Liberty Mutual® Auto Insurance Reviews

1.4 out of 5 stars
16 Reviews

From Policyholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

1.5 5

Compare Auto Insurance Offers

View your top Auto Insurance recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former policyholders in the last year.

Aug 18, 2017
Policy written under false pretenses
Electricblue92 Policyholder

I was informed when I signed up that Liberty mutual covered part of Ridesharing that was truly not covered. I found out about this almost a year later, and I am quite upset that I was told that I was covered. I also had a rock chip repaired, and authorized before the work was done by Liberty Mutual. The work was completed. I then received a call from the claims department wanting to come inspect the rock chip repair. What company needs to inspect a $25 repair? How would one fake a repair? Besides these 2 problems, I was very happy with them. But those 2 issues were very big to me.

more ...
Jul 09, 2017
HORRIBLE COMPANY
Anonymous Policyholder

I CHECKED MY MOMS POLICY AND FOR A SMALL HOME THE INSURANCE WAS 2900.00. WE CALLED ANOTHER REPUTABLE COMPANY AND THE ISURANCE FOR THE SAME POLICY WAS ONLY 500.00

more ...
Jun 26, 2017
The least expensive coverage of many!
Anonymous Policyholder

The coverage cost is less than the following: State Farm, Geico, Progressive. I have had Liberty Mutual for close to 15 years now and have been doing comparisons with other major insurers every few years. Liberty Mutual is always cheaper. The one downside is that they raise your premiums every year regardless of accidents, by about 5-10%. A few years ago I decided that I had enough and switched to Progressive. Within 2 months, I got a call that now Liberty Mutual can offer me rates half of what I was paying earlier. I switched back. I assume it's how the company makes money, so beware. On the other hand, their customer service is great; they pay out quickly and sufficiently, as I learned last year when one of my vehicles was totaled. I would recommend them.

more ...
Apr 28, 2017
Satanic
Anonymous Policyholder

My policy went up $400 when I moved 10 miles away from my previous residence. When I called the customer service rep said that the cost of rising health care caused the increase. If I wasn't required to by health insuranc I coul afford decent health care. Curses to you Liberty Mutual.

more ...
Apr 11, 2017
Overpriced insurance with shady practice
Libertador Policyholder

Over the course of 2 years my rates increased $34 per month without ever having one crash or ticket. I cancelled the policy in January end in April they renewed my policy charging my bank and overdraw my account. While they were willing to refund me the money rightfully so this kind of error is as ridiculous as their price gouging.

more ...
Apr 06, 2017
Terrible Advertising
Anonymous Policyholder

Their advertising is horrible. Every day I see ads mentioning when someone gets into one little accident their premiums go up "just for using it." Well, last year, I was backing out of a space and ended up using mine. And today, my premiums doubled. Doubled. Not an exaggeration. 

In truth they are no different than anyone else on this regard. I just wish they would be honest about it. The insurance itself is fine. They fixed my car quickly, I am happy with that. The process was as painless as it could have been, but those ads are a bit of a slap in the face. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 11, 2017

Did you have accident forgiveness on your policy cause that costs extra

 
Mar 22, 2017
Money pit.
Anonymous Policyholder

I received a great quote and purchased the auto insurance. Less than a month later I receive an email saying I had an important change to my policy. When I called to find out the change I found out my insurance premium was raised by $912 a year!!!! I have an excellent driving record and no accidents.

more ...
Feb 22, 2017
Auto Insurance
Anonymous Policyholder

My 18 year old daughter was never added to the policy, so when she was involved in an accident, the customer service people treated us as though we were the "bad guy."  Even after they had the full story, the claims reps continued to hound us, sending "Respond Immediately" letters, and again asking for the information we had already provided.  The company went too far when they demanded my daughter's phone number so they could speak to her w/o our presence, to get the story again...

Representatives were argumentative multiple times, and not at all helpful.

We will be changing Auto Insurance as soon as the policy is up

more ...
Nov 21, 2016
Worthless
Anonymous Policyholder

I had Liberty Mutual for several years. I had a wreck 2 yrs ago when a woman ran a stop light. She lied about having ins. Instead of Liberty Mutual paying for my vehicle to be fixed and settling with me, I was hurt in the accident. They half fixed my vehicle and only wanted to pay me $2600 for my pain and suffering that I will live with for the rest of my life. I had to file a lawsuit against them and it still isn't settle. I cancelled my ins with them last year before my payment was due again and they are still trying to get me to pay them for ins. I had them for my house too and got, excuse my French, screwed on a claim for a water leak that flooded my house.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this policy overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this policy?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations