USAA® Auto Insurance Reviews

2.1 out of 5 stars
46 Reviews

From Policyholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

2 5

Compare Auto Insurance Offers

View your top Auto Insurance recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 17, 2013
A Remarkable Company
TwistedShields Policyholder

Since the beginning of my membership I have always received excellent customer service anytime I have called in! This company by far has the best policy discounts upon qualification.  I'll admit, I joined in my lower twenties with not the best record and USAA still gave me amazing rates! I now have 2 auto insurances with them as well as a few other services! I will always stay with them and and I would Highly recommend them to anyone! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 24, 2013
Rate Increase
gregs221 Policyholder

Look out!  I've been a USAA member for 10 years.  I've had their auto insurance the entire time but have never had to use it.  I've never had a claim or accident and my insurance is going up $250 this year.  USAA said it was a statewide increase however my neighbor's policy did not increase.  I've seen this trend for the past several years and have been unhappy with USAA's performance.  At one point they were untouched in all categories.  Now I think if you look around you can find better in each individually.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former policyholders in the last year.

May 17, 2017
Horrible
Anonymous Policyholder

Family member in an accident they juggled us around and wouldn't answer or return our calls for 4-5 days until we gave up and emailed them the instant I get the chance I'm switching companies avoid at all costs

more ...
May 13, 2017
Never pay claims
Anonymous Policyholder

USAA does everything in their power to escape paying medical bills, which puts an incredible burden on those of us with injuries from accidents and prevents getting effective care. They bury everyone in paperwork to keep from paying out. They are leaches who should lose the right practice business. Do everything you can to avoid. 

more ...
Apr 29, 2017
They love to take your money, but.....
Anonymous Policyholder

Had an accident 9 months ago and still USAA has failed to pay our medical bills. Have collectors all over us and USAA claims agent won't even return phone calls.

more ...
Apr 27, 2017
Horrible customer service
adamlucier Policyholder

Worst service ever. The guy that works in the CEO investment escalation office is a complete *** clown. Very rude and condescending voice message left on my phone. Would never recommend this company to anyone.

more ...
Apr 21, 2017
Poor customer service
Anonymous Policyholder

Company once offered superior customer service but now blocks legitimate claims, causes unnecessary delays and denies legitimate damage.  They stick together internally and hide behind polished diplomacy with no care to retain members.  Sad and disappointing to see a former military support system crumble.  No sense of esprit de corp and no respect for the military rank.  

more ...
Apr 21, 2017
Poor customer service - not the company.
Anonymous Policyholder

USAA previously was an exceptional company - now it is exceptional in a very bad way.  Poor handling of very minor auto claim. - non-responsive and making up excuses for not paying for all damage.  Also poor handling of investment counseling. Actually did not have a financial analyst available for an appointment they scheduled.  Lack esprit de corps.  

more ...
Apr 11, 2017
Poor Customer Service
Anonymous Policyholder

Extremely slow and unresponsive 

more ...
Mar 01, 2017
Auto/Renters Policy - 10 year member
Anonymous Policyholder

I have been very disappointed with USAA in the past 2 years.  Prior to that they were amazing, good rates, great service.  Last year I received an increase that they said was "statewide".  Most recently I bought a new vehicle and transferred my policy, they quoted me a discount of a few dollars a month.  When I received my first bill I was surprised to find an almost 25% increase.  I called and discussed, and after 25 minutes on hold, they claimed there was another "statewide" increase and that it was due also to the change of vehicles.  I have quoted other policies and found better rates now, which was never possible in the first 8 years with them.  The service has gone done and the rates have gone up, and I have never had an accident or claim.  I am saddened that they have bad these sacrifices in order to broaden their customer base and I have finally given up.

more ...
Feb 20, 2017
Terrible at paying out claims
Anonymous Policyholder

USAA is drowning me in paperwork, excuses, requests for more and more and more information even though I have given them all I have. Everything except actually paying my medical bills. Honestly, I don't know how these people sleep at night. 

more ...
Feb 03, 2017
Plays games and falsifies information
Anonymous Policyholder

Coming from a 20+ year member, find another company. USAA is not what it use to be. They are now in my opinion a predatory company seeking to bilk military service members any way possible. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this policy overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this policy?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations