Auto Insurance Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

esurance®

1.0 out of 5 stars
9 Reviews

From Policyholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1 5

Compare Auto Insurance Offers

View your top Auto Insurance recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former policyholders in the last year.

Jan 06, 2017
Biggest waste of money!
KIRBYKAGE Policyholder

They do not know to handle their billing. One time they pulled the money out about a week and a half early which made our rent check bounce. Then while we had auto pay set up they forgot to pay themselves which we only found out because we got hit by someone so we had to call them to use our insurance which conveniently got cancelled because they didn't pull the payment out. Which of course ment we had no coverage and were left to deal with the aftermath of the wreck ourselves. Worst insurance company ever! Expensive plans and unreliable a company!

more ...
Dec 03, 2016
Unethical, overcharging
Anonymous Policyholder

This company has so thoroughly disappointed me. I just bought a new car, and was quoted at $271 dollars a month including my old car which was just liability. This seemed really high to me considering I haven't had any accidents in years, and my last at fault accident was in 2007. I have a four year degree. I am a management professional and have no mortgage or rent. I went to geico and progressive and they quoted me $115 and $150 for lower deductibles and better coverage. I called esurance to find out if they made a mistake or had any explanation and all I received was a smug "you got some great prices, we can help you cancel". So basically you're ok with overcharging your customers dramatically. Your company is unethical and preying on people. FYI veterans, they don't offer any military discount. Take your business elsewhere people.

more ...
Oct 31, 2016
Worst Experience ever
Cikbok Policyholder

They have the worst service ever. I don’t suggest anyone go this place unless you have so much money want to waste. I sign up a 6 month policy for my $9000 Hyundai which cost about $1500, and don’t have any coverage on anything. The bodily injury coverage is $15,000 per person and up to $30,000 per accident. This is the second month, I already paid about $600 . I called them last week about a hit-and-run happened on my car. Someone hit my driver side mirror. In the first call, the customer service told me my policy would cover it. So I made a claim. Then they called me back second day, called me my policy won’t cover it (deductible is $1000), but if I want I can keep the claim ( for what reason? Let them charge me more? )  So I had to close the claim, which left the claim history on my file. I asked them whether they will increase the insurance rate next time because of the claim. They said they don’t know. Apparently , it’s not their business, even though it was their fault. I found a better agent in my area. She is from Allstate where I can have an $1200 insurance covering everything including road assistance. Comprehensive coverage deductible is only $100. I just canceled the esurance plan. The company kept my money and told me only $130 refund can give back to me, which means I spent $470 on their one and a half month auto insurance ID rental service (I think the value of their company is to give you an auto insurance ID which you can show to police. That’s it.)  And it will take them 10 business days to get the money back to me. (Are they mailing it to me? ) 

more ...
Sep 15, 2016
Bait and switch. Do not buy.
RobearB Policyholder

Bait and switch tactics. Got a great rate my first year, and each auto-renewal my rate mysteriously went up. I called to complain after my rate increased 20% over the previous 6 month period. I asked to cancel and was told I would be hit with cancellation fees (what??). So I stuck it out.

I bought a new car and transferred the insurance to the new vehicle and got a quote of ~$2,000/year for the new vehicle.  A month later they went to auto-renew and the cost had gone up 50% to $3,000/year! I'm 35 with a perfect driving record trying to insure a new Honda Civic. That's ridiculous. I called a competitor (Amica) and got a price of $1,200/yr. I promptly cancelled ESurance.

But wait, there's more.

After I called and cancelled ESurance, I got two e-mails: one saying my insurance was cancelled and another one 6 hours later telling me they were going to bill be ~$1000 auto-renewal. So then I had to call AGAIN to cancel it AGAIN. But why did the price go back down? It's clear they're playing with the numbers and just getting what they can out of auto-renewals. 

Shady business practices. STAY AWAY!

more ...
Aug 16, 2016
Bait you to switch to their company
Anonymous Policyholder

Ok, received quote 2 years ago...increased policy by $70 after first year...another increase of $78 for the second year, with LESS coverage. Nothing has changed in our household as 60 y/o drivers. Shopping for new company now.

more ...
Jun 16, 2016
would not pay for damages
Anonymous Policyholder

i was hit by someone with esurance and they refuse to pay for damages. their client was clearly at fault and was cited and a witness. they are only paying 70% of the damages and no rental car. this company is a joke and every person i spoke with is very ****y and condescending. i guess you have a person sitting behind a desk just saying ok we arent paying for this, even though the local police and witness states their client was at fault. now we have to hire an attorney. but they say we can turn it into our insurance!! so my rates increase i think not. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 24, 2016

This is happening to me currently !!!
Police issued them a citation and I have a witness as well. I shouldn't say names but the Texas branch isn't doing there part and fixing my car. (BMW) They claim isn't much evidence on their client even though but photos, and police report and even a witness.

 
May 25, 2016
Horrible
Anonymous Policyholder

They look for reasons to raise your rates. Also, very annoying calls and emails daily. 

more ...
Mar 30, 2016
Not worth the effort even for a quote.
KasperTTS Policyholder

I'm a 20 year old Male with an Audi sports car (2009), Sr-22, with 3 moving violations in the last 2 years, and no insurance claims ever. They filed sr-22 eletronicly, But refused to send me my Finachial Responseiblty form (In Iowa it is required to be carried with you if you have SR-22). After 4 calls (One call being my local Adminstraition office on my behalf with me there) They still refused to send it to me, So I had to have a copy made when my local DMV recieved it from the state. Currently Gico rate for me is less than half of what Esurance is. I fully understand that I'm a young male driver with a bad driving record (But no claims) in a car that will be expensive to insure, But they're rate is absurd. Between the rate and the horrible customer servise, Along with refusing to send me MY OWN documents, I will be leaving this comany within the month. I would stay away from them at all cost.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 31, 2016

Not sticking up for Esurance's bullsh*t but driver's like you are one of the reasons that EVERYBODY'S insurance rates increase. A 20 year old doesn't need an Audi sports car and your stated driving history proves it ( 3 violations in 2 years which must have been more than just "speeding" since you already need an SR-22 ) ! You need to slow down and stop acting like everyone else owes you something otherwise, it will NEVER get any better for you.

 
Jan 28, 2016
Esurance will not assume liability
Anonymous Policyholder

They turned out to be overpriced, their customer service if you have an accident is appauling.  I'm switching at the earliest possible opportunity, and I would recommend against any coverage with Esurance.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this policy overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this policy?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations