Liberty Mutual® Auto Insurance Reviews

1.4 out of 5 stars
14 Reviews

From Policyholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

1.5 5

Compare Auto Insurance Offers

View your top Auto Insurance recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former policyholders in the last year.

Oct 27, 2017
Homeowners
Anonymous Policyholder

It takes MONTHS to get any money out of them. It took 3 months of back and forth to get them to agree to reimburse covered expenses. This is after they doubled my premium.

Expensive, none responsive, completely useless.

more ...
Oct 03, 2017
Unresponsive
VictoriaFoster Policyholder

After dealing with them during my workmen's comp case, I would never use them as an insurance company. My claims specialist is unresponsive and make you fight for any treatment THEIR doctors recommend. I can only imagine how difficult they would be if you need their insurance for pay a residential claim. I think I will stick with State Farm, at least I can count on their customer service!

more ...
Sep 29, 2017
Rip Off
Anonymous Policyholder

They charged me twice as much as 2 other car insurane companies with same coverage. If you leave a message for any of there sales reps, they will not return your calls, unless you are starting a new policy with them. If you have a problem, they are not there for you - Only to collect there money. Worst Insurance company I have ever had!! STAY AWAY!!!

more ...
Sep 26, 2017
DO NOT USE
dbond2020 Policyholder

I've had Liberty Mutual for over 3 years, started out saving but in that short period of time they have more than doubled in cost! Today was my final drawl; I changed my insurance over to progressive because they were half the cost for my two cars and a 1/4 of the cost for my motorcycle. Not one adjuster would assist us with any issues that happened to our house even though I've had several contractors tell us the cost would way over the deductible. Now I am fighting with them over $140.00 bill, they are trying to charge me for my motorcycle. $426.00 premium at $35.50 a month paid up till the end of September with the policy starting in April mid month. Because I canceled they want to charge $140.00 because people ride their bikes more in the summer than they do in the winter! WTF!!!!!!  NEVER INSURE WITH THIS PEOPLE UNLESS YOU JUST LIKE TO GIVE MONEY AWAY!

more ...
Aug 18, 2017
Policy written under false pretenses
Electricblue92 Policyholder

I was informed when I signed up that Liberty mutual covered part of Ridesharing that was truly not covered. I found out about this almost a year later, and I am quite upset that I was told that I was covered. I also had a rock chip repaired, and authorized before the work was done by Liberty Mutual. The work was completed. I then received a call from the claims department wanting to come inspect the rock chip repair. What company needs to inspect a $25 repair? How would one fake a repair? Besides these 2 problems, I was very happy with them. But those 2 issues were very big to me.

more ...
Jul 09, 2017
HORRIBLE COMPANY
Anonymous Policyholder

I CHECKED MY MOMS POLICY AND FOR A SMALL HOME THE INSURANCE WAS 2900.00. WE CALLED ANOTHER REPUTABLE COMPANY AND THE ISURANCE FOR THE SAME POLICY WAS ONLY 500.00

more ...
Jun 26, 2017
The least expensive coverage of many!
Anonymous Policyholder

The coverage cost is less than the following: State Farm, Geico, Progressive. I have had Liberty Mutual for close to 15 years now and have been doing comparisons with other major insurers every few years. Liberty Mutual is always cheaper. The one downside is that they raise your premiums every year regardless of accidents, by about 5-10%. A few years ago I decided that I had enough and switched to Progressive. Within 2 months, I got a call that now Liberty Mutual can offer me rates half of what I was paying earlier. I switched back. I assume it's how the company makes money, so beware. On the other hand, their customer service is great; they pay out quickly and sufficiently, as I learned last year when one of my vehicles was totaled. I would recommend them.

more ...
Apr 28, 2017
Satanic
Anonymous Policyholder

My policy went up $400 when I moved 10 miles away from my previous residence. When I called the customer service rep said that the cost of rising health care caused the increase. If I wasn't required to by health insuranc I coul afford decent health care. Curses to you Liberty Mutual.

more ...
Apr 11, 2017
Overpriced insurance with shady practice
Libertador Policyholder

Over the course of 2 years my rates increased $34 per month without ever having one crash or ticket. I cancelled the policy in January end in April they renewed my policy charging my bank and overdraw my account. While they were willing to refund me the money rightfully so this kind of error is as ridiculous as their price gouging.

more ...
Apr 06, 2017
Terrible Advertising
Anonymous Policyholder

Their advertising is horrible. Every day I see ads mentioning when someone gets into one little accident their premiums go up "just for using it." Well, last year, I was backing out of a space and ended up using mine. And today, my premiums doubled. Doubled. Not an exaggeration. 

In truth they are no different than anyone else on this regard. I just wish they would be honest about it. The insurance itself is fine. They fixed my car quickly, I am happy with that. The process was as painless as it could have been, but those ads are a bit of a slap in the face. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 11, 2017

Did you have accident forgiveness on your policy cause that costs extra

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this policy overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this policy?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations