Auto Insurance Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

USAA® Auto Insurance

2.8 out of 5 stars
42 Reviews

From Policyholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3 5

Compare Auto Insurance Offers

View your top Auto Insurance recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 19, 2016
CAN'T BE BEAT!!! THEY ARE THE BEST!!!
RERE2323 Policyholder

I ABSOLUTELY LOVE BEING WITH USAA!!! I have ALL of my insurances through them, and wish I had swapped WAY before I actually did.. I've been with them for a few years now, and can't ask for better coverage, better customer service, & most of all can't ask for better prices.. They cut my previous homeowners insurance premium by more than 50%.. I was paying $1700 annually for homeowners & I now pay a little less than $800/annually, and that's with double the coverage that I had, with my previous insurance company.. Auto insurance is the same, as well... They cut my premium almost in half, and that also includes double the coverage that I previously had, as well... So since i have swapped insurance, I now have DOUBLE the coverage for less than half the price that I was paying, at my previous insurance company... I absolutely love USAA and they didn't give me any problems what so ever when I had to make a claim.. Everything went so smoothly.. I have had nothing but GREAT EXPERIENCES with them, since I've been there.... My ENTIRE FAMILY has now changed over to USAA , & they love it as well.. We've had great experiences, and I would suggest to anyone, to Just give USAA a try... Atleast get a quote from them, & you Will see just how much you can or will save... Especially on homeowners! They worked wonders for me!! They even have health care insurance.. I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THEM!!! THANKS SO MUCH, USAA!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 07, 2016
Low cost, but forget about claims
Anonymous Policyholder

I have had USAA for about 5 years now.  I joined them when I was still active duty because the rates were cheap and they had policies specifically geared for deployments when your not using your car for 14 months straight.  I would rate this as a good company until I had a recent claim for my vehicle.  Starting the claim was easy and they gave me a offer very quickly.  The offer that they made was $2000 under the value of my car.  USAA reps then continued to try to tell me that the value of my 15 year old car was the amount that I owed.  Even though I payed have my cash up front for the vehicle and financed the rest.  Then what continued after that was a 2 month battle where USAA would not negotiate with me at all.  They even started blatently ignoring my calls and refusing to answer my resonable questions on their claims message board.  In the end, I got $2800 more dollars after I hired my own auto appraiser and when through my states dispute process, which costs $800.  Overall the loss on my vehicle took 6 months to resolve because USAA.  Most disputes only take on average 1-2 months here in WA.  Very displeased and I feel betrayed by a company that specifically targets veterans.  Don't get sucked into the same trap that I did.

-Resonable veteran

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former policyholders in the last year.

Dec 06, 2016
auto insurance
Anonymous Policyholder

claim submitted on 10/26/16, truck declared a total loss, it is now 12/06/2016 and the claim is still open, lien holder has not been paid.  Multiple errors made by claims adjuster, worst experience ever!  Incredibly difficult to get through to adjuster, never returns phone calls.  

more ...
Nov 22, 2016
Good rates but shady service
Anonymous Policyholder

I've had a lot of good interactions and services with USAA insurance. Their rates are bar none, I'll give em that. But the rest has a lot to be desired. They couldn't care less about customers. A few month after getting USAA I got into an accident. I asked for road side assistance and a rental car only to find out they had never provided me with that coverage. It cost me $1000 out of pocket and I literally didn't eat that month. No joke. I weighed 90 pounds. I was so stressed I almost had a mental breakdown. Not only was it two months salary but I worked over an hour away with no public transportation to the area. They could have gone back to the phone recording where I requested the rental car but instead they didn't care. When I was a day late with paying they canceled my insurance. I was charged $180 for not having insurance and I had already paid one month inadvance so not only did I pay for insurance I didn't have but when I had to get insurance they made me pay 6 months up front so I actually paid 10 months of insruance for only 9 months of coverage in addition to the uninsured motorist penalty. 

I had served the country and been a member for 10 years, even buying a condo through their real estate program but one day late and cut throat. The banking is even worse. They steal so much money. I can't believe people are rating them so highly. I guess they haven't made a mistake yet. 

more ...
Nov 22, 2016
24 year member but moving on..
Anonymous Policyholder

I have had nothing but good experiances working with USAA throught the years. But I will be moving my auto insurance to another carrier. With being on auto pilot for years and not shopping around I have found that their rates are really high. I mean really high compared to other carriers.. I got better coverage and saved almost 40% over current premiums.. So my 2 cents is to make sure you shop around and dont just trust your getting the best deal like I did....

more ...
Nov 22, 2016
24 year member but moving on..
Anonymous Policyholder

I have had nothing but good experiances working with USAA throught the years. But I will be moving my auto insurance to another carrier. With being on auto piolt and not shopping around I have found that there rates are really high. I mean really high compared to other carriers.. I got better coverage and saved almost 40% over current premiums.. So my 2 cents is to make sure you shop around and dont just trust your getting the best deal like I did....

more ...
Nov 17, 2016
USAA playing games. Won't pay!
Anonymous Policyholder

My car was sideswiped two months ago USAA is jerking me around. Still haven't paid.

more ...
Nov 12, 2016
FANTASTIC
Anonymous Policyholder

I have never had a problem with USAA Insurance. The customer service is always fantastic. 

more ...
Nov 10, 2016
Rate increases are ridiculous.. constant
Nubian1984 Policyholder

So let me start off by saying I have been with USAA for over  a decade but that means nothing to them.  My insurance increases every time to the point where I am unable to afford to stay on with them.  This year alone I have had two increases.  This is not fair or right especially for a customer who has been with you all over ten years.  Something needs to be done in order to help keep your long time customers.  You are losing good customers if you choose to ignore this message.  I am someone who makes my payments on time and have a good driving record.  I am also a hard working veteran who cannot afford to make high insurance payments anymore.  I am very unhappy and will not be recommending you all anymore to people I know.  I used to brag about how awesome this company was but not sure what has happened recently but for the past few years service has definitely gone down and customers have been very unhappy.  Please if anyone in corporate is reading this feel free to get a hold of me and o can explain more.  XXXXX ... I am now forced to go looking for a better rate at a different insurance company.. this is the second time I have been forced to leave your company due to ridiculous rate increases.. look into fixing this please. Customer service. Is crucial in this business to be successful.  After reading your reviews it seems like I am not the only long term customer to feel run down and taken advantage of.. please look into making your long term customers happy by exempting them on policy increases that are ridiculously high!

more ...
Nov 08, 2016
Great unless you need them
whispurr Policyholder

They aren't defending us in an accident where the other driver ran a stop sign and hit my husband in the driver's side door but said my husband caused the accident.  USAA is just accepting the other driver's word and is placing the blame on my husband.  I guess it's easierfor them to just not fight it, never mind that it goes on HIS insurance record.  They're supposed to be our advocate, that's what we pay them for. 

more ...
Nov 02, 2016
Excellent Service
doomgiver13 Policyholder

Excellent coverage that no other entity has been able to beat for the price.  When my car was totaled, I had no issues getting the payout or documentation.  Excellent customer service every time I've called.

more ...
Oct 18, 2016
I have five vehicles insured with USAA
Policyholder Policyholder

USAA has excellent customer service and they always go above and beyond to accomadate my needs.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this policy overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this policy?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations