GEICO® Reviews

2.7 out of 5 stars
18 Reviews

From Policyholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5

Compare Auto Insurance Offers

View your top Auto Insurance recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

1 star reviews (9) See All

These reviews were written by current and former policyholders in the last year.

Feb 22, 2019
Auto insurance policy with two cars.
ADAM0246 Policyholder

Horrible company, I filed a glass claim through them online and then I called to follow up and they ended up filing two claims on my driving record. When I went to another company I called them back to dispute it and they told me they cannot remove the claim even though they did not pay me for one of them and or provide any proof of payment when asked. their response was they closed the claim at $0 and are unable to remove it from my driving record even though it's listed as an accident that they paid out on. Lady was supposed to send me a email stating that it was a $0 claim so I can provide it to my new insurance company and of course after a double checking my email address with her I never received the email after I hung up. Terrible customer service horrible rates go with Progressive or the general.

more ...
Feb 04, 2019
Awful every process has 10 more steps
Senseishake Policyholder

They make everything unnecessarily difficult to discourage filing claims. Nothing is same day fix with them, customer service is difficult and they try to coerce you to only use the app that sucks. Apparently they like to hike rates on things that by law can't affect rates like glass in Arizona so make sure you dispute those
Generally speaking yes they're cheap no it's not worth it. Military discount is garbage as well.

more ...
Feb 01, 2019
Charlespereira Policyholder

Experience whit geico claims have ben waiting on then for 8monts they dont have a respect for customers. Very bad customers services every wherer and any weher online all the reviews from this companie are bad. 

more ...
Dec 28, 2018
Liars & Thieves
Mikey9094 Policyholder

These crooks offer you a 15% savings to switch to Geico then first renewal they raise you 30%.

more ...
Dec 26, 2018
100% at fault refuse to pay!
nstkr Policyholder

A GEICO insured driver ran a red light causing enough damage to my wife's vehicle tom decalre it a total financial loss. Fine, so trying to move on I expected to get compensated from GEICO in a timely manner, oh no! Now Geico refuses to pay the shop where the vehicle was towed to the storage fees, as a result of this i cannot get compensated for my car that was paid for. I was told by the GEICO adjuster to negotiate with the shop to lower the fees then they would pay: unbelievable you accept 100% liablity for the accident your driver caused and want me to do your job? NO WAY! GEICO wants to pay me salvage for the 2014 Honda Accord EX-L V6 that was in pristeen condition and then they will pay the shop fees, I refuse to accept that. My next course of action is to file a lawsuit against GEICO. The adjuster tells me the shop is scamming them, NO! GEICO is scamming me!

more ...
Oct 31, 2018
This company is a FRAUD
crazybreezy Policyholder

I would give a negative 10 stars if it was an option! My husband's truck bed was severely damaged in a parking lot accident. We live in rural Oregon so their preferred Adjuster/Inspector was a 45 minute drive away. My husband took time off work to drive there only to arrive at his SCHEDULED appointment and be told that the Adjuster does not work there anymore. The body shop told him he was the 7th person that had come in that week! So we got on the phone with Geico and they got in touch with another Adjuster about 15 minutes away. He drove over and had the truck looked at and the man was "unable" to issue a repair check due to the claim being assigned to the other company that no longer worked in auto claims. He assured us a check would be mailed. He said once we get the check to cash it and have the truck fixed. A week later we get the check and deposit it in the bank on a Thursday, it goes "pending" and clears on a Tuesday. Today is Wednesday and the truck is at an auto-body shop currently. I got a call from my bank that Geico put a "stop payment" on their check. The Adjuster DID NOT call me at any point about the stop payment or any issues. My personal account in now overdrawn in the thousands and my husband is at a repair shop 3 HOURS AWAY getting the truck fixed with ZERO money and an OVERDRAWN bank account. I have been on the phone for going on 2 hours with no resolution. So now we have paid $3800 cash to get the truck fixed and our bank is overdrawn by $3156....leaving us at a grand total of $6956 out of packet when it should have been our $500 deductible!!!! They are offering to send a $2600 check through the mail...this is NOT a way to run a business! This is fraud and outrageous!

more ...
Oct 12, 2018
STAY AWAY - GEICO IS A SCAM AND A FRAUD!
coachk2314 Policyholder

STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY!!  They will gladly take your money but if anything happens you are in trouble.  They will do anything to get out of paying a claim.  Very unethical and will flat out lie to you.  If you ask any body shop,  attorney or business that works with Geico,  you will hear A LOT of negaitve things and they are all true.  TERRIBLE COMPANY!!

more ...
Oct 10, 2018
giovannib1990 Policyholder

This is one of the wrost insurance companys out there... Allstate & Geico.... do not get them... maybe if you want liability only... but if you get full coverage they will find any way to screw over claimants. there are adjusters at Geico with serious pride issues.

more ...
Apr 01, 2018
13 years of continuous auto insurance
Jrmontoya Policyholder

two claims in more than three years.  Both were less than $3000. My six month policy went from $700 to almost $3000. I have been with Geico for more than 13 years.  When I got the increase, I got three quotes that were 65%less than Geico. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this policy overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this policy?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations