Exeter Finance Reviews

1.5 out of 5 stars
59 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

1.5 5

Compare Auto Loan Rates

View your top Auto Loan recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Aug 09, 2015
Exeter has been great to me!!
Jenbug421 Borrower

I went to Carmax to originally buy a car with a roadloans approval, but I wanted to see if I could get a better rate with a different finance company. I did not think anyone would even approve me besides roadloans. Exeter came back with a slighty higher interest rate with a term of 60 months instead of 72 and the payments were lower!! Don't ask me how that happened, but it was a win. They got my account setup very fast, and I am still in shock. Awhile back ago, around 2 years ago, I made a very bad decision and got myself into a extremely high interest title loan with the car that I traded in (DON'T EVER EVER GET A TITLE LOAN WITH 1 STOP TITLE LOANS, THEY WILL RIP YOU OFF). I'm just very thankful that I got out of that nightmare and my payments in now almost cut in half, and they are being reported to the credit agencies where previously they weren't. I got a fantastic reliable car that I absolutely love. I have never been so happy in my entire life. I feel like I won the lottery! Thank you Exeter Finance!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 18, 2017
High interest rates and no refinancing
meckad Borrower

Pick another loan company. I have made 25 payments on the loan it only went down $2,000 and the car payments are almost $600 a month. It's almost like being scammed. Going on 3 years in this contract I will end up paying over $40,000 or car not even worth $25,000 brand spanking new. Oh yeah they don't put gap insurance in this overly priced loan either so If you stay this in this contract for over 1 year your screwed.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

May 20, 2017
A Total Tyrannous Rip Off
Anonymous Borrower

Extremely high daily interest rate.  You will NEVER pay for your car--unless you end up paying 3x what the car is worth.  You cannot sell the car because of lost equity.  Takes about 2.3 years just to put a small dent in the principal.  This company does not reduce your interest rate, stating that they cannot do so because of the loan contract--it cannot be altered.  19.9% APR out to be illegal.  Exeter prides itself in helping the consumer financially.  They will give you a loan when other won't --but you are going to pay out of the wahoozie for it.

more ...
May 18, 2017
They're for themselves and not you
Anonymous Borrower

Very easy to get on with them but they are in the business of repossession.  Theyll get you with the highest rates possible and if you pay they come out on top with the interest rates.  If you dont pay they repossess and resell the car and do it all over again.  Prepare to get screwed if you're ok with it.  I had no other choice at the time I purchased and I've been able to make the payments but Im treading water on payments and the car wont be paid off until 2018 and I started payments in 2013 at $425. You do the math and tell me if thats a fair price for a 2012 Chevy Malibu.  If it is go for them, if not keep looking.

more ...
May 12, 2017
Extortion
Anonymous Borrower

Do not use this company.  Terms of service are terrible.  Customer service is terrible.  Banks documents regularly show payments recieved yet they denine having recieved them. 

more ...
May 12, 2017
Extortion
Anonymous Borrower

Do not use this company.  Terms of service are terrible.  Customer service is terrible.  Banks documents regularly show payments recieved yet they denine having recieved them. 

more ...
May 12, 2017
High interest but very helpful CSR's
Anonymous Borrower

The rate is kinda high but if you have better credit you calling find a better rate. They work with you when your late but will harass the hell out of you.

more ...
May 09, 2017
Predatory!
Anonymous Borrower

DO NOT finance with Exeter! They set up borrowers to fail. Their business objectives are the repossess your car, overcharge you and collect excessive fees. Picture of bad business.

more ...
May 06, 2017
We got a loan 2016 no problems yet
Anonymous Borrower

I am very happy with this creditor, yes it was a last chance loan, and no they will not give you a second loan. Since we have had them we have endured some issues where we could not make our payment and I have always called them and kept them in the loop with our Financials and I have never been disappointed with Exeter. The customer service has been on point and extremely nice and I have nothing bad to say. I do know if you yell and scream at someone who may have a loan for you do you honestly think that they will help you out. I always speak to them with high respect since I too work in the auto dealership industry. I am not a salesmen though. I would give them 5 stars if they would give a 2nd loan. Only 1 loan you get 4 stars.

more ...
Apr 22, 2017
The loan was high
Anonymous Borrower

They repo'd my car after missing 2 payments. I had been paying timely for a year and only had 9G left to pay. I had been unemployed for 4 months prior and still made my payments and explained that. I got a paycheck the next week from my new job but it was too late. Will never use them.

more ...
Apr 12, 2017
Record your calls
Anonymous Borrower

Tell Exeter that you record your calls. Then they will tell you they can no longer speak with you because they know their line is secure but not yours. They accepted the payment, returned it but money was not credited to my bank, then said I didn't pay.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations