Auto Insurance Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

GEICO®

1.9 out of 5 stars
30 Reviews

From Policyholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2 5

Compare Auto Insurance Offers

View your top Auto Insurance recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Dec 30, 2016
excellent
beachboundmom Policyholder

Exceptional claim service.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 31, 2016
Called Customer Service to inquire why..
Anonymous Policyholder

Called Customer Service to ask why this more than 50 year customer, with no accidents I was responsible for, had his premium increased almost 10% and was told parts prices had increased. This after no Social Security increase for 3 years because the Federal Gov't says "there is NO inflation"? Asked to speak to a Supervisor and they put me on hold FOREVER! This is NOT my old GEICO!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former policyholders in the last year.

Feb 19, 2017
Buyer beware! 9 years no claims. Rates d
Anonymous Policyholder

Run from this company as fast as you can. We been with them for 9 years without a single claim. Rates doulbed with nothing but excuses. Goodbye geico!! Never again!!

more ...
Jan 17, 2017
Auto insurance
Anonymous Policyholder

 Customer service is terrible with  communicating with customers. Causing customer to be terminated with falsehood  information. This is something that needs to be addressed seriously. Can't have good business by repeating the lies about customers. 

more ...
Jan 06, 2017
They paint a pretty picture at first
Anonymous Policyholder

When you sign up for Geico insurance after the first  year great except  when the renewal comes in and they raise your rates for no reason whatsoever. This is commonly known as the hook.

more ...
Nov 22, 2016
Very expensive
Anonymous Policyholder

The highest insurance i have seen anywhere
VERY VERY EXPENSIVE

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 23, 2016

I conquer with what you've said , for some reason very , very high... must be the lizard's paying or wanting a new something.

 
Nov 22, 2016
Anonymous Policyholder

Great company

more ...
Nov 15, 2016
Very Comfortable Price
Anonymous Policyholder

They are very informative via online.  I joined in the past 2 months.  I got all of my questions and concerns answered online.

Excellent pricing and service so far.       

more ...
Nov 07, 2016
Great Experience
Anonymous Policyholder

I've had this policy for years, and they have been awesome! When a neighbor's tree crushed my car, they took care of all issues - even when the other insurnace company would not pay out.

more ...
Nov 07, 2016
Auto and renters insurance
Anonymous Policyholder

Think twice. I canceled my policies due to finding cheaper coverage. I sent written notice to Geico about caneling policy and proof of new policies. Gieco uses third party companies. They never sent the canceled policies over to the third parties. I was basically ripped off a couple hundred dollars because pf this. I had to chase down the third party companies. Unprofessional and lazy!!

more ...
Nov 03, 2016
Find another Agency!
Anonymous Policyholder

I had been with GEICO for over 7 years and never had any issues until we moved to another state.  Their rates were comparable to other insurance providers in the area for auto, but when we stated looking for homeowners insurance, they more than doubled our previous rate for a smaller house in a safer town.  We were only given one choice for a provider, which was odd as they normally work with several different providers to give a competitive price.  When I asked about this, the rep said that wasn't an option any more and told me if I didn't like it, to go look somewhere else.  This got me pretty angry and I asked to speak to his supervisor.  I was put on hold for about ten minutes, then when the same rep came back on, he then told me that they could write a policy with a different company for a lower rate.  I asked him what had changed in the past 10 minutes to allow him to do this and he explained how he has a quota with each company GEICO works with.  So, they don't care about their policy holders enough to write the best plan that suits them, they write them in order to better suit their partners.  Putting that aside, I agree to get another quote from their other partner, just with this reps supervisor instead.  Again I was put on a long hold before being told in a matter of fact way that even if I was to speak to his supervisor, I'd be transferred back to him as his supervisor wasn't allowed to write policies.  I had a hard time believing him at this point with how disrespectful he had been and the lies he told me before, how is it the person above you isn't qualified for the position below them?  So, I remained calm and agreed again to try and work with this rep.  Upon answering his first question, he responded with a very condescending remark and I couldn't take it any more.  I asked if he would just transfer me to any other person in that department, and that I couldn't work with him due to his attitude and the way he treated his customers.  Instead, he put me on another long hold then transferred me to a generic voicemail box.  I left my message asking to be called back to get a quote and to log a complaint against that rep, and got nothing in return.

So, I shopped around on my own and found a great policy through MetLife for $800 less than what GEICO was offering.  They even matched the price of my auto policy with better coverage.  Since I had been with GEICO for so long, I thought the right thing to do was to call them and see if they'd match their offer and keep a customer.  I received the same service with the reps that day as I did the time before.  Their auto agent even went so far as to try to intimidate me with false information about the policy I was getting into had hidden fees and didn't offer "accident forgiveness".  So I called my soon-to-be new agent and asked him about this.  First off, as a general rule, almost all insurance providers offer some form of accident forgiveness they just don't say anything about it.  Most insurance companies, including the one I am going to, don't raise your rates for your first at fault accident.  It used to be just a general rule, but other companies saw it as a good marketing campaign to start mentioning it and branding it as exclusively their idea.  Liberty Mutual actually charges you for it, so you end up insuring your insurance.  So after debunking that and the other claims made by that agent, I decided that I was done with GEICO and their customer service.

When I called to cancel, I did talk to friendly, respectful reps but by then it was too little too late.  If a company is going to handle a majority of their business online and over the phone, they have to have reps that give trustworthy advice and who you can actually stay on the phone with long enough to finalize a policy with.

I understand that most of the time, it comes down to saving money with your insurance, but I believe it to be well worth an extra for a company that treats you like a decent human being.  I don't see myself or my family using them again and would highly advise anyone to do their due diligence and shop around.  Even try SelectQuote.com to have them shop around for you.  Just because it's the cheapest doesn't mean its the best, even though they boast a "96%" satisfaction rating, which was told to me over and over today when I told them why I was canceling my service with them.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this policy overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this policy?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations