Auto Insurance Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Nationwide® Auto Insurance

1.4 out of 5 stars
8 Reviews

From Policyholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5

Compare Auto Insurance Offers

View your top Auto Insurance recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former policyholders in the last year.

Feb 03, 2017
I had a car insurance policy with them.
Anonymous Policyholder

Awful customer service and the rates woud go up every month :|

I was stuck with them for over a year and had a very bad experience. 

more ...
Jan 18, 2017
Anonymous Policyholder

Been with them for 2 years with half coverage in an old vehicle before I turned 25. Got into a light accident, they took care of it for the other person, I had no worry. Bought a new "used" vehicle and do a full coverage for this one, premium rate went triple compare to I paid for the old vehicle. I have this rate for 2 more years now. Here comes to bi-annual renewal time, I like doing things online so I can avoid all the phone call and waiting. Used to be able to manage my policy online, it wasn't always smooth though because their website is pretty lagging, but then suddenly I can't even manage or change anything in my policy anymore. 

I called their C.S with intent to negotiate for better pricing because I've been with them for years; secondly, their website issues. The first rep totally ignore my first request and went ahead transfer me to someone else on the technology side. The second rep (tech rep) asked me for my account "Password", that was extrememly weird!!!!! The rep went ahead access to my account and said there was nothing wrong on their side, but I still got problem on my side. I asked what else she can do, she said nothing else she can do besides I have to speak with the phone represenative. So they basically brings me in circle which was pretty much a waste of time. The 2nd rep then went ahead saying a bunch of things I couldn't understand then transfer me AGAIN. Being tired with their poor facility and handling, not to mention the 2nd rep sounded like she was having an attitude, I hung up, went ahead to GEICO website and bought a new policy. At the very least, the technology on the new company was painless, fast and surprisingly cheaper rate.

Even more surprise, when I called Nationwide again to cancel my policy, the new rep went out and beyond her way to get it done with minimal questions asked. Gave detail info how much and when I will receive my refund and very into answering questions. Just if the first reps I spoke to being this way, they still have a customer. It's why they say customer service is the face of the company, especially for such business.

more ...
Oct 28, 2016
Complete BS...!!
Anonymous Policyholder

Every claim is going to take a lifetime to complete..! I had my truck broken into over 2 months ago, $8k worth of tools and damage.. and I'm still waiting for payment. Despite the fact that I have complied with every single request they have asked for.

more ...
Jul 12, 2016
Terrible customer service
crischu707 Policyholder

Everytime I make a change to my policy, I end up having to make a follow up call that lasts for about an hour while they try to fix everything they broke. This last time, my policy tripled in rate simply because my girlfriend moved into my apartment. It immediately put me on a bad driver policy, removed my clean driving record discount, and shot my rate up to $3600 a year when it was previously around $1000. Mind you, she's been driving for over 10 years and has zero traffic citations or accidents and also has her own insurance policy for her own car. Cannot recommend Nationwide to anyone, I'll also note that their recommended service shops are terrible as well and did a shoddy job of fixing hail and rock damage to my hood. My $100,000 Audi now looks like it was repaired at a high school auto body class, I'm going to go have it repainted elsewhere, probably at my own expense. Worthless insurance.

more ...
Jun 26, 2016
gnggng Policyholder

I was in a seruose car accident my doctor gave me disability for 1 year which I can't work or walk . My nationwide policy covers lost of income which is 25 k . They sent me 1500 a month for 6 months then they asked me to visit ( thier spam doctor) and he wrote a report says that I am able to work and they stop sending me my lost of income money . Now I'm still disabled and have no income at all . Nationwide will never stand with you and they have many ways to screw you .

more ...
Jun 20, 2016
Anonymous Policyholder

CS (call center reps) have no answer (or make up something..) for anything!   Incl: will not tell you cost is added $5/mo to have bill mailed. Luckily I asked! They will not tell the customer 0 so to get that extra money pe rmo.   He insisted the "signature" page will be there when I log in (it was not), then he said he would email it...never got it..kept him on hold to be sure it worked (as he tried to hurry and hang up..)  It never came so he put me on hold of r10 mnutes (again) and it finally came.  Yet, prior to sending the signature page (for routing/checking... he asked it 3x on the phone! As if he could update it. (he could not & makes sense ..any of those call center reps could commit fruad.)  HORIIBLE aste of time, They all act lke it is the customer's fault, they dont know anything, but say they do, then you waste time on the phohe, only to be disconnected, or waiting.  Makes one think there are so many stupid "workers" who are trained, dont care, or dont learn what they sell. NO!!!

more ...
Apr 26, 2016
Terrible
boogieman09 Policyholder

They definitely like their money, as after I dropped them I was billed another 50 dollars for "Coverage between your payment and your coverage date".  I was NEVER told that these were different. In fact, I was told by 3 DIFFERENT CUSTOMER SERVICES REPS that no billing would be due after the cancelation, and that I may even recieve a refund by one of them.  What kind of operation are you running here Nationwide?  Because I can tell you its not a very good one.  I've been disputing this for months now and all I get for an answer is "You'll just have to pay it".  Oh, and don't get me started on it affecting my credit because they want their money so bad.  It goes straight to a collection agency if I don't pay it within a month.  That's a bill that i was sent AFTER canceling their service, because of their inadequacy.  If you can, avoid these people.

more ...
Mar 06, 2016
Poor Customer Service/RIGID
Jodyt58 Policyholder

While they may offer a competitive premium, they are completely unwilling to make any allowances. In my instance, for 3 years I purchased their policy by paying for the 6 month terms upfront. Beginning the fourth year, I began making monthly premiums. As fortune would have it, the payment due date fell 5 to 8 days' before I would receive my VA Disability pay. Rather than assist me with rescheduling the due date that it might come due on or soon after I would receive my cheque, they insisted that I pay their late fees in addition to the fee for making a monthly payment. As soon as the term was up, I was overjoyed to be offered similar coverage with a lower premium from a company which worked with me when setting the due date.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this policy overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this policy?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations