Auto Insurance Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

The Hartford - Auto Insurance

2.4 out of 5 stars
12 Reviews

From Policyholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5

Compare Auto Insurance Offers

View your top Auto Insurance recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 15, 2016
With AARP I save a lot
wfunk46 Policyholder

For over nine years< I had the same company.  My rates kept climbing and when my daughter started driving it became outragious.  Every year it went up eventhough my daughter had driver training and good student.  No claims were made.  Last year my company jumped it up another $800 and I began looking.  I received a letter for the Hartford through AARP.  I decided to give a call.   Was I glad I did because I changed over with a $1200 savings that year!  That's an extra $100 in my pocket and my coverage is superior to the other companies.  If your a senior with young drivers on your policy, consider The Hartford through AARP...you could save more than you think.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 21, 2016
Home & auto
Anonymous Policyholder

Rates good at first then jacked up significantly annually even though we had no claims. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former policyholders in the last year.

Dec 10, 2016
Will not own Hartford Insurance much lon
Anonymous Policyholder

They wait and audit any traffic infractions or accidents at about every five year mark. And then want to penalize you with high fees for another five years. Even after I went in good faith and took to driving classes and had two tickets removed. Dropping them next week good riddance. They are insane I have 2 quotes for half the price even with one accident still on the record .same amount of coverage

more ...
Oct 27, 2016
Have never had a problem with them.
sunsmith97423 Policyholder

Have had for many years and they have responded promptly and responsibily.  I can contact them online or by phone.  Very pleasant to deal with!  Best rates too!

more ...
Sep 17, 2016
Good rates the first year only
Anonymous Policyholder

I never had a claim so I was very surprised when my auto rate went up 25% after the first year. Used the Truelane device. That was a joke! Would not recommend. 

more ...
Aug 17, 2016
They do use bait and switch tactics.
Anonymous Policyholder

I received a very reasonable rate the first year but by the 3rd year without accidents or tickets their prices rose so high that I dropped them immediately.

more ...
Aug 08, 2016
They promise not to drop you, lol!
rsr1964 Policyholder

I was a 12 year Progressive customer, always had reasonable rates. I switched to when I turned 50 on the recommondation of AARP. Initially I was impressed, saved about $150 a year compared to Progressive. $495 a year for 2 vehicles, one new with full coverage, one basic. Then came renewal time, over $1200! When I contacted them, they claimed my credit rating was the reason. Mind you, I have no tickets or accidents. They promise "not to drop you", but sure love to GOUGE you!  Went back to Progressive. Of course I lost all of my long term customer discounts, and now pay $333 for 6 months. It`s still about half of what The Hartford wanted. 

more ...
Jul 28, 2016
Lousy service on all my policies
hotsauce1183 Policyholder

I have 4 policies with Hartford - 2 homes and 2 vehicles have been insured with this company for over a decade. During that time I have made 2 claims. Neither were very big. Both were for water leaks in a rental property but the claims process for each claim was unpleasant and ugly. The attitude was like "how dare you submit a claim". The last one was so bad I ended up giving a 3 star (out of 5) rating for the service (the claim wasnt closed yet but I still received an email asking for a rating). Well, that was a big mistake. After I submitted that rating the claims agent took the review intensly personal and  just plain stonewalled everything. I ended up calling the supervisor three times ovet two months before I actually siuceeded in finally settling that claim and getting the work completed.

Recently I bought another house. I called Hartford to ask for a quote. Long story short, after over an hour and a half on the phone I was told that they would decline to offer insurance on the new house because it had a wood burning stove and I couldnt produce a certifcate that the stove had been professionally installed and inspected. DECLINE to insure??? There was a dozen better ways to handle this: They could have simply asked that I get an inspection certificate!! Or they could have asked me to sign a legally binding document committing to have it removed by a certain date! But instead they just summarilly declared that they were declining the business. My escrow is supposed to close in two days and will be postponed if I cant demonstrate adequate insurance.

I will survive this, but no thanks to Hartford. I have already found another company that I am confident will be much less expensive over the long run. And I will be transferring ALL my policies to the new company where they might acctually appreciate my business.

more ...
Jul 21, 2016
So Far So Good??
Anonymous Policyholder

My husband and I are over 50/60 and I had a car accident trying to prevent hitting a whole in my yard .  The Customer Service at this time has been awesome1  My vehicle has been repaired and I'm well pleased.  After reading these reviews , I am now praying that we don't get treated this way with the rates climbing due to the accident?  We will see.  Hope I don't need to revisit with bad a news feed? stay Tuned!!

more ...
May 15, 2016
With AARP I save a lot
wfunk46 Policyholder

For over nine years< I had the same company.  My rates kept climbing and when my daughter started driving it became outragious.  Every year it went up eventhough my daughter had driver training and good student.  No claims were made.  Last year my company jumped it up another $800 and I began looking.  I received a letter for the Hartford through AARP.  I decided to give a call.   Was I glad I did because I changed over with a $1200 savings that year!  That's an extra $100 in my pocket and my coverage is superior to the other companies.  If your a senior with young drivers on your policy, consider The Hartford through AARP...you could save more than you think.

more ...
Mar 21, 2016
Home & auto
Anonymous Policyholder

Rates good at first then jacked up significantly annually even though we had no claims. 

more ...
Mar 10, 2016
Seemed good at first, then...
Anonymous Policyholder

Gave us a great cost savings over Allstate about five years ago, but raised premiums yearly, then tried to give a big raise after an accident that was 100 % the fault of the other driver!  No breaks for us even though we were with them five years and never had a claim. We dumped them and went with Progressive, which is about 40% cheaper!  So actually, they did us a favor.  But still, they stink.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this policy overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this policy?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations