The Secured Visa® from Merrick Bank Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.2 out of 5 stars
13 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $36 the first year. Billed $3 per month thereafter
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 19.70%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jul 21, 2018
LHpr2 Cardholder

I have the card for over a year now, even though I got behind on monthly payment once but still they gave me credit increase twice, 200$ each time every 5 months, great customer service. I disputed a fraud once, it was quick n they credited me the amount. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 14, 2019
Won’t work with you
Grimmeute Cardholder

My bank thought payment to Merrick was fraudulent and declined a $500 payment.  Merrick immediately closed account and sent to collections. They will not make it right. And there collection company they send it to is just as bad. Tried to schedule payment with them on certain date and they tried pulling the money same day upon making arrangement which money was not available yet. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Apr 14, 2019
Won’t work with you
Grimmeute Cardholder

My bank thought payment to Merrick was fraudulent and declined a $500 payment.  Merrick immediately closed account and sent to collections. They will not make it right. And there collection company they send it to is just as bad. Tried to schedule payment with them on certain date and they tried pulling the money same day upon making arrangement which money was not available yet. 

more ...
Apr 01, 2019
Horrible
LadyAryana Cardholder

Got this card even though I read the reviews.. Wish I had not now.. had a charge right away, so called was told to cut it up and they would send me a new one.. was told not to do anything to the account until they figured out what was going on. So I did not. Went to use the new card denied.. waited a few week and again denied.. Never got to use it so figured it would just close the card .. so never made a payment, didnt have anything to pay so I thought.. turns out they charged me for the annual fee and the start up fee which was a total of 150 then a late fee for no payment.. so in the end 192 for a card I never used. When I called was told different things and finally got to talk to someone who knew what they were doing but couldn't help. So closed the card and now my score dropped 40 points cause of them reporting that I didnt make a payment.. DO NOT get this card. They will screw you over, most do not know what they are doing. And for a 500 limit you have to pay 150 before anything even if you never use the card

more ...
Mar 26, 2019
Card boosted my score up 107 points
djpdub Cardholder

Card boost my score up 107 points before i even received it in the mail

more ...
Mar 30, 2019

What was your credit score when you started and after the 107 points what is it. When did it boost it

 
Apr 02, 2019

How did it boost your score 107 points before you got it in mail? I was just approved and currently waiting for mine in mail.

 
Apr 07, 2019

That happened for me with another card because they reported that I had opened a card and was carrying a zero balance. I went up 60 points

 
Mar 18, 2019
A bit disappointing
neshahaynes Cardholder

I have had this card for over a year now. I paid the 200 dollar initial security deposit, then added 300 more for a 500 dollar credit limit. I have NEVER missed a payment. I pay on my card multiple times a month and I never carry a balance. They rewarded me with a 200 dollar increase in February. It’s a little disappointing, but I guess I should be thankful for something.

more ...
Mar 01, 2019
Good Secured Credit Line
justbenw Cardholder

Building credit with this card was as easy as making on-time payments and keeping the balance low. I’ve had it for about 3 years, and my credit score went from low 500s to low 700s. It also helps in establishing credit if you’re starting from scratch. Only disappointment was they never refunded the $200 deposit like many other cards do. My CL was raised twice and is only $395 today. 

more ...
Mar 02, 2019

So your initial credit was $200 which was your secured deposit, correct? So how would this card be great if you have had two CL increases and your total credit availability is $395??? They gave you credit of $195 on top of your $200 deposit? WtF??

 
Mar 19, 2019

I thkught2 they had to give your depsit back

 
Feb 15, 2019
Excellent
Lucifer187 Cardholder

I like this card get an increase every 3 month's

more ...
Feb 21, 2019

How many day does it take your payment to post ?

 
Mar 18, 2019

Jjeremiah100 if I pay before the cut off time my payments post next day.

 
Jan 24, 2019
Awesome
Macb85 Cardholder

Started with $700 limit. Doubled in six months. Then went to $1600 limit. Had the card three yrs and now have $2000 credit limit. Keep your balance around 50% and pay on time.

more ...
Feb 10, 2019

Do you have to deposit money on it or do they give you a credit line automatically or is it a prepaid thing

 
Feb 10, 2019

Secured credit cards you receive credit limit. Unsecured credit cards you put your money on it.

 
Feb 10, 2019

I got those backwards lol...my bad

 
Mar 11, 2019

Did they refund you the security deposit you paid upon opening?

 
Mar 18, 2019

Macb85 is referring to the Merrick Bank Double your Line Visa which is an unsecured credit card. The Merrick Bank Secured Card does require a $200 security deposit. I have been with them for a year and they did not return my security deposit they just added an extra $200 to my current limit bringing it to $700.

 
Dec 17, 2018
Very Poor customer service they LIE LIE

Had this card for 8 month's never a credit increase played my bill on time every month.
**** poor customers service they lied to me about sending me a refund check because i made a mistake by sending double the payment that was a week ago now the said no refund check has been mailed out LIERS LIERS I cancelled my card today

more ...
Feb 16, 2019

NO card company is going to send out a refund check because you made a double payment. They just apply it to your balance. Pay better attention.

 
Feb 21, 2019

Umm, was your card maxed out? If it was you will not get an increase. Just because you ate making payments on time doesnt guarentee an increase when your card is maxed out

 
Apr 07, 2019

Not to mention you have to have your card for a year before they will consider an increase and you were only at 8 months

 
Dec 15, 2018
Sophie2018 Cardholder

Helps re-establish credit. Customer service always helpful. Have never had any issues with custimer service or card. Received increase when they said I would. Happy with company..

more ...
Sep 18, 2018
Worst!!!
PatrickShelley Cardholder

They will lie to you and tell you that if you make 7 payments in a row that they will double your credit line.  Then the day comes for them to honor it and they will pull the offer.  If you need a secured card, DO NOT use this company

more ...
Nov 06, 2018

Mine doubled after 7 on time payments!

 
Nov 10, 2018

Wrong card. This is a secured card not the "Double your line"

 
Dec 05, 2018

Stop complaining You probably missed a payment. Mine doubled.

 
Dec 05, 2018

Unsecured

 
Feb 21, 2019

It's because you maxed out the card shmuck. And your a beta Male

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

The Secured Visa® from Merrick Bank