Progressive® Reviews

1.7 out of 5 stars
35 Reviews

From Policyholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

1.5 5

Compare Auto Insurance Offers

View your top Auto Insurance recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Dec 10, 2016
drb9965 Policyholder

Great service; easy to use website

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 11, 2017
WORST COMPANY EVER
Atossa1 Policyholder

This company could care less about customers. They follow the tenant if we can we will. Like adding my boyfriend's 21-year-old daughter onto my policy without my implicit consent. Yes, they sent emails that looked like junk mail ads with the subject line "Insure your newly licensed driver today." I didn't have a newly licensed driver. Why would I open that? But even if I had, way at the bottom, in tiny fine print they say "call us or we're adding her." Easily remedied you might think. She has insurance, always has, with someone else. She's a Marine and lives in South Carolina, where she is stationed. They will give me the three hundred some odd dollars they added to my premium and took from my account back. Nope. Not all of it. I had to provide a W2 to prove she doesn't live in my home. Imagine that. It's MY policy. I showed PROOF that this individual was insured elsewhere and had always been with no lapses. And still, they want her listed as a driver so they can keep my premium up. The manager I talked to said they were "required to." By law? I ask. Well no I didn't say that. "By the state of Virginia?" Well no not that either. It's an agreement. They don't have to do this. They don't have to add people you don't ask for on your policy. But they can. So they do. And when you call them on it, they could easily remove said people. But this organization CHOSE to lose a customer of 8 years rather than give me a hundred bucks back. No thank you. Never again.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former policyholders in the last year.

Sep 29, 2017
Anonymous Policyholder

Beyond despicable... should have a zero star. Insurance went up by 100 bucks a month... whatever, 6 months later policy runs out and insurance goes up 150 more. First company I call 240 bucks less.... Progressive does not have customers best interest in mind. They told me that my insurance went up because others where getting in car accidents. How the hell does that pertain to me? Anyway if your entertaining getting insured with Progressive DONT.. DO NOT DO IT. Unless you have a bunch of time to listen to excuses.

more ...
Sep 11, 2017
Car ins policy
Anonymous Policyholder

What crooks. Worst company ever

more ...
Sep 01, 2017
Would give 0 stars if I could
Anonymous Policyholder

Our rate for 2 vehicles went up without notifying us. Got insurance with the same exact coverage through a different company that was $200 less each month. Every time I called or emailed my agent at progressive I would get no response. When I did get a response he would ask me if I wanted to add something and I would say no and find out he added it anyway to raise our rates. And then ignore me contacting him about it. Horrible customer service!!! Would never use progressive again or ever recommend them!!

more ...
Jul 28, 2017
Should be 0 stars
Anonymous Policyholder

We only have Progressive for our boat and otherwise stick to USAA. USAA does not insure boats and partners with progressive on this. What an unbelievable disappointment. We filed a very legitimate claim when water in the gas caused our engine to be destroyed. We were treated like the enemy rather than the customer, it took two weeks for the claims adjuster to even come see the boat, they strong-armed us into doing an engine tear down, and after all that, they denied the claim on falsities and forced us to pay for the engine tear down. I had to constantly reach out to them to find out what was going on and the status of the claims process. Terrible coverage, terrible customer service and terrible company overall.

more ...
Jul 19, 2017
Terrible
Anonymous Policyholder

They threatened to terminate my policy because my home address is Florida and I needed insurance for 2 months in upstate NY. My motorcycle and truck were both registered and on the road but progressive needed a bill or proof of residency. I am a merchant marine and work out of Florida but wanted to take 2 months off and visit home. That proof of residency they needed was for my parents house of which obviously no bills are in my name and my pay checks go to Florida. So needless to say they do not support military members and they keep sending me emails saying I owe 20 bucks here, 30 bucks there even though I paid in full for 6 months on both vehicles. Terrible customer service, they do not know progressives policies or anything. Useless service and useless company. 

more ...
Jul 10, 2017
DO NOT GET PROGESSIVE
Anonymous Policyholder

I got a new car insurance policy with progresssive beacuse of their low rates. I thought everything went smoothly and paid for 6 months in full, got my insurance cards and set up snapshot. A month in I get a letter that was addressed to my pervious address so it arrived to my current address very late, stating that my policy was going to be canclled in 3 days. I immeditly called and was told they needed proof of perivous insurance and that I parked in a garage. I sent in the documents they asked for that night and called the next day (friday) after work only to find out that on fridays they close at 2:30 my time. They are closed saurday and sunday and the policy was to expire sunday. I called back monday first thing in the morning and talked to another rep who said they reviewed the documents on thursday, but they needed something additional. Instead of calling me or sending me and email notifiying me they needed more they just cancelled the policy. I even stated in my email with the documents to notify me if they needed more info. Not once from the begining of the whole process to get car insurance did they ever try to call me or email me. Not to mention everytime I called I was hungup on at least once. They had no idea why they had the wrong address for my place of residnecey when my address for where I kept my car was correct, and they did nothing to help with the short deadline I was givin to provide the documents. Eventhough it was thier fault that I didnt recieve the letter in time. They did nothing to try and reach me by email or phone thorouout the enitre processes, even when they were going to cancel my policy.  Worst company I have ever had to deal with. DO NOT GET PROGRESSIVE.

more ...
Jul 01, 2017
Worse than 1 star
Anonymous Policyholder

What you should know? How about the fact they will add policies to your account you didn't ask for then offer zero resolution. I would rather pay 20% more elsewhere than ever have to deal with this pathetic excuse for a company again.

more ...
Jun 27, 2017
Horriable!!!!!!
Amanda2796 Policyholder

They are not on your side when something happens! They will do everything all the way to accusing you that you did it to deny you claim!!!!!! I would never never tell anyone to go with progressive

more ...
Jun 23, 2017
WORST COMPANY EVER!
Anonymous Policyholder

Progressive is probably the worst company I have ever had an experience with. They not only lied about having to put my roommate on my policy (which I found out is illegal!), they increased my rates by over $150 dollars a month without notifying me, increasing my overall policy to $256 a month!!! When I I tried to contact customer service to address the issue, they put me on hold for over 2 hours and would continuously hang up on me. They then proceeded to lie about reimbursing me and hung up on me again. I called back to ask for a receipt and they said they "don't provide receipts but to check my account for my reimbursement" and fun fact they never did. WORST COMPANY EVER!!!!!!!! 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this policy overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this policy?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations