Liberty Mutual® Auto Insurance Reviews

1.7 out of 5 stars
15 Reviews

From Policyholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

1.5 5

Compare Auto Insurance Offers

View your top Auto Insurance recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 07, 2018
Decent!
BranesEva Policyholder

I have had Liberty Mutual for a few years. Thus far I have been a satisfied, no real issues have risen, and I can't complain.

Hope to continue using them for years to come.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 14, 2018
The Worst
Anonymous Policyholder

Liberty Mutual's commercials claim that they will not raise your rate even if you have an accident. I had auto and homeowners insurance with them and they raised my rates without me ever making a claim. They need to find a new ad agency as well because their stupid commercials suck.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former policyholders in the last year.

Apr 09, 2018
They didn’t cover the collision
Anonymous Policyholder

I had asked them to have full coverage on my insurance and they gave me a better deal on it so I switched to them. After 3 years I had an accident and they didn’t cover my car because they said I don’t have a collision coverage! When I said I asked their agent to have full coverage they responded full coverage in California means only liability not collision! That’s it! They are playing with the words. If this is true they should had been disclosed to their clients. I wish I could give them zero star!!

more ...
Apr 09, 2018
monthly rate raised without claim made
Anonymous Policyholder

will look for new insurance when time to renew

more ...
Feb 14, 2018
The Worst
Anonymous Policyholder

Liberty Mutual's commercials claim that they will not raise your rate even if you have an accident. I had auto and homeowners insurance with them and they raised my rates without me ever making a claim. They need to find a new ad agency as well because their stupid commercials suck.

more ...
Feb 14, 2018
Anonymous Policyholder

Discounts for Right Track drivers monitoring device are not as advertised. Misleading and deceptive.

more ...
Jan 29, 2018
Bait and switch, way overpriced.
notJoeKing Policyholder

The rates doubled after the first year despite no claims, no tickets during the year. Their excuse was an increase in healthcare costs. Then I sold one 2004 SUV and bought another 2004 SUV and that change alone bumped my annual premium from 2k a year to 3k a year. For a weekend-only vehicle that cost me less than $1500 to purchase? I will be switching carriers ASAP.

more ...
Jan 12, 2018
Over priced
GWillings Policyholder

Be ready to pay up for a policy, don't use your insurance as they might just say no we are not going to renew your policy. Even though they are collecting over $300 a month from you already.

more ...
Jan 11, 2018
Nonstop delays
Anonymous Policyholder

Even if they say they will inform me about the estimate from the auto repair, they really don't. It's keeping me from being able to get my car back. :'(

more ...
Jan 07, 2018
Decent!
BranesEva Policyholder

I have had Liberty Mutual for a few years. Thus far I have been a satisfied, no real issues have risen, and I can't complain.

Hope to continue using them for years to come.

more ...
Oct 27, 2017
Homeowners
Anonymous Policyholder

It takes MONTHS to get any money out of them. It took 3 months of back and forth to get them to agree to reimburse covered expenses. This is after they doubled my premium.

Expensive, none responsive, completely useless.

more ...
Oct 03, 2017
Unresponsive
VictoriaFoster Policyholder

After dealing with them during my workmen's comp case, I would never use them as an insurance company. My claims specialist is unresponsive and make you fight for any treatment THEIR doctors recommend. I can only imagine how difficult they would be if you need their insurance for pay a residential claim. I think I will stick with State Farm, at least I can count on their customer service!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this policy overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this policy?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations