Auto Insurance Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Erie Insurance®

1.5 out of 5 stars
8 Reviews

From Policyholders in the last year


Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5

Compare Auto Insurance Offers

View your top Auto Insurance recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.


These reviews were written by current and former policyholders in the last year.

Sep 21, 2016
Worst Insurance Company!!!!
Anonymous Policyholder

   We recently had Workmens Compensation insurance & several other policies (Auto, home)  with Erie and had it for several years. We decided to cancel all of our policies with them since customer service was horrible (no replies on phone calls and emails). We had paid up front for a full year on all business policies and asked for a refund for the remaining year and they hit us with a $500 premium without letting us know the consequences on terminating early. We would of stayed with them until end of policy period. We made a complaint to their District Manager who took the complaint but would not do anything else other than saying she could not do anything but only can take the complaint. To say  they are definitely not a good customer service company.


more ...
Sep 08, 2016
Treats customers horribly
Anonymous Policyholder

Someone hit my car in Jan. in Maryland. It was not totaled and was under Maryland's 75% "not totaled" percentage. So they are supposed to repair it. But they said, well, there could be "hidden damage" and therefore are totaling it anyway. So what is the point of this Maryland law if they can just claim possible "hidden damage"???? ITS Worthless. A loophole.

This was my spare car, a pristine,well maintained,low mileage car. Erie is comparing it to cars with 40-60k MORE MILEAGE!!!, standard options, ones that were rentals, had multiple owners, and accidents aka condition. Of which mine had NONE. They just averaged these cars and came up with a price without any credits for the mileage, added upgrades and options, one owner, no accidents and never a rental.  In my opinion just Stay away!!This is how they treat a great customer after 30 years! Save your money and your peace of mind and go elsewhere

more ...
Jul 20, 2016
get what you pay for. Junk insurance co
Anonymous Policyholder

Bad claims service. Very high rate increases. Doesn't pay claims.

more ...
Jun 08, 2016
Cheap but you get what you paid for.
Anonymous Policyholder

We had been with Erie for 25 years and everything was ok until we had actually use it. My car got hit by uninsured motorist, and that is were nightmare started. Claim adjusters are out to pinch pennies, they do not return calls, low ball you at every opportunity. They kept car for 8 weeks w/o doing nothing, told shop that check was cancelled and the write-off offer they came up with was less than NADA and Kelly Blue book, less than 50% on one year old car!

Worse experience ever!

more ...
May 10, 2016
Auto, Home, Life Insurance
gpcook Policyholder

Policy holder 44 years.  I have got auto quotes from other companies just to keep them far the best price and service.  I have had a few accidents and speeding tickets over the years but it never significantly affected the price of the policy.  All of my three children now have home and auto with Erie. 

Other insurance companies start off low and raise their prices...what I call bait and switch insurance.

more ...
Jan 21, 2016
awful awful awful awful awful awful...
Anonymous Policyholder

This is the most unprofessional company i ever delt with.

I was hit by a lady who has Erie Insurance, I was at 0 fault, it has been a month I STILL never recieved a check.  They will do anything they can to stall and cheat you out of money.  I dont know how this "company' is still in buisness.  awful!!

Good luck if you get Erie and something happens, they wont help you!

more ...
Jan 02, 2016
Cancelled our auto policy/not our fault
Anonymous Policyholder

As long as you don't use the policy, they'll stand behind you. Just be sure not to file more than one claim. They will cancel you for the illiegal red light camera tickets and even if the driver was not cited or at fault. Have home owner's with them as well. Been with the company for over 10 years. Taking my business elsewhere. Agent has never called to discuss the policies in force and did not notify me that the auto policy was not being renewed.

more ...
Nov 10, 2015
For 37 years I have 100% ERIE
Bulwyk Policyholder

I have policies for 2 cars, house + Liability

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this policy overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this policy?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations