State Farm® Auto Insurance Reviews

2.0 out of 5 stars
21 Reviews

From Policyholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2 5

Compare Auto Insurance Offers

View your top Auto Insurance recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Dec 01, 2016
Great service
Anonymous Policyholder

Have State Farm for 7 years now and never had a problem. If I have any questions they are nice about answering them and explaining any issues ahead of time. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 18, 2016
What every one is saying is true,
needykme Policyholder

I signed up for state farm, after being constantly called by a local office from one of their agents. I stayed away from the "really good" insurance companies for 2 reasons for the past 3 or 4 yrs, 1. my credit tanked, 2. I had quite a few moving violations on my record.  Needless to say when they finally offered me a decent rate, after calling me periodically, i signed up for their full coverage for aroun 160. The sales person even included renters.  About 3 weeks into the policy I got a statement for my next month's bill showing that I owed 295 due to Policy adjustments!!!! My credit was decent, but since i had 2 moving violations still on my record from almost 3 yrs ago, my rates were increased.  I would think that  a company this large has the resources/ capacity to take the potential policy holder through the full underwriting process before jacking up the price! It is very misleading to quote me a price, take my money, and then send me a bill for double the next month.  Needless to say, I gladly cancelled.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former policyholders in the last year.

Jul 03, 2017
ongoing policy increases
goodboygnbad Policyholder

i have been with state farm for 33 years and this past year 2017 has seen many rate increases almost on a monthly basis.from176.00 per month to 268.00 per month.state farm keeps telling me its because of bad drivers.i have not had a claim or ticket in 33 years.state farm must really need the money.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 25, 2017

Having the same problem with them. 20+ years, no claims and rates have been going through the roof this past year. Shopping around for another company.

 
May 22, 2017
Full coverage
Anonymous Policyholder

I have full coverage on my van. They call me if new discounts are available, to check up on my policy to see if any updates are needed to be made. 

more ...
Mar 24, 2017
Auto
Anonymous Policyholder

That State Farm will not be their for you if you need them.

more ...
Feb 24, 2017
8 years of getting Terrible service
Anonymous Policyholder

They Used to be a very good company to have.

    Now they are a Nightmare and Headache's

        Now I have to get a good attorney and a new insurance company.

            I don't think that costomer service can get any worse than it is now.

more ...
Jan 30, 2017
Horrible 3 car coverage 10 years
houston1988 Policyholder

Had full coverage on Cadillac cts v paying 165 a month. First ever accident that only damaged my vehicle. It has been 1 year and 3 months state Farm did cover the first bill but the second bill because it still had broken parts they do not want to cover even after my dealership said this was 100% from the accident it has been the worst experience I urge anyone and everyone to find a new company statefarm will not pay up when they need to....

more ...
Jan 27, 2017
State Farm Defends Insurance Fraud
Anonymous Policyholder

I have been with State Farm for over 20 years.  Two years ago I was involved in an accident where the other driver was found at fault as he backed out of his driveway onto the road in front of me.  Then he filed a lawsuit against me in which he made up a part of the accident that didn't happen, and claimed he was injured in it.  After the accident he was posting pictures on Facebook of himself lifting weights and vacationing when he was supposed to be injured.  I just got an update and instead of State Farm doing the right thing and fighting it they are trying to settle with him.  I am leaving State Farm as soon as I can get new insurance, and I am asking those who want to stand up to insurance fraud to do the same.  This is why people continue to milk the system, because insurance companies keep letting it happen instead of trying to shut these people down.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 02, 2017

To be fair, the guy probably has an attorney working on contingency and if State Farm deems that a settlement amount can be reached at a lower cost than litigation, it's probably in their best interest do accept. It's not the insurance agencies that are the issue here it's the lack of accountability the plaintiff bears in court. While courts may find in favor of the defendant in cases like this, it's pretty rare that the plaintiff bears the brunt of making the insurance company whole for it's legal expenditures.

 
Jan 07, 2017
State Farm is awful!
Anonymous Policyholder

We have State Farm insurance.  We have had them for 24 years.  During that time we have had 3 at fault accidents.  All very minor.....all with no damage to our own vehicles but around $1500 to $2000 damage to the other vehicles.  All 3 accidents happened with a 3 year time frame.  2 in 2013 and 1 in 2016.  They are not renewing our policy when it comes up for renewal in March of 2017.  In their letter their reasoning was these 3 accidents...all by different people in our family...none resulted in tickets..........no one in our family has ever had a ticket......and there were no bodily injuries in any of the accidents.  One of them my daughter backed into a car in the parking lot of a store and actually went into the store to have the person paged so she could talk to them.  She did the right thing.  24 years....3 accidents and now they won't renew.  I just think that is extreme.  But sometimes these things happen for a reason....so Im shopping around hoping to find a better company!

more ...
Dec 20, 2016
State Farm doesn't mind insurance fraud
Anonymous Policyholder

I had State Farm for over 9 years and not an issue till I had an issue. I was in a bad wreck situation of where no one could prove fault but I made State Farm aware of the drivers being under the influence and running from the scene of the accident, the other person disappeared off the face of the earth. I made them aware that the driver that disappeared had his girl friend show up and pretend she was driving. This is even stated by another witness and State Farm didn't pay attention to me at all and I am on the verge of being sued in civil court as the picked my policy with liability even though I own two other vehicles under full coverage. Then they almost let me go to jail because they wouldn't provide the statement saying the paid one of the other drivers, we have to prove this to the state that we live in. Absolutely the morst horrible experience ever! 

more ...
Dec 05, 2016
Not a "Good Neighbor"
Xgayles Policyholder

I have been a loyal State Farm Customer for 20+ Years, with policies for my home, life (child and mom), hospitalization and multiple automobile policies with them over the years and today I received a letter stating that my automobile policies will not be renewed. State farm lists my one auto insurance claim (2016), 3 towing claims (2014 & 2015) and my sister's accident (2016) where my sister was the victim in a horrific hit and run claim (my sister is also insured through State Farm under a totally separate and unrelated policy of her own because of my recommendation) as factors in their decision to cancel my policy. I am ****ed! I am able to obtain new policies for 5 of 6 of the policies I currently have with State Farm and will be switching immediately, and encourage anyone whom I might have referred to State Farm to do the same! Not a good neighbor!

  •  

more ...
Dec 04, 2016
Pathetic service
Anonymous Policyholder

II had been in an accident for two weeks they haven't given me the claim number yet. I called them continuously every day  and leave messages but nobody calls me back. How busy these guys there that they don't help or answer calls .

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this policy overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this policy?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations