USAA® Auto Insurance Reviews

1.4 out of 5 stars
16 Reviews

From Policyholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

1.5 5

Compare Auto Insurance Offers

View your top Auto Insurance recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former policyholders in the last year.

Nov 07, 2018
Horrible!!!
bmk1459 Policyholder

It's hard to explain how inadequate USAA Auto Claims is. Every time you call about your claim (dozens!!!) you have to go through the whole process with a different claims person who knows nothing about your claim!!! This is the worst car insurance ever!!! They are a very incompetent auto insurance, and I would not recomend them to anybody.

more ...
Oct 24, 2018
Don't support insured well
nhmtnbkr Policyholder

I've had USAA for more than 27 years, since I first started driving.  While their rates are good for monthly insurance fees, if you have an accident and they can't 100% determine that you're not at fault, expect them to completely roll over and blame you, even if the preponderence of evidence should result in a different conclusion.

Case in point, while changing lanes on a two-lane access road, after checking to make sure there was nobody in the other lane for well over a dozen car lengths - enough so nobody was visible for more than a 1/4 mile down the road, I began my lane change. Note that none my lane warnings in my 2018 Murano went off, given the lane was empty.

As I was more than 3/4's into the lane change, I was sideswiped by a 20-something that came whipping up in the lane, and barely braked before hitting me.

Lo and behold, because the other party claimed to be 'established in their lane' - they found me at fault, which is total BS, because if the woman was in the lane - I would have seen her and my warning system would have alerted me.  More to the point, I wouldn't have scoring down the side of my vehicle as occurred, and instead would have sustained a small, more centralized and heavier point of impact - this is simple physics.

I'm thoroughly disgusted with this decision, since it's not the first time the've done this, and I've had enough that it's time to switch insurance companies.

more ...
Oct 20, 2018
Homeowners and auto insurance
sylvin00 Policyholder

USAA is great, IF you NEVER have to use it! We had a wind storm with 90 mph winds go through our area on Aug. 28, 2018. We had a contractor give us an estimate, which was sent to USAA, for $10,800. We had 20 large trees come down, and actually hit our house with one of them. We have a $2000 deductible so we understood we would have to cover some of the expense. So far they have rejected our claim amount and have sent us a check for just over $200. My husband is still fighting with them, almost every day. This is Octoer 20th and still no end in sight to this mess. Whatever their final decision is, we are done with USAA!!! We are all set to go local for our insurance needs, and I would highly suggest everyone does so.

more ...
Sep 05, 2018
Horrible service!! Do not recommend!
hovadagod Policyholder

Go elsewhere!! Horrible service!!!!

more ...
Jul 16, 2018
defensive driving discount hoax
family75 Policyholder

Be warned.  Do not waste your time and money to take a defensive driving course to lower your insurance rates with this company.  They simply adjust the rest of their discounts until you essentially LOST money by taking the course!  (even by multiplying out 3 years total)  Shame on you, USAA.  If you don't want to offer a discount for it, then be upfront.  My time is valuable.  I took a screen shot of the itemized bill prior to the class & then compared item by item after the discount was applied.  Basically, you don't want us to take this course, so tell your respresentatives to stop suggesting it as a way to lower premiums.  Again, shame on you!

more ...
Jul 15, 2018
Failure to pay claim
Riley8101 Policyholder

                                                                   July 15, 2018

I am making a formal complaint about a claim I have with USAA  Auto Insurance Company.

Background

On May 23, 2018 , my car (2008 Ford Mustang),  was struck in Jacksonville, FL.

The driver of the other vehicle was charged with running a red light and was insured by USAA.  No charges were made against me.

USAA was notified by both parties on that day and USAA reported to that they would handle the claim and issued a claim number.

Since that phone call, I tried contacting USAA several times and left several messages, and they did not returned my calls.   Neither did they send a claim adjuster to review the damages nor make an offer to repair the damages.

After reporting USAA to the Better Business Bureau on June 24, I  received an email from the Office of the CEO at USAA  (on the evening of June 26) requesting my USAA claim number.  That information was emailed on the morning of June 27.   Since that time, I have been contacted by several people at USAA  (by voice messenger).   I returned their calls shortly after I receiving them, but none of my voices messages were returned to discuss my claim.  On July 6, I was requested to resend the estimated cost of repairs and photographs of the damages, which on did on July 6. 

Seven weeks after the accident, my repairs were completed on July 12, and I paid the repair shop (which is on USAA’s approved list of approved repair shops) $9,259.  On July 13,  USAA’s Total Lost and Salvage Claims Division notified me that  the value of my car was worth only $5,639 and they would be willing to pay that amount if I gave them title of the Mustang.

In Summary

It took USAA over 7 weeks to notify me what portion of the damages they were willing to pay.    I waited nearly 3 weeks before I started the repair work, and the Mustang  was in the garage for nearly 5 weeks for repairs.   After over 7 weeks since the accident, USAA finally prepared an estimate, as to what they were willing to pay for the collision.  During that 50 day period, USAA neither made an offer for a car rental nor to offer compensation for the inconvenience of not having the use of a car for 50 days.

 Recommendation

USAA should not be allowed to sell insurance in the state of Florida.

Thomas F. Riley  

(I am a veteran)

more ...
Jul 02, 2018
Do not use this service.
SeanXXXVII Policyholder

USAA has the best prices on the market, but when it comes to the services they are incompetent.
Just last night my wife had her purse stolen with her car keys inside, so we call in to have it towed to a locksmith because the car had the keys replaced from the manufacturer copy when we purchased it and we would need to replace the locks again. After a 20 minutes conversation with the Rep going over where the car was, how to contact my wife (who was on site), and where we were taking the car, they understood absolutely nothing we said.
A different locksmith arrives on site to unlock my wifes car for her, thinking she locked herself out. When I called back there were absolutely no notes on the dispatch report and Road side assistance just winged it.
This isn't the first issue we've had with them. Between looking for a mortgage loan, and them regularly losing my information it has been a very unpleasant time.

more ...
Jun 14, 2018
Horrible Claims Response
cg2018 Policyholder

I am a current customer (but not for much longer) who has been with USAA for several years.  Several months ago I was hit by a person who also has USAA. During the entire ordeal, now going on six months, USAA has not provided decent customer service.  They say I will get a call back within three business days, and no one calls.  They say they have made note of my issue. When I call back, there is no record of my issue or call.  When I ask to speak with a manager, none can be accessed, so I am supposed to get a call back.  No call ever came.  If they treat their customers this badly, I would hate to be someone who has a different insurance and is filing a claim against USAA.  Worst service ever!

more ...
May 29, 2018
WORST EVER
mzauthentic89 Policyholder

I had an accident on 05/06/2018 and this has been the worst experience I’ve ever had with a car insurance company. Yes the prices may be lower, but it’s not worth it at all. The first night, the tow truck company that is contracted with the company left me stranded on the highway after 2 in the morning. I had to wait for the city tow truck company to arrive after sitting for nearly 3 hours. My adjuster was a complete jerk and was completely unprofessional. He totaled my car for a fender. There is no damage to the hood or underneath it. He came up with an outrageous price, so that the insurance company wouldn’t get it fixed. He even admitted that the car is fixable. Now 3 weeks later, I have no rental car and I called the tow company again to take my vehicle to another facility with reasonable prices and they never even put the order in, so my car still isn’t fixed and I have no car to drive my 3 year old to Daycare, or to get to school or work. This company is taking advantage of veterans and their families. I’m going to give bad review in every site possible and tell all of my family and friends to go elsewhere

more ...
Apr 17, 2018
Horrible company
dimitriexport Policyholder

Horrible company, they send me emails every week about their military affilate card and some special offers and after a few months i decided why not only to have my credit pulled and a auto decline for "max credit reached with usaa" WHAT? I only have 1 cc with a 6k limit??? Not to mention they had pulled my credit report 4 times in 5 months!!! If you call them you will get NO HELP they will try to immidiatly pawn it off to someone else just not to deal with it... I am going to close my accounts and will always let me friends know not to deal with USAA, i cant wait to close all my accounts with them i rather let Penfed get my business.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this policy overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this policy?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations