Auto Insurance Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Auto-Owners Insurance

3.8 out of 5 stars
29 Reviews

From Policyholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

4 5

Compare Auto Insurance Offers

View your top Auto Insurance recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 28, 2016
Offers great value for the premium
Anonymous Policyholder

We've had this auto coverage for several years, written through an agent, but only recently filed our first claim. Their service was outstanding - fast, efficient, and fair. We are so impressed that we're thinking about switching the insurance on our log home, currently written by Chubb, to Auto-Owners when it comes up for renewal.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Sep 20, 2016
UnhappyAtlanta Policyholder

By far the worst insurance company I've every dealt with. The refuse to pay anything. Where is Mr. Incredible when you need him. I have multiple reports, including an independent report, showing hail and wind damage to my roof. Other homes in the neighborhood are getting new roofs, but not me. Auto Owners insists there is no damage whatsoever. What a joke. I cancelled my policy and will no longer do business with the agency that recommended them. Horrible company.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former policyholders in the last year.

Oct 28, 2016
Offers great value for the premium
Anonymous Policyholder

We've had this auto coverage for several years, written through an agent, but only recently filed our first claim. Their service was outstanding - fast, efficient, and fair. We are so impressed that we're thinking about switching the insurance on our log home, currently written by Chubb, to Auto-Owners when it comes up for renewal.

more ...
Sep 20, 2016
UnhappyAtlanta Policyholder

By far the worst insurance company I've every dealt with. The refuse to pay anything. Where is Mr. Incredible when you need him. I have multiple reports, including an independent report, showing hail and wind damage to my roof. Other homes in the neighborhood are getting new roofs, but not me. Auto Owners insists there is no damage whatsoever. What a joke. I cancelled my policy and will no longer do business with the agency that recommended them. Horrible company.

more ...
Sep 01, 2016
This company are crooks and scammers
Anonymous Policyholder

I cancelled my insurance with auto owners and changed to a different company. They sued me for cancelling even though I was not under a contract. I never could get an explanation for the $5,000 I supposedly owed them. The same day I was served with papers from this company, I was also served with papers from a different company that is suing me because auto owners didn't pay a claim they were suppose to.DO NOT use this company! They are very dishonest! I can't say enough bad things about this company. They are 100% out to take your hard earned money for doing absolutely nothing. I don't know how they can get away with robbing people the way they do.

more ...
Aug 17, 2016
Auto Owners Insurance Company
Anonymous Policyholder

Great company who chooses top tier agents to work with - they only want the best for their policyholders! My kind of company!

more ...
Aug 17, 2016
Great Insurance
Anonymous Policyholder

No need for a 1800 number. I have a personal agent that can answer any and all questions when I need help. Great company that supports local people.

more ...
Aug 17, 2016
Great Job Auto-Owners
Anonymous Policyholder

I have had nothing but wonderful experiences with my agent and this company. I love how they provide local service. This shows their dedication to great service. Other companies should take some notes.

more ...
Aug 17, 2016
Satisfied Customer
Anonymous Policyholder

Maybe some of these disgruntled customers think they should make money when they file a claim? No need to sue. I have had a few claims and have been paid and treated fairly every time. Upsetting to see so many people trying to jump on a gravy train!

more ...
Aug 17, 2016
I think they are great
Anonymous Policyholder

My agent is fantastic and this is a great company. Great service and you can always speak with a real person.

more ...
Aug 17, 2016
Great Insurance Company
Anonymous Policyholder

A claim is never a wonderful experience but this company did a great job making this process as easy as possible for me. Still insured with them today!

more ...
Aug 17, 2016
A Stands for Awesome
Anonymous Policyholder

Great company with great people trained in customer service. Sad to say, but many companies have lost this touch through technology. Auto-Owners stands strong against all others.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this policy overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this policy?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations