Auto Insurance Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

State Farm® Auto Insurance

1.9 out of 5 stars
26 Reviews

From Policyholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2 5

Compare Auto Insurance Offers

View your top Auto Insurance recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Dec 01, 2016
Great service
Anonymous Policyholder

Have State Farm for 7 years now and never had a problem. If I have any questions they are nice about answering them and explaining any issues ahead of time. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 02, 2016
medical
Anonymous Policyholder

After being rear ended by an idiot driver, i sustained a concussion which affected my memory for  months. I had severe headaches for months. I had a severe flexion extension injury and have been living in pain going on month four. My wrists were somehow damaged probably from jamming my wrists on the steering wheel. Although the x rays don't show bone damage, I have been dealing with severe pain and tingling in my hands ever since the accident. State Farm hasn't paid my chiropractic bills since December. When my lawyer called, they said they were confused and that they were all paid up! Seriously?!?! Then we get a letter from them saying they are investigating and reviewing my case to see if they are willing to pay for it. Seriously? I will never own a state farm policy again! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former policyholders in the last year.

Jan 07, 2017
State Farm is awful!
Anonymous Policyholder

We have State Farm insurance.  We have had them for 24 years.  During that time we have had 3 at fault accidents.  All very minor.....all with no damage to our own vehicles but around $1500 to $2000 damage to the other vehicles.  All 3 accidents happened with a 3 year time frame.  2 in 2013 and 1 in 2016.  They are not renewing our policy when it comes up for renewal in March of 2017.  In their letter their reasoning was these 3 accidents...all by different people in our family...none resulted in tickets..........no one in our family has ever had a ticket......and there were no bodily injuries in any of the accidents.  One of them my daughter backed into a car in the parking lot of a store and actually went into the store to have the person paged so she could talk to them.  She did the right thing.  24 years....3 accidents and now they won't renew.  I just think that is extreme.  But sometimes these things happen for a reason....so Im shopping around hoping to find a better company!

more ...
Dec 20, 2016
State Farm doesn't mind insurance fraud
Anonymous Policyholder

I had State Farm for over 9 years and not an issue till I had an issue. I was in a bad wreck situation of where no one could prove fault but I made State Farm aware of the drivers being under the influence and running from the scene of the accident, the other person disappeared off the face of the earth. I made them aware that the driver that disappeared had his girl friend show up and pretend she was driving. This is even stated by another witness and State Farm didn't pay attention to me at all and I am on the verge of being sued in civil court as the picked my policy with liability even though I own two other vehicles under full coverage. Then they almost let me go to jail because they wouldn't provide the statement saying the paid one of the other drivers, we have to prove this to the state that we live in. Absolutely the morst horrible experience ever! 

more ...
Dec 05, 2016
Not a "Good Neighbor"
Xgayles Policyholder

I have been a loyal State Farm Customer for 20+ Years, with policies for my home, life (child and mom), hospitalization and multiple automobile policies with them over the years and today I received a letter stating that my automobile policies will not be renewed. State farm lists my one auto insurance claim (2016), 3 towing claims (2014 & 2015) and my sister's accident (2016) where my sister was the victim in a horrific hit and run claim (my sister is also insured through State Farm under a totally separate and unrelated policy of her own because of my recommendation) as factors in their decision to cancel my policy. I am ****ed! I am able to obtain new policies for 5 of 6 of the policies I currently have with State Farm and will be switching immediately, and encourage anyone whom I might have referred to State Farm to do the same! Not a good neighbor!

  •  

more ...
Dec 04, 2016
Pathetic service
Anonymous Policyholder

II had been in an accident for two weeks they haven't given me the claim number yet. I called them continuously every day  and leave messages but nobody calls me back. How busy these guys there that they don't help or answer calls .

more ...
Dec 01, 2016
Great service
Anonymous Policyholder

Have State Farm for 7 years now and never had a problem. If I have any questions they are nice about answering them and explaining any issues ahead of time. 

more ...
Dec 01, 2016
Love it!!!
Anonymous Policyholder

I have had State Farm for over 20 years. I have always had great service. Even when I moved from 1 state to another and had to transfer my policy. I still get periodic emails from the old office asking how me and my kids are. Never had any issues with claims. Will never leave.

more ...
Nov 23, 2016
Auto and homeowners bundled
anomous Policyholder

I have been with state farm for over 30 years.  They have treated me well with several claims.  I will suggest to anyone to get the AARP drivers course every 3 years.  This will reduce your insurance rates by 10%.  State farm is a relatively good company, however, the agent has never sent me a Xmas card or birthday card.  That is poor loyatly from the agent.  I have checked other rates over the years and have not been able to do much better.  This is mainly due to my grandfathered deductibles.  In fact, no carrier will give me the lower deductible that state farm will.  

more ...
Nov 03, 2016
Bait and switch
Anonymous Policyholder

I signed up for state farm with a monthly rate of $78 per month for 6 months paid the first month and set up autopay month 2 autopay pulled $95 they provided no notice or explication of rate change prior to taking the 2nd payment no accidents or tickets on my record in over 10 years very disappointed with this company

more ...
Nov 01, 2016
Good! No problems.
Anonymous Policyholder

I have had no trouble with State Farm at this time. I have had no accidents yet either (knock on wood) so I can't say too much on how they assisted me with an accident. But, I can not complain at this time.

more ...
Oct 28, 2016
Did a great job.
Anonymous Policyholder

Had an accident and they let me decide if I wanted the car totaled or to fix it.  They were looking out for me.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this policy overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this policy?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations