Exeter Finance Reviews

1.5 out of 5 stars
70 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

1.5 5

Compare Auto Loan Rates

View your top Auto Loan recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 11, 2017
If you keep up with payments on time..
Anonymous Borrower

Exeter is like any other financing company.  If you make your payments on time, and even if you don't and call them ahead of time, you should not have anything to complain about.  When we purchase a car and agree to their terms, we have to be diligent in keeping up with our part of the contract (paying).  I' was late one time for 15 days after the due payment, and they never called me harrasing about the payment.  I did call them on time and set an expected payment date.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 18, 2017
High interest rates and no refinancing
meckad Borrower

Pick another loan company. I have made 25 payments on the loan it only went down $2,000 and the car payments are almost $600 a month. It's almost like being scammed. Going on 3 years in this contract I will end up paying over $40,000 or car not even worth $25,000 brand spanking new. Oh yeah they don't put gap insurance in this overly priced loan either so If you stay this in this contract for over 1 year your screwed.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Nov 10, 2017
Horrible website and customer service.!!
Anonymous Borrower

Beware of high interest rates, poor customer service, and virtually no support on their website.

more ...
Oct 14, 2017
They are horrible at updating their info
Anonymous Borrower

Not a trustworthy company

more ...
Sep 15, 2017
Scam
Anonymous Borrower

Do not get a loan from them. They will charge you interest fees out of the behind. They will constantly call you everyday more than once to hound you for your bills. If you're car gets repoed, they will not help you. They will not refinance your car. I have heard bad things about them before, but this takes the cake. If you don't call them when you make a cash payment, they'll say that you didn't pay your bill.

more ...
Sep 13, 2017
Anonymous Borrower

Never use this company Rip OFF!!!!

more ...
Sep 13, 2017
auto finance loan
Anonymous Borrower

over priced, high interest, must have compensated salesman, constant imposition of fees if late; this must be illegal....

more ...
Sep 09, 2017
Great at getting a lan
Anonymous Borrower

Fees I never seen before but I finish paying it off.

more ...
Sep 04, 2017
horrible
hfa0719 Borrower

I hit a deer. Totalled the car. I bought a new car and had the rest of pay off that insurance didn't cover included in new loan.. They wouldn't except payoff check from dealership. Finally, I called in and got the payoff paid it on the beginning of July and I'm still getting hits on my credit report. Saying I'm 60 and 90 days late, she. it's paid off. Called tonight and automatic system is saying I owe 207.00 due by January 1990. WTF.... very frustrated to say the least

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 18, 2017

Im having that same issue now, wife totaled her van and insurance paid it off except $1,000. So i paid half of it on oct 23rd. Which isn't due until the 25th. Now it's Nov 16 i was hit with a 30 late payment. Two months in a row now.

 
Aug 15, 2017
The worst experience ever!
Ponina Borrower

They are truly thieves! On the $11000 how much I needed to finance they charged me 26% interest, saying that I can pay it off any time, so the interes will not apply. Guess what?? After 2 years of paying, my debt is still the same, cause, so far they took $8700 from me and applied it only on interest. Don't ever do any business with them.

more ...
Aug 08, 2017
Drag their feet, don't get things done

Bought a car 3 months ago and they still haven't got the title. My insurance wants to pay off the loan but Exeter wont let them for the reason previously stated. They do however want me to continue making payments on it with interest. So you'll demand I continue to pay $255 a month but wont except a total payoff? Makes sense, NOT

more ...
Aug 03, 2017
Anonymous Borrower

Worst company in the world for auto loans.... first 4 months they were auto drafting my account 2 times per month.... then for some reason then took me off auto drafts didn't inform me view phone, email, or mail nothing and tonight my car got repossessed.... with my kids 30 minutes away at babysitter and they wouldn't let me get the cars seats... worst company in the world to get auto loan. I would rate 0 stars for them....

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations