USAA® Auto Insurance Reviews

1.6 out of 5 stars
35 Reviews

From Policyholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

1.5 5

Compare Auto Insurance Offers

View your top Auto Insurance recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Nov 22, 2016
24 year member but moving on..
Anonymous Policyholder

I have had nothing but good experiances working with USAA throught the years. But I will be moving my auto insurance to another carrier. With being on auto pilot for years and not shopping around I have found that their rates are really high. I mean really high compared to other carriers.. I got better coverage and saved almost 40% over current premiums.. So my 2 cents is to make sure you shop around and dont just trust your getting the best deal like I did....

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 27, 2017
It's just sad
Anonymous Policyholder

I am not in the habit of holding pity parties for myself or blaming anyone else for what happens in my life.  But, when I had this accident, I was told by everyone that USAA was a great insurance company.  That is simply not true.  I am in debt today, struggling to rebuild my life because rather than settling my claim, USAA played games for almost a year before paying out my claim.  Here is my USAA story…

I am a disabled veteran and my husband is a retired disabled veteran.  We have four daughters and have been very blessed.

 I’ve been a USAA customer for over 15 years.  I bank with them, insure my home and vehicles with them and had a credit card and personal loan with them.    After driving for almost 20 years with no accident, in 2014, I was rear-ended at a stop light.   My car was totaled and I sustained injuries that left me with severe nerve damage, I had no feeling in my left arm and I was unable to turn my head in any direction without severe pain.  The injuries to my neck and spine required almost one year of therapy until I was finally told I would have to have surgery.  The surgery left me with 2 screws in my neck, nerve damage and subsequent lack of feeling and mobility in my left arm.

I am going to back up a little so you can get a full picture why I am writing this complaint.  I am a federal employee (GS-13).  My credit score at the time of the accident was over 720, as was my husbands.  I have enough savings to pay all of my bills for about 8 months to a year. In addition to my federal job, I founded and run a nonprofit where as a personal trainer and fitness and nutrition specialist, I train and counsel young school-aged athletes and help young girls improve their self-esteem through fitness and other activities. My husband and I worked very hard to achieve our goals. 

Back to the accident.  Needless to say, I was out of work from both jobs for a total of almost 14 months (on and off), including surgery and recovery time.  My total medical expenses exceeded $85,000.  My claim with the insurance company of the guy who hit me had been settled for $25,000.  He was very underinsured.  However, I have underinsured motorist coverage through USAA in the amount of $100,000.   USAA would not settle my claim until after all of the medical procedures and physical therapy was completed.  That was fine.  I had gone through my savings, but I was still maintaining.  However, when it was time to settle my claim, USAA offered only $19,000.  That would be a total of $44,000. 

When my attorney sent me their offer, I wanted to throw up.  I obviously did not accept the offer.  USAA and my attorney went back and forth for about another month before my attorney began the process of filing a lawsuit.  To sum it all up, after threatening the law suit and waiting for USAA to respond (and they took every day allowed by law), they finally paid out the $100,000 – it was over two years after my accident!

By the time they finally paid out, I had exhausted my savings, I was behind on several bills and trying to avoid falling into a hole of debt.  Unfortunately, I could not avoid the inevitable.  To date, I am drowning in debt.  My credit score is in the low 500s and I almost lost my home.  I am no longer able to train because of my injuries, I am about to lose my training facility, and when I finally returned to work, I was really working to play catch up from.  My USAA credit card and loan are now overdue and they have no quams with calling me 15-20 times a day asking for payment and they’ve closed my accounts. 

It is 3 years later and I am still trying to rebuild.  I know now that I need to keep at least two years worth of savings available :) 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former policyholders in the last year.

Sep 24, 2017
Horrible
Anonymous Policyholder

Increases auto insurance rates constantly for no reason at all. Not many banking locations,extremely long holds for mobile deposits. Worse then a commercial bank.Acts like they are doing a honorable thing for veterans but are really taking advantage of them.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 01, 2017

Not true

 
Sep 05, 2017
WISH I COULD GIVE 0 STARS
AndrewFolsom Policyholder

they will screw you over and take your money this is a scam and give service members a bad name. hope the whole company goes up in flames 

more ...
Aug 31, 2017
Don't waste your money
Anonymous Policyholder

They won't call you back, and when you finally get ahold of someone they are rude and not helpful.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 01, 2017

Totally not true.

 
Aug 21, 2017
One word: Awful.
css0614 Policyholder

This company is awful! You will get a different person every time you call and a different answer to the same question from every one. There's also no notation of any conversation, so if you have to call back on an issue whoever answers your call will have no idea what you're talking about. Also don't expect anyone to return your calls. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 01, 2017

Member 40 + years. USAA always documents customer telephone contacts for recalling customer service requests or pending issues or questions and ALWAYS call s you back if you request it or to provide requested information or results, etcetera.

 
Aug 17, 2017
Overpriced.
Clinko Policyholder

USAA is often touted as the 'end all' of Insurance companies given their inclination toward military service members.  I've been with them for about 25 years now.  In the last couple of years it really feels like they are far more focused on their image than their customers.   As the cracks have started to show I've come to see how much I could save elsewhere by companies that aren't coasting on positive opinion.

more ...
Aug 02, 2017
Auto insurance doubling
Anonymous Policyholder

Hit someone's mirror last year with one speeding ticket over a year ago and just got hit with insurance doubling with no warning, for a 200 dollar fix

more ...
Aug 02, 2017
USAA denies legitmate claims
Anonymous Policyholder

I was forced to select one star.  I would have selected -5 if possible.  I have a very legitmate claim against a USAA member, including witnesses and a police statement.  USAA is not interested in paying out a very straightforward claim that they know they are responsible for.  Delays after delays, and the claims rep refuses to return your calls UNLESS you threaten to report them to the insurance commissioner's office.  USAA will not interview my witnesses, but of course I was not offered a choice when their member wrecked into my BRAND NEW CAR.  This case will be going to arbitration.  Good customer service is not an ideal that USAA supports.  STAY AWAY.

more ...
Jun 21, 2017
Home - Auto
Anonymous Policyholder

I am satisfied at the rates of my auto insurance thru USAA but think my home owners insurance from when I originally purchased to what it is today almost doubled, not sure if this is industry wide on home insurance but not thrilled...comes out of my escrow and seems my escrow payments need to be adjusted every year as a result.  

more ...
Jun 19, 2017
Intrusive
Anonymous Policyholder

 My husband and I recently separated after 21 years of marriage and I notified USAA to have them start billing our auto insurance separately starting August 1st. As soon as I told them we were separated they transferred me to a marital transition team and had our accounts separated (we're both veterans). My husband and I are amicable and are remaining married, he's even co-signing for my new house. USAA took it upon themselves to "protect" my husband, even though I'm the one that asked to have the auto insurance billed separately. Now I can't even have questions answered about money we're owed on the overpayment of our homeowner's insurance and wind & hail insurance after we closed on our house last week. Every call is ushered to the "marital transition team." It's insulting that they are dramatizing an ugly separation when my husband and I get along just fine! I tried to cancel my car insurance with them today because I purchased a policy with State Farm (which is LESS), and they wouldn't even cancel the policy for me! The online function didn't work, it said they were doing account maintenance. So my husband had to call USAA to cancel the auto policy. USAA needs to MIND THEIR OWN BUSINESS!!!

more ...
Jun 10, 2017
Nightmare
Anonymous Policyholder

We had two accidents, the first my wife was at no fault and the other party never reported it, and USAA started to process the accident as my wife being at fault. The second was a freak accident at which the adjuster changed several times. It was unclear whom I was supposed to be communicating with, and took a very long time to work through (months). The truck was only in my possession for 13 days and they tried to make a $2600 difference between the finance cost and how much the payout was going to be. Furthermore the car buying service did not help me at all. Now I am out a truck and although I have the same credit score I cannot get another loan, even after the truck is off my credit report. What a load of bs when I've had over 10 years with USAA and decent credit. I cannot wait to move everything out of USAA!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this policy overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this policy?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations