Auto-Owners Insurance Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
28 Reviews

From Policyholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

4 5

Compare Auto Insurance Offers

View your top Auto Insurance recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Dec 03, 2013
Six years- great service!
jmr30183 Policyholder

I've had my house, a rental property and my vehicles insured with Auto-Owners for six years.  In 2009, my home and my rental house were both damaged by a severe hail and wind storm.  I had only been a customer for two years and wasn't sure what to expect.  They replaced the roof on both houses (total of $18k) without any problem.  They even explained to me that my rate wouldn't increase based on the claims nor would I be cancelled because the hail and wind damage was beyond my control.

Last year, I was rear-ended by a driver who wasn't insured.  They repaired my six-month old Mazda CX-9 using OEM parts and were great to deal with throughout the process.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 20, 2014
Don't use auto owners insurance company!
Anonymous Policyholder

BE WARNED!

These people are crooks!  

They will happily take your money. Month after month, year after year.  All is well until you have a claim. 

Had a claim...$25,000 estimates from contractors. They 'll pay you $5,000.

If you raise Cain you get another $5,000. 

It's a scam... They know most people will just give up from the frustration.

What's scary is my contractor told me exactly what they were going to do before they did it.  He's said they do the same thing every time.

We are in the being ignored stage now... 6 months into it.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former policyholders in the last year.

Mar 04, 2017
You get what you pay for
Anonymous Policyholder

Although this company may be "affordable" this will mean nothing to you when and if you get in an accident. They will do EVERYTHING they can to get out of covering the accident related costs including medical bills. Been in treatment for over 2 years with serious injuries yet they will do anything to get out of paying. Had no complaints giving them my money for over 30 years until I actually had to make a claim. Very sad what this company has done to so many. Stay far away from them! 

more ...
Jan 07, 2017
Been with them for a year an a half
saber1995 Policyholder

I've been with this company for quite a while now and they offered me the cheapest so far. They agent I'm dealing with is outstanding and very helpful and prfessional and always answers my questions. Will definatly stay with them for a while.

more ...
Oct 28, 2016
Offers great value for the premium
Anonymous Policyholder

We've had this auto coverage for several years, written through an agent, but only recently filed our first claim. Their service was outstanding - fast, efficient, and fair. We are so impressed that we're thinking about switching the insurance on our log home, currently written by Chubb, to Auto-Owners when it comes up for renewal.

more ...
Sep 20, 2016
UnhappyAtlanta Policyholder

By far the worst insurance company I've every dealt with. The refuse to pay anything. Where is Mr. Incredible when you need him. I have multiple reports, including an independent report, showing hail and wind damage to my roof. Other homes in the neighborhood are getting new roofs, but not me. Auto Owners insists there is no damage whatsoever. What a joke. I cancelled my policy and will no longer do business with the agency that recommended them. Horrible company.

more ...
Sep 01, 2016
This company are crooks and scammers
Anonymous Policyholder

I cancelled my insurance with auto owners and changed to a different company. They sued me for cancelling even though I was not under a contract. I never could get an explanation for the $5,000 I supposedly owed them. The same day I was served with papers from this company, I was also served with papers from a different company that is suing me because auto owners didn't pay a claim they were suppose to.DO NOT use this company! They are very dishonest! I can't say enough bad things about this company. They are 100% out to take your hard earned money for doing absolutely nothing. I don't know how they can get away with robbing people the way they do.

more ...
Aug 17, 2016
Auto Owners Insurance Company
Anonymous Policyholder

Great company who chooses top tier agents to work with - they only want the best for their policyholders! My kind of company!

more ...
Aug 17, 2016
Great Insurance
Anonymous Policyholder

No need for a 1800 number. I have a personal agent that can answer any and all questions when I need help. Great company that supports local people.

more ...
Aug 17, 2016
Great Job Auto-Owners
Anonymous Policyholder

I have had nothing but wonderful experiences with my agent and this company. I love how they provide local service. This shows their dedication to great service. Other companies should take some notes.

more ...
Aug 17, 2016
Satisfied Customer
Anonymous Policyholder

Maybe some of these disgruntled customers think they should make money when they file a claim? No need to sue. I have had a few claims and have been paid and treated fairly every time. Upsetting to see so many people trying to jump on a gravy train!

more ...
Aug 17, 2016
I think they are great
Anonymous Policyholder

My agent is fantastic and this is a great company. Great service and you can always speak with a real person.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this policy overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this policy?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations