Clearlane, powered by Ally Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
26 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Compare Auto Loan Rates

View your top Auto Loan recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 01, 2016
Read this REAL review with details
Roberts1204 Borrower

Ok,  so I NEVER write reviews as I am that sceptical person that really doesn't believe in this fly by night loans. Anywho, I was financing my 2011 Buick Regal through Santander paying a whopping 24% interest rate. Yes I know I was getting screwed. I secured this loan in Jan 2016. financed amount was 12k at 72months. I tried desperately to get out by ref. three months in, of course NO ONE would pick it up. Then a few weeks ago I turned to Blue Harbor. Imagine my surprise when I was told I would go from 24% to 3.5...YEA RIGHT is what I said. Well I DID do just that and got a lower term to 48 months. WOW I even called the credit union myself to make sure and my loan was paid off literally 4 days after my paperwork was returned. Total time it took for everything was maybe a little over a week this includes applying, signing docs, old loan funded. I would recommend, as far as my credit mid 600's 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jul 10, 2017
Worst loan experience ever
kswain1129 Borrower

Everything sounds great when you're being approved for the refinance, however, once that happens, be prepared to wait. When applying, I was told the whole process would be completed in less than two weeks. I'm on week six and am being told now that it could take one to two more weeks. All of my paperwork was submitted within the 48 hour window, June 19. It's July 10, Clearlane has missed two payoff dates so far and is about to miss a third with no end in sight. Rather than hurrying up the process, they're relying on me to continue making payments to my old lender to buy them more time to do their job. Thanks to their efforts to save me money, this month I'll be making two car payments. Yeah, they may reduce your APR, but you also may never see those savings while the loan is stuck in limbo in their process and the only answers they can give you is to "be patient." If you want to refinance a loan, find someone who can actually do their job. It's not Clearlane. I would've been better off keeping my old lender and making larger payments to reduce the interest rather than attempting a refinance through these clowns. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Aug 15, 2017
Worst of the worst
Tl1112 Borrower

Dont waste your time    Its a scam  Says process is quick,  not..... 2 weeks at best. Use some on else

more ...
Aug 08, 2017
lower rate but other costs

There are fees. They force you to buy this garbage gap coverage. When I paid my loan off early, I had to file a form with the gap insurance provider. I never did get my refund. Shady. I wouldn't trust them again.

more ...
Aug 07, 2017
The worst banking experience of my life
Anonymous Borrower

DO NOT USE CLEARLANE!!  I wish I had read these reviews prior to applying just to save a few bucks. They don't call you back, they don't email you back, they drag the process on forever without keeping you updated along the way. They leave all of the contact up to the customer, I had to call them to get any information and even then I wouldn't get called back or I would get one word email responses. Just a terrible experience all around.

more ...
Jul 10, 2017
Worst loan experience ever
kswain1129 Borrower

Everything sounds great when you're being approved for the refinance, however, once that happens, be prepared to wait. When applying, I was told the whole process would be completed in less than two weeks. I'm on week six and am being told now that it could take one to two more weeks. All of my paperwork was submitted within the 48 hour window, June 19. It's July 10, Clearlane has missed two payoff dates so far and is about to miss a third with no end in sight. Rather than hurrying up the process, they're relying on me to continue making payments to my old lender to buy them more time to do their job. Thanks to their efforts to save me money, this month I'll be making two car payments. Yeah, they may reduce your APR, but you also may never see those savings while the loan is stuck in limbo in their process and the only answers they can give you is to "be patient." If you want to refinance a loan, find someone who can actually do their job. It's not Clearlane. I would've been better off keeping my old lender and making larger payments to reduce the interest rather than attempting a refinance through these clowns. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 16, 2017

Thank you for sharing. You confirmed my fear about refinancing with this lender and others like it. I'll just continue making my payments and boosting my score. I'll refinance at a later date with my bank. That way, at least, I can go to my local branch to resolve any issues, if necessary.

 
Jul 06, 2017
Blue Harbor?!?!
Anonymous Borrower

The offer says clear line powered by Ally but I see a couple reviews that say blue harbor so I'm confused!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 11, 2017

Yeah what's the deal? Takeover? Name change?

 
Jun 23, 2017
EASY, FAST,GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE.

EASY APPLICATION, FAST APPROVAL, GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE. MY LOAN CONSULTANT KOLE MADE EVERYTHING MUCH MORE EASY!

more ...
May 15, 2017
Worst customer service ever
Ahmad1111 Borrower

Very slow, it takes forever to talk to their agents, you are prequalified  then because Natalie doesn't have time she will try to make it quickly , then you are declined with credit score above 720 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 21, 2017

You must not have proper IDs maybe?

 
May 15, 2017
It works
Tuscani Borrower

When I bought my Jeep I had 10.92% rate..been a year and I saw recommendations from credit karma page so I tried and got pre qualified next day had a consultants call me to verify some info..then called me back to let me know I was approved with 3.59%.with 60 month 3 month shorter than before...after that I submitted paperworks after a week loan was paidoff and I was Good to go.

more ...
May 01, 2017
Terrible service. High rates.
Anonymous Borrower

I have excellent credit and could not get a decent rate. The customer service is a joke. It's impossible to reach your agent. They cannot spell customer names correctly. It took over two months to get a loan approved and financed through them. Not all of the paperwork was sent out together. I will never again finance through them. Look elsewhere for an auto loan. Unorganized and unprofessional.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations