Progressive® Reviews

1.3 out of 5 stars
33 Reviews

From Policyholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

1.5 5

Compare Auto Insurance Offers

View your top Auto Insurance recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former policyholders in the last year.

Dec 02, 2017
just like every other insurance company
Anonymous Policyholder

agents are great, progressive isn't

more ...
Nov 11, 2017
Useless and Scam
Anonymous Policyholder

I had gotten a policy through them and never had an accident.  I explained to them I was a victim of an attempted car jacking and thats why the side of my car was fixed.  They quoted me and knew everything about it.  I get into a minor fenderbender.  They paid the woman out no questions asked and then cancelled my policy.  No one was able to answer any of my questions and they refused to rewrite a policy.  I went back to my previous insurance and now I know why everyone believes Progressive is a scam.  They scam their customers and then take their money and cancel the policy.  Also, my due date was on the sixth of every month.  They wanted to wait to cancel my insurance on the 13th to make sure they got an extra month out of me.  Nope I cancelled it right away and they owe me money now.  NOTHING BUT A SCAM.  

more ...
Nov 08, 2017
DO NOT ENSURE THIS COMPANY!
Anonymous Policyholder

I have my Progressive insurance in Miami for 4 years without any problems until my car was stolen with 5 months recently purchased and 6,000 miles. Value $ 26,000 The insurance gave me $ 20,000 for thieves and after that I bought the same car for 25,000 putting money from my pocket and the insurance raised me $ 40 more per month. Thieves DO NOT ENSURE THIS COMPANY!

more ...
Sep 29, 2017
Anonymous Policyholder

Beyond despicable... should have a zero star. Insurance went up by 100 bucks a month... whatever, 6 months later policy runs out and insurance goes up 150 more. First company I call 240 bucks less.... Progressive does not have customers best interest in mind. They told me that my insurance went up because others where getting in car accidents. How the hell does that pertain to me? Anyway if your entertaining getting insured with Progressive DONT.. DO NOT DO IT. Unless you have a bunch of time to listen to excuses.

more ...
Sep 11, 2017
Car ins policy
Anonymous Policyholder

What crooks. Worst company ever

more ...
Sep 01, 2017
Would give 0 stars if I could
Anonymous Policyholder

Our rate for 2 vehicles went up without notifying us. Got insurance with the same exact coverage through a different company that was $200 less each month. Every time I called or emailed my agent at progressive I would get no response. When I did get a response he would ask me if I wanted to add something and I would say no and find out he added it anyway to raise our rates. And then ignore me contacting him about it. Horrible customer service!!! Would never use progressive again or ever recommend them!!

more ...
Jul 28, 2017
Should be 0 stars
Anonymous Policyholder

We only have Progressive for our boat and otherwise stick to USAA. USAA does not insure boats and partners with progressive on this. What an unbelievable disappointment. We filed a very legitimate claim when water in the gas caused our engine to be destroyed. We were treated like the enemy rather than the customer, it took two weeks for the claims adjuster to even come see the boat, they strong-armed us into doing an engine tear down, and after all that, they denied the claim on falsities and forced us to pay for the engine tear down. I had to constantly reach out to them to find out what was going on and the status of the claims process. Terrible coverage, terrible customer service and terrible company overall.

more ...
Jul 19, 2017
Terrible
Anonymous Policyholder

They threatened to terminate my policy because my home address is Florida and I needed insurance for 2 months in upstate NY. My motorcycle and truck were both registered and on the road but progressive needed a bill or proof of residency. I am a merchant marine and work out of Florida but wanted to take 2 months off and visit home. That proof of residency they needed was for my parents house of which obviously no bills are in my name and my pay checks go to Florida. So needless to say they do not support military members and they keep sending me emails saying I owe 20 bucks here, 30 bucks there even though I paid in full for 6 months on both vehicles. Terrible customer service, they do not know progressives policies or anything. Useless service and useless company. 

more ...
Jul 10, 2017
DO NOT GET PROGESSIVE
Anonymous Policyholder

I got a new car insurance policy with progresssive beacuse of their low rates. I thought everything went smoothly and paid for 6 months in full, got my insurance cards and set up snapshot. A month in I get a letter that was addressed to my pervious address so it arrived to my current address very late, stating that my policy was going to be canclled in 3 days. I immeditly called and was told they needed proof of perivous insurance and that I parked in a garage. I sent in the documents they asked for that night and called the next day (friday) after work only to find out that on fridays they close at 2:30 my time. They are closed saurday and sunday and the policy was to expire sunday. I called back monday first thing in the morning and talked to another rep who said they reviewed the documents on thursday, but they needed something additional. Instead of calling me or sending me and email notifiying me they needed more they just cancelled the policy. I even stated in my email with the documents to notify me if they needed more info. Not once from the begining of the whole process to get car insurance did they ever try to call me or email me. Not to mention everytime I called I was hungup on at least once. They had no idea why they had the wrong address for my place of residnecey when my address for where I kept my car was correct, and they did nothing to help with the short deadline I was givin to provide the documents. Eventhough it was thier fault that I didnt recieve the letter in time. They did nothing to try and reach me by email or phone thorouout the enitre processes, even when they were going to cancel my policy.  Worst company I have ever had to deal with. DO NOT GET PROGRESSIVE.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this policy overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this policy?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations