Citizens One Auto Finance Auto Loan Reviews

1.8 out of 5 stars
11 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

2 5

Compare Auto Loan Rates

View your top Auto Loan recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

May 10, 2017
Straight-forward, no issues basic loan.
Anonymous Borrower

Financed a new vehicle with Citizens, online payments aren't the most stream-lined thing I've ever seen but who cares? I enter the numbers, they process the payment, end of story. Never had any issues with failed or mishandled payments, get my statement in the mail every month with the balance. There's also no prepay penalty so I can pay as much as I want over the minimum and it saves me interest. Haven't had to contact customer service, probably won't ever have to.

more ...
May 04, 2017
Spent an begging them to take my money!
Anonymous Borrower

This bank saved me 1% interest, but I don't even think it was worth it. Making a payment is just such a laborious process! There are plenty of finiancing companies Citizens could model after with real working websites and processors. 

Wish I would have stayed with GM Fianancial!

more ...
Apr 25, 2017
Old, out-dated, loan
Anonymous Borrower

I have a lone through Citizens currently.  Financed through them at a Ford dealership.  Rate was good.  My huge, HUGE, complaint is that everything seems to be on paper or through the phone.  Their online payment system is an absolute joke - the fields for what you owe do not even auto fill.  It is the year 2017 and yet they do not allow me to do anything oline other than go to a plain website by logging in with my 16! digit account number, and then the last four of my social.  They will not issue a username / password combo because you are not really a member of their bank.  It would just be nice to see how much I have left, schedule extra payments, pay off the loan, etc, all via the web.  Instead you have to wait for a monthly paper bill.  I'm never late, but I've still used customer service for general questions, and I have to say, they are not very helpful at all.  This is the last time I will allow a loan of mine to be underwritten through Citizens.  Should have stayed with USAA and ate the .5% difference in rate...

more ...
Mar 23, 2017
Car loan through auto dealership
Anonymous Borrower

I just have to add that we had similar problems with this company - it was 3 months before we got a real statement and they kept calling and wanting us to pay over the phone.  We finally gave in and paid online without having received a statement.  We were told at least 3 times that a statement had been sent, but we never got it   Customer service is a joke - just kept telling us we better pay.  

more ...
Feb 24, 2017
Thanks for the trust
1966deedee Borrower

I hope all this negitive is because of the lein holders not the bank. You sign a contract to pay x amount of dollars per month . Sorry you where in  a hurricane but not an excuse to not pay your car note then be mad at the bank, sounds like every one who is mad is because you couldn't live up to your end of the written contract. They give x aount of dollars and don't have time to be hearing why you ca't pay your proc=mised payments. Simple if you enter into a contract honior your end. Also I have not dealt with customer service I'm sure I'll never have to. 

more ...
Nov 05, 2016
nightmare.
Anonymous Borrower

All I can say is this is a terrible bank. I was in hurricane sandy and they refused to work with me in fact threatened to reposess my car. . .such a disasster. I have paid off plenty of car loans and never experinced this.

more ...
Oct 12, 2016
very bad service
Anonymous Borrower

this company took 2 payments out of my checking account 3 weeks ago and cannot find the extra payment i had to fax proof from my bank of what they did. Would not recommend anyone using them still have not got the extra money back and everytime i call get a different excuse

more ...
Oct 07, 2016
Regret very much
Anonymous Borrower

Customer service is awful. Bill statements are sent only a few days before bill is due, so they kind of set you up to be charged late fees. Watch your account and how much you pay very carefully. They have tried wrongfully taking extra several times. Only reason I went with this company was because it was my only choice in a dire situation.

more ...
Sep 12, 2016
Worst loan I ever had.
Tonguser Borrower

Stay away from this company. Nothing more than rip offs. The dealership that I dealt with is even as bad. Kelly Truck center in lakeland, fl. They increased my income so the loan would go thru and never told me until after I signed all of the paper work and was leaving in the lot. Didn;t want anyone to hear that inside. I had problems with my cancer and had to return the vehicle to the dealership and told them that Citizens was notified of this but they had the car towed in and now they want me to pay for the tow bill and storage. I have notifed Citizens 7 times to pick this car up but they won;t. So now they will have to deal with the towing company before they auction it off. This company is the worst. AGAIN STAY AWAY FROM CITIZENS.......

more ...
Jul 29, 2016
upsetting
Anonymous Borrower

I don't even have a loan with this " company " and they are doing hard inquires on my credit through Credit Karma. Nice to know that my social security number is being sold to third parties.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations