Auto Insurance Reviews Advertiser Disclosure


1.5 out of 5 stars
8 Reviews

From Policyholders in the last year


Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5

Compare Auto Insurance Offers

View your top Auto Insurance recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.


These reviews were written by current and former policyholders in the last year.

Sep 15, 2016
Bait and switch. Do not buy.
RobearB Policyholder

Bait and switch tactics. Got a great rate my first year, and each auto-renewal my rate mysteriously went up. I called to complain after my rate increased 20% over the previous 6 month period. I asked to cancel and was told I would be hit with cancellation fees (what??). So I stuck it out.

I bought a new car and transferred the insurance to the new vehicle and got a quote of ~$2,000/year for the new vehicle.  A month later they went to auto-renew and the cost had gone up 50% to $3,000/year! I'm 35 with a perfect driving record trying to insure a new Honda Civic. That's ridiculous. I called a competitor (Amica) and got a price of $1,200/yr. I promptly cancelled ESurance.

But wait, there's more.

After I called and cancelled ESurance, I got two e-mails: one saying my insurance was cancelled and another one 6 hours later telling me they were going to bill be ~$1000 auto-renewal. So then I had to call AGAIN to cancel it AGAIN. But why did the price go back down? It's clear they're playing with the numbers and just getting what they can out of auto-renewals. 

Shady business practices. STAY AWAY!

more ...
Aug 16, 2016
Bait you to switch to their company
Anonymous Policyholder

Ok, received quote 2 years ago...increased policy by $70 after first year...another increase of $78 for the second year, with LESS coverage. Nothing has changed in our household as 60 y/o drivers. Shopping for new company now.

more ...
Jun 16, 2016
would not pay for damages
Anonymous Policyholder

i was hit by someone with esurance and they refuse to pay for damages. their client was clearly at fault and was cited and a witness. they are only paying 70% of the damages and no rental car. this company is a joke and every person i spoke with is very ****y and condescending. i guess you have a person sitting behind a desk just saying ok we arent paying for this, even though the local police and witness states their client was at fault. now we have to hire an attorney. but they say we can turn it into our insurance!! so my rates increase i think not. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

1 Reply
Aug 24, 2016

This is happening to me currently !!!
Police issued them a citation and I have a witness as well. I shouldn't say names but the Texas branch isn't doing there part and fixing my car. (BMW) They claim isn't much evidence on their client even though but photos, and police report and even a witness.

May 25, 2016
Anonymous Policyholder

They look for reasons to raise your rates. Also, very annoying calls and emails daily. 

more ...
Mar 30, 2016
Not worth the effort even for a quote.
KasperTTS Policyholder

I'm a 20 year old Male with an Audi sports car (2009), Sr-22, with 3 moving violations in the last 2 years, and no insurance claims ever. They filed sr-22 eletronicly, But refused to send me my Finachial Responseiblty form (In Iowa it is required to be carried with you if you have SR-22). After 4 calls (One call being my local Adminstraition office on my behalf with me there) They still refused to send it to me, So I had to have a copy made when my local DMV recieved it from the state. Currently Gico rate for me is less than half of what Esurance is. I fully understand that I'm a young male driver with a bad driving record (But no claims) in a car that will be expensive to insure, But they're rate is absurd. Between the rate and the horrible customer servise, Along with refusing to send me MY OWN documents, I will be leaving this comany within the month. I would stay away from them at all cost.

more ...
Jan 28, 2016
Esurance will not assume liability
Anonymous Policyholder

They turned out to be overpriced, their customer service if you have an accident is appauling.  I'm switching at the earliest possible opportunity, and I would recommend against any coverage with Esurance.

more ...
Dec 24, 2015
Typical policy with a new tech approach.
Anonymous Policyholder

It has pretty standard rates, aside from the lower renters coverage premium, the prices lined up with its competitors. The app is simple, costumer service is good. I like it 👌🏼

more ...
Dec 22, 2015
Terrible -
Anonymous Policyholder

Their prices are ridiculous. I was under the impression my rates with them would be the best I would get. I signed up for 6 months and paid 480.00 per month. When the renewal came up, they droppd the price down only 20.00, so I looked into other companies. I immediatly got a quote from Geico for 150.00 per month. I a cancelled my renewal, and I am sad I trusted them as a company. Good lesson for me. Make sure you compare the quote you get from esuranc with other companies.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this policy overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this policy?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations