Liberty Mutual® Auto Insurance

1.4 out of 5 stars
19 Reviews

From Policyholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

1.5 5

Compare Auto Insurance Offers

View your top Auto Insurance recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former policyholders in the last year.

Mar 22, 2017
Money pit.
Anonymous Policyholder

I received a great quote and purchased the auto insurance. Less than a month later I receive an email saying I had an important change to my policy. When I called to find out the change I found out my insurance premium was raised by $912 a year!!!! I have an excellent driving record and no accidents.

more ...
Feb 22, 2017
Auto Insurance
Anonymous Policyholder

My 18 year old daughter was never added to the policy, so when she was involved in an accident, the customer service people treated us as though we were the "bad guy."  Even after they had the full story, the claims reps continued to hound us, sending "Respond Immediately" letters, and again asking for the information we had already provided.  The company went too far when they demanded my daughter's phone number so they could speak to her w/o our presence, to get the story again...

Representatives were argumentative multiple times, and not at all helpful.

We will be changing Auto Insurance as soon as the policy is up

more ...
Nov 21, 2016
Worthless
Anonymous Policyholder

I had Liberty Mutual for several years. I had a wreck 2 yrs ago when a woman ran a stop light. She lied about having ins. Instead of Liberty Mutual paying for my vehicle to be fixed and settling with me, I was hurt in the accident. They half fixed my vehicle and only wanted to pay me $2600 for my pain and suffering that I will live with for the rest of my life. I had to file a lawsuit against them and it still isn't settle. I cancelled my ins with them last year before my payment was due again and they are still trying to get me to pay them for ins. I had them for my house too and got, excuse my French, screwed on a claim for a water leak that flooded my house.

more ...
Nov 13, 2016
very bad auto policy handling
Anonymous Policyholder

Our car was damaged by a towing company back in August.  Per Liberty Mutual's suggestion, we filed a claim with the towing company, but after a month they balked and refused to cover damages.  So we  were forced to open a claim with Liberty Mutual.

It's been 1 1/2 months, and they STiLL HAVE NOT done the appraisal of damages!  They keep postponing it week after week after week.  Absolutely ridiculous.  I have never had these kinds of problems EVER, with any other insurance provider.   I'm STILL waiting for them to assess damages on the car.

They also refuse to respond to emails unless you CC several different managers, and goodluck getting them on the phone.  

more ...
Nov 08, 2016
Terrible Rate Increases
Anonymous Policyholder

We have been with Liberty Mutual for 16 years and in the last Five or so they have increased my rates annually by 25-37% per year!!!  We have no tickets, accidents or claims and this is how you are rewarded as a long term customer.  After just receiving my new policy for the year which had a 39% increase for one of our vehicles, I found new insurance.  When I let our agent know, he just stated they will be coming out with a new rating system within the next six months that would bring our rates down.  No thank you...I'm done getting ripped off by this company.

more ...
Nov 05, 2016
Don't believe their commercials
jkextras Policyholder

My wife and I have had remarkably good driving records for over 40 years.  I had multiple vehicles insured with Liberty Mutual for about 3 years, but now because my adult daughter (who had been living at home) had an accident one year ago, they won't renew our policy.  I told them that she was going to be moving out and would no longer be on the policy, but that did not make any difference.  I was told that once their underwriters make a decision they will not reconsider for any reason other than wrong information being a factor in the decision.  So much for their commercials.

more ...
Oct 17, 2016
Claims Service is horrible.
Anonymous Policyholder

I have an auto claim with Liberty Mutual.  It has been 4 weeks and the car is still sitting outside.  I have had to be nasty to get anything done.  They do not answer phone calls and will not call you back.  I have spoken to four different people and two of them were rude and disrespectful.  They are slow to do anything but collecting my premiums. 

more ...
Oct 04, 2016
Backhanded business practices
Anonymous Policyholder

I saw a significant rate increase to my auto insurance as expected due to a DUI.  Called Liberty to talk about ways to reduce the cost and was told there was nothing they could do.  I than went to progressive and signed up for a new policy.  Called Liberty back, less than 2 hours after my first call, to cancel my policy and at this time they wanted to take a look at my policy to see if they could give me a better rate... Too little too late, I just wanted to cancel.  They kept pestering me with questions and trying to get me to stay, finally I told them I would not be answering any more questions and they needed to cancel my policy or I would call the insurance commisioner.  After a few min of silence my policy was cancled, they need to update thier scripting for people who make it clear they just want the policy cancled.  Also, as other people have stated, my rates increased substantially year over year with no tickets or accidents until the expected lare increase.

more ...
Oct 04, 2016
I WAS HIT BY A DRIVER WITH LIBERTY MUTUA
Anonymous Policyholder

THE OTHER DRIVER WAS ON THE WRONG SIDE OF THE ROAD. HE EVEN ADMITTED IT WAS HIS FAULT. THE POLICE REPORT STATED HE FELL ASLEEP. THEY WERE "INVESTIGATING" WHO WAS AT FAULT FOR A MONTH. I FINALLY GOT A LAWYER TO HELP ME OUT. THE NEXT DAY THEY SUDDENLY DECIDED THIER INSURED WAS AT FAULT. THAT WAS OVER A WEEK AGO, STILL NO WORD ON GETTING COMPENSATED. STILL NOBODY HAS COME TO LOOK AT MY TRUCK. IF YOU ARE IN THIS SITUATION WITH LIBERTY MUTUAL GET A LAWYER RIGHT AWAY, THERE ARE OTHER PROBLEMS BUT TOO MANY TO MENTION. THIS COMPANY IS CROOKED AND DISRESPECTFUL

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this policy overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this policy?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations