Progressive® Reviews

1.9 out of 5 stars
21 Reviews

From Policyholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2 5

Compare Auto Insurance Offers

View your top Auto Insurance recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 30, 2018
Low rates and never had any problems
roscogoody Policyholder

I hear a lot of negative reviews but we love Progressive. We have multiple discounts making our monthly payments very inexpensive. We have not had any claims so can't speak to that process.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 25, 2018
Terrible snotty customer service
JamesL79 Policyholder

Terrible customer service. Had them for 7 years and am now cancelling. Will not recommend them to anyone. I feel bad for getting some family and friends to get them now. I have heard bad feedback from them as well. Try another company do not even get a quote from them. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former policyholders in the last year.

Nov 28, 2018
Worthless
GabbyCarroll Policyholder

Was involved in a hit and run on the interstate. I was told they couldn't do anything for me- no replacement, no compensation, no rental, nothing. The representative asked me to provide her with my original quote to see if they made a mistake when creating my policy in which I did and I HAVE NOT HEARD A THING SINCE. They refuse to help me and on top of that once I provided them with the requested documentation, I get NO RETURNED CALLS, NO ANSWERS TO MY QUESTIONS, AND NO ONE TRYING TO HELP OR REACH OUT. I've sent the documentation twice and still, nothing. DO NOT BUY INSURANCE THROUGH THEM- IT'S CHEAP FOR A REASON. They will not help you unless you have the most expensive plan. If not, you're not worth their attention or time. I will CONTINUE to give my honest reviews on ALL social media until I get the help and attention a loyal customer deserves!!!!

more ...
Oct 30, 2018
Low rates and never had any problems
roscogoody Policyholder

I hear a lot of negative reviews but we love Progressive. We have multiple discounts making our monthly payments very inexpensive. We have not had any claims so can't speak to that process.

more ...
Oct 26, 2018
Stunned and Disgusted - Unprofessiona
simonhorowitz Policyholder

I am stunned and disgusted by Progressive customer service. Filed a claim for a no-fault accident. Rude, incompetent and unprofessional claims adjusters. Nothing but the run-around, no communication total lack of any modicum of professionalism

more ...
Aug 28, 2018
Lure Custome Into Paying MORE
pmk439 Policyholder

After two months of having insurance they cancelled my policy and I happened to realize it three days after . They’ve put me in a position where I have to get a new quote as my previous policy cannot be reinstated. To the worst I’m being charged 50% more than before and it’s has become even worse with other insurance providers. Now I cannot move on to other provider (without paying lot more) nor stick to my old policy. I’m stuck with progressive for a very high premium than it was before. They just screwed my insurance history just to make more money off of me by NASTY and DIRTY business means.

more ...
Aug 26, 2018
Dare1184 Policyholder

If there was negative 5 stars , I would give it to them 

more ...
Aug 15, 2018
Money grabbers even when you pay ahead.
chanceblack Policyholder

They do ANYTHING to charge you more regardless of if your policy is paid in full. I cancelled over a month ago now they want to charge me a post cancellation adjustment fee. Not happening. They do literally anything to charge you, and it leads to hours of sitting on the phone or writing emails (often they claim they didn't get them and you have to send the same one several times) to get it removed. Truly terrible customer service. They do not let people review on their facebook page because they know better. I half believe positive reviews for the app in the play store are paid for. Seriously a terrible insuramce company.

more ...
Aug 06, 2018
Horrible Company
krissy456 Policyholder

If I could give Progressive zero stars I would.

My fiance, who is active duty military, has been trying to make a claim with Progressive for 2 months now. They claim that he canceled his full coverage on his 350Z when he called to add two more cars to his insurance and take one off.... NOTHING TO DO WITH THE 350Z. Seriously, why would any sane person take off Full Coverage of a vehicle in Colorado when it hails every other week. Now Progressive is tossing him around from manager to manager making empty promises to pass him up the chain to someone higher. Even the third party insurance company whom he goes through has taken his side on the problem. This is RIDICULOUS! (1) All of their arguments against him are invalide and incorrect; (2) They have no phone recording of the conversation to validate that he took the full coverage off of the 350Z like they are claiming; (3) They are tossing him around like a pile of garbage and not taking care of the situation. At this point, we don't know what else to do but hire a lawyer to take care of the situation.

Whats the point of car insurance if they take away your coverage without your consent?

more ...
Jun 25, 2018
Terrible snotty customer service
JamesL79 Policyholder

Terrible customer service. Had them for 7 years and am now cancelling. Will not recommend them to anyone. I feel bad for getting some family and friends to get them now. I have heard bad feedback from them as well. Try another company do not even get a quote from them. 

more ...
May 10, 2018
Avoid them!
zoom2zoom Policyholder

They charged us for our 18 and 21 year olds that do not drive yet. We cancelled them and then they said we owe them 300 dollars still and we have to pay or they will turn it in to collections. That is not all they did they also caused us to have an 8 days lapse in coverage when we first started with them. My advice for you is to stay away fro m this company!

more ...
May 10, 2018
Avoid this insurance company!
zoom2zoom Policyholder

They charged us for our 18 and 21 year olds that do not drive yet. We cancelled them and they said we still lowe them a balnce of 300. They are money suckers! Stay away from them! They also caused us to have an 8 day lapse in coverage when we first started with them., so they screwd us over in more ways then one.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this policy overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this policy?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations