esurance® Reviews

1.9 out of 5 stars
14 Reviews

From Policyholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2 5

Compare Auto Insurance Offers

View your top Auto Insurance recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 11, 2017
No problems
Anonymous Policyholder

I've had ESURANCE for about a year and half now and I haven't had any problems. Granted, I haven't had any claims. The only thing we've had is our windshield cracked twice (a rock broke it both times) but that was a easy process as the insurance covered the whole of it. I like ESURANCE because it's easy and I can do everything online. I've called customer service a few times with coverage questions and they've always been very, very helpful. To be honest I was really suprised at all these negative reviews on Credit Karma! I would recommend them and DO recommend them to close friends and family. Insurance claims can be a hassle regardless of your insurance carrier, so I think the trick is to just be patient and understand that a lot of it is beyond your control. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Oct 31, 2016
Worst Experience ever
Cikbok Policyholder

They have the worst service ever. I don’t suggest anyone go this place unless you have so much money want to waste. I sign up a 6 month policy for my $9000 Hyundai which cost about $1500, and don’t have any coverage on anything. The bodily injury coverage is $15,000 per person and up to $30,000 per accident. This is the second month, I already paid about $600 . I called them last week about a hit-and-run happened on my car. Someone hit my driver side mirror. In the first call, the customer service told me my policy would cover it. So I made a claim. Then they called me back second day, called me my policy won’t cover it (deductible is $1000), but if I want I can keep the claim ( for what reason? Let them charge me more? )  So I had to close the claim, which left the claim history on my file. I asked them whether they will increase the insurance rate next time because of the claim. They said they don’t know. Apparently , it’s not their business, even though it was their fault. I found a better agent in my area. She is from Allstate where I can have an $1200 insurance covering everything including road assistance. Comprehensive coverage deductible is only $100. I just canceled the esurance plan. The company kept my money and told me only $130 refund can give back to me, which means I spent $470 on their one and a half month auto insurance ID rental service (I think the value of their company is to give you an auto insurance ID which you can show to police. That’s it.)  And it will take them 10 business days to get the money back to me. (Are they mailing it to me? ) 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former policyholders in the last year.

Sep 14, 2017
Love it! The best insurance co. there is
Anonymous Policyholder

I don't understand all the bad reviews. I had State Farm and switched to esurance and have never been happier. About 1/2 the cost and twice the customer service. We just had to take out a claim and they were quick and easy. When I had to make a claim using State Farm it was a much more extensive and confusing process. I will never use another company for insuance again.

more ...
Aug 20, 2017
Anonymous Policyholder

terrible experience. Horrible road side assistance.

more ...
Aug 19, 2017
Esurance is a joke of a company
fluffydonkeys Policyholder

I switched to Esurance because I was lured in with the low quote I got online.  It seemed like an awesome deal, and I had the policy for over 3 years.  I had put probably 6 or 7 cars on the policy and every time I'd remove one and add a new one, the rates always kept going up.  I have a clean driving record, no claims whatsoever, and eventually started to drop my coverage to keep the rates reasonable.  I got a quote to add a third car to my policy and it more than doubled the rate, to about $2,300/yr - of which one older car doesn't even have collision/comprehension coverage on it.  I'm 30 years old!  I called the company we have our homeowners policy through and putting all 3 on their policy, with much better coverage, was literally half the rate of Esurance.  

If you have Esurance now and have had a few policy changes, I strongly suggest switching because you're more than likely paying more than necessary.  ALSO - when I called and cancelled, I was charged a $50 "cancellation fee".  How ridiculous is that?  Not a single claim - literally handed this company money for several years and then get slapped with a cancellation fee.  I guess they never heard the saying that someone satisfied with service will tell five friends, but someone disatisfied will tell 15.  Well, at work last week we happened to get on the subject of car insurance - I'm glad I got to tell my story.  

Sad, too, because their customer service was always top notch.

more ...
Aug 04, 2017
Was not there to help after accident
jerriof7 Policyholder

It seems that since other driver who ran a stop sign and "t-boned" me was insured by Allstate, Esurance parent company, Esurance refused to pay for necessary doctor exams for my injuries, and did not represent me or my interests in a lawsuit, even though I had full coverage policy.

They did pay for my truck without any hassle, which is why I give them 2 stars instead of just one.

You pay less, but you really do get less in the end.

more ...
Jun 05, 2017
Horrible claims Department.
1HeavyG Policyholder

Took 4 months to settle a claim after my car caught fire. car was never dropped from my policy .When I figured it out 6 months after the accident, they went back and removed it from my policy from date of loss. this resulted in a loss of multicar discount that was greater than the cost to insure the car in the first place. I was billed an extra 400.oo and my policy was non renewed.

more ...
Jun 05, 2017
Competitive rates
Anonymous Policyholder

super easy to apply and pretty responsive customer service. You get what you pay for - don't expect white glove service.

more ...
May 06, 2017
This is the worst insurance company
DeusVelos Policyholder

Esurance has the most incompetent staff I have ever dealt with. I have explained that my car sits in a driveway while I drive a truck over the road. They raised my rate from 100.00 to 249.00 a month because after sending paperwork twice they still believe that my parked vehicle is being used fir business. I am cancelling soon and disputing the charges along with filing a grievance with the courts and having my attorney serve them the necrsssry documentation that relieves me of there absolute idiocy. These people are criminals and Allstate should be ashamed that they are allowed to exist

more ...
Apr 11, 2017
No problems
Anonymous Policyholder

I've had ESURANCE for about a year and half now and I haven't had any problems. Granted, I haven't had any claims. The only thing we've had is our windshield cracked twice (a rock broke it both times) but that was a easy process as the insurance covered the whole of it. I like ESURANCE because it's easy and I can do everything online. I've called customer service a few times with coverage questions and they've always been very, very helpful. To be honest I was really suprised at all these negative reviews on Credit Karma! I would recommend them and DO recommend them to close friends and family. Insurance claims can be a hassle regardless of your insurance carrier, so I think the trick is to just be patient and understand that a lot of it is beyond your control. 

more ...
Feb 15, 2017
They are a nighmare
Anonymous Policyholder

Their prices are low to start then, they raise them and keep raising them, they just suck all together - I had so many issues with them, too many to list here, they say one thing and do something different, they all are full of crap, and they are all do not seem to know what they are doing. 

more ...
Feb 04, 2017
Horrible
Anonymous Policyholder

The first year with Esurance was fine. I elected for automatic debit for the bills. When it was time to renew I got a letter stated that my rates were dropping. Awesome right. When I checked my card statement Esurance charged me twice the amount. So I log on to Esurance and there's a new letter showing that my rates have now significantly increased. It turns out that they missed charging me a for a few months the previous year due to a glitch in their system and they were now trying to recoup the money. Thing is I have a fixed income and could not afford double payment for a year. So I called them up and cancelled my policy. I asked the rep to cancel it at the end of the current months billing cycle which she did. About a week later I got a bill stating that I owe Esurance $74!! I called well before the next cycle and I was not informed of this. It is ridiculous that I had to pay more when I cancelled the service. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this policy overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this policy?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations