Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

The Secured Visa® from Merrick Bank

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.6 out of 5 stars
22 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $36 the first year. Billed $3 per month thereafter
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 17.70%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 18, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

They gave me the card with a $300.00 limit when all the other credit card company's turned me down.merrick took a chance on me when others wouldn't..I work midnights and didn't think I would be able to talk to a person at 2:00am when I called customer service but guess what?a minute after waiting for someone to pick up the phone,they did and were very professional and answered all my questions.thanks Merrick bank for taking a chance and believing in me

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 10, 2016
Deceitful
djglaze8 Cardholder

I have had a Merrick card for 3 years and I recently noticed a charge for cash advance...I spoke to the company about this becasue I did NOT take out cash on my credit card and after a lengthy discussion  I was basically told tough luck lady you're paying for it. Horrible customer service! I was charged for a service I never used and money I never spent!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Dec 05, 2016
Had credit available. Card declined!
Anonymous Cardholder

Marginal customer service. Less than professional. Also, had sufficient credit available but card was declined. 

more ...
Nov 28, 2016
NOT BAD FOR MY FIRST CARD
akasnak3 Cardholder

I started with $200 and after 6 month i was @ $300 now a year later i hope i get another increase. So far this car has been great i get a free fico score every month easy to pay online and app works perfect overall if you are starting off or rebuilding this is a good card!

more ...
Nov 09, 2016
Decent Card
reinalee Cardholder

It doesnt show up on my EX Report, but is on my TU one. Overall its a decent card, website easy to Navigant a little outdated but simple.  I use my card and pay it off over the month. If I get an increase fine if not not biggie, I hoping for better cards over time.

more ...
Oct 08, 2016
So far so good no complaints as of yet!!
Anonymous Cardholder

Offers sent to them by mail otherwise may not hear about it!

more ...
Sep 22, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

I opened my acct., with $1,000.00 i have had the acct. 9-10 months. Originally i was told after seven months my acct., will be reviewed for a credit increase of $1,000.00 i have used the acct., every month and paid ut off every month. Well that 7 months came and went. On month 6 customer service told me , yes you are getting a $1000. Credit increase next month. I never got an increase at all. I called again. 

i was told this time... I will never get an increase with a secured type card unless i put more money on deposit. Never!! And i will never get my deposit returned. Unless i close the acct., and then if i close it.. Bad hit to credit score. 

Warning!! SCAM!!! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 27, 2016

You prolly went past you billy cycle date or really wasn't offered there dyl offer

 
Jun 29, 2016
Good for rebuilding credit.
Kfon Cardholder

My credit score has increased nearly 60 points with this card. My CL is 550 and I'm looking forward to an increase in 7 months. I haven't been carrying over a balance and pay it off in full each month before the due date. No complaints so far. 

more ...
Jun 10, 2016
What an absolute joke!!!
Anonymous Cardholder

Customer service is an absolute joke and so is this card... They mislead you on the terms and conditions not to mention the process that you have to go through in order to be able to establish credit utilizing this card... I was told that as long as I made purchases and paid the bill off showing a zero balance that they would report to the Credit Agencies and it would help to raise my credit standing... Not once did they tell me I would have to wait until the next statement came out to pay the bill in order for it to increase my credit score...An absolute awful experience!!!

more ...
Jun 29, 2016

I have this card and the terms and conditions were sent with it just like every other card in existence. It sounds like you just don't understand how credit card billing and reporting works in general. I would suggest going on youtube and searching "How Credit Cards Work: Billing Cycle and "Grace Period" to get an initial understanding. You don't have to have a zero balance on a card for it to be reported in good standing. In fact it is better for your account to be reported with a balance to show that you actually can manage credit. You just need keep that balance under 30%, or for best results under 9%, of your total credit limit when it is reported. You can actually run your credit card up to almost full, as long as the day it reports to the credit unions your balance you pay it down to below 30% (which Credit Karma will tell you when they report your numbers to TU and EQ)

 
Jul 05, 2016

Great advice, thank you. My mother had another little gem and suggested paying for things that I normally use my debit card for ie. utilities, gas, groceries with the secured card and then pay it off or down each month. Seems so obvious but I would have never thought of it.

 
May 29, 2016

I had this card for over a year and after making a payment over the phone through my card Merrick bank charge the amount back and ending up closing out my account now I owe them and they would not take another form of payment I plead do not get this card this a fraud

more ...
Apr 14, 2016
Great card for Bad credit
kennethdsm Cardholder

I can not say enough good things about this credit card I applied and got a $200. credit limit my credit was 553 I have not paid a single dime to Merrick for Interest only being using it for fuel and then paying it off .... The Customer service people are very nice and friendly I upped my Credit Limit this month and my account was put on to hold for awhile but that didn't bug me too much and now I'm at a credit limit of $500.

I hope some day they will give me a chance at an unsecured credit card (Classic Card)

more ...
Apr 07, 2016
Service is lacking
joako Cardholder

They called me from an unknown number about fraud. When I called them back they didn't know what number fraud calls would come from. I spent 23 minutes on the phone (mostly on hold) to report the fraud, and they told me they were going to mail an affidavit I had to sign and return! I just went online to pay my bill and it says: This account has been restricted from use. Please contact a Merrick Bank Customer Service Representative. I've never had to wait for documents in the mail and return them with any other credit card, nor have they locked me out of paying the bill online.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 19, 2016

They are only protecting you!! Be very glad!!

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The Secured Visa® from Merrick Bank