Horace Mann - Auto Insurance Reviews

1.2 out of 5 stars
6 Reviews

From Policyholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

1 5

Compare Auto Insurance Offers

View your top Auto Insurance recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former policyholders in the last year.

Dec 12, 2017
Pathetic Company
jacobjared Policyholder

I was hit by one of their insured drivers. Needless to say, they could care less about follow-up with those to whom they owe damages. Do yourself a favor and file the claim with your own insurer and let them go after Horace Mann for what is owed, through the subrogation process.  After waiting almost three days to hear back from their claim adjuster, we gave up and let GEICO handle the process for us. 

more ...
Nov 29, 2017
TERRIBLE

My vehicle was hit 8 days ago. I have called and left several messages since no one will call me back. They still have not picked my vehicle up from where it was hit! I was told today by a claims person that I was being excessive and annoying and that's why I probably have not heard back. I just want my vehicle fixed. I was told that the rental is an upgrade and I should be greatful for that. If I wanted that type of car and year I would have bought it. But I bought what I have and I want it fixed. The customer service is absolutely terrible and I would NEVER recommend them to anyone let alone want to ever get hit by another covered person again. 

more ...
Apr 13, 2017
Horrible Insurance Company
leanneintexas Policyholder

I was hit by one of their insured drivers.  It has been nine days and I cannot get anybody to call me back to file my claim and report.  I keep calling and keep sending me to the same contact and she never picks up her phone or calls me back.  Luckily my state farm insurance has been excellent and they have started repairs for me and they will recoup their costs from Horace Mann directly.  Avoid at all costs I can only assume they treat their insureds the same way. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 12, 2017

I've experienced the same **** issue with this company. I have GEICO and they will make sure our car is repaired and then go after Horace Mann for what is owed through the subrogation process.

 
Mar 20, 2017
Worst insurance company. Avoid.
Anonymous Policyholder

They lie, they cheat. What more can I say.

more ...
Mar 16, 2017
Go Somewhere else!!
Anonymous Policyholder

Ive had an auto policy with this company for over 6 months now and Im actively looking for a different company. Ever since having this company I have had problems since the first month. My payments are due same day every month with is automatically withdrawn. Being that each month my payment method is different BUT still ON TIME NEVER LATE, my agent had the nerve to tell me that i may get dropped due to changing the way I pay! What the heck does is matter how i pay as long as its paid on time??? Another issue when i first got the policy i told them i wanted the EXACT same coverage from the insurance i was changing from...(wish was including roadside assist) a couple months into being with the company one of my vehicles broke down in the middle of the road..i called the number on the insurance card and guess what?? My car WAS NOT covered like previously told and i had to pay out of pocket to get my car towed down the street. This is the WORST experience Ive had with an insurance company ever! Would never recommend anyone. Only good thing about this company is the rates are pretty decent considering the limits they give you.

more ...
Jan 03, 2017
Lousy customer service
Anonymous Policyholder

If you are ever considering obtaining insurance with Horace Mann, do an immediate 180 turn and run away as fast as you can!  These people are insurance garbage.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this policy overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this policy?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations