Safeco Insurance™ Reviews

1.6 out of 5 stars
8 Reviews

From Policyholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

1.5 5

Compare Auto Insurance Offers

View your top Auto Insurance recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former policyholders in the last year.

Jul 07, 2017
Worst insurance ever. 0 star if I could.
Anonymous Policyholder

Worst insurance ever! We took a vehicle off our policy due to being total & they still kept taking money out of our bank account for that vehicle. When I called and asked what's going on they said they would credit it to the next bill but never did and just kept taking our money. 

more ...
Mar 04, 2017
Scams!
Anonymous Policyholder

First off in the a years I was with them my premium went from 199 to 316!! So I changed companies. When I called I stopped auto withdrawn because my renewal came up in March. I called at the 1st of last month to stop withdrawal because of the switch. Well today I was checking my account that took 319 out of my bank!!! Overdrafted my account and out car payment or utilities haven't came thru. We'll be 1000a in the negative and by the time it's paid it will all start over again. Safeco is crooked. Stay far away!

more ...
Jan 31, 2017
Offers no real coverage of you for a cla
Anonymous Policyholder

After I was rear ended and the other party was found 100% at fault I had to work my my insurance company (Safeco) because the liable person was under insured. I called my Safeco adjuster every day for three weeks and he never answered my call. After escalating the issue they assigned a different adjuster to the claim and it took another two weeks to send out an adjuster .... So it took 5 weeks to even get someone to look at the vehicle. I also had physical injuries and they called me to intimate me about how difficult it would be to collect on my medical expenses that I paid out of pocket. To make a long story short, do not do business with this company! You aren't buying insurance. You have been warned.

more ...
Jan 23, 2017
Rate increases every year
Anonymous Policyholder

Low enough auto rates when you first sign up, then they increase their rates every year despite my good driving record. I will be going with another company. 

more ...
Dec 09, 2016
Auto/Rent
Anonymous Policyholder

STAY AWAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! They took 400.00 out of my account within 7 days. I had moved from Oklahoma to MO and my policy went from 193 to 225. Clean record. When I first started with safeco they started me at 78.00 a month by the end I was paying 225.00. After two years! I had canceled my account on the 6th of Dec. by Dec. 8 they took out 225.00 again then told me it would be 14 days until I received my money back!! Before that they had taken out 193 from my old policy before the move on Nov. 28. That totaled 400 in one week that they robbed out of my bank. DO NOT GO WITH SAFECO!!!!!

more ...
Oct 26, 2016
One start because zero isn't an option!
BrittanyDannielle Policyholder

This post is to make you aware of the type of customer service you'll recieve with SAFECO INSURANCE....
The events below are after "The Great Flood" of 2016 in Louisiana. Being told TWICE a vehicle is a total loss and yet we are still fighting.
This post is a a bit long but I felt like sharing details would make it a little more understandable what we're dealing with. This is not just hear say information (everything is documented)

8/19/16- Called into insurance company because check engine light came on. Was told to bring it by a shop. In which this process was delayed due to helping others, working with the flood and shops were absolutely busy with flooded vehicles.
Aug-Sept.2016 The truck started to have electrical issues and was now at a point that seemed to be unsafe to drive. The lights began to flicker along with several other issues.
9/30/16 Truck was taking to a local shop whom contacted Michael at Safeco. Michael at Safeco contacted my husband and told him to quit driving the truck immediately. He was told to get his belongings out of the truck including truck paperwork, take the plate off the truck, and start shopping for another truck.That the truck would be towed to Copart and we would receive a call from the adjuster with what they are going to give for the truck. He set up for my husband to pick up a rental.
10/01/16- Rental truck picked up
10/07/16- Truck was picked up and towed to Copart
10/10/16- Adjuster looked at the truck and my husband received a call from Micheal with Safeco stating that another adjuster was going to inspect the truck on 10/14/16 and he would receive a call by 2p.m. that day.
10/14/16- My husband received a call from Ali (adjuster for Safeco) stating “When I arrived to take a look at your truck there was a worker sitting in it because the air works”, she also stated “I couldn’t find any water lines and the filters were dry so your truck will need to go to another shop to be diagnosed. Let me know when you know where you want the truck sent”
10/17/16- Truck was towed to All Star in Denham Springs. My husband was contacted because they had no clue why his truck was there. My husband explained to them about what was going on and gave them Ali the adjusters information.
10/20/16- All Star still had not heard from anyone at Safeco insurance. Our insurance agent (who is not employed by Safeco) called and told All Star what was going on. My husband was told it would be the middle of the next week before it could be looked at. In email requesting rental services be extended Ali stated “the truck is drivable. He could be driving it while waiting on the shop to be able to see it. I found no evidence of water intrusion to this vehicle.”. Remember this is AFTER a shop found electrical issues AND a Safeco employee told us it was going to be totalled!
10/20/16- My husband returned the rental and picked up his truck from All Star. At our surprise his truck was being used more than just as a seat in the air. His truck condition was woefully inadequate! The truck now has additional damages as well as was used as storage for other vehicle parts (bumper, lights and other parts that we aren’t sure of what they are). We took pictures and a video before we left All Star.
10/21/16- My husband spoke with Micheal (1st Safeco adjuster) who stated that it was totally unacceptable for the truck to be driven until it has been reevaluated and sent in for a rental extension.
10/24/16- My husband returned his truck to All Star and picked up another rental.
10/25/16- All Star called/email and stated “The unit that was brought to us has a water mark halfway up the door, we do not accept vehicles that got water that high, due to the amount of electrical problems this causes. If any questions, feel free to call, thanks”
10/26/16- We are NOW being told that Safeco is now requesting the truck have diagnostic testing.

It has been 26 days and we have now been told not once but TWICE that the truck is a total loss and YET SAFECO is requesting MORE!!! My husband’s job requires that he be able to pull a trailer (which the rental will not cover) so not only has this been a huge headache but a burden also. We have contacted the Insurance Commissioner and Safeco hasn’t replied to them yet either but they still have five business days.
Save yourself the headache and pay a little more if required but take my advice and DON’T buy insurance with SAFECO!

more ...
Oct 14, 2016
Automotive
Anonymous Policyholder

Good luck with a claim. Agent doesn't return calls nor emails. Over 1 month waiting period for authorization for claim repair. Completely unprofessional.

more ...
Oct 13, 2016
Great policies, easy to deal with.
Anonymous Policyholder

I have had Safeco for quite some time now and have never had an issue. Great coverage, at a great price. I think in some of the negative reviews the issue was with an independent agent and not the company. Just be careful when choosing your agent, other than that the company has been great!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this policy overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this policy?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations