Auto Insurance Reviews Advertiser Disclosure


Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Policyholder Ratings
2.5 5

Compare Auto Insurance Offers

View your top Auto Insurance recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.


Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 07, 2011

 We have had GEICO car insurance since we were first married in 1965. Any time we have had to file a claim, they have been right there for us, no problems. A year ago, I was in an accident, another car made an illegal left turn and totalled my car. I was taken to the local Emergency Room, and was diagnosed with a concussion. GEICO was right there that night when my husband brought me home, we called at 11:30 that night to report the accident. They took all the information from me, and the next day we talked to them to leave a recorded report of the accident. The claims adjuster who worked with  me on the claim was so helpful, she was always contacting people for me, advising me about my claims against the other insurer, and fighting my battles for me. All I needed to do when I had a question was call her or email her. It took a year for everything to be settled, but she was there with me through it all, and I couldn't have done it without her. Our rates never went up, and I wouldn't go to another company even if they had. Loyalty like they showed was heartwarming. I would recommend them to anyone.

more ...

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jul 11, 2014
Permium increase without reason
Anonymous Policyholder

Geico increased premium by $33/month for no reason. Nothing changed, not coverage, not address, not the number of people on policy. Called customer service and asked them why and they had no answer except they re-evaluated us. We didnt get any tickets, filed any claims... nothing. I asked them to re-evaluate us since nothing has changed and they said they could not help with the rate.

Went to another company. New premium was half the premium Geico wanted to charge. Called and cancelled Geico and they undercut the rate of new provider by a few dollars. Told the customer service this rate is for now but they would increase it down the line for no reason. 

more ...

Reviews (131)

Add Review
Oct 18, 2016
Policy way over priced!
Anonymous Policyholder

Had geico for auto for 7 years. Had 4 nice vehicles on policy.  Clean records, no accidents, defensive driving discounts...I was paying almost $9,000.00 a year... thought something seemed fishy. I called State Farm and for the same exact coverage I was quoted $4,200 for the entire year!!...switched immediately. Geico is a rip off...

more ...
Oct 12, 2016

My renewal for my current provider was increasing 11%, so I decided to shop around for a lower rate. NONE could beat it, so I though that would be the end of it, and I renewed with my current provider. No one that is EXCEPT Geico, who started bothering me shortly afterwards. Their quote was almost $200 more for a 6 month policy, and here came the multiple emails, and even snail mail from the local office asking me to start my policy. Luckily, I provided a fake phone number, or I`d been harrassed by that too! Are they that deperate for customers, or do they think eveyone is a moron willing to pay more? I will NEVER choose Geico as my insurance provider, now, or EVER!

more ...
Sep 30, 2016
Cheap for a reason
Anonymous Policyholder

Comparable price but they will ABSOLUTELY NOT have your back on any claims. I will be switching as soon as I can

more ...
Sep 28, 2016
Anonymous Policyholder

Worst experience of my life. It took 4 months for them to pay for my claim. I had to take out a second loan because of them.

more ...
Sep 25, 2016
Great at first
jholmenw Policyholder

They had a good rate and were well known so I decided to give them a try. They're pretty bad about getting cards sent out to you, but that isn't a huge deal for the most part. After the 6 month policy was up they said they found a speeding ticket from over a year ago! My policy was for 6 months after I had the ticket. I called to figure out the change and they said because they sent out a inquiry 4 months after my policy started and found the ticket. My cost went from $128 to $286 and they never sent me anything notifying or even hinting at a change. They sent an email saying documents and cards are available. Even clicking the link has nothing saying it would have changed. They just sent the same billing email. I found it because I looked at my credit card statement and it was really high. I thought maybe they were charging for first and last or something. I called in and he said they sent something... i have no record. He said I should have gone into Geico and looked it up when my policy was over!!! Are you kidding!? I have nothing else better to do, but go and check my policy monthly. What a scam! Never going to Geico every again. 

more ...
Sep 14, 2016
happy with policy
Anonymous Policyholder

have always been happy with geico

more ...
Sep 05, 2016
I just started this policy
Anonymous Policyholder

I just started this policy. I have not used any services so far but I got a reasonable monthly rate. The online application was fairly simple and easy to use.

What made me write this review was the phone app. I really like it and I'm sure it will come in handy.

more ...
Sep 04, 2016
Disgusting business practices
Anonymous Policyholder

Their underwriting guidlines make me wonder if they are staffed by remnants of the Third Reich

more ...
Aug 26, 2016
Lazy claims adjuster led to many issues
JeremyH11 Policyholder

Just know that GEICO has no interest in being on your side if you ever need to file a claim. I was in an accident in which I was not at fault. The police report clearly stated that the other party was at fault. My testimony was clear and was backed up by the police report. There was no foul play from my end (DWI, etc).I spoke with two people from GEICO to record my statement. Both of those people stated that I should not be found at fault. 

Fast forward about a week later and I get a call from my claims adjuster. He tells me that they are finding me at fault for the accident. When I question him and refer to the police report and my recorded statement he just kept giving me a very lazy and generic answer. I had enough of him and contacted the other driver's insurance. My claims adjuster had already contacted them and stated I was at fault! I was furious. 

I complained about this to GEICO and received a phone call back that same day. It was from my claims adjuster's supervisor. She stated that my claims adjuster made a mistake and that I should have not have been found at fault for the accident. She told me she would be in contact with him and I should hear something soon. 

Fast forward yet ANOTHER week. I get a call from my claims adjuster. He says that he had been told to review my claim. He then tells me that nothing has changed and I will still be found at fault. He says he tried to contact the officer who responded to the crash but could not get in touch with him. First off, what difference is the cop who responded to the accident going to make? Secondly, that is now THREE people from GEICO who have told me I should not be found at fault. Yet, for some reason, my claims adjuster refuses budge. 

I finally got fed up with the entire ordeal, bit the bullet, and went along with the claim. I contacted a few of my lawyer friends but they all said it wouldn't be worth it to take any kind of legal action. I paid my deductible and moved on. To add insult to injury, after finding out I was considered at fault, the other driver filed an injury claim against me. I now have an at fault accident with injuries on my record all thanks to GEICO. 

I am now with State Farm. I have a real person I can go in and talk to if I need to file a claim. Not some under-qualified, unprofessional, moron who has no interest in having my back and who I have to talk to over the phone. The funny thing is that even with a lower deductible, another vehicle, and the bogus at fault accident on my record my payment is lower than it was with GEICO! Do yourself a favor and switch to a real insurance company before it's too late. 

more ...
Aug 24, 2016
Anonymous Policyholder

Worst insurance company in world 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this policy overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this policy?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations