Auto Insurance Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Progressive®

1.9 out of 5 stars
30 Reviews

From Policyholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2 5

Compare Auto Insurance Offers

View your top Auto Insurance recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Dec 10, 2016
drb9965 Policyholder

Great service; easy to use website

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jul 13, 2016
Rude and Inconsiderate agents, very infl
Anonymous Policyholder

The Chat agents as well as Customer Care agents are extremely rude and inconsiderate.

I was on a payment plan and half way through, due to change in my address, the policy amount was increased. As a result the entire increased amount was added to the last bill. since the amount was too much, I asked if they can add one more bill and split the last payment. I would still have been i the policy period and it would have worked out fine. But the agent refused to do so. On top of that, rigidly said its not doable. Its a small request I made and fairly simple to implement, I dont see any reason why the agent had to be rude.

Highly disappointed with Progressive. Their immediate response to any exception scenario is that customer can cancel the policy. This is no response!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former policyholders in the last year.

Feb 12, 2017
They report false info on your credit
Anonymous Policyholder

This company failed to cancel my insurance when requested and continued to charge me. THEN placed it on my credit report within 2 months of the time they finally canceled it. I am STILL waiting for a response to the dispute from the credit bureaus.  THIS is the only insurance company I've heard of that reports to your credit bureau. Too bad they don't report positive credit also.

more ...
Feb 06, 2017
Aweful
Anonymous Policyholder

I had my vehicle stolen nearly 3 months progressive is still "investigating". One representative asks for a document then another contacts me asking for that same thing I already turned in 3weeks ago. On top on that I was in a wreck a week ago. I was a 3500 damage and for that they totaled my 09 journey. They gave me 2200 because I wanted to fix it. Literally a day later I had to return the rental. FULL COVERAGE!!!? I was done after that I got the car I bought and my journey and started looking elsewhere. But I still have to pay for the truck cas that has yet to be resolved. Go elsewhere!

more ...
Feb 03, 2017
Unethical Ripoff
Anonymous Policyholder

The company is a gang of bandits. When we enrolled the first time they could not get our payment information correctly into their system and cancelled our policy as a result without so much as contacting us first. That should have been an early warning. After I called and straightened them up they reinstated the policy but I was dismayed at how incompetent their stuff was.
Several months ago my car was rear ended on a drive through. When I called Progressive they assured me that the other driver was at fault due to the nature of the accident. Then the other driver claimed that she was not moving and I backed into her. She , by the way , too was a Progressive policy holder. After progressive rep, who handled both our claimed saw that the damage to the other car was less costly she decided that it was I who was at fault. The fact that she based that decision on pictures sent to her and without seeing the place of accident did not even rattle her confidence. But she assured me that as a platinum customer I am entitled to the accident forgivness and that my premium will not go up. The renual Bill came in today. Not only did they slammed me with "at fault in a heavy accident" but they also doubled my premium.
Needless to say, I went on line and immediately found a reputable insurance company to provide me with both home and auto insurance. I caution everyone who considers Progressive as a low cost insurance. You are going to pay for something you will never receive from this company. Namely — coverage. This is the most disreputable company I ever dealt with. The only interest they have in sight is their own and public is just a bunch of sheep from whom they clip off dollars.

more ...
Dec 13, 2016
stranded for 3 hours/car broke down
Anonymous Policyholder

I have been a responsible customer for over 5 years and when I needed them most they did not come through. I am very disappointed in their service. For my troubles I was offered a $25.00 gift card.

more ...
Dec 07, 2016
Great! Low Price Nice App easy to use
kymberlee321 Policyholder

Able to move payment out 10 days! Great Price cheapest around.. Great Customer service and roadside assistance

more ...
Nov 13, 2016
Lowest rates we were able to find
Anonymous Policyholder

So far, so good. Previously had Geico. They pruced us ridiculously.

more ...
Oct 28, 2016
Love my progressive insurance!
Anonymous Policyholder

Great customer service, great policy!!  Love working with them.

more ...
Oct 11, 2016
Awesome auto coverage
jrway04 Policyholder

Progressive has been awesome to me. They handle claims quick, are cheap, and very friendly. They have been very helpful for all my  insruance needs.

more ...
Oct 11, 2016
Lies to you
metayla Policyholder

We had an accident with someone else's vehicle, was told from the begining this was going to be covered under the insurance we carried. Had to make numerous phone calls and emails just for someone to get back to us, kept dealing with different people every time, even though it stated on the claim who the rep. was. Then after a couple of weeks got a voicemail and 3 of the same letters in the mail stating it all of a sudden wasn't going to cover the accident! Why would you tell us that it's going to be covered then within 2 weeks of that state that's its not?! Very unhappy.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this policy overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this policy?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations