GEICO® Reviews

1.9 out of 5 stars
18 Reviews

From Policyholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2 5

Compare Auto Insurance Offers

View your top Auto Insurance recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 17, 2017
cheapest easiest insurance company
Nikkidill88 Policyholder

reasonable company

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 06, 2017
SCANDALOUS GEICO INSURANCE!!! ...
PRIVATECONSUMER Policyholder

GEICO CHARGED 3 ADDITIONAL UNAUTHORIZED YEARS OF INSURANCE, PER MY FRIEND'S FORMER MOTORCYCLE, AND ONCE CAUGHT, CONTACTED, VERIFIED BY HIS CURRENT INSURANCE COMPANY, AND DEMANDING THE RETURN OF HIS $$$$, (WITH CONSIDERABLE ARGUMENT FROM GEICO), THEY FINALLY AGREED TO SEND A $$$$ CHECK, WHICH ONCE RECEIVED ~BOUNCED.  AFTER ADDITIONAL CONTACT WITH GEICO, AND THREATENING THEM WITH THE OPTION TO PAY NOW OR SUFFER A LAW SUIT, GEICO ISSUED ANOTHER CHECK, WHICH WAS RECEIVED, AND SUCCESSFULLY CASHED.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former policyholders in the last year.

Feb 13, 2018
Increase premium with no reason
Anonymous Policyholder

Worst customer service EVER!!!

They try to trick customers to believe when you get a driver license, your premium supposed to be increase by 300 dollars. Even higher than the premium when you only have the learner permit!They try to fool you by asking you to submit a whole lot of documents to confirm your driving history and promise a discount which they will never give you, as a result they increase you premium again, totally opposite from what they promised! Their promise was a piece of “the four letter word”. When you ask for an explanation. They simply say: insurance market price all going up. Save you time and stay away from Geico. Shame of insurance companies.

more ...
Jan 27, 2018
SHADY COMPANY
Anonymous Policyholder

Made my policy over the phone about a year ago. Signed up for autopay because I use that for all of my bills. Lady over the phone never mentioned the differences between paying monthly and bi-anually and that they would secretly be adding an extra $5 to every bill I pay with my DEBIT card. The extra charges never show up on any of their emails, they just mention the single charge to your card without any reason or explanation so the consumer doesn't know what or how they're being charged. I only realized it while I was changing over to a different card and decided to click on past billing charges. They add an extra $5 to your bill in the MIDDLE of the month and then add that to a single charge they send you at the end of the month. They secretly charged me an extra $70 over the course of the year. No other insurance company does this, Geico is the shadiest, scummiest insurance company on the planet and I would never use them again.

more ...
Jan 03, 2018
Stay away. Will screw you up.
4clickprofits Policyholder

Stay away from Geico Insurance. They have a opption online were u can add to your policy. So i added rental car. Went to make small claim for broken window. Called into file claim first thing customer service want to flag my small claim because i add rent a car. They have poor to non service experience but want your money. Sad. Then made sure to fine a new insurance company because of them being so petty. So they tried getting back at me by sending me a small balance bill of $36 wanting to turn over to collections. Advice: Stay away from Geico. I want every place a policy with them even if free.

more ...
Dec 19, 2017
Ripoff
Rsketers Policyholder

When I started with Geico the prices were good compared to other companies I applied for. After a few months I realize they had my son as my spouse on my car insurance which made it $50 more. After they changed it my rate went down $50 but they wouldn't give me the money I had already spent on their mistake of making my son my spouse. By then I was out $150. So I needed to add my husband to my policy which more than tripled my policy amount and then without notice they cancelled my policy on me and didn't give me Excuse till a week later. They couldn't cover my husband so instead of calling me and telling me that they decided to just cancel my policy. So I called them to find out what happened and they told me they'll send me a paperwork to sign saying they will not cover my husband but they'll cover me and my son. But I had to return the paperwork by a certain time. It's been 3 weeks now still haven't received any type of paperwork from them. Then they sent me a bill saying I owe them $300 for them to cancel my policy. And when I told them to send me proof they sent me a bunch of charges that were added and then removed and it was very confusing and I don't feel like I owed them the $300. So I decided to go with Progressive which isn't much better but at least I have car insurance.

more ...
Nov 09, 2017
Simple
Anonymous Policyholder

Simple and quick

more ...
Oct 30, 2017
Anonymous Policyholder

Worst company ever especially in handling claims they say the will get everything resolved and never do

more ...
Sep 15, 2017
Scam
Anonymous Policyholder

geico is horrible. Find out for yourself. Pay hundreds of thousands of dolllars in insurance premiums. When you file a claim, they will not cover a dime. Complete thievery. 

more ...
Aug 24, 2017
went up too much
pdwpi Policyholder

To high to continue, went to progressive will save $400 in a 6 month period

more ...
Aug 16, 2017
The worse car insurance company period.
Anonymous Policyholder

This is by far the worse company to have.  They keep increasing the price each year, even when you renew their policy, customer service is really bad and their underwriter takes forever to get back to you with answwers.  In my incident, they took more than 3 months to get back to me and they decided to blame me for the incident when the fault was the other person.  I had proof and they rejected it.  Do not use this company and stay away from them.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this policy overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this policy?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations