Auto Insurance Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Nationwide® Auto Insurance

1.6 out of 5 stars
8 Reviews

From Policyholders in the last year


Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5

Compare Auto Insurance Offers

View your top Auto Insurance recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.


These reviews were written by current and former policyholders in the last year.

Jul 12, 2016
Terrible customer service
crischu707 Policyholder

Everytime I make a change to my policy, I end up having to make a follow up call that lasts for about an hour while they try to fix everything they broke. This last time, my policy tripled in rate simply because my girlfriend moved into my apartment. It immediately put me on a bad driver policy, removed my clean driving record discount, and shot my rate up to $3600 a year when it was previously around $1000. Mind you, she's been driving for over 10 years and has zero traffic citations or accidents and also has her own insurance policy for her own car. Cannot recommend Nationwide to anyone, I'll also note that their recommended service shops are terrible as well and did a shoddy job of fixing hail and rock damage to my hood. My $100,000 Audi now looks like it was repaired at a high school auto body class, I'm going to go have it repainted elsewhere, probably at my own expense. Worthless insurance.

more ...
Jun 26, 2016
gnggng Policyholder

I was in a seruose car accident my doctor gave me disability for 1 year which I can't work or walk . My nationwide policy covers lost of income which is 25 k . They sent me 1500 a month for 6 months then they asked me to visit ( thier spam doctor) and he wrote a report says that I am able to work and they stop sending me my lost of income money . Now I'm still disabled and have no income at all . Nationwide will never stand with you and they have many ways to screw you .

more ...
Jun 20, 2016
Anonymous Policyholder

CS (call center reps) have no answer (or make up something..) for anything!   Incl: will not tell you cost is added $5/mo to have bill mailed. Luckily I asked! They will not tell the customer 0 so to get that extra money pe rmo.   He insisted the "signature" page will be there when I log in (it was not), then he said he would email it...never got it..kept him on hold to be sure it worked (as he tried to hurry and hang up..)  It never came so he put me on hold of r10 mnutes (again) and it finally came.  Yet, prior to sending the signature page (for routing/checking... he asked it 3x on the phone! As if he could update it. (he could not & makes sense ..any of those call center reps could commit fruad.)  HORIIBLE aste of time, They all act lke it is the customer's fault, they dont know anything, but say they do, then you waste time on the phohe, only to be disconnected, or waiting.  Makes one think there are so many stupid "workers" who are trained, dont care, or dont learn what they sell. NO!!!

more ...
Apr 26, 2016
boogieman09 Policyholder

They definitely like their money, as after I dropped them I was billed another 50 dollars for "Coverage between your payment and your coverage date".  I was NEVER told that these were different. In fact, I was told by 3 DIFFERENT CUSTOMER SERVICES REPS that no billing would be due after the cancelation, and that I may even recieve a refund by one of them.  What kind of operation are you running here Nationwide?  Because I can tell you its not a very good one.  I've been disputing this for months now and all I get for an answer is "You'll just have to pay it".  Oh, and don't get me started on it affecting my credit because they want their money so bad.  It goes straight to a collection agency if I don't pay it within a month.  That's a bill that i was sent AFTER canceling their service, because of their inadequacy.  If you can, avoid these people.

more ...
Mar 06, 2016
Poor Customer Service/RIGID
Jodyt58 Policyholder

While they may offer a competitive premium, they are completely unwilling to make any allowances. In my instance, for 3 years I purchased their policy by paying for the 6 month terms upfront. Beginning the fourth year, I began making monthly premiums. As fortune would have it, the payment due date fell 5 to 8 days' before I would receive my VA Disability pay. Rather than assist me with rescheduling the due date that it might come due on or soon after I would receive my cheque, they insisted that I pay their late fees in addition to the fee for making a monthly payment. As soon as the term was up, I was overjoyed to be offered similar coverage with a lower premium from a company which worked with me when setting the due date.

more ...
Jan 21, 2016
best rates for under 25
ibulp Policyholder

I'm still under 25 and never got a good rate because of my age, kept shopping for insurance and the lowest I ever got was always between $120-250!! then finally I remembered nationwide and I wanted to give them a try, I went to their website and started building my coverage and when they quoted me online for $83 I couldn't believe it so I really called them and they said yes this is your rate ( inside I was like shut up and take my money lol ), if you are under 25 and insurance companies are ripping you off becaue of your age try nationwide you will get a full coverage for the lowest prices, I will be fair Allstate and AAA were close to them by $20 but nationwide had more coverage. I'm very happy to be with them 

more ...
Jan 13, 2016
Be careful
Anonymous Policyholder

They will do any and everything not to pay your claim. Watch out because Nationwide will not be on your side!

more ...
Dec 11, 2015
Be careful if you choose Nationwide.
Anonymous Policyholder

I was with nationwide for 14 years, they were my first insurance company. I paid less than $100 a month for a majority of those years. For the past few years it was $60-$70. I never had a ticket or been in any accidents and I never missed a payment. I go in to pay for the month and they tell me that I owe $250 a month now!! That totally blindsided me, I left and went to a different insurance company where I'm paying less than $100 again.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this policy overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this policy?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations