USAA® Auto Insurance Reviews

1.8 out of 5 stars
44 Reviews

From Policyholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

2 5

Compare Auto Insurance Offers

View your top Auto Insurance recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Nov 12, 2016
FANTASTIC
Anonymous Policyholder

I have never had a problem with USAA Insurance. The customer service is always fantastic. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Sep 07, 2016
Problematic on many levels
jclaiborne2007 Policyholder

If you want to make changes to your policy there can be a serious amount of red tape. Speaking to agents can result in no action if they dont feel like entering the information into the system. I have moved on to a simpler and cheaper insurance company. You pay for those expensive football commercials.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former policyholders in the last year.

Aug 17, 2017
Overpriced.
Clinko Policyholder

USAA is often touted as the 'end all' of Insurance companies given their inclination toward military service members.  I've been with them for about 25 years now.  In the last couple of years it really feels like they are far more focused on their image than their customers.   As the cracks have started to show I've come to see how much I could save elsewhere by companies that aren't coasting on positive opinion.

more ...
Aug 02, 2017
Auto insurance doubling
Anonymous Policyholder

Hit someone's mirror last year with one speeding ticket over a year ago and just got hit with insurance doubling with no warning, for a 200 dollar fix

more ...
Aug 02, 2017
USAA denies legitmate claims
Anonymous Policyholder

I was forced to select one star.  I would have selected -5 if possible.  I have a very legitmate claim against a USAA member, including witnesses and a police statement.  USAA is not interested in paying out a very straightforward claim that they know they are responsible for.  Delays after delays, and the claims rep refuses to return your calls UNLESS you threaten to report them to the insurance commissioner's office.  USAA will not interview my witnesses, but of course I was not offered a choice when their member wrecked into my BRAND NEW CAR.  This case will be going to arbitration.  Good customer service is not an ideal that USAA supports.  STAY AWAY.

more ...
Jun 21, 2017
Home - Auto
Anonymous Policyholder

I am satisfied at the rates of my auto insurance thru USAA but think my home owners insurance from when I originally purchased to what it is today almost doubled, not sure if this is industry wide on home insurance but not thrilled...comes out of my escrow and seems my escrow payments need to be adjusted every year as a result.  

more ...
Jun 19, 2017
Intrusive
Anonymous Policyholder

 My husband and I recently separated after 21 years of marriage and I notified USAA to have them start billing our auto insurance separately starting August 1st. As soon as I told them we were separated they transferred me to a marital transition team and had our accounts separated (we're both veterans). My husband and I are amicable and are remaining married, he's even co-signing for my new house. USAA took it upon themselves to "protect" my husband, even though I'm the one that asked to have the auto insurance billed separately. Now I can't even have questions answered about money we're owed on the overpayment of our homeowner's insurance and wind & hail insurance after we closed on our house last week. Every call is ushered to the "marital transition team." It's insulting that they are dramatizing an ugly separation when my husband and I get along just fine! I tried to cancel my car insurance with them today because I purchased a policy with State Farm (which is LESS), and they wouldn't even cancel the policy for me! The online function didn't work, it said they were doing account maintenance. So my husband had to call USAA to cancel the auto policy. USAA needs to MIND THEIR OWN BUSINESS!!!

more ...
Jun 10, 2017
Nightmare
Anonymous Policyholder

We had two accidents, the first my wife was at no fault and the other party never reported it, and USAA started to process the accident as my wife being at fault. The second was a freak accident at which the adjuster changed several times. It was unclear whom I was supposed to be communicating with, and took a very long time to work through (months). The truck was only in my possession for 13 days and they tried to make a $2600 difference between the finance cost and how much the payout was going to be. Furthermore the car buying service did not help me at all. Now I am out a truck and although I have the same credit score I cannot get another loan, even after the truck is off my credit report. What a load of bs when I've had over 10 years with USAA and decent credit. I cannot wait to move everything out of USAA!

more ...
May 30, 2017
Rates going up Coverage going down
Anonymous Policyholder

Recent hail claim from a big storm in Denver, CO (05/08/2017). Took 3 weeks to get an adjuster to view the vehicle. Anyone who had State Farm, Allstate, Geico could do a drive through tent within a week of the storm, not so with USAA. They finally calculated the loss vehicle's ACV about 2.5K less than any comps we could find in our geographic location (150 miles) by using vehilces that had 30K - 50K more miles as comparables. Even after we sent them comps in our area with comparable milage and trim levels they still went with the super high milage vehicles to keep the ACV low. Just know what you're getting before you sign up. 17 years, 2 vehicle, not so much as a fender bender. But you can't outrun Hail storms....this is what you get from USAA.

more ...
Jun 02, 2017

Enter Your Reply

 
Jun 02, 2017

was so excited to switch to USAA till I started needing some help with some things starting with my truck breaking down when I called for roadside assistance on a weekend I got a third party vendor really! Grrrrrr. Then when I asked about filing a claim to get some help in getting my truck fixed I first had to plead with them to file a claim of some sort then had to wait for ever to get someone to come out to look at my truck they totaled out my truck telling me there was 17,000.00 dallors in damages to my truck and they denied my claim then when I asked for thier report to show wht they were showing in damage to it all they had to give was a piece of paper saying I had a missing and or damaged engine wht a joke! A lot of good that will help me in court. Then they over drafted another bank account I have with another bank several times and they told me I had to call my other bank to fix thier mistakes and had sat on the phone for over 9 hrs fighting with them to fix it because it wasn't my other banks fault for USAA screwing up my account with them who do these ppl think they are thinking other ppl are responsible for fixing their mistakes are u serious USAA learn to take responsibility in fixing ur own dam mistakes! And now this last interaction with them I called to make a payment on my insurance and because I was short .18 cents on my bill they are charging me a 15.00 dallor late fee FOR 18 PENNIES FOR REAL!!!!!!!! Not only have I bearly been with this company a year now and NOT excited to be with them anymore but I dnt trust that if I ever had an accident that any of my passengers or my self and or my truck or my house or animals in my home for that matter would be taken care of and as a single mom of three teenagers and a great Dane puppy they are my whole world why I live and breath and wht I kill my self wrking for everyday I have been hung up on by supervisors and my messages to return my calls have been ignored and I was giving a 30 min speal about how they pride them selves on careing and taking care of their members who do u think ur trying to pull the wool over who's eyes now come on ur such a big and great company uve been in business for how long now and u still **** on ppl like this SHAME ON U. I am looking for a new company to move to and when I do USAA ur done showing and proving to me that ur not to be trusted I'm not sure there are the right words to describe how disgusted I am there are no words good enough for u guys to apologized to me about ur service and how I've been treated ur pretty low when it comes to ur service and customers care I've seen cable companies treat their customers better then u

 
May 25, 2017
Horrible service
Anonymous Policyholder

Lies, after lies, spineless company

more ...
May 17, 2017
Horrible
Anonymous Policyholder

Family member in an accident they juggled us around and wouldn't answer or return our calls for 4-5 days until we gave up and emailed them the instant I get the chance I'm switching companies avoid at all costs

more ...
May 13, 2017
Never pay claims
Anonymous Policyholder

USAA does everything in their power to escape paying medical bills, which puts an incredible burden on those of us with injuries from accidents and prevents getting effective care. They bury everyone in paperwork to keep from paying out. They are leaches who should lose the right practice business. Do everything you can to avoid. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this policy overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this policy?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations