Auto Insurance Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

State Farm® Auto Insurance

1.8 out of 5 stars
25 Reviews

From Policyholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2 5

Compare Auto Insurance Offers

View your top Auto Insurance recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Dec 01, 2016
Love it!!!
Anonymous Policyholder

I have had State Farm for over 20 years. I have always had great service. Even when I moved from 1 state to another and had to transfer my policy. I still get periodic emails from the old office asking how me and my kids are. Never had any issues with claims. Will never leave.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 02, 2016
medical
Anonymous Policyholder

After being rear ended by an idiot driver, i sustained a concussion which affected my memory for  months. I had severe headaches for months. I had a severe flexion extension injury and have been living in pain going on month four. My wrists were somehow damaged probably from jamming my wrists on the steering wheel. Although the x rays don't show bone damage, I have been dealing with severe pain and tingling in my hands ever since the accident. State Farm hasn't paid my chiropractic bills since December. When my lawyer called, they said they were confused and that they were all paid up! Seriously?!?! Then we get a letter from them saying they are investigating and reviewing my case to see if they are willing to pay for it. Seriously? I will never own a state farm policy again! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former policyholders in the last year.

Dec 01, 2016
Love it!!!
Anonymous Policyholder

I have had State Farm for over 20 years. I have always had great service. Even when I moved from 1 state to another and had to transfer my policy. I still get periodic emails from the old office asking how me and my kids are. Never had any issues with claims. Will never leave.

more ...
Nov 23, 2016
Auto and homeowners bundled
anomous Policyholder

I have been with state farm for over 30 years.  They have treated me well with several claims.  I will suggest to anyone to get the AARP drivers course every 3 years.  This will reduce your insurance rates by 10%.  State farm is a relatively good company, however, the agent has never sent me a Xmas card or birthday card.  That is poor loyatly from the agent.  I have checked other rates over the years and have not been able to do much better.  This is mainly due to my grandfathered deductibles.  In fact, no carrier will give me the lower deductible that state farm will.  

more ...
Nov 03, 2016
Bait and switch
Anonymous Policyholder

I signed up for state farm with a monthly rate of $78 per month for 6 months paid the first month and set up autopay month 2 autopay pulled $95 they provided no notice or explication of rate change prior to taking the 2nd payment no accidents or tickets on my record in over 10 years very disappointed with this company

more ...
Nov 01, 2016
Good! No problems.
Anonymous Policyholder

I have had no trouble with State Farm at this time. I have had no accidents yet either (knock on wood) so I can't say too much on how they assisted me with an accident. But, I can not complain at this time.

more ...
Oct 28, 2016
Did a great job.
Anonymous Policyholder

Had an accident and they let me decide if I wanted the car totaled or to fix it.  They were looking out for me.

more ...
Oct 25, 2016
No Respect for Customers
Anonymous Policyholder

I was with StateFarm from 2 years and never field any claim but they still increased my premium. When I called Agent he was rude and reason he said was: since gas prices are low other customers used their cars more and field many claims(stupid reason. thinking customers are fools). XXXX was very rude and asked me to either take renter's insurance to get discount or move out to other insurance company. XXXX said he is the boss so I just have listen to him(Renters insurance sale) but not ask any question. 

more ...
Oct 11, 2016
Heartless Bean-Counters
Broo2 Policyholder

StateFarm will gladly take your money for any kind of insurance you would like with no questions asked- unless you have an accident and the underwriters decide to non-renew your policy- and not bother to call you to let you know your insuracene had lapsed.  If you want to waste money and expect them to squirm out of paying claims, this is the place for you!  :)

more ...
Sep 05, 2016
20 years no loyalty
Anonymous Policyholder

As long as you have good credit and no claims you will be ok

more ...
Aug 18, 2016
What every one is saying is true,
needykme Policyholder

I signed up for state farm, after being constantly called by a local office from one of their agents. I stayed away from the "really good" insurance companies for 2 reasons for the past 3 or 4 yrs, 1. my credit tanked, 2. I had quite a few moving violations on my record.  Needless to say when they finally offered me a decent rate, after calling me periodically, i signed up for their full coverage for aroun 160. The sales person even included renters.  About 3 weeks into the policy I got a statement for my next month's bill showing that I owed 295 due to Policy adjustments!!!! My credit was decent, but since i had 2 moving violations still on my record from almost 3 yrs ago, my rates were increased.  I would think that  a company this large has the resources/ capacity to take the potential policy holder through the full underwriting process before jacking up the price! It is very misleading to quote me a price, take my money, and then send me a bill for double the next month.  Needless to say, I gladly cancelled.

more ...
Aug 01, 2016
Cheated and Lied to
Anonymous Policyholder

I would give it 0 stars but that does not exist, so giving 1 star. The agent Becky O'Dwyer gave me a quote for auto insurance of $993 for 6 months which seemed reasonable because this was my 1st car in the US and did not had auto insurance before this. However after 3 payments my premium was changed to $2000 for 6 months reason being they did not have my foreign license. I shared the licencee and kept calling their office for a month and was told to wait and no resolution was provided until made the payment of $1000 as my 4th month premium. After that I insisted on taking to manager and when I did the manager accepted that I was misquoted initially however this is the premium I have to pay now to be continued to be covered. She said all she could do is apologize on behalf of the agent and that all. Pay the amount or leave. The sad thing I also their Renters insurance for I year before i approached them for Auto insurance. I wish I would have taken my friends advice and stayed clear of statefarm which I will now for my entire life.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this policy overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this policy?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations