USAA® Auto Insurance

2.5 out of 5 stars
50 Reviews

From Policyholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

2.5 5

Compare Auto Insurance Offers

View your top Auto Insurance recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 19, 2016
CAN'T BE BEAT!!! THEY ARE THE BEST!!!
RERE2323 Policyholder

I ABSOLUTELY LOVE BEING WITH USAA!!! I have ALL of my insurances through them, and wish I had swapped WAY before I actually did.. I've been with them for a few years now, and can't ask for better coverage, better customer service, & most of all can't ask for better prices.. They cut my previous homeowners insurance premium by more than 50%.. I was paying $1700 annually for homeowners & I now pay a little less than $800/annually, and that's with double the coverage that I had, with my previous insurance company.. Auto insurance is the same, as well... They cut my premium almost in half, and that also includes double the coverage that I previously had, as well... So since i have swapped insurance, I now have DOUBLE the coverage for less than half the price that I was paying, at my previous insurance company... I absolutely love USAA and they didn't give me any problems what so ever when I had to make a claim.. Everything went so smoothly.. I have had nothing but GREAT EXPERIENCES with them, since I've been there.... My ENTIRE FAMILY has now changed over to USAA , & they love it as well.. We've had great experiences, and I would suggest to anyone, to Just give USAA a try... Atleast get a quote from them, & you Will see just how much you can or will save... Especially on homeowners! They worked wonders for me!! They even have health care insurance.. I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THEM!!! THANKS SO MUCH, USAA!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Sep 07, 2016
Problematic on many levels
jclaiborne2007 Policyholder

If you want to make changes to your policy there can be a serious amount of red tape. Speaking to agents can result in no action if they dont feel like entering the information into the system. I have moved on to a simpler and cheaper insurance company. You pay for those expensive football commercials.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former policyholders in the last year.

Mar 01, 2017
Auto/Renters Policy - 10 year member
Anonymous Policyholder

I have been very disappointed with USAA in the past 2 years.  Prior to that they were amazing, good rates, great service.  Last year I received an increase that they said was "statewide".  Most recently I bought a new vehicle and transferred my policy, they quoted me a discount of a few dollars a month.  When I received my first bill I was surprised to find an almost 25% increase.  I called and discussed, and after 25 minutes on hold, they claimed there was another "statewide" increase and that it was due also to the change of vehicles.  I have quoted other policies and found better rates now, which was never possible in the first 8 years with them.  The service has gone done and the rates have gone up, and I have never had an accident or claim.  I am saddened that they have bad these sacrifices in order to broaden their customer base and I have finally given up.

more ...
Feb 20, 2017
Terrible at paying out claims
Anonymous Policyholder

USAA is drowning me in paperwork, excuses, requests for more and more and more information even though I have given them all I have. Everything except actually paying my medical bills. Honestly, I don't know how these people sleep at night. 

more ...
Feb 03, 2017
Plays games and falsifies information
Anonymous Policyholder

Coming from a 20+ year member, find another company. USAA is not what it use to be. They are now in my opinion a predatory company seeking to bilk military service members any way possible. 

more ...
Jan 27, 2017
It's just sad
Anonymous Policyholder

I am not in the habit of holding pity parties for myself or blaming anyone else for what happens in my life.  But, when I had this accident, I was told by everyone that USAA was a great insurance company.  That is simply not true.  I am in debt today, struggling to rebuild my life because rather than settling my claim, USAA played games for almost a year before paying out my claim.  Here is my USAA story…

I am a disabled veteran and my husband is a retired disabled veteran.  We have four daughters and have been very blessed.

 I’ve been a USAA customer for over 15 years.  I bank with them, insure my home and vehicles with them and had a credit card and personal loan with them.    After driving for almost 20 years with no accident, in 2014, I was rear-ended at a stop light.   My car was totaled and I sustained injuries that left me with severe nerve damage, I had no feeling in my left arm and I was unable to turn my head in any direction without severe pain.  The injuries to my neck and spine required almost one year of therapy until I was finally told I would have to have surgery.  The surgery left me with 2 screws in my neck, nerve damage and subsequent lack of feeling and mobility in my left arm.

I am going to back up a little so you can get a full picture why I am writing this complaint.  I am a federal employee (GS-13).  My credit score at the time of the accident was over 720, as was my husbands.  I have enough savings to pay all of my bills for about 8 months to a year. In addition to my federal job, I founded and run a nonprofit where as a personal trainer and fitness and nutrition specialist, I train and counsel young school-aged athletes and help young girls improve their self-esteem through fitness and other activities. My husband and I worked very hard to achieve our goals. 

Back to the accident.  Needless to say, I was out of work from both jobs for a total of almost 14 months (on and off), including surgery and recovery time.  My total medical expenses exceeded $85,000.  My claim with the insurance company of the guy who hit me had been settled for $25,000.  He was very underinsured.  However, I have underinsured motorist coverage through USAA in the amount of $100,000.   USAA would not settle my claim until after all of the medical procedures and physical therapy was completed.  That was fine.  I had gone through my savings, but I was still maintaining.  However, when it was time to settle my claim, USAA offered only $19,000.  That would be a total of $44,000. 

When my attorney sent me their offer, I wanted to throw up.  I obviously did not accept the offer.  USAA and my attorney went back and forth for about another month before my attorney began the process of filing a lawsuit.  To sum it all up, after threatening the law suit and waiting for USAA to respond (and they took every day allowed by law), they finally paid out the $100,000 – it was over two years after my accident!

By the time they finally paid out, I had exhausted my savings, I was behind on several bills and trying to avoid falling into a hole of debt.  Unfortunately, I could not avoid the inevitable.  To date, I am drowning in debt.  My credit score is in the low 500s and I almost lost my home.  I am no longer able to train because of my injuries, I am about to lose my training facility, and when I finally returned to work, I was really working to play catch up from.  My USAA credit card and loan are now overdue and they have no quams with calling me 15-20 times a day asking for payment and they’ve closed my accounts. 

It is 3 years later and I am still trying to rebuild.  I know now that I need to keep at least two years worth of savings available :) 

more ...
Jan 16, 2017
Ridiculous rate increases
Anonymous Policyholder

I switched to USA thinking the rates would be better, but it's  been more like a bait and switch experience. My auto insurance had $50 increases for each of the last two 6 month periods with no change in claims or any thing else to justify any increase, much less a 24% increase this year alone. I QUIT.

more ...
Jan 11, 2017
They charge you for false claims
Kw2293 Policyholder

Back in Feb, a complete stranger filed a false claim with my USAA insurance. USAA recognized the call to be suspicious, took photos and verified our vehicles never touched, and never could find a police report. I thought all was over until they increased my premiums because of it. When I asked them about it, I received the runaround on who I needed to talk to. I already know they can remove it, but they won't. They charge me for a fake claim. It's bad enough they increase your rate every 6 months. They don't even offer 12 month policies. I'm over this company.

more ...
Jan 10, 2017
terrible, plays games
Christelceleste Policyholder

giving me the run around on medical claims, lost wages, car rental. terrible insurance, wish I had had a different carrier

more ...
Jan 03, 2017
Disappointing car insurance
Skywalker1977 Policyholder

I've had USAA for many years now, I think 17 so far.  I'm so used to them, it's a little scary to think about going elsewhere.  Still, I'm having second thoughts and thinking about going elsewhere in the next month.

My car insurance--the rates were at one time really good.  We just moved from the mid west to central United States and our insurance rates immediately went up a whole $90 a month.  I was willing to overlook that, figuring the accident rates here might be high or something.  

I got in an accident last year, the first accident I've had in over 15 years.  I have a very good driving record.  I was slowly pulling into a parking spot in a parking lot, when a car sped up beside me, coming between me and the parking spot (on the right side) and hitting my vehicle all along the side.  He even wanted to leave the scene without doing anything or exchanging insurances.  I figured he was clearly in the wrong.  I filed a claim with USAA, drew them the diagram they asked for, provided them pictures and testimony, the whole nine yards.  I even talked to the other guys insurance.  In contrast, the other guy refused to talk to USAA and was mostly non-communicative.  USAA ruled me at fault, and I'm still struggling to figure out why to this day.  They took the other driver's testimony over mine (he said I was in the wrong lane, which is false).

Different accident—my spouse was changing lanes when another car hit his bumper, causing some bumper damage.  USAA quickly determined the damage to be "total" and were going to assign us a payout rather than a repair.  Problem is, the payout they will give is far, far less than what a car of similar quality would cost.  We had just finished paying off this sedan (prior to the accident) to the tune of $10,000.  They gave us a payout of around $4,000 to replace it.  It was pathetic.  I literally had to have some relatives gift me a free car to get back on my feet.

I'm also becoming a new homeowner soon.  I compared their rates and policies with Liberty Mutual, and for the same coverage (Liberty is actually covering more in some instances), I will have to pay $600 more with USAA.  

I don't think they're the great company and great service members organization that I once thought they were.  At least in my experience they don't give their members the benefit of the doubt and I feel more like a number, a business transaction with some of this stuff they've pulled recently.  See ya, USAA.

more ...
Dec 29, 2016
Circus01 Policyholder

it's great, deals for shoping, traviling, and renting cars

more ...
Dec 22, 2016
Terrible
cariley37 Policyholder

They keep stating that I was in an accident in 2012 but I was never in an accident. (Mind you every other company I have gone through for insurance pulls the right record showing a clean record). They keep pulling the reports for my exhusband and not me. It's really irritating and genuinely ticks me off at how poorly this business executes its informational searches and then insists that the information is accurate when the information clearly states my EXHUSBAND'S NAME as the person involved in the accident, in his own car, which my name wasn't on and I didn't even own or have any rights to it, and wasn't even registered to me!!! How the heck is that information accurate if the information does not pertain to me or my driving record!? They acknowledge that it isn't me and then try to double, triple, and even quadruple the premiums without any explanation when renewal comes and then try and tell me, "Oh you've been in an accident."....NO!!! How many times do I have to go over this with you idiots! I HAVE NEVER BEEN IN AN ACCIDENT AND MY NAME ISN'T SO AND SO WHO WAS ACTUALLY IN THE ACCIDENT!!!! Get your crap fixed! You've lost a customer for life USAA!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this policy overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this policy?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations