GEICO®

2.0 out of 5 stars
30 Reviews

From Policyholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2 5

Compare Auto Insurance Offers

View your top Auto Insurance recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 26, 2013
Great company
mattkwarr Policyholder

I have had Geico since I first began driving. I had a small accident and they handled every thing for me right away. No matter what time it is, Geico customer service representatives are available to assist you in any way. The company will send you insurance cards any time you need them for free. Paying is easy with the online account that each customer has. There were times when I needed a few extra days to pay my bill and someone worked with me to ensure no lapses in coverage. The only issue I have had with Geico was the fact that they never told me that my renter's insurance policy was actually issued by a different company when I first purchased the policy. I was very disappointed about that, but Geico is still amazing and best of all, affordable.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jul 11, 2014
Permium increase without reason
Anonymous Policyholder

Geico increased premium by $33/month for no reason. Nothing changed, not coverage, not address, not the number of people on policy. Called customer service and asked them why and they had no answer except they re-evaluated us. We didnt get any tickets, filed any claims... nothing. I asked them to re-evaluate us since nothing has changed and they said they could not help with the rate.

Went to another company. New premium was half the premium Geico wanted to charge. Called and cancelled Geico and they undercut the rate of new provider by a few dollars. Told the customer service this rate is for now but they would increase it down the line for no reason. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former policyholders in the last year.

Mar 14, 2017
Anonymous Policyholder

After being insured by the company for over 5 years and having my business and other aspects of my life insured by the company with no issues, I am dishearted to say I will be looking for other forms of insurance. After being todl I had to combine my insurance with my fiance, they incorrectly entered my information in the system and misinformed the DMV so my plates were taken by a police officer and I have to pay for a 30 day permit. I feel, as this is a mistake on the part of the company, they shoudl take care of this amount due and/or reinburse me. Upon speaking to 2 seperate representatives and one apologetic but unwilling to assist supervisor I was left without answers to why I am being made to pay this amount and a bill. As it seems, they take less pride in keeping the loyal customers they have and more in protecting their employees, I will look into other companies who are willing to correct their mistakes and keep loyal customers.

more ...
Feb 19, 2017
Buyer beware! 9 years no claims. Rates d
Anonymous Policyholder

Run from this company as fast as you can. We been with them for 9 years without a single claim. Rates doulbed with nothing but excuses. Goodbye geico!! Never again!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 01, 2017

What year(s) are your insured vehicle(s)..?

 
Jan 17, 2017
Auto insurance
Anonymous Policyholder

 Customer service is terrible with  communicating with customers. Causing customer to be terminated with falsehood  information. This is something that needs to be addressed seriously. Can't have good business by repeating the lies about customers. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 01, 2017

Reason why their rates are lower than other competitor's.... they more than likely outsource their customer service. I'd still take lower pricing

 
Jan 06, 2017
They paint a pretty picture at first
Anonymous Policyholder

When you sign up for Geico insurance after the first  year great except  when the renewal comes in and they raise your rates for no reason whatsoever. This is commonly known as the hook.

more ...
Nov 22, 2016
Very expensive
Anonymous Policyholder

The highest insurance i have seen anywhere
VERY VERY EXPENSIVE

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 23, 2016

I conquer with what you've said , for some reason very , very high... must be the lizard's paying or wanting a new something.

 
Nov 22, 2016
Anonymous Policyholder

Great company

more ...
Nov 15, 2016
Very Comfortable Price
Anonymous Policyholder

They are very informative via online.  I joined in the past 2 months.  I got all of my questions and concerns answered online.

Excellent pricing and service so far.       

more ...
Nov 07, 2016
Great Experience
Anonymous Policyholder

I've had this policy for years, and they have been awesome! When a neighbor's tree crushed my car, they took care of all issues - even when the other insurnace company would not pay out.

more ...
Nov 07, 2016
Auto and renters insurance
Anonymous Policyholder

Think twice. I canceled my policies due to finding cheaper coverage. I sent written notice to Geico about caneling policy and proof of new policies. Gieco uses third party companies. They never sent the canceled policies over to the third parties. I was basically ripped off a couple hundred dollars because pf this. I had to chase down the third party companies. Unprofessional and lazy!!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this policy overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this policy?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations