Progressive®

1.9 out of 5 stars
35 Reviews

From Policyholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2 5

Compare Auto Insurance Offers

View your top Auto Insurance recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 07, 2013
Best Ever. Great Service and Fast Claim
Anonymous Policyholder

I purchased my policy online and love that I can handle anything online or on the phone.  I had a claim where a dump truck showered my car with rocks.  They had a professional rep come with the vehicle from the commercial.  He gave me a check there and told me to call him when I was ready to repair (had to wait for the deductable).  When I later got it to the shop the same rep called and told me he reinspected my vehicle and would handle everything with the rental car and the shop.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 12, 2013
They raised insurance premiums
Jamesjanell Policyholder

If progressive would quit making all these stupid commercials with flo, maybe insurance premiums wouldn't raise due to paying that chick more money, the snapshot is a joke. My premium with multi car was running me $128 a month with a perfect driving record. They wanted to raise it by $90 every six months when I renewed, I switched to geico and now my premium full coverage on my two cars and motorcycle runs me $102 a month. Get rid of all your dumb commercials and start taking a care of your customers before they go some where else like I did

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former policyholders in the last year.

Apr 25, 2017
Good Luck With That
Anonymous Policyholder

What the Customer Service associate told me when I reported a Hit and Run accident. Un-Insured motorist only covers you if they find the driver and they don't have insurance. 

more ...
Apr 23, 2017
This is the shadiest company ever
Denver25 Policyholder

They will charge you even after u find new cheaper and better insurance then send you to collection after your agent tells you he will take care of it

more ...
Apr 11, 2017
WORST COMPANY EVER
Atossa1 Policyholder

This company could care less about customers. They follow the tenant if we can we will. Like adding my boyfriend's 21-year-old daughter onto my policy without my implicit consent. Yes, they sent emails that looked like junk mail ads with the subject line "Insure your newly licensed driver today." I didn't have a newly licensed driver. Why would I open that? But even if I had, way at the bottom, in tiny fine print they say "call us or we're adding her." Easily remedied you might think. She has insurance, always has, with someone else. She's a Marine and lives in South Carolina, where she is stationed. They will give me the three hundred some odd dollars they added to my premium and took from my account back. Nope. Not all of it. I had to provide a W2 to prove she doesn't live in my home. Imagine that. It's MY policy. I showed PROOF that this individual was insured elsewhere and had always been with no lapses. And still, they want her listed as a driver so they can keep my premium up. The manager I talked to said they were "required to." By law? I ask. Well no I didn't say that. "By the state of Virginia?" Well no not that either. It's an agreement. They don't have to do this. They don't have to add people you don't ask for on your policy. But they can. So they do. And when you call them on it, they could easily remove said people. But this organization CHOSE to lose a customer of 8 years rather than give me a hundred bucks back. No thank you. Never again.  

more ...
Apr 08, 2017
Very dissatisfied with all your policies
Anonymous Policyholder

They do not respond to your clam very fast and for some reason can not come out and check out your car on a Sat what kind of business are you running over there most job work on weekends or at least sat. You should be able to get a quote on the damage of your vehicle the very next day so u know where u stand or if u should be driving it. This is **** poor customer service I would never recommend you guys to anyone ever again any other insurance company would of been there the very next day or let u take it to someone.

more ...
Apr 08, 2017
Very dissatisfied with all your policies
Anonymous Policyholder

They do not respond to your clam very fast and for some reason can not come out and check out your car on a Sat what kind of business are you running over there most job work on weekends or at least sat. You should be able to get a quote on the damage of your vehicle the very next day so u know where u stand or if u should be driving it. This is **** poor customer service I would never recommend you guys to anyone ever again any other insurance company would of been there the very next day or let u take it to someone.

more ...
Apr 06, 2017
Hit by someone with progressive
Anonymous Policyholder

i had to deal with Progressive because the person who hit me had progressive insurance. The claims agents were rude. Everyone I spoke to had a different answer to the same questions. They refused to put anything in email to confirm what they had told me. They refused to pre authorize a rental. They were impossible to work with. 

more ...
Apr 01, 2017
Waste of Money
Anonymous Policyholder

I live in Florida and have the required coverages. I have been with Progressive for over 5 years, not tickets, not accidents, no late payments, really I am their perfect customer. I have a large crack in my windshield and called to get that fixed. They won't cover it because I don't have large amounts of collision AND special coverage for the glass. I have never been with an auto insurance company that doesn't cover glass. They don't have a lot of services - despite Flow and her comercials. Towing, rentals, everything you have to pay more and more for. Every policy goes up when you add coverages to it, but these policies go sky high when you add that stuff and its all seperate (thats the lie they told me). I was under the impression to take care of customers, thats the life of your business! Good luck Flow, you may be switching companies soon just like the Verizon guy. I will not ever give Progressive another dime. 

more ...
Mar 30, 2017
Awesome!
lisalisa1963 Policyholder

I have been with Progressive since 2010.  In 2015 I got rear ended by a driver whose insurance company wanted to "total" my car (all that was wrong with it was the messed up bumper and the trunk door was ajar). And you can bet they would have only offered low blue book value at best.  After waiting for a whole week for an offer than never even came, I contacted Progressive and told my story.  I brought my car into their service station in my town and they informed me that if my car was deemed to be totalled they would still be giving my FULL blue book value (my car is a 2000 Toyota Corolla). However they were able to repair it (it looked brand new!) got me a rental car immediately and they even had my car  ready for me on the very date they said it was estimated to be ready.  I will be keeping my insurance with this company.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 11, 2017

I don't believe you. This company is a ridiculous ripoff that steals from its customers every chance it gets because it can.

 
Mar 16, 2017
Never choose progressive, u will repent
Anonymous Policyholder

i have a progressive auto insurance policy , it was around 800 for 6 months, with monthly premium of 141 dollars. i cancelled at 31 days of usage, and they detected around 200$.

which is 60 dollars extra..

and when i call the customer agents, non of them even gives me the correct explaination , nor to do they know wat is happening..

they try to grab all the money , when the insurance is cancelled, without any explaination...

more ...
Feb 12, 2017
They report false info on your credit
Anonymous Policyholder

This company failed to cancel my insurance when requested and continued to charge me. THEN placed it on my credit report within 2 months of the time they finally canceled it. I am STILL waiting for a response to the dispute from the credit bureaus.  THIS is the only insurance company I've heard of that reports to your credit bureau. Too bad they don't report positive credit also.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this policy overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this policy?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations