State Farm® Auto Insurance Reviews

2.0 out of 5 stars
21 Reviews

From Policyholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2 5

Compare Auto Insurance Offers

View your top Auto Insurance recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Dec 01, 2016
Great service
Anonymous Policyholder

Have State Farm for 7 years now and never had a problem. If I have any questions they are nice about answering them and explaining any issues ahead of time. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 24, 2017
Auto
Anonymous Policyholder

That State Farm will not be their for you if you need them.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former policyholders in the last year.

Aug 21, 2017
Do not know what they are doing.
Anonymous Policyholder

After two weeks' of purchasing their policy, the policy is still pending, and I still keep receiving mail and email asking me to provide additional information, from their different local agent. So I was tired, cancled their policy and purchased from another insurance company. Then I received my new insruance card within five days. 

more ...
Aug 17, 2017
Terrible
Anonymous Policyholder

Terrible

more ...
Aug 17, 2017
All ads, none true.
Anonymous Policyholder

Bone up on what auto insurances really cover and what they don't. You will not get any info from State Farm. I was rear ended, was treated much better buy the other guy's agency than State Farm.  Isn't being rear ended a pretty obvious at fault kind of accident?  I was a professional driver and I have a pristine driving record.  They should have been paying me!

more ...
Jul 03, 2017
ongoing policy increases
goodboygnbad Policyholder

i have been with state farm for 33 years and this past year 2017 has seen many rate increases almost on a monthly basis.from176.00 per month to 268.00 per month.state farm keeps telling me its because of bad drivers.i have not had a claim or ticket in 33 years.state farm must really need the money.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 25, 2017

Having the same problem with them. 20+ years, no claims and rates have been going through the roof this past year. Shopping around for another company.

 
May 22, 2017
Full coverage
Anonymous Policyholder

I have full coverage on my van. They call me if new discounts are available, to check up on my policy to see if any updates are needed to be made. 

more ...
Mar 24, 2017
Auto
Anonymous Policyholder

That State Farm will not be their for you if you need them.

more ...
Feb 24, 2017
8 years of getting Terrible service
Anonymous Policyholder

They Used to be a very good company to have.

    Now they are a Nightmare and Headache's

        Now I have to get a good attorney and a new insurance company.

            I don't think that costomer service can get any worse than it is now.

more ...
Jan 30, 2017
Horrible 3 car coverage 10 years
houston1988 Policyholder

Had full coverage on Cadillac cts v paying 165 a month. First ever accident that only damaged my vehicle. It has been 1 year and 3 months state Farm did cover the first bill but the second bill because it still had broken parts they do not want to cover even after my dealership said this was 100% from the accident it has been the worst experience I urge anyone and everyone to find a new company statefarm will not pay up when they need to....

more ...
Jan 27, 2017
State Farm Defends Insurance Fraud
Anonymous Policyholder

I have been with State Farm for over 20 years.  Two years ago I was involved in an accident where the other driver was found at fault as he backed out of his driveway onto the road in front of me.  Then he filed a lawsuit against me in which he made up a part of the accident that didn't happen, and claimed he was injured in it.  After the accident he was posting pictures on Facebook of himself lifting weights and vacationing when he was supposed to be injured.  I just got an update and instead of State Farm doing the right thing and fighting it they are trying to settle with him.  I am leaving State Farm as soon as I can get new insurance, and I am asking those who want to stand up to insurance fraud to do the same.  This is why people continue to milk the system, because insurance companies keep letting it happen instead of trying to shut these people down.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 02, 2017

To be fair, the guy probably has an attorney working on contingency and if State Farm deems that a settlement amount can be reached at a lower cost than litigation, it's probably in their best interest do accept. It's not the insurance agencies that are the issue here it's the lack of accountability the plaintiff bears in court. While courts may find in favor of the defendant in cases like this, it's pretty rare that the plaintiff bears the brunt of making the insurance company whole for it's legal expenditures.

 
Jan 07, 2017
State Farm is awful!
Anonymous Policyholder

We have State Farm insurance.  We have had them for 24 years.  During that time we have had 3 at fault accidents.  All very minor.....all with no damage to our own vehicles but around $1500 to $2000 damage to the other vehicles.  All 3 accidents happened with a 3 year time frame.  2 in 2013 and 1 in 2016.  They are not renewing our policy when it comes up for renewal in March of 2017.  In their letter their reasoning was these 3 accidents...all by different people in our family...none resulted in tickets..........no one in our family has ever had a ticket......and there were no bodily injuries in any of the accidents.  One of them my daughter backed into a car in the parking lot of a store and actually went into the store to have the person paged so she could talk to them.  She did the right thing.  24 years....3 accidents and now they won't renew.  I just think that is extreme.  But sometimes these things happen for a reason....so Im shopping around hoping to find a better company!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this policy overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this policy?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations