GEICO® Reviews

2.7 out of 5 stars
16 Reviews

From Policyholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5

Compare Auto Insurance Offers

View your top Auto Insurance recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jul 13, 2018
Auto Policy
Gatorseven Policyholder

I have been a Geico customer for years. I decided to shop for better rates. I did receive a couple of rates at twenty to fifty dollars less. But looking at the offers, the coverage I wanted was substantionally lower. They have a very nice website, easy to look or download proof of insurance, policy and coverage. They also offer umbrella insurance at a great rate if you want to exceed the amount you might be liable for in a court room. The few times I have called them the staff has been professional and polite.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Oct 12, 2018
STAY AWAY - GEICO IS A SCAM AND A FRAUD!
coachk2314 Policyholder

STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY!!  They will gladly take your money but if anything happens you are in trouble.  They will do anything to get out of paying a claim.  Very unethical and will flat out lie to you.  If you ask any body shop,  attorney or business that works with Geico,  you will hear A LOT of negaitve things and they are all true.  TERRIBLE COMPANY!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former policyholders in the last year.

Oct 31, 2018
This company is a FRAUD
crazybreezy Policyholder

I would give a negative 10 stars if it was an option! My husband's truck bed was severely damaged in a parking lot accident. We live in rural Oregon so their preferred Adjuster/Inspector was a 45 minute drive away. My husband took time off work to drive there only to arrive at his SCHEDULED appointment and be told that the Adjuster does not work there anymore. The body shop told him he was the 7th person that had come in that week! So we got on the phone with Geico and they got in touch with another Adjuster about 15 minutes away. He drove over and had the truck looked at and the man was "unable" to issue a repair check due to the claim being assigned to the other company that no longer worked in auto claims. He assured us a check would be mailed. He said once we get the check to cash it and have the truck fixed. A week later we get the check and deposit it in the bank on a Thursday, it goes "pending" and clears on a Tuesday. Today is Wednesday and the truck is at an auto-body shop currently. I got a call from my bank that Geico put a "stop payment" on their check. The Adjuster DID NOT call me at any point about the stop payment or any issues. My personal account in now overdrawn in the thousands and my husband is at a repair shop 3 HOURS AWAY getting the truck fixed with ZERO money and an OVERDRAWN bank account. I have been on the phone for going on 2 hours with no resolution. So now we have paid $3800 cash to get the truck fixed and our bank is overdrawn by $3156....leaving us at a grand total of $6956 out of packet when it should have been our $500 deductible!!!! They are offering to send a $2600 check through the mail...this is NOT a way to run a business! This is fraud and outrageous!

more ...
Oct 12, 2018
STAY AWAY - GEICO IS A SCAM AND A FRAUD!
coachk2314 Policyholder

STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY!!  They will gladly take your money but if anything happens you are in trouble.  They will do anything to get out of paying a claim.  Very unethical and will flat out lie to you.  If you ask any body shop,  attorney or business that works with Geico,  you will hear A LOT of negaitve things and they are all true.  TERRIBLE COMPANY!!

more ...
Oct 10, 2018
giovannib1990 Policyholder

This is one of the wrost insurance companys out there... Allstate & Geico.... do not get them... maybe if you want liability only... but if you get full coverage they will find any way to screw over claimants. there are adjusters at Geico with serious pride issues.

more ...
Oct 01, 2018
Great company and policy
mjaneway Policyholder

I shopped around for the best price on home and auto and Geico provided the best cost. Easy to get a quote and even easier to change from my old company.

more ...
Sep 23, 2018
Great policy
Gidgetbug Policyholder

I shop around every six months and have never found better rates. I filed at total loss comprehensive claim with them and have received outstanding customer service throughout the whole process. I am so grateful I chose them for my insurance company.

more ...
Aug 25, 2018
GEICO is great!
suesuediva23 Policyholder

I have been a Geico customer for years, first as a driver on my mother's policy, and currently with my own auto policy. Occasionally, I research the possibility of finding a better rate; however, no company has been able to meet or beat GEICO's price for the same amount of coverage. I am able to navigate the website with ease and handle the majority of my needs without even picking up the phone!

more ...
Aug 25, 2018
GEICO is great!
suesuediva23 Policyholder

I have been a Geico customer for years, first as a driver on my mother's policy, and currently with my own auto policy. Occasionally, I research the possibility of finding a better rate; however, no company has been able to meet or beat GEICO's price for the same amount of coverage. I am able to navigate the website with ease and handle the majority of my needs without even picking up the phone!

more ...
Jul 13, 2018
Auto Policy
Gatorseven Policyholder

I have been a Geico customer for years. I decided to shop for better rates. I did receive a couple of rates at twenty to fifty dollars less. But looking at the offers, the coverage I wanted was substantionally lower. They have a very nice website, easy to look or download proof of insurance, policy and coverage. They also offer umbrella insurance at a great rate if you want to exceed the amount you might be liable for in a court room. The few times I have called them the staff has been professional and polite.

more ...
Jul 13, 2018
Best
Gatorseven Policyholder

I have been a Geico customer for years. I decided to shop for better rates. I did receive a couple of rates at twenty to fifty dollars less. But looking at the offers, the coverage I wanted was substantionally lower. They have a very nice website, easy to look or download proof of insurance, policy and coverage. They also offer umbrella insurance at a great rate if you want to exceed the amount you might be liable for in a court room. The few times I have called them the staff has been professional and polite.

more ...
Jul 13, 2018
Experience
Gatorseven Policyholder

I have been a Geico customer for years. Considering where I live, rates tend to be a bit higher. When shopping for new auto insurance, for exact coverage I am yet to get a lower quote than what I am paying now. The web site is very good as well. Its easy to look at options, get ID cards and policy downloads. When calling them, the staff has always been professional and polite.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this policy overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this policy?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations