The Hartford - Auto Insurance

2.2 out of 5 stars
10 Reviews

From Policyholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

2 5

Compare Auto Insurance Offers

View your top Auto Insurance recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 17, 2013
Big Savings
vegasguy51 Policyholder

I have yet to find another insurance company that can offer me rates like Hartford...

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Oct 27, 2014
AARP the Hartford Auto Insurance
Anonymous Policyholder

I had the same experience with the Hartford.  I scraped the wheel well of a parked car.  The owner submitted a claim for  $865.00.  No police were involved and therefore no ticket.  Very minor repair needed.

Claim was paid; but my insurance went up drastically.  Also I am considered a high risk for five years.  Unbelieveable!!!!  I have been driving for 59 years without any viiolations or claims

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former policyholders in the last year.

Feb 24, 2017
Auto insurance
Anonymous Policyholder

Very expensive policy.  I made one phone call to a rival company and saved almost 500 dollars a year

more ...
Jan 17, 2017
Buyer beware
Anonymous Policyholder

I moved and put in a change of address for my apt. insurance.  I paid for the policy a year in advance and there was 4 months remaining.  They said I would get a rebate as the place I was moving to was safer and would get a check for the difference.  Then 4 weeks after a letter, dated a month before, and sent to the previous address, even though they had been given the new address was forwarded.  It was no longer insured because of a claim at the previous residence.  I had not made a claim in over 15 years.  They would not refund the money, I was not insured and had no notification or emails.

 They would not send back the money because they said I hadn't cancelled the policy.  So THEY cancel a policy, then keep the money and give NO service.  Can you imagine how bad it would be if I had to actually make a claim.

more ...
Dec 10, 2016
Will not own Hartford Insurance much lon
Anonymous Policyholder

They wait and audit any traffic infractions or accidents at about every five year mark. And then want to penalize you with high fees for another five years. Even after I went in good faith and took to driving classes and had two tickets removed. Dropping them next week good riddance. They are insane I have 2 quotes for half the price even with one accident still on the record .same amount of coverage

more ...
Oct 27, 2016
Have never had a problem with them.
sunsmith97423 Policyholder

Have had for many years and they have responded promptly and responsibily.  I can contact them online or by phone.  Very pleasant to deal with!  Best rates too!

more ...
Sep 17, 2016
Good rates the first year only
Anonymous Policyholder

I never had a claim so I was very surprised when my auto rate went up 25% after the first year. Used the Truelane device. That was a joke! Would not recommend. 

more ...
Aug 17, 2016
They do use bait and switch tactics.
Anonymous Policyholder

I received a very reasonable rate the first year but by the 3rd year without accidents or tickets their prices rose so high that I dropped them immediately.

more ...
Aug 08, 2016
They promise not to drop you, lol!
rsr1964 Policyholder

I was a 12 year Progressive customer, always had reasonable rates. I switched to when I turned 50 on the recommondation of AARP. Initially I was impressed, saved about $150 a year compared to Progressive. $495 a year for 2 vehicles, one new with full coverage, one basic. Then came renewal time, over $1200! When I contacted them, they claimed my credit rating was the reason. Mind you, I have no tickets or accidents. They promise "not to drop you", but sure love to GOUGE you!  Went back to Progressive. Of course I lost all of my long term customer discounts, and now pay $333 for 6 months. It`s still about half of what The Hartford wanted. 

more ...
Jul 28, 2016
Lousy service on all my policies
hotsauce1183 Policyholder

I have 4 policies with Hartford - 2 homes and 2 vehicles have been insured with this company for over a decade. During that time I have made 2 claims. Neither were very big. Both were for water leaks in a rental property but the claims process for each claim was unpleasant and ugly. The attitude was like "how dare you submit a claim". The last one was so bad I ended up giving a 3 star (out of 5) rating for the service (the claim wasnt closed yet but I still received an email asking for a rating). Well, that was a big mistake. After I submitted that rating the claims agent took the review intensly personal and  just plain stonewalled everything. I ended up calling the supervisor three times ovet two months before I actually siuceeded in finally settling that claim and getting the work completed.

Recently I bought another house. I called Hartford to ask for a quote. Long story short, after over an hour and a half on the phone I was told that they would decline to offer insurance on the new house because it had a wood burning stove and I couldnt produce a certifcate that the stove had been professionally installed and inspected. DECLINE to insure??? There was a dozen better ways to handle this: They could have simply asked that I get an inspection certificate!! Or they could have asked me to sign a legally binding document committing to have it removed by a certain date! But instead they just summarilly declared that they were declining the business. My escrow is supposed to close in two days and will be postponed if I cant demonstrate adequate insurance.

I will survive this, but no thanks to Hartford. I have already found another company that I am confident will be much less expensive over the long run. And I will be transferring ALL my policies to the new company where they might acctually appreciate my business.

more ...
Jul 21, 2016
So Far So Good??
Anonymous Policyholder

My husband and I are over 50/60 and I had a car accident trying to prevent hitting a whole in my yard .  The Customer Service at this time has been awesome1  My vehicle has been repaired and I'm well pleased.  After reading these reviews , I am now praying that we don't get treated this way with the rates climbing due to the accident?  We will see.  Hope I don't need to revisit with bad a news feed? stay Tuned!!

more ...
May 15, 2016
With AARP I save a lot
wfunk46 Policyholder

For over nine years< I had the same company.  My rates kept climbing and when my daughter started driving it became outragious.  Every year it went up eventhough my daughter had driver training and good student.  No claims were made.  Last year my company jumped it up another $800 and I began looking.  I received a letter for the Hartford through AARP.  I decided to give a call.   Was I glad I did because I changed over with a $1200 savings that year!  That's an extra $100 in my pocket and my coverage is superior to the other companies.  If your a senior with young drivers on your policy, consider The Hartford through AARP...you could save more than you think.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this policy overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this policy?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations