Liberty Mutual® Auto Insurance Reviews

1.7 out of 5 stars
12 Reviews

From Policyholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

1.5 5

Compare Auto Insurance Offers

View your top Auto Insurance recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former policyholders in the last year.

Sep 06, 2018
Rip-Off
PFort07 Policyholder

I switched to Liberty Mutual due to employee discount. The only way I could ge the discount was though signing up for payroll deduction. I wasn't happy about it but I went with it anyway. WORST DECISION OF MY LIFE!!!! They charged me more than Geico did, and that whole RIGHT TRACK thing was a bunch of BS. Its just a way for them to upcharge you regardless if sign up for it or you dont. Will never go with this company every again. i thought ALL STATE was the worst, but nope. I was wrong

more ...
Jun 09, 2018
Bad experience
Anonymous Policyholder

I am not a policyholder, but have dealt with this company to settle a claim in which their client hit me and was at fault.  As a result of my experience, I will never use this company for my own insurance.  I have found Liberty Mutual very difficult to deal with. They take several days to respond and in the end do not do what is right.  All seems to be geared toward saving themselves money at the expense of the little guy.  They gave me an estimate to have my car fixed which is a fraction of what it will actually cost.    Now, they have authorized a rental car while my car gets repaired that is the SMALLEST possible size.  I have a large SUV.  I cannot even fit my family in the car they authorized.  It has now been 3 days since I called to get them to authorize a larger car.  Still waiting. If you have to deal with this company for a claim, I recommend calling an attorney.  I am sorry that I did not.  My frustration has been through the roof.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 05, 2018

I'm so over this crap.

 
Jun 02, 2018
Overpriced RIP OFF
misterlee Policyholder

I had LM for my business General Liability and Workman's Comp. Their rates are approximately 1/3 higher than competitors quotes. I am dropping LM like a HOT POTATO. They nearly put me out of business with their excessive rates and I never had a claim in 20 years! You can do much better if you just shop around a bit.

more ...
May 28, 2018
False Advertising
jkextras Policyholder

Liberty Mutual does not stand with you. After one incident with my daughter, who was an adult on my policy, they dropped all of us. I have excellent credit and an excellent driving record, but it didn't matter to Liberty Mutual.

more ...
Apr 09, 2018
They didn’t cover the collision
Anonymous Policyholder

I had asked them to have full coverage on my insurance and they gave me a better deal on it so I switched to them. After 3 years I had an accident and they didn’t cover my car because they said I don’t have a collision coverage! When I said I asked their agent to have full coverage they responded full coverage in California means only liability not collision! That’s it! They are playing with the words. If this is true they should had been disclosed to their clients. I wish I could give them zero star!!

more ...
Apr 09, 2018
monthly rate raised without claim made
Anonymous Policyholder

will look for new insurance when time to renew

more ...
Feb 14, 2018
The Worst
Anonymous Policyholder

Liberty Mutual's commercials claim that they will not raise your rate even if you have an accident. I had auto and homeowners insurance with them and they raised my rates without me ever making a claim. They need to find a new ad agency as well because their stupid commercials suck.

more ...
Feb 14, 2018
Anonymous Policyholder

Discounts for Right Track drivers monitoring device are not as advertised. Misleading and deceptive.

more ...
Jan 29, 2018
Bait and switch, way overpriced.
notJoeKing Policyholder

The rates doubled after the first year despite no claims, no tickets during the year. Their excuse was an increase in healthcare costs. Then I sold one 2004 SUV and bought another 2004 SUV and that change alone bumped my annual premium from 2k a year to 3k a year. For a weekend-only vehicle that cost me less than $1500 to purchase? I will be switching carriers ASAP.

more ...
Jan 12, 2018
Over priced
GWillings Policyholder

Be ready to pay up for a policy, don't use your insurance as they might just say no we are not going to renew your policy. Even though they are collecting over $300 a month from you already.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this policy overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this policy?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations