GEICO® Reviews

2.1 out of 5 stars
31 Reviews

From Policyholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2 5

Compare Auto Insurance Offers

View your top Auto Insurance recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Dec 30, 2016
excellent
beachboundmom Policyholder

Exceptional claim service.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Nov 22, 2016
Very expensive
Anonymous Policyholder

The highest insurance i have seen anywhere
VERY VERY EXPENSIVE

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former policyholders in the last year.

Aug 16, 2017
The worse car insurance company period.
Anonymous Policyholder

This is by far the worse company to have.  They keep increasing the price each year, even when you renew their policy, customer service is really bad and their underwriter takes forever to get back to you with answwers.  In my incident, they took more than 3 months to get back to me and they decided to blame me for the incident when the fault was the other person.  I had proof and they rejected it.  Do not use this company and stay away from them.

more ...
Aug 06, 2017
SCANDALOUS GEICO INSURANCE!!! ...
PRIVATECONSUMER Policyholder

GEICO CHARGED 3 ADDITIONAL UNAUTHORIZED YEARS OF INSURANCE, PER MY FRIEND'S FORMER MOTORCYCLE, AND ONCE CAUGHT, CONTACTED, VERIFIED BY HIS CURRENT INSURANCE COMPANY, AND DEMANDING THE RETURN OF HIS $$$$, (WITH CONSIDERABLE ARGUMENT FROM GEICO), THEY FINALLY AGREED TO SEND A $$$$ CHECK, WHICH ONCE RECEIVED ~BOUNCED.  AFTER ADDITIONAL CONTACT WITH GEICO, AND THREATENING THEM WITH THE OPTION TO PAY NOW OR SUFFER A LAW SUIT, GEICO ISSUED ANOTHER CHECK, WHICH WAS RECEIVED, AND SUCCESSFULLY CASHED.  

more ...
Jun 26, 2017
Not worth it
Anonymous Policyholder

Cancelled policy for another insurance company.
Geico sends letter 22 days later that says your going to be placed into collections for the balance of $21.00 that will be your final notice that is due in 15 days. What a bunch of jerks!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 25, 2017

Pay your bill eh?

 
Jun 14, 2017
Don't believe what they say !!!!
ShmayaC Policyholder

My son was looking to lease a vehicle, and got a quote from Gieco,  paid them the premuium, and a day later they called him to say that they made a mistakle and increased his premuim $600/year !!!! he made the decission to lease the vehicle thinking he would be able to spend X amount of dollars on the insurance, and after he signed all the papers and took ownership of the vehicle, they call a day later to inform him that he is now stuck with a payment he can't afford!!! 

No one to talk to, at Gieco - the worse customer service I have ever en****ered... I cant belive this is legel !!!!

more ...
May 28, 2017
Both are cars were insured for 5 years
Canyonjon Policyholder

Geico was our company for many years. We had NO claims. After we went somewhere else, they left us with another bill. Horrible company. I work in the auto industry and know they are the worst at paying claims. Now with state farm.

more ...
May 18, 2017
Geico sucks
Anonymous Policyholder

I am a current costumer of Geico ( looking for a new company ) and let me say not only do the rip people off but they are very rude. On May 3rd 2017 I had a tree fall on my vehicle during a bad storm and total it out. I called that night and made a claim. I was told the tree had to off my vehicle before anyone got to my house to inspect my vehicle. So me my husband and neighbor along with some family members worked all day on the 4th cutting to tree and moving it. The adjuster comes out ( i wasnt home and didnt know he was coming ) the friday to look at my vehicle then sends a tow truck that night to pick it up and tells me he can't give me a settlement amount until he got the mileage. So he calls me with the amount Monday leaves a message telling me the amount and it's lower the blue book. I call claims dept to find out why and how they got the number and was told my carpet and seats were wet and they took that off of the value and I had a busted out window and my windshield was busted to and they took from the value. I told the women I 40,000 pound tree fell on my vehicle and caused that damage and it rained another 6 to 7 hours after the tree fell and busted out the window I was then told I should have went out in the middle of this storm mind you so bad that the power company had to replace transformers that were fried from lightening and moved the tree off my vehicle and covered the windows with a tarp to prevent further damage. I have full coverage and they should have paid me for my vehicle but instead over a week and a half they told me how dents and dings shattered windows and leaks under my hood all caused from the tree falling on it was all stuff they were taking off towards the value. I also went to the tow yard to take pictures of stuff they said my vehicle didn't have like air bags just to name 1 and was to geico has informed them I couldn't see my vehicle without there permission.... wth this is still my vehicle geico doesn't own it or have any say so over it. Word of advice never go with them unless you know you will never have to make a claim. This was my first one I have ever had to make and I was weather related and still got treated like a piece of trash.

more ...
May 13, 2017
Affordable
Anonymous Policyholder

I've had State Farm for many years but the rates kept going up.  I was told to try Geico and I'm very pleased with their prices and level of service.

more ...
Mar 14, 2017
Anonymous Policyholder

After being insured by the company for over 5 years and having my business and other aspects of my life insured by the company with no issues, I am dishearted to say I will be looking for other forms of insurance. After being todl I had to combine my insurance with my fiance, they incorrectly entered my information in the system and misinformed the DMV so my plates were taken by a police officer and I have to pay for a 30 day permit. I feel, as this is a mistake on the part of the company, they shoudl take care of this amount due and/or reinburse me. Upon speaking to 2 seperate representatives and one apologetic but unwilling to assist supervisor I was left without answers to why I am being made to pay this amount and a bill. As it seems, they take less pride in keeping the loyal customers they have and more in protecting their employees, I will look into other companies who are willing to correct their mistakes and keep loyal customers.

more ...
Feb 19, 2017
Buyer beware! 9 years no claims. Rates d
Anonymous Policyholder

Run from this company as fast as you can. We been with them for 9 years without a single claim. Rates doulbed with nothing but excuses. Goodbye geico!! Never again!!

more ...
Apr 01, 2017

What year(s) are your insured vehicle(s)..?

 
Jul 25, 2017

Rates double? Not even possible unless you did something wrong. The state regulates how much of a premium increase insurance companies can take based on profit and loss. The most I've ever heard of is around 9-10% increase. So a 100% increase is just not going to happen.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this policy overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this policy?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations