AAA Auto Insurance

3.5 out of 5 stars
11 Reviews

From Policyholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Compare Auto Insurance Offers

View your top Auto Insurance recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

FIND RECOMMENDATIONS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 04, 2014
Good Service & Customer Service
GrandmaMarsha Policyholder

I've been with AAA since 1999. I've only  had one major accident with them, but they were great. Somehow they found out that I totalled my car on the ice and called me the next morning to see if I needed a rental (I paid for that on the premiums and I DID need a rental), and to call the local Enterprise Rentals and even gave me the phone number. I was allowed to keep the rental for nearly 3 weeks until I found a new car. The best part is that my rates only went up $5 a month!

Later, when I bought a house, I had some problems with my agent, but she was eventually fired and I was transferred to the main office. No agent, but still no problems. Had a widespread hail claim after a storm. Had to wait a week (no leakage) before I could get through, but claims adjuster came out on a Sunday to look at the damage. After I chose a roofer to fix it, I had the check in a week! A month after the storm, I had a new roof and gutters! After that, my home owners rate DID NOT go up!

Rates have been pretty steady and my homeowners payment went down this past year!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 30, 2016
So disappointed in the decline
Anonymous Policyholder

I've had AAA insurance for 15+ years for auto and renters insurance. The renters insurance had always been a "cya". I used it ONCE, at the same time I had to use my auto policy because my truck was stolen. Well...my FULL COVERAGE auto policy didn't cover the items I had in my vehicle, like my gym bag and emergency kit, but I found out my renters poiicy did. I thought that was great, finally able to use the insurance I've paid for for 10 years. My rate immediately jumped up.

Now, onto the experience with the theft department. My truck was recovered w/i 24 hours of the theft. Minor damange (drivers mirror, missing light bulbs, weird stuff) needed to be fixed and the truck needed to be cleaned, the folks that stole it were not the cleanest of people. 

I'm currently 3 MONTHS into getting these minor repairs done because the field evaluator cant be bothered to show up for work. Week long delays, no updates, no communication. I've also had FOUR claims agents, none of them seem to last more than a couple of weeks. 

AAA used to be the freaking GOLD standard of insurance companies, now they are just a scammy, bargain basement ripoff. 

I can't wait to get my truck back so I can go find an agent who can be bothered to care.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former policyholders in the last year.

Apr 07, 2017
Tomballpi Policyholder

ACCEPTANCE is based on credit score. No accidents in years but that doesn't matter.

more ...
Jan 31, 2017
insurance full coverage
Anonymous Policyholder

all of these reviews are lies. they made a mistake on my bill and i now pay 400 per mouth for their mistake. i am locked in this policy with a contract that says my bill is 300 but they still take out 400 . i been paing my bill for 6 mounths now and every month i speak to atleast 2 reps who tell me that they can not do any thing about my bill.for your own good STAY AWAY . you been warned!!!!!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 25, 2017

Unless you live in a state that says your locked in you are free to shop your insurance mid term and if you find a better deal you re allowed to request a pro-rated cancellation. Then replace with your new insurance. Best of luck to you. Retired Insurance Broker.

 
Dec 12, 2016
Best investment I ever made.
Anonymous Policyholder

AAA offers great discounts for traveling and lodging. They also offer the best auto, life and renters insurance rate I have ever had.

more ...
Nov 23, 2016
above reproach Have had two claims.
Anonymous Policyholder

In a word they paid without question.  One of the claims was for me putting gasoline in my deisel tank.  Cost to repair was $1900.00.  Called to report it , and was told "You put gas in the tank. I replied YES.

Agent said don't worry yuo are covered.

more ...
Nov 18, 2016
35 years with them what more to say?
Anonymous Policyholder

Best rates for auto, auto club, renters and travel around 

more ...
Nov 15, 2016
Auto, Renters and Life Insurance
Anonymous Policyholder

Great customer services.  Got the best rate around with a young driver with tickets on my policy.

more ...
Oct 31, 2016
Dropped without warning
Anonymous Policyholder

I've recently found out that I haven't had auto insurance for about six months, as far as I can tell. It seems that when I changed providers for renter's insurance, AAA decided to also not provide me with auto insurance. They never communicated this to me, which is reckless and possibly illegal. I only found out when the DMV asked for proof of insurance. Rather than just copy my insurance cards, I opted to ask AAA for copies... they told me I didn't have a policy. 

Beyond that, I've fought their online system, or lack of one, for years. Automated payment are at best unreliable, and there's no way to view your information online. AAA is decent at two things: calling tow trucks and publishing travel tips. Don't pay them for anything else.

more ...
Sep 29, 2016
Dependable service overall.
brooke799 Policyholder

My wife and I have had it for over 10yrs., and living out in the country they have never disappointed us.

Gave us good advice, which turned out to help when we needed it. Don't regret having it.

more ...
Sep 19, 2016
Anonymous Policyholder

Great Insurance 

more ...
Sep 08, 2016
GREAT,
Poplarave314176 Policyholder

I have been with them (AAA) for 55 years and enjoy all the services like auto, home owners & club membership. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this policy overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this policy?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations