Auto Insurance Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Safeco Insurance™

2.1 out of 5 stars
12 Reviews

From Policyholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2 5

Compare Auto Insurance Offers

View your top Auto Insurance recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 13, 2016
Great policies, easy to deal with.
Anonymous Policyholder

I have had Safeco for quite some time now and have never had an issue. Great coverage, at a great price. I think in some of the negative reviews the issue was with an independent agent and not the company. Just be careful when choosing your agent, other than that the company has been great!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 22, 2016
rates rise regardless
Anonymous Policyholder

We've had Safeco for 10 years for our auto, home,  rental property, and umbrella. Finally getting around to switching companies. We've never filed a claim on any of the policies so I can't speak to their claims resolution. However, with the auto, when we moved to a new home the price went up because "we were moving to an area with a higher accident rate". When we moved back to our original home 6 months later, the price went up again (should've gone down right?) When we got rid of one of our two vehicles, the price went up again - and I'm not talking the per vehicle price due to a multi-car discount, I'm talking the total price of our auto insurance went up.  My husband's feeling is that any chance they have to make a change to your policy gives them the chance to requote it and raise your rate. Thru all this, no accidents, tickets, or claims filed. The agent was not willing to talk to Safeco about it. Just said she'd tried to talk to them in the past and they were unresponsive - even to their agents! I just got a quote back from Travelers and it's $340 less per year. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former policyholders in the last year.

Oct 26, 2016
One start because zero isn't an option!
BrittanyDannielle Policyholder

This post is to make you aware of the type of customer service you'll recieve with SAFECO INSURANCE....
The events below are after "The Great Flood" of 2016 in Louisiana. Being told TWICE a vehicle is a total loss and yet we are still fighting.
This post is a a bit long but I felt like sharing details would make it a little more understandable what we're dealing with. This is not just hear say information (everything is documented)

8/19/16- Called into insurance company because check engine light came on. Was told to bring it by a shop. In which this process was delayed due to helping others, working with the flood and shops were absolutely busy with flooded vehicles.
Aug-Sept.2016 The truck started to have electrical issues and was now at a point that seemed to be unsafe to drive. The lights began to flicker along with several other issues.
9/30/16 Truck was taking to a local shop whom contacted Michael at Safeco. Michael at Safeco contacted my husband and told him to quit driving the truck immediately. He was told to get his belongings out of the truck including truck paperwork, take the plate off the truck, and start shopping for another truck.That the truck would be towed to Copart and we would receive a call from the adjuster with what they are going to give for the truck. He set up for my husband to pick up a rental.
10/01/16- Rental truck picked up
10/07/16- Truck was picked up and towed to Copart
10/10/16- Adjuster looked at the truck and my husband received a call from Micheal with Safeco stating that another adjuster was going to inspect the truck on 10/14/16 and he would receive a call by 2p.m. that day.
10/14/16- My husband received a call from Ali (adjuster for Safeco) stating “When I arrived to take a look at your truck there was a worker sitting in it because the air works”, she also stated “I couldn’t find any water lines and the filters were dry so your truck will need to go to another shop to be diagnosed. Let me know when you know where you want the truck sent”
10/17/16- Truck was towed to All Star in Denham Springs. My husband was contacted because they had no clue why his truck was there. My husband explained to them about what was going on and gave them Ali the adjusters information.
10/20/16- All Star still had not heard from anyone at Safeco insurance. Our insurance agent (who is not employed by Safeco) called and told All Star what was going on. My husband was told it would be the middle of the next week before it could be looked at. In email requesting rental services be extended Ali stated “the truck is drivable. He could be driving it while waiting on the shop to be able to see it. I found no evidence of water intrusion to this vehicle.”. Remember this is AFTER a shop found electrical issues AND a Safeco employee told us it was going to be totalled!
10/20/16- My husband returned the rental and picked up his truck from All Star. At our surprise his truck was being used more than just as a seat in the air. His truck condition was woefully inadequate! The truck now has additional damages as well as was used as storage for other vehicle parts (bumper, lights and other parts that we aren’t sure of what they are). We took pictures and a video before we left All Star.
10/21/16- My husband spoke with Micheal (1st Safeco adjuster) who stated that it was totally unacceptable for the truck to be driven until it has been reevaluated and sent in for a rental extension.
10/24/16- My husband returned his truck to All Star and picked up another rental.
10/25/16- All Star called/email and stated “The unit that was brought to us has a water mark halfway up the door, we do not accept vehicles that got water that high, due to the amount of electrical problems this causes. If any questions, feel free to call, thanks”
10/26/16- We are NOW being told that Safeco is now requesting the truck have diagnostic testing.

It has been 26 days and we have now been told not once but TWICE that the truck is a total loss and YET SAFECO is requesting MORE!!! My husband’s job requires that he be able to pull a trailer (which the rental will not cover) so not only has this been a huge headache but a burden also. We have contacted the Insurance Commissioner and Safeco hasn’t replied to them yet either but they still have five business days.
Save yourself the headache and pay a little more if required but take my advice and DON’T buy insurance with SAFECO!

more ...
Oct 14, 2016
Automotive
Anonymous Policyholder

Good luck with a claim. Agent doesn't return calls nor emails. Over 1 month waiting period for authorization for claim repair. Completely unprofessional.

more ...
Oct 13, 2016
Great policies, easy to deal with.
Anonymous Policyholder

I have had Safeco for quite some time now and have never had an issue. Great coverage, at a great price. I think in some of the negative reviews the issue was with an independent agent and not the company. Just be careful when choosing your agent, other than that the company has been great!

more ...
Aug 17, 2016
I am deeply disappointed
Anonymous Policyholder

This company is not capable of resolving any issue professionally. After an accident that was their client's fault they're trying to take our Cadillac. My husband has invested a fortune in that car and it was in terrific shape so no wonder they want to get a hold of its parts.

more ...
Aug 07, 2016
Worst insurance company ever
Anonymous Policyholder

Just like the title said it's just the worst insurance company ever in the history of insurance industry considering that I came from a country so called "a 3rd world country" .

they simply accepted 100% liability on the accident without getting back to me 1st it took 2 months to process the claim and refusing to pay me for all the parts I bought for my bike, so rude customer service like you will never experience again anywhere 

DO NOT GET INSURANCE WITH THEM THEY WILL SCREW YOU.

more ...
Jul 07, 2016
Had Safeco for years
Anonymous Policyholder

Were worse before they became part of liberty mutual but no issues either way. I had 2 claims. One auto and one on the hail on the house. No problems at all. They were amazing to work with. Made it easy for me. I think it is because my agent was great. When people say they dont get calls back shouldt your agent be the one calling? Mine did.

more ...
Jun 09, 2016
Worst Business Ever Worked With
Anonymous Policyholder

This is by far the worst customer service experience I have ever had!

1. We are active duty Army and moved across the country because of re-stationment. I called to change the address of residency for out auto policy and renter's insurance prior to our move, to our new residency. Come to find out the idiot who I changed the address with "accidentally" cancelled our policy. So the entire drive across country, we were uninsured. When we arrived at our new place I called to get the renter's insurance proof of coverage emailed over. Come to find out they messed it up and didn't have it for the correct address because they "couldn't find the address" (because it was a new apartment building built within the complex). So upon arrival from our drive across the entire country we had to sit in the rental office for an HOUR getting this squared away before we could officially sign our lease!!!!! All because of ANOTHER ERROR ON THEIR PART!!!!

2. When we cancelled they told us we would be able to set up a payment arrangement with them to take care of the final balance. Well, they sent us a final bill which we did not receive in the mail until after the due date, since they sent it to OUR OLD ADDRESS in Oregon, even though we'd changed our address with them. Upon receipt I called and explained to them. Sure enough a week later I receive a letter in the mail from their legal team. Ridiculous because again it WAS THEIR ERROR!!!!!!

3. I set up a payment arrangement with the legal team for three payments to come out of my checking account. First payment came out no problem, second payment came out no problem; yet I get a call from the legal team saying the second payment bounced (NSF). Well I call Safeco and they tell me that the payment came through and posted and gave the date of post and everything. Some fishy crap going on here! Not only that the law office threatened to put a warrant out for my arrest, but to sue me, EVEN AFTER EXPLAINING THE MAILING ISSUES!!!!

more ...
Mar 09, 2016
huge headache during claims
Anonymous Policyholder

You pay for what you get. I've never had a claim before and had to use my home insurance for the first time. They are beyond horrible. Anticipate a massive headache and doing all the work!!! I've had daily correspondences with my adjuster. Who has time for that along with work and taking care of children! Oh and you'll be lucky if you get an adjuster in the same time zone!!

more ...
Jan 22, 2016
rates rise regardless
Anonymous Policyholder

We've had Safeco for 10 years for our auto, home,  rental property, and umbrella. Finally getting around to switching companies. We've never filed a claim on any of the policies so I can't speak to their claims resolution. However, with the auto, when we moved to a new home the price went up because "we were moving to an area with a higher accident rate". When we moved back to our original home 6 months later, the price went up again (should've gone down right?) When we got rid of one of our two vehicles, the price went up again - and I'm not talking the per vehicle price due to a multi-car discount, I'm talking the total price of our auto insurance went up.  My husband's feeling is that any chance they have to make a change to your policy gives them the chance to requote it and raise your rate. Thru all this, no accidents, tickets, or claims filed. The agent was not willing to talk to Safeco about it. Just said she'd tried to talk to them in the past and they were unresponsive - even to their agents! I just got a quote back from Travelers and it's $340 less per year. 

more ...
Jan 20, 2016
Rates keep rising, now $600 more per yr
Anonymous Policyholder

I have had Safeco for 3 years, and each year rates go up yet no accidents, no tickets. Policy for 3 cars driven by my wife and I is now $600 more per year than quote just obtained from The Hartford Insurance. Same exact coverage, and they have better reviews. Switching.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this policy overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this policy?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations