Clearlane, powered by Ally Reviews

3.2 out of 5 stars
25 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

3 5

Compare Auto Loan Rates

View your top Auto Loan recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 11, 2017
Lowered my interest rate by 10%
CreditGoals101 Borrower

I had bad credit a year ago and started working on improving it. Got a car loan with over 12% interest, after getting a secured card and keeping my usage at a good rate, I was able to move into unsecured rated cards. Score went up to over 700. Applied for refinancing with Blue Harbor and got pre-approved, ended up with 2.49% interest which I far better for me. There's a lot of paperwork but so far they've been good with answering questions and concerns. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 07, 2017
The worst banking experience of my life
Anonymous Borrower

DO NOT USE CLEARLANE!!  I wish I had read these reviews prior to applying just to save a few bucks. They don't call you back, they don't email you back, they drag the process on forever without keeping you updated along the way. They leave all of the contact up to the customer, I had to call them to get any information and even then I wouldn't get called back or I would get one word email responses. Just a terrible experience all around.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Oct 16, 2017
Horrible. Title in limo no replies.
aidi88 Borrower

My title has been in limbo for over 2 weeks and getting a hold of someone is nearlyu impossible and if you think you can email them and get a response good luck. If I knew the hassle this was going ot be I would have never wnt thru with the refiance, not worh the headache. I highly don't recommend. 

Here is the responses you can expoect: http://prntscr.com/gy4py2

more ...
Sep 15, 2017
Big Mistake
Anonymous Borrower

Please do anything you can to avoid taking a loan from this company. I tried to do a lease buyout through them and it was the most difficult thing I have ever done. I spent over a month of communciation with them back and forth trying to figure out what paperwork I needed and what steps i had to do; one minute it was "we will handle everything" and the next it was "your account is on hold you need to have already registered your car in your new state". Once they finally sent the paperwork over to me all the numbers were wrong and when I emailed back about it they told me in order for them to confirm they needed to do a new hard credit inquiry on me because my old one had expired.

I was automatically transferred to them via Ally when financing my car, but where Ally has been one of the best and most responsive customer services I have dealt with, Clearlane is by far the worst. 

more ...
Aug 15, 2017
Worst of the worst
Tl1112 Borrower

Dont waste your time    Its a scam  Says process is quick,  not..... 2 weeks at best. Use some on else

more ...
Aug 08, 2017
lower rate but other costs

There are fees. They force you to buy this garbage gap coverage. When I paid my loan off early, I had to file a form with the gap insurance provider. I never did get my refund. Shady. I wouldn't trust them again.

more ...
Aug 07, 2017
The worst banking experience of my life
Anonymous Borrower

DO NOT USE CLEARLANE!!  I wish I had read these reviews prior to applying just to save a few bucks. They don't call you back, they don't email you back, they drag the process on forever without keeping you updated along the way. They leave all of the contact up to the customer, I had to call them to get any information and even then I wouldn't get called back or I would get one word email responses. Just a terrible experience all around.

more ...
Jul 10, 2017
Worst loan experience ever
kswain1129 Borrower

Everything sounds great when you're being approved for the refinance, however, once that happens, be prepared to wait. When applying, I was told the whole process would be completed in less than two weeks. I'm on week six and am being told now that it could take one to two more weeks. All of my paperwork was submitted within the 48 hour window, June 19. It's July 10, Clearlane has missed two payoff dates so far and is about to miss a third with no end in sight. Rather than hurrying up the process, they're relying on me to continue making payments to my old lender to buy them more time to do their job. Thanks to their efforts to save me money, this month I'll be making two car payments. Yeah, they may reduce your APR, but you also may never see those savings while the loan is stuck in limbo in their process and the only answers they can give you is to "be patient." If you want to refinance a loan, find someone who can actually do their job. It's not Clearlane. I would've been better off keeping my old lender and making larger payments to reduce the interest rather than attempting a refinance through these clowns. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 16, 2017

Thank you for sharing. You confirmed my fear about refinancing with this lender and others like it. I'll just continue making my payments and boosting my score. I'll refinance at a later date with my bank. That way, at least, I can go to my local branch to resolve any issues, if necessary.

 
Jul 06, 2017
Blue Harbor?!?!
Anonymous Borrower

The offer says clear line powered by Ally but I see a couple reviews that say blue harbor so I'm confused!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 11, 2017

Yeah what's the deal? Takeover? Name change?

 
Jun 23, 2017
EASY, FAST,GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE.

EASY APPLICATION, FAST APPROVAL, GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE. MY LOAN CONSULTANT KOLE MADE EVERYTHING MUCH MORE EASY!

more ...
May 15, 2017
Worst customer service ever
Ahmad1111 Borrower

Very slow, it takes forever to talk to their agents, you are prequalified  then because Natalie doesn't have time she will try to make it quickly , then you are declined with credit score above 720 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 21, 2017

You must not have proper IDs maybe?

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations