on the 15th. So, on the 16th I paid my bill. On the 19th they stole $618.06 out of my account after knowingly receiving my payment on the 16th. They told me to send a running bank statement from my bank and after I did so, they informed me that they could not use it to give me back my money after days passed and being informed that the money would be in my account after 24 hrs. The customer service representatives are rude and the managers can not help you and tell you that they are the only people you can talk to. I am going to get my money back one way or another. I will be going to my bank to reverse the payment and refinancing my car with a trustworthy company with better rates and decent customer service. I will not give my money to thieves!!

more ...
Jun 21, 2017
Scam
Anonymous Borrower

Very high interest, no refinance option, bad customer service, lost payments; need I say more?

more ...
Jun 09, 2017
Dont get
Anonymous Borrower

They make paying a payment almost impossible. Also have really messed up my credit over the years. Ive had the loan for over 3 years and pay $400 a month and somehow have only paid off $4000 total off my loan. I highly recomend staying away. My loan with anyone should be paid off by now in full but its not even close. Also their customer service is not very good, they do not listen to anything you say. All they care about is getting their money, which they make it very difficult to pay. My only option I have left to pay my bill is by going to Walmart Money gram and it costs me $10 to do each month. They are liars, thiefs, manipulators, and dont care anything about you. They make you pay alot over a few years and then deliberately set you up to fail. Even though I have been a great customer and have jumped through all these hurdles and still have paid my bill on time every month they keep making it difficult to pay, now its getting almost impossible and it took me 5 days past my due date one time and I am getting threatend with repo. STAY AWAY!

more ...
Jun 09, 2017
A terrible process.
Anonymous Borrower

They sent me a notice that my loan was declined. Upon calling they said that they had accepted the loan and that notice should have been a bill that hadn't been paid.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations