Auto Insurance Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

GAINSCO® Auto Insurance

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Policyholder Ratings
1 5

Compare Auto Insurance Offers

View your top Auto Insurance recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.


Reviews (51)

Add Review
Jul 18, 2016
Anonymous Policyholder

Worst insurance place ever. These people are a joke. You will never get in contact with the customer service. It always disconnects. Don't waste your hard earned money on this place that wont help you.

more ...
Jul 12, 2016
Worst insurance of all time
Anonymous Policyholder

Been dealing with them for almost a month trying to figure out my car situation. Call the adjuster everyday and most days I get voicemails and no call backs. I literally rather choose any insurance on the planet except these guys. Stay away from them, spend the extra buck and get a real insurance. 

more ...
May 26, 2016
Rude and Condescending Adjusters
Anonymous Policyholder

You should know that if you need them they will not be there in the event of an accident or loss.

more ...
Apr 01, 2016
Better than crap
Anonymous Policyholder

Called Customer Service number to make changes to policy, when I got to the point where you talk to a customer service rep, the call is disconnected. Every  single  time. 

Went to web site and tried to make changes to policy there. Instructed to go contact local agent. Went to find an agent under customer menu. Got access denied page.

more ...
Apr 05, 2016

We are sorry you have experienced difficulties in trying to reach our call center. Please feel free to contact my team directly so that we may assist you with your policy needs.
Best Regards,
Allison (844) 317-7393 or
Gainsco Customer Service: (866) GAINSCO

Feb 27, 2016
Anonymous Policyholder

Don't screw yourself, they are awful. Had them for two years and dispute a spotless record, my policy kept increasing(+15$ per month by the time I got mad enough to cancel).

more ...
Jan 26, 2016
This company should not exist

Why do I have to give them 1-star? Let me tell you those professional(?) employees attitude;

Claim representatives: If you call them, it always goes to the voicemail. If they call you accidentally, then they will start talking about stupid policies/rules that you will never hear from any other auto insurance companies just to avoid repairing your car. The worst of them is that most of the time the voicemail will say, "I will unavailable at office till Friday" on a Monday morning.

Claim representative managers: I tried to reach two of them, one never called me back after putting bulks of voicemails. The other one is the sinister one, she promised me to do something on the next day and in the next day, I keep hearing, "I will unavailable at office till Friday" on a Wednesday morning.

Customer Care: Since their claim representatives and those managers does not respond, you can try to call their CC to have another claim representative but that's not going to happen. The moment you tell them your claim number, they will just forward your call to those claim representatives (they don't exist).

This company is corrupted from top to bottom and I do not understand how come they are still in business. Why nobody is suing them properly so that people like us who are not even at fault can get rid of this kind of experience.

more ...
Jan 15, 2016
Anonymous Policyholder

I had this company for over two years, one month my car insurance lapsed. I did direct deposit with this company, I received a new card from the bank while i was out of town also with a notice of cancellation from this insurance company. When I called to make my payment not only did my policy go up by $30 but they had no prior proof that I had there insurance..until I found my old car insurance cards and they looked it up in there system. They said they could do nothing about my policy going up even though i was with them for years!! I would never recommend this insurance to anyone. 

more ...
Nov 11, 2015
It's the best !!!!
Anonymous Policyholder

Switch to Gainsco !!!!

more ...
Nov 03, 2015
This company is a circus act.

This is by far the worst group of fools I've ever had the pleasure of dealing with. They are some of the most unprofessional and insulting people I've encountered, ever...and these were supposedly the ones managing and supervising. I feel like this company is not a real business, but a joke to society, to see what peoples' reactions would be if they were treated these ways. Not a one of them could explain their own policies or procedures or even give believable excuses. Good luck to you if you have to deal with them. 

more ...
Oct 28, 2015
Good experience
Anonymous Policyholder

The customer service department was helpful when I had questions about my policy.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this policy overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this policy?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations