Allstate - Auto Insurance

2.0 out of 5 stars
11 Reviews

From Policyholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

2 5

Compare Auto Insurance Offers

View your top Auto Insurance recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 15, 2014
The Rep agent is what makes or breaks
Anonymous Policyholder

  I have been with Allstate ever since I bought my house 12 years ago, and could put both car and house together.  Was with Farmers, but when they threatened to not insure in Texas because of claims, I got out.  I think it is all the agent represetative/owner.  I use the Vogel agency in Sherman Texas and they are the greatest and when we go over my policy and if they can fine a way to lower the price, they do.  You too have to be active and have a good relationship with the agent.  It make all the difference.  We have a great relationship and have always done a great job for my  poicy is $341 for 6 months for full coverage on car and house is $701 for $141,000 on my home.  The Vogel agency is the greatest and so are the people who work there.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 10, 2014
I saved $1,000/yr by switching to GIECO
Lwhitney84 Policyholder

I used Allstate for two years. I had two vehicles with them (both SUVS). I also had a landlord and home policy in addition to the cars. I received the so-called, "multi-policy" discount. I was paying about $1,000/six months, which I figured was fair for two 4x4s with full coverage. I just recently switched to Gieco and the same exactly coverage was only $350/six months! WOW! Good bye Allstate, so long.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former policyholders in the last year.

Mar 21, 2017
Bonus check??said that I had a accident?
Anonymous Policyholder

Keep looking

more ...
Jan 16, 2017
Horrible billing communication
Anonymous Policyholder

Horrible billing experiencing trying to pay in full using the ebill service. Installment fee added with no communication. I would recommend if you do ebill to check your account monthly to see what is happening regardless if you think you paid in full for your policy period. Hope I never have to experience a claim if the billing is this bad. I paid an additional $15 that was not my fault and noted as installment fees. Makes you irritated to even give your money up front when you still get those charges. Not sure paper billing is any better because I have not done that but I do not recommend the ebill or calling them about the fees because you get nowhere and just a waste of your time.  

This is just Allstate - as for my agent they are wonderful just not pleased with Allstate.

more ...
Jan 13, 2017
Worst company ever
Anonymous Policyholder

I was looking for auto insurance with them and the sales agent told me about a coverage program they had called Milewise for drivers who didn`t drive a lot. He said I would be sent a device in 2 to 3 business days to be installed in my car and that I would only be charged for miles I drove per day and that my limit was 40 miles per day at $.18 cents and if I exceeded that limit, I would be charged $5.86 for the day and on days that I didn`t drive my car, I would not be charged at all. He said I only needed to make a deposit of $322 into my Milewise account, track it online and when I drove down to $54, my account would be replenished. I thought this was good plan for me because on weekdays I only go to work and the gym and on occasion to a few places very close to me and this would add up to 25 miles per day and on weekends it might be roughly close to 30 miles for the day. I asked him to send me a quote which he did of $900, then 30 mins later he called telling me he made a mistake and sent me a wrong quote and that my rate for 6 months was supposed to be $1067. I thought maybe it was just a mistake cos ppl make mistakes so I went ahead with the plan. I signed up on the 12/2/2016 and did not get their device till the 12/22/2016. I kept calling and was told there was a problem with their system and it had sent the device to the wrong address all the while not knowing that I was being charged a daily fee for a device I did not have in my car. At the end of December, I got charged $198 with only $16 of me actually driving my car and the rest for the fee from the time I signed up till the time I got their device which meant I had over a $100 left in my account. Fast forward to 1/1/2017, I get an alert on from my bank telling me I've been charged another $323 which makes that over $600 in less than one month of me actually having their device in my car. I emailed the guy at Allstate who signed me up and he did not reply. I called my so-called agent and was told she was in a meeting. This goes on for more than a week and when I do eventually get my agent to talk to me, she says she does not understand the program because it is new and I that had to call customer care to talk to a specialist. I called them and they too didn`t know exactly how the program worked or why I was being charged twice in a short amount of time. After doing the whole calling and waiting and them telling me someone would call me back but never did, I tell them to cancel my account because it was obvious they wanted to be charging me $323 per month when I could get a regular full coverage elsewhere for way less. They kept giving excuses and playing dumb to all my questions. Do not sign up with them except you have money to waste. When it comes to your money they will keep transferring you to different departments so they can waste your time and frustrate you into hanging up. This was my first time getting insured by them and I did not even last more than a month. WORST INSURANCE COMPANY EVER!!!

more ...
Jan 03, 2017
Easy to access and fast help
travissarah30 Policyholder

I have been with this company for over 8 years. I have never had an issue with payment or helping me out when I got in an accident. I am only switching due to their high rates.   

more ...
Nov 21, 2016
dishonest
Anonymous Policyholder

Dishonest and unorganized company that should be ashamed of themselves 

more ...
Sep 14, 2016
Overly priced!
Anonymous Policyholder

Allstate will reel you in with lies as Thomas Cunningham the agent did. He was also extremely rude, and disrespectful which is the reason I canceled the policy. Once I canceled the policy they kept most of the refund that I should have received. CROOKS!!! Should have known better, Allstate is not ever BBB accredited.

more ...
Sep 13, 2016
DonnBoyd Policyholder

Allstate has never refused a claim that my wife & I have made. We have been insuring with them for man, many years. Our 2 sons were insured while living at home during school & college with no accidents & claims. He have made 2 claims on home in course of 20+ years and 1 auto claim this year over long period of time. We get rebate checks for no claimes on our insurance every policy period. We have the best agents in the state of Maryland.

more ...
Aug 22, 2016
Absolutely the biggest rip off out there
rgp815 Policyholder

THEY DO NOT PAY CLAIMS!

more ...
Jun 08, 2016
Worst ever
Anonymous Policyholder

Never get allstate first your not going to like the every six month rate increase I've went from 488 to 1281 with only one accident which they paid out less than 3500.00 total on it. Your credit score affects your price also so don't switch they will not be having you in any good hands .I was told by allstate that you pay for that little check you get that they advertise on tv. I have a bank account I don't need one of theirs . ALL STATE IS THE WORST EVER INSURANCE COMPANY

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 18, 2016

Agreed, We used them for cars,RV and home. Started out great even with a full coverage brand new car. I was thrilled with the agent and the willingness to answer all questions. After being with them over 2 years I was involved in an accident, the man that T-Boned my new car had No insurance and No driver License, begging me not to call the police, he was speeding, lost and late to a party. My husband was in the passenger seat and hurt, so of course I was dialing 911, it took the police 28 minutes to arrive on scene, by that time he had 10 t0 12 0f his party buddies waiting. I was so worried about my husband and was walked into the middle of the 4 way stop and showed the yield on green sign, I explained that since I had be driving that route for over 15 years and of course I would have yielded if he had not been behind an 18 wheeler and as I started my turn he came out around the 18 wheeler and crashed into me. The officer was taking statements from people that wasn't even around, but never questioned the 18 wheeler driver, even though he pull over and helped with my husband and made the statement that he thought the guy was going to crash into the back of his truck, I don't know but I think he was texting trying to find his way to that party. Well with all his witnesses and him being so responsible with the license and insurance, the police officer decided it was my fault. I wanted to go to court and prove this boy had No right on the road. But my great Insurance company Allstate said it would be cheaper just to pay than court, well at renewal time and they jacked my insurance up by 128.00 per month. I figured real quick that it was Allstate that was the one's being insured, and taking care of themselves. Myself found better insurance, more coverage at a lower price and the company that I went with helped me straighten out the mess that Allstate didn't want to bother with at a price of contacting the 18 wheeler driver and having his statement added to the wreck report as my witness.. So for me if the company isn't helping their clients are # 1 then to me they can just pay to insure the employees of the company they are so proud of.....

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this policy overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this policy?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations