Auto Insurance Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Kemper Insurance

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Policyholder Ratings
3 5

Compare Auto Insurance Offers

View your top Auto Insurance recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.


Most Helpful Positive Review

Sep 29, 2016
Great claims experience
myreviewsarethebest Policyholder

I had a issue with the bodyshop and the claims adjusted called them and got everything taken care of. When you have an accident you just want your car back as fast as possible and they helped to make that happen

more ...

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 04, 2014
Anonymous Policyholder

Awful. They were fine, until we needed them.  Customer when they were unitrin, over five years, ran into a car who ran a red light in my husbands f250 diesel. The other car was a total loss, and he of course didn't have insurance.  Long story short- I informed my insurance that he ran the red light and I could't stop in time, and he said he did not run a red light- so they decided it was 50/50 fault (what?!?!), no investigation even though I said I wanted it escalated. Guy who ran red light also happened to be on parole so I'm sure was very trustworthy. By doing it this way, they didn't have to pay for his car (which they would have if I was 100% at fault), didn't have to provide us a rental for over two months that it took to fix my husbands truck, and didn't have to pay  my deductible or depreciation for the frame damage on the truck (that would have all been under MY uninsured motorist that I make sure I pay extra for). Lucky them huh?  Unlucky me, needless to say I am no longer with them. They are not worth it, and not the cheapest either.

more ...

Reviews (15)

Add Review
Sep 29, 2016
Great claims experience
myreviewsarethebest Policyholder

I had a issue with the bodyshop and the claims adjusted called them and got everything taken care of. When you have an accident you just want your car back as fast as possible and they helped to make that happen

more ...
Sep 28, 2016
raymondjlowder Policyholder

Never had a problem with Kemper and they are very easy to work with. You are able to bundle your home and your auto together for your insurance needs. Their claims handling and customer service are excellent and they are very competitive in California making them an easy and great choice for your insurance needs. You are also able to set up recurring payments with credit card so not paying for the policy is never a problem. Definitely recomment Kemper if you have any insurance needs.

more ...
Aug 30, 2016
Never had a Problem
DorinaS Policyholder

Customer service reps on the phone were great.  I did not realize I was late with a payment.  Rep on the phone assured me that it was not an issue and put me at ease letting me know that my policy was good to go.

Had one glass claim and it was taken care of with no hassle at all!

more ...
Aug 02, 2016
nealbrady Policyholder

I have had Kemper for over 9 years.  Never an issue with claim.
I have refered many family members with Kemper and they have just as happy.

more ...
Jul 15, 2016
All good here in Southern California!
Anonymous Policyholder

I found Kemper to be very helpful when my daughter 'dinged' our car and on another occaision when I had a fender bender with another car. 

more ...
Jan 06, 2016
Awful experience with auto claim

I am not a client, but I was rear ended by a Kemper Insurance client.  I was at a stop light, and when the light turned green, I was about to go, when I was hit very hard by a big pickup truck, from behind.  My car was a small two seater sports car with rear engine.  The back was smashed in.  The license plate was driven into the engine compartment.  The engine light came on.  I could drive it, but it sounded really bad.  I took it to a highly rated local mechanic who has been my mechanic for 20+ years.  He told me the mufler and catlytic converter were ripped off the engine.  The engine mounts are cracked.  The tail-lights are no longer made by any parts maker.  Short story, he says it is totaled.  But Kemper sends an appraiser to the shop; she only looks at the outside body damage and gives an estimate of $2200, which is not even a fourth of the car's blue-book value.  And that "offer" I dragged out of them after several weeks of calling them and asking them to deal with this and finally threatening to get a lawyer.  If you are thinking to get insurance, think about what would happen if you make a mistake and cause someone else damage.  Do you want your company insurance not to make themselves responsible for the damages, and possibly open you up to getting sued along with them?  I hate the idea of getting a lawyer and starting a lawsuit; have never done it; but I see no other way out.

more ...
Nov 29, 2015
Jennabeauvais Policyholder

I have had numerous issues including them changing my policy amount because they used my old TN license (which is invalid) instead of my new CA lisence. Not only that but my due date is the 29th I log on today to make my payment (it's the 29th) and my status is already in pending cancellation! I hate these people and would rather pay an extra $20 a month in insurance than to deal with the stress ever again

more ...
Nov 06, 2015
Anonymous Policyholder


more ...
Nov 13, 2014
home and auto
Anonymous Policyholder

have had home/auto in nys for past 7 years. used for 2 minor auto accidents that were other drivers fault and 1 that was mine. Used for minor damage to home following hurricane s. very efficient/ nice adjustors. Claims completed within 2-3 weeks all cases without any headaches.

more ...
Oct 11, 2014
EasySugar Policyholder

Have had Kemper for over 20 yrs. Had one collision claim that was my fault totaled $1825 15 yrs ago. If amt. had been $25 less, no pts.would have been added. Was unhappy about that! Car was fixed promptly and claim handling was excellent. I had one windshield claim and they arranged to have it replaced in my driveway promptly.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this policy overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this policy?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations