Liberty Mutual® Auto Insurance

1.3 out of 5 stars
20 Reviews

From Policyholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

1.5 5

Compare Auto Insurance Offers

View your top Auto Insurance recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former policyholders in the last year.

Apr 11, 2017
Overpriced insurance with shady practice
Libertador Policyholder

Over the course of 2 years my rates increased $34 per month without ever having one crash or ticket. I cancelled the policy in January end in April they renewed my policy charging my bank and overdraw my account. While they were willing to refund me the money rightfully so this kind of error is as ridiculous as their price gouging.

more ...
Apr 06, 2017
Terrible Advertising
Anonymous Policyholder

Their advertising is horrible. Every day I see ads mentioning when someone gets into one little accident their premiums go up "just for using it." Well, last year, I was backing out of a space and ended up using mine. And today, my premiums doubled. Doubled. Not an exaggeration. 

In truth they are no different than anyone else on this regard. I just wish they would be honest about it. The insurance itself is fine. They fixed my car quickly, I am happy with that. The process was as painless as it could have been, but those ads are a bit of a slap in the face. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 11, 2017

Did you have accident forgiveness on your policy cause that costs extra

 
Mar 22, 2017
Money pit.
Anonymous Policyholder

I received a great quote and purchased the auto insurance. Less than a month later I receive an email saying I had an important change to my policy. When I called to find out the change I found out my insurance premium was raised by $912 a year!!!! I have an excellent driving record and no accidents.

more ...
Feb 22, 2017
Auto Insurance
Anonymous Policyholder

My 18 year old daughter was never added to the policy, so when she was involved in an accident, the customer service people treated us as though we were the "bad guy."  Even after they had the full story, the claims reps continued to hound us, sending "Respond Immediately" letters, and again asking for the information we had already provided.  The company went too far when they demanded my daughter's phone number so they could speak to her w/o our presence, to get the story again...

Representatives were argumentative multiple times, and not at all helpful.

We will be changing Auto Insurance as soon as the policy is up

more ...
Nov 21, 2016
Worthless
Anonymous Policyholder

I had Liberty Mutual for several years. I had a wreck 2 yrs ago when a woman ran a stop light. She lied about having ins. Instead of Liberty Mutual paying for my vehicle to be fixed and settling with me, I was hurt in the accident. They half fixed my vehicle and only wanted to pay me $2600 for my pain and suffering that I will live with for the rest of my life. I had to file a lawsuit against them and it still isn't settle. I cancelled my ins with them last year before my payment was due again and they are still trying to get me to pay them for ins. I had them for my house too and got, excuse my French, screwed on a claim for a water leak that flooded my house.

more ...
Nov 13, 2016
very bad auto policy handling
Anonymous Policyholder

Our car was damaged by a towing company back in August.  Per Liberty Mutual's suggestion, we filed a claim with the towing company, but after a month they balked and refused to cover damages.  So we  were forced to open a claim with Liberty Mutual.

It's been 1 1/2 months, and they STiLL HAVE NOT done the appraisal of damages!  They keep postponing it week after week after week.  Absolutely ridiculous.  I have never had these kinds of problems EVER, with any other insurance provider.   I'm STILL waiting for them to assess damages on the car.

They also refuse to respond to emails unless you CC several different managers, and goodluck getting them on the phone.  

more ...
Nov 08, 2016
Terrible Rate Increases
Anonymous Policyholder

We have been with Liberty Mutual for 16 years and in the last Five or so they have increased my rates annually by 25-37% per year!!!  We have no tickets, accidents or claims and this is how you are rewarded as a long term customer.  After just receiving my new policy for the year which had a 39% increase for one of our vehicles, I found new insurance.  When I let our agent know, he just stated they will be coming out with a new rating system within the next six months that would bring our rates down.  No thank you...I'm done getting ripped off by this company.

more ...
Nov 05, 2016
Don't believe their commercials
jkextras Policyholder

My wife and I have had remarkably good driving records for over 40 years.  I had multiple vehicles insured with Liberty Mutual for about 3 years, but now because my adult daughter (who had been living at home) had an accident one year ago, they won't renew our policy.  I told them that she was going to be moving out and would no longer be on the policy, but that did not make any difference.  I was told that once their underwriters make a decision they will not reconsider for any reason other than wrong information being a factor in the decision.  So much for their commercials.

more ...
Oct 17, 2016
Claims Service is horrible.
Anonymous Policyholder

I have an auto claim with Liberty Mutual.  It has been 4 weeks and the car is still sitting outside.  I have had to be nasty to get anything done.  They do not answer phone calls and will not call you back.  I have spoken to four different people and two of them were rude and disrespectful.  They are slow to do anything but collecting my premiums. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this policy overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this policy?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations