The Secured Visa® from Merrick Bank Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.3 out of 5 stars
15 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $36 the first year. Billed $3 per month thereafter
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 18.45%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Aug 30, 2017
I am a fan
DonDon4L Cardholder

I had 2 credit cards with low limits ($300 & $500) when I received a double your limit offer from Merrick Bank. The starting limit was $600 but would double if I paid the card on time for 6 months. Well I did and my limit doubled as promised. I have maintained my payment history and now have a limit of $1600 in a little over a year. Merrick has been good to me and I have had absolutely zero issues with the card. Keep your payments on time and you will be rewarded. Note: There is a $6 monthly fee which is the annual fee broken up over 12 months.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 28, 2017
Worst Customer Service Ever. Liars
Anonymous Cardholder

Ask for a replacement credit twice.  Both times never recieved them.  Waited for nothing.  They still had the audacity to continue charging me the $3/month annual fee when they refused to send me a replacement card.  Today is the 28th of Feb, 2017.  They claimed that the last time they sent the card was Jan 16, 2017.  BS.  Liars.  I applied for a Capital One Platium on Sunday.  Tuesday morning I get a email saying my card is on it's way.  

I would not recommend even if trying to rebuild your credit.  Try elsewhere first. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Dec 09, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

They worst to deal with. 

more ...
Dec 08, 2017
artiemco Cardholder

They are awesome, pay your bill on time the bank will reward you . Would recommend to anyone!!! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 10, 2017

what do your credit score have to be in order to be approved and how long did it take to raise your score?

 
Dec 04, 2017
Great card to start with
Anonymous Cardholder

App sucks

more ...
Nov 07, 2017
As Described
OhreallyCat Cardholder

So I am rebuilding my credit and had 2 Capital One cards. Got the offer by mail from Merrick Bank in April 2017. Made more than my minimum payment AND paid off the balance 4 times. I received an email from Merrick Bank  in August 2017 stating that "I am on my way to double my limit to take effect on November 8, 2017". Today is November 7, 2017 and my limit has doubled. Only gave them 4 stars, because the mobile app is antiquated and customer service doesn't speak my "English" if you get my drift. To make sure your payments get to them on-time, using a routing and account number via the mobile app or logging on via the internet is the key. You will never have an issue. My payment posts the next day and is available the day after it posts. Will hang on to this card for a while. Thanks Merrick!

more ...
Oct 25, 2017
Ocupine Cardholder

This is a great card to rebuild your credit with

more ...
Oct 15, 2017
Unsecured is the best!

Cl 650 and doubled to $1300 after six months without asking for it.  I had a preapproval sent to me in the mail and had never heard of this company.  I've had no problems from this company and I'm glad that I opened what I thought was junk mail.

more ...
Aug 31, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

False charges placed on my account it took them 3 months to investigate and tell me I was responsible for the $200.00 charge because when they checked this place out they said I didn't cancel in time  How do you cancel an account you know nothing about and never received any merchandise . I closed this account 

more ...
Aug 30, 2017
I am a fan
DonDon4L Cardholder

I had 2 credit cards with low limits ($300 & $500) when I received a double your limit offer from Merrick Bank. The starting limit was $600 but would double if I paid the card on time for 6 months. Well I did and my limit doubled as promised. I have maintained my payment history and now have a limit of $1600 in a little over a year. Merrick has been good to me and I have had absolutely zero issues with the card. Keep your payments on time and you will be rewarded. Note: There is a $6 monthly fee which is the annual fee broken up over 12 months.

more ...
Jul 27, 2017
Trash
Sameperson Cardholder

My identity was stolen and this is one of the "banks" I had to call and close an account. All the other banks were empathic, helpful, and I formative. THIS ONE, however, almost didn't even close the account. The representative'S were uninformed, very unhelpful, and down right rude. I was even hung up on before someone even answered the phone or when the rep didn't want to deal with my issue. Customer service is the worst I've EVER encountered... EVER. I had to deal with this "bank" completely thru the Credit Bureau because the customer service was so awful. I feel sorry for anyone who has to deal with this bank on a regular basis. They must primarily prey on people who have no other choice when it comes to credit. Just horrible

more ...
May 21, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

The card is very good I had a score of 498 and over a six month time my credit score increase to 650 and they increase my credit limit in a six months help me rebuild my credit score and over time I was able to apply for a Discover card and a Capital One card thanks to Merrick Bank

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The Secured Visa® from Merrick Bank