State Farm® Auto Insurance Reviews

1.7 out of 5 stars
21 Reviews

From Policyholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5

Compare Auto Insurance Offers

View your top Auto Insurance recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Dec 01, 2016
Great service
Anonymous Policyholder

Have State Farm for 7 years now and never had a problem. If I have any questions they are nice about answering them and explaining any issues ahead of time. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 27, 2017
State Farm Defends Insurance Fraud
Anonymous Policyholder

I have been with State Farm for over 20 years.  Two years ago I was involved in an accident where the other driver was found at fault as he backed out of his driveway onto the road in front of me.  Then he filed a lawsuit against me in which he made up a part of the accident that didn't happen, and claimed he was injured in it.  After the accident he was posting pictures on Facebook of himself lifting weights and vacationing when he was supposed to be injured.  I just got an update and instead of State Farm doing the right thing and fighting it they are trying to settle with him.  I am leaving State Farm as soon as I can get new insurance, and I am asking those who want to stand up to insurance fraud to do the same.  This is why people continue to milk the system, because insurance companies keep letting it happen instead of trying to shut these people down.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former policyholders in the last year.

Nov 11, 2017
Renter Insurance
notamused7852 Policyholder

If you take out a rental insurance with State Farm don't tell you have $500 deductible. There agent make everything sound so little. Had a break end tv and blue-ray DVD was stolen . Told me it didnt meet the $500 deductible. I will canceling all of my state farm policies Monday.

more ...
Nov 10, 2017
Claims Not Paid as Fair Market Value
Anonymous Policyholder

3 months ago, I was in an accident. Car was a total loss.  I had lots of documentation to show local values for my car.  They would only pay out based off an appraisal they hired to have done. The appraisal used 2 comps of cars that weren't even the same car and had inaccurate details.  The appraiser had the mileage wrong by 200,000 miles on one car. I was expecting a reasonable solution.  They clearly will not pay out what should be paid.  But have no issue raising your rates with very little notice often.

I would suggest finding another company.  Customer service was good until you file a claim.

more ...
Oct 27, 2017
Chaos. Pure chaos.
Anonymous Policyholder

I used two different offices, and had similar problems with autopay. The offices would charge me for renter's insurance, which I don't need, and not my car insurance. Then, when they discovered the error on their end, they would charge multiple months at once, or just charge at random. They never had consistent monthly charges. Then, recently they just decided to stop my autopay without alerting me. They then said I owed three months, and laughed at me on the phone, saying I should have noticed that I was missing three months pay. Well... I wasn't. It was only mid one month, and they didn't charge the previous month. They tried to double charge the third month. I had record that I had paid, and they, again, were extremely rude. Also, the current month and the ONE month they didn't charge (not multiple months), cost me over $300. I have an old car. I was in one, no-fault accident with an elk. My current insurance company charges me $90 per month. Also, each month's charges were random. $160 here, $170 there, $161... I never knew what my actual bills were, and I had many emails from them saying my premiums were changing to this or that, basically weekly. After that, they said to keep my insurance, I would have to pay over a thousand dollars at once, to have a new downpayment on insurance I have had for over a year, and could not have this added to a payment plan. Also, by their own words, the ammount they wanted was higher than my actual premium, so I had no idea what the bill was, or how it related to the constantly changing premiums. When I said I was confused, they said that they had already explained it and to just pay it. So, I left the company. But, when I left, I asked for confirmation, as they have had autopay and therefore access to my account, and I wanted some evidence that I was leaving and would not be charged further. A man named Joe laughed at me, again, and said that they didn't do anything like that. So, I said he needed to send me something to confirm that the insurnace was cancelled, and he sent an all-lower-case email that said it was cancelled. Nothing official. No official heading or anything on the email. 
I don't know why the costs were over twice as high as everywhere else, or why any of this happened. I don't know why they missed a month of autopay and tried to charge three months. I don't know why any of this happened. But, I would NEVER suggest State Farm to anyone. 

more ...
Oct 07, 2017
Invonvience.
Jgar123 Policyholder

The agency I had never called me back and if they did they had to have someone else "call me back" which they never did, this happened at least 5 times until someone actually could help me and told me they raised my rates because of the state. Although I was told the previous month my premium would be lower and just that month would be $320 then after that it would be way lower, I was getting billed $384. Every 6 months I was getting my rates raised and that's alright I understand the process but just don't appreciate getting lied to. I hate this company and never going back, I want to let everyone know my experience so they won't go through this invonvience. I cancelled Sept 13th and been trying to get in contact with this agency yet they can't call me back to see where my insurance premium refund is they just sent a note saying they don't take care of that. Cameron Nelson is the agency I had. Worst insurance experience in my life, really expected more from a big company like State Farm.

more ...
Sep 22, 2017
Home and Auto
Anonymous Policyholder

They don't cover mold of if a pipe breaks under your foundation. On top of that they never called us back after many messages left for our agent. I had to message the company on social media to get a response. We pay over $500 a month Auto draft and can't get a call back? Insurance is a scam by the government and big business, If I put money in an account for my cars and home unless something major happened I'd be covered. We'd had them for 7 years and will not be renewing. Bad customer care, unusable insurance, money wasted.

more ...
Aug 21, 2017
Do not know what they are doing.
Anonymous Policyholder

After two weeks' of purchasing their policy, the policy is still pending, and I still keep receiving mail and email asking me to provide additional information, from their different local agent. So I was tired, cancled their policy and purchased from another insurance company. Then I received my new insruance card within five days. 

more ...
Aug 17, 2017
Terrible
Anonymous Policyholder

Terrible

more ...
Aug 17, 2017
All ads, none true.
Anonymous Policyholder

Bone up on what auto insurances really cover and what they don't. You will not get any info from State Farm. I was rear ended, was treated much better buy the other guy's agency than State Farm.  Isn't being rear ended a pretty obvious at fault kind of accident?  I was a professional driver and I have a pristine driving record.  They should have been paying me!

more ...
Jul 03, 2017
ongoing policy increases
goodboygnbad Policyholder

i have been with state farm for 33 years and this past year 2017 has seen many rate increases almost on a monthly basis.from176.00 per month to 268.00 per month.state farm keeps telling me its because of bad drivers.i have not had a claim or ticket in 33 years.state farm must really need the money.

more ...
Jul 25, 2017

Having the same problem with them. 20+ years, no claims and rates have been going through the roof this past year. Shopping around for another company.

 
Oct 07, 2017

They raised my rates every 6 months. Went from $220 to $384 when I decided to finally cancel all within a year claiming it was because of all that's going on in Texas. I was told it would be $320 in August and that's when they lied to me and raised it to $384.

 
May 22, 2017
Full coverage
Anonymous Policyholder

I have full coverage on my van. They call me if new discounts are available, to check up on my policy to see if any updates are needed to be made. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this policy overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this policy?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations