Auto Insurance Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

GEICO®

2.3 out of 5 stars
31 Reviews

From Policyholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5

Compare Auto Insurance Offers

View your top Auto Insurance recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Dec 31, 2015
Great Customer Service
MissouriCustomer Policyholder

I have been a GEICO customer since 1979 or 1980.  Their cusotmer service has always been excellent.  I have made a number of claims, some of them my fault, others another driver's fault.  My most recent accident was in 2010 when my 4 month old car was rear-ended by a huge pickup truck with big metal rings on the front.  He was insured by Progressive, who insisted that they would only pay for used parts for my brand new car!  I insisted that the parts be new and GEICO reps stood up for me.  His insurance company was forced to pay for my rental car and NEW parts!  I've been very pleased with their service!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 16, 2016
Scam! Read my review.
Burronmac Policyholder

Got a quote directly from Geico. $667 for a 6 month policy. I said so this is my payment plan for 6 months. Yes sir. And they recorded it. Hang up and 10 minutes later I get an email from them saying after further review your policy is $900 for 6 month policy. I don't think so. Cancelled immediately after my first payment was over.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former policyholders in the last year.

Nov 22, 2016
Very expensive
Anonymous Policyholder

The highest insurance i have seen anywhere
VERY VERY EXPENSIVE

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 23, 2016

I conquer with what you've said , for some reason very , very high... must be the lizard's paying or wanting a new something.

 
Nov 22, 2016
Anonymous Policyholder

Great company

more ...
Nov 15, 2016
Very Comfortable Price
Anonymous Policyholder

They are very informative via online.  I joined in the past 2 months.  I got all of my questions and concerns answered online.

Excellent pricing and service so far.       

more ...
Nov 07, 2016
Great Experience
Anonymous Policyholder

I've had this policy for years, and they have been awesome! When a neighbor's tree crushed my car, they took care of all issues - even when the other insurnace company would not pay out.

more ...
Nov 07, 2016
Auto and renters insurance
Anonymous Policyholder

Think twice. I canceled my policies due to finding cheaper coverage. I sent written notice to Geico about caneling policy and proof of new policies. Gieco uses third party companies. They never sent the canceled policies over to the third parties. I was basically ripped off a couple hundred dollars because pf this. I had to chase down the third party companies. Unprofessional and lazy!!

more ...
Nov 03, 2016
Find another Agency!
Anonymous Policyholder

I had been with GEICO for over 7 years and never had any issues until we moved to another state.  Their rates were comparable to other insurance providers in the area for auto, but when we stated looking for homeowners insurance, they more than doubled our previous rate for a smaller house in a safer town.  We were only given one choice for a provider, which was odd as they normally work with several different providers to give a competitive price.  When I asked about this, the rep said that wasn't an option any more and told me if I didn't like it, to go look somewhere else.  This got me pretty angry and I asked to speak to his supervisor.  I was put on hold for about ten minutes, then when the same rep came back on, he then told me that they could write a policy with a different company for a lower rate.  I asked him what had changed in the past 10 minutes to allow him to do this and he explained how he has a quota with each company GEICO works with.  So, they don't care about their policy holders enough to write the best plan that suits them, they write them in order to better suit their partners.  Putting that aside, I agree to get another quote from their other partner, just with this reps supervisor instead.  Again I was put on a long hold before being told in a matter of fact way that even if I was to speak to his supervisor, I'd be transferred back to him as his supervisor wasn't allowed to write policies.  I had a hard time believing him at this point with how disrespectful he had been and the lies he told me before, how is it the person above you isn't qualified for the position below them?  So, I remained calm and agreed again to try and work with this rep.  Upon answering his first question, he responded with a very condescending remark and I couldn't take it any more.  I asked if he would just transfer me to any other person in that department, and that I couldn't work with him due to his attitude and the way he treated his customers.  Instead, he put me on another long hold then transferred me to a generic voicemail box.  I left my message asking to be called back to get a quote and to log a complaint against that rep, and got nothing in return.

So, I shopped around on my own and found a great policy through MetLife for $800 less than what GEICO was offering.  They even matched the price of my auto policy with better coverage.  Since I had been with GEICO for so long, I thought the right thing to do was to call them and see if they'd match their offer and keep a customer.  I received the same service with the reps that day as I did the time before.  Their auto agent even went so far as to try to intimidate me with false information about the policy I was getting into had hidden fees and didn't offer "accident forgiveness".  So I called my soon-to-be new agent and asked him about this.  First off, as a general rule, almost all insurance providers offer some form of accident forgiveness they just don't say anything about it.  Most insurance companies, including the one I am going to, don't raise your rates for your first at fault accident.  It used to be just a general rule, but other companies saw it as a good marketing campaign to start mentioning it and branding it as exclusively their idea.  Liberty Mutual actually charges you for it, so you end up insuring your insurance.  So after debunking that and the other claims made by that agent, I decided that I was done with GEICO and their customer service.

When I called to cancel, I did talk to friendly, respectful reps but by then it was too little too late.  If a company is going to handle a majority of their business online and over the phone, they have to have reps that give trustworthy advice and who you can actually stay on the phone with long enough to finalize a policy with.

I understand that most of the time, it comes down to saving money with your insurance, but I believe it to be well worth an extra for a company that treats you like a decent human being.  I don't see myself or my family using them again and would highly advise anyone to do their due diligence and shop around.  Even try SelectQuote.com to have them shop around for you.  Just because it's the cheapest doesn't mean its the best, even though they boast a "96%" satisfaction rating, which was told to me over and over today when I told them why I was canceling my service with them.

more ...
Oct 27, 2016
Worst company! All the employees lie
Anonymous Policyholder

Honestly screw Geico. If you dont have them please dont ever get them as an insurance company!

So I called to update my policy. Well they said I had to pay a 500 payment and the next payments would all be 197. This was the only way to keep my policy effective. I said ok. I asked if it was possible to change my date. They said it would be fine and to just call later to change it. So I confirmed that it would be 197 on the 27th and just the 500 for the first payment and Im good. Ok so today I had $82 taken from my account by Geico. I called them and the rep saw it on his side as well and said oh the $82 will probably just be deducted next month because the computer recognizes it as a non payment cause of your date change. Ok no.. I want my money I just gave you 500. Then they 3 way my bank (not necessary) just to make sure (hello you saw on your computer too). My bank confirms the amount was taken. So he says I will be refunded and everything is fine. Ok great. But I just want to double verify again... so next month will be my $197? He tells me no because that 82 has to go somewhere so I'll be charged next month for it. But why? So he tried to get away with not telling me I was gonna be charged again and in the beginning acted like it was a mistake that would be deducted.
Well I just "changed" my policy to a whole new one then changed my date.
What do you mean, I just updated it. Welp no, the last employee also lied and tricked me. Before I was on a pay as you go and they made me pay extra up front in case I am short one month. Something they did not make me aware of. They said this is what I HAD to pay. Not that it was an option!
So Im arguing with this guy for 30min. Hes already said so many contradicting things. Then I speak with a manager. She wont let me talk to anyone higher up or give me contact info. She said because I asked for a new date they made me a whole new policy and that I had to pay extra. Ive been double confirming with all the employees. Not once did someone say I would have to pay in order to change my date. So now they forced me to pay more money up front and are forcing me to pay the 82. All because their employees didnt explain my options and when I asked my options they told me that I had to pay more and also changing my date would be fine and I would pay my normal bill.

GEICO is sooo shady. Ive had so many employees lie to me. if we file a case against them better believe it will turn into a million dollar one. Because everyone they have taken advantage of will get a check. Feel free to share. I do NOT trust this company at all now!

more ...
Oct 26, 2016
We Traveled Overseas & Suspended
DGJCatlow Policyholder

ONce we got back, they raised our premium by double.  NOT ONE EVER said a thing.  We paid thousands in and never had a claim.   WE CANCELED and moved on to State Farm with a $100 less premium costs every six months, better coverages (for example, windshield, which Geico does NOT offer).  DO NOT DO BUSINESS with Geico if you want great premiums and great coverages.

more ...
Oct 26, 2016
Worlds Greatest Car Insurance
Anonymous Policyholder

I absolutely LOVE Geico! My family and I previously had AAA which was charging us 5000 dollars a year for insurance .. Geico only charged us 2,500!! Amazing! Half the price for the same coverage! We have three vehicles and all 3 vehicles have been in some sort of accident.. Geico has been with us every step of the way.. They made the process simple and most important; Painless! Their customer support is absolutely lovely and supportive every time I call.. They deal with my car troubles in a reasonable timely manner! I LOVE everything about GEICO! I hope that everyone else may have the same experience as me and I would like to thank the staff of Geico for all there hard work..

more ...
Oct 18, 2016
Policy way over priced!
Anonymous Policyholder

Had geico for auto for 7 years. Had 4 nice vehicles on policy.  Clean records, no accidents, defensive driving discounts...I was paying almost $9,000.00 a year... thought something seemed fishy. I called State Farm and for the same exact coverage I was quoted $4,200 for the entire year!!...switched immediately. Geico is a rip off...

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this policy overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this policy?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations