Progressive® Reviews

1.8 out of 5 stars
37 Reviews

From Policyholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2 5

Compare Auto Insurance Offers

View your top Auto Insurance recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 07, 2013
Best Ever. Great Service and Fast Claim
Anonymous Policyholder

I purchased my policy online and love that I can handle anything online or on the phone.  I had a claim where a dump truck showered my car with rocks.  They had a professional rep come with the vehicle from the commercial.  He gave me a check there and told me to call him when I was ready to repair (had to wait for the deductable).  When I later got it to the shop the same rep called and told me he reinspected my vehicle and would handle everything with the rental car and the shop.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 12, 2013
They raised insurance premiums
Jamesjanell Policyholder

If progressive would quit making all these stupid commercials with flo, maybe insurance premiums wouldn't raise due to paying that chick more money, the snapshot is a joke. My premium with multi car was running me $128 a month with a perfect driving record. They wanted to raise it by $90 every six months when I renewed, I switched to geico and now my premium full coverage on my two cars and motorcycle runs me $102 a month. Get rid of all your dumb commercials and start taking a care of your customers before they go some where else like I did

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former policyholders in the last year.

May 23, 2017
Only Insurer I've Ever Known
jakewill05 Policyholder

I signed up for Progressive as a teenager and have had them ever since.

I have sustained a few rock chips in my windshield, which they repaired at a moments notice with no deductible. A family member (not in same household) wrecked my car one night and Progressive covered it as though i had done the damage myself after asking only a handful of questions. My car did take much longer than expected to be fixed, but it was more of the GMC certified dealership/repair facility's fault, not Progressive's. Progressive still stepped up to the plate and paid for me to have a rental car even though i didn't have that coverage after the repair timing went longer than expected.

I have shopped around and almost every quote i get is at leat 40% higher than i currently pay for the exact same coverage. Maybe I will be a lifer, but i doubt it as i am always on the hunt to save on living expenses.

more ...
May 22, 2017
Outrageous
Anonymous Policyholder

Wanted me to provide a motor vehicle history report. Doubled the agreed premium when I would not verify it for them. They said they couldn't get it. Incompetance!!! Told me to take it or leave it. Never going back......

more ...
May 08, 2017
Absolutely Horrible
Anonymous Policyholder

I updated mine and my fiance's insurance to full coverage on a Sunday. My fiances coverage was updated immediately and mine was set to take hold 4 days later. On Friday, I had a sunroof explode without a collision. I reported the damage and made a claim. On MONDAY, the rep from Progressive called me to say she was investigating my claim because it occured after we changed our insurance. She was rude and asked if I had help taping up my car or called anyone after it occured and asked me to photograph proof of my phone call, which I did. I have never had an insurance company investigate after an incident in all my years of insurance. I switched to Progressive because of their great rates, but I think I'll switch to company that is at least willing to pay claims for their customers that pay for their coverage. 

more ...
Apr 25, 2017
Good Luck With That
Anonymous Policyholder

What the Customer Service associate told me when I reported a Hit and Run accident. Un-Insured motorist only covers you if they find the driver and they don't have insurance. 

more ...
Apr 23, 2017
This is the shadiest company ever
Denver25 Policyholder

They will charge you even after u find new cheaper and better insurance then send you to collection after your agent tells you he will take care of it

more ...
Apr 11, 2017
WORST COMPANY EVER
Atossa1 Policyholder

This company could care less about customers. They follow the tenant if we can we will. Like adding my boyfriend's 21-year-old daughter onto my policy without my implicit consent. Yes, they sent emails that looked like junk mail ads with the subject line "Insure your newly licensed driver today." I didn't have a newly licensed driver. Why would I open that? But even if I had, way at the bottom, in tiny fine print they say "call us or we're adding her." Easily remedied you might think. She has insurance, always has, with someone else. She's a Marine and lives in South Carolina, where she is stationed. They will give me the three hundred some odd dollars they added to my premium and took from my account back. Nope. Not all of it. I had to provide a W2 to prove she doesn't live in my home. Imagine that. It's MY policy. I showed PROOF that this individual was insured elsewhere and had always been with no lapses. And still, they want her listed as a driver so they can keep my premium up. The manager I talked to said they were "required to." By law? I ask. Well no I didn't say that. "By the state of Virginia?" Well no not that either. It's an agreement. They don't have to do this. They don't have to add people you don't ask for on your policy. But they can. So they do. And when you call them on it, they could easily remove said people. But this organization CHOSE to lose a customer of 8 years rather than give me a hundred bucks back. No thank you. Never again.  

more ...
Apr 08, 2017
Very dissatisfied with all your policies
Anonymous Policyholder

They do not respond to your clam very fast and for some reason can not come out and check out your car on a Sat what kind of business are you running over there most job work on weekends or at least sat. You should be able to get a quote on the damage of your vehicle the very next day so u know where u stand or if u should be driving it. This is **** poor customer service I would never recommend you guys to anyone ever again any other insurance company would of been there the very next day or let u take it to someone.

more ...
Apr 08, 2017
Very dissatisfied with all your policies
Anonymous Policyholder

They do not respond to your clam very fast and for some reason can not come out and check out your car on a Sat what kind of business are you running over there most job work on weekends or at least sat. You should be able to get a quote on the damage of your vehicle the very next day so u know where u stand or if u should be driving it. This is **** poor customer service I would never recommend you guys to anyone ever again any other insurance company would of been there the very next day or let u take it to someone.

more ...
Apr 06, 2017
Hit by someone with progressive
Anonymous Policyholder

i had to deal with Progressive because the person who hit me had progressive insurance. The claims agents were rude. Everyone I spoke to had a different answer to the same questions. They refused to put anything in email to confirm what they had told me. They refused to pre authorize a rental. They were impossible to work with. 

more ...
Apr 01, 2017
Waste of Money
Anonymous Policyholder

I live in Florida and have the required coverages. I have been with Progressive for over 5 years, not tickets, not accidents, no late payments, really I am their perfect customer. I have a large crack in my windshield and called to get that fixed. They won't cover it because I don't have large amounts of collision AND special coverage for the glass. I have never been with an auto insurance company that doesn't cover glass. They don't have a lot of services - despite Flow and her comercials. Towing, rentals, everything you have to pay more and more for. Every policy goes up when you add coverages to it, but these policies go sky high when you add that stuff and its all seperate (thats the lie they told me). I was under the impression to take care of customers, thats the life of your business! Good luck Flow, you may be switching companies soon just like the Verizon guy. I will not ever give Progressive another dime. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this policy overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this policy?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations