GEICO® Reviews

2.1 out of 5 stars
18 Reviews

From Policyholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2 5

Compare Auto Insurance Offers

View your top Auto Insurance recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Dec 30, 2016
excellent
beachboundmom Policyholder

Exceptional claim service.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 14, 2017
Anonymous Policyholder

After being insured by the company for over 5 years and having my business and other aspects of my life insured by the company with no issues, I am dishearted to say I will be looking for other forms of insurance. After being todl I had to combine my insurance with my fiance, they incorrectly entered my information in the system and misinformed the DMV so my plates were taken by a police officer and I have to pay for a 30 day permit. I feel, as this is a mistake on the part of the company, they shoudl take care of this amount due and/or reinburse me. Upon speaking to 2 seperate representatives and one apologetic but unwilling to assist supervisor I was left without answers to why I am being made to pay this amount and a bill. As it seems, they take less pride in keeping the loyal customers they have and more in protecting their employees, I will look into other companies who are willing to correct their mistakes and keep loyal customers.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former policyholders in the last year.

Nov 09, 2017
Simple
Anonymous Policyholder

Simple and quick

more ...
Oct 30, 2017
Anonymous Policyholder

Worst company ever especially in handling claims they say the will get everything resolved and never do

more ...
Sep 15, 2017
Scam
Anonymous Policyholder

geico is horrible. Find out for yourself. Pay hundreds of thousands of dolllars in insurance premiums. When you file a claim, they will not cover a dime. Complete thievery. 

more ...
Aug 24, 2017
went up too much
pdwpi Policyholder

To high to continue, went to progressive will save $400 in a 6 month period

more ...
Aug 16, 2017
The worse car insurance company period.
Anonymous Policyholder

This is by far the worse company to have.  They keep increasing the price each year, even when you renew their policy, customer service is really bad and their underwriter takes forever to get back to you with answwers.  In my incident, they took more than 3 months to get back to me and they decided to blame me for the incident when the fault was the other person.  I had proof and they rejected it.  Do not use this company and stay away from them.

more ...
Aug 06, 2017
SCANDALOUS GEICO INSURANCE!!! ...
PRIVATECONSUMER Policyholder

GEICO CHARGED 3 ADDITIONAL UNAUTHORIZED YEARS OF INSURANCE, PER MY FRIEND'S FORMER MOTORCYCLE, AND ONCE CAUGHT, CONTACTED, VERIFIED BY HIS CURRENT INSURANCE COMPANY, AND DEMANDING THE RETURN OF HIS $$$$, (WITH CONSIDERABLE ARGUMENT FROM GEICO), THEY FINALLY AGREED TO SEND A $$$$ CHECK, WHICH ONCE RECEIVED ~BOUNCED.  AFTER ADDITIONAL CONTACT WITH GEICO, AND THREATENING THEM WITH THE OPTION TO PAY NOW OR SUFFER A LAW SUIT, GEICO ISSUED ANOTHER CHECK, WHICH WAS RECEIVED, AND SUCCESSFULLY CASHED.  

more ...
Jun 26, 2017
Not worth it
Anonymous Policyholder

Cancelled policy for another insurance company.
Geico sends letter 22 days later that says your going to be placed into collections for the balance of $21.00 that will be your final notice that is due in 15 days. What a bunch of jerks!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 25, 2017

Pay your bill eh?

 
Jun 14, 2017
Don't believe what they say !!!!
ShmayaC Policyholder

My son was looking to lease a vehicle, and got a quote from Gieco,  paid them the premuium, and a day later they called him to say that they made a mistakle and increased his premuim $600/year !!!! he made the decission to lease the vehicle thinking he would be able to spend X amount of dollars on the insurance, and after he signed all the papers and took ownership of the vehicle, they call a day later to inform him that he is now stuck with a payment he can't afford!!! 

No one to talk to, at Gieco - the worse customer service I have ever en****ered... I cant belive this is legel !!!!

more ...
May 28, 2017
Both are cars were insured for 5 years
Canyonjon Policyholder

Geico was our company for many years. We had NO claims. After we went somewhere else, they left us with another bill. Horrible company. I work in the auto industry and know they are the worst at paying claims. Now with state farm.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this policy overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this policy?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations