Great for building credit††
See card detail
See card detail
Regular purchase APR

17.45%* Variable


Annual fee

$36 the first year Billed $3 per month thereafter



Overall card rating

3.9
139 Reviews
from Credit Karma members

Most Helpful Positive Review

Nov 16, 2020
Excellent...
Credit Karma Member

I have like 6 credit cards, and this is my preferred use card.... I applied for it to have an emergency fund on hand, and I have been treated so well by Merrick Bank, that I started just using it... Thank you Merrick Bank....

29
8
0

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 23, 2020
Bad company
Credit Karma Member

Got a credit card with them after I closed it they refund me my secured credit. Next thing you know they put a delinquency on my credit after I called them they said I owed them 70$. The 70$ wasn’t a problem, the problem was why they send me a refund if I have a balance with them also they never contact me about it and I got notified by seeing the delinquency on my credit. If you are in the process of building credit just go with major banks like capital one, chase, wells fargo.

78
18
3


Additional ratings


All reviews

65
24
12
7
31
  • Highest rated
  • Most helpful
  • Least helpful
  • Newest
  • Oldest

May 10, 2021
Better than a stick in the eye
Credit Karma Member

This is a boring card. There’s no perks. You can’t request a CLI. I’ve had this cars for two years and I’m stuck at a $1000 CLI despite making on time payments and keeping my balance low. It’s an okay credit building card but it’s a dead end once you get your scores in the 700s.

13
5
1

Nov 16, 2020
Excellent...
Credit Karma Member

I have like 6 credit cards, and this is my preferred use card.... I applied for it to have an emergency fund on hand, and I have been treated so well by Merrick Bank, that I started just using it... Thank you Merrick Bank....

29
8
0

Oct 18, 2020
Good Choice
Credit Karma Member

If you want to rebuilding your credit this card right choice. I have this card some time now doing a good job. Keep in mind taking time to rebuild so have to be positive about your credit score.

20
3
1

Aug 23, 2020
Bad company
Credit Karma Member

Got a credit card with them after I closed it they refund me my secured credit. Next thing you know they put a delinquency on my credit after I called them they said I owed them 70$. The 70$ wasn’t a problem, the problem was why they send me a refund if I have a balance with them also they never contact me about it and I got notified by seeing the delinquency on my credit. If you are in the process of building credit just go with major banks like capital one, chase, wells fargo.

78
18
3

Aug 04, 2020
Credit Karma Member

5
4
0

May 08, 2020
Great Card To Rebuild Credit
Credit Karma Member

I went through a divorce and my credit score took a deep drop. I’ve had this card for 1 year and 2 months, use it, and pay it. People have to keep in mind that this is a secure card and for building credit. Regarding increases, I’ve never been offered but the point of this card is so you can rebuild your credit so that you can apply for non-secure cards. This is a tool and if you use it right, it will work. If you ha e this card and need to pay more to add a higher credit, then you aren’t using it right. After about a year you should be ready to apply for a regular credit card anyway.

116
6
1

Apr 24, 2020
Credit Karma Member

6
8
0

Feb 16, 2020
Credit increases
Credit Karma Member

The card does give credit increase without additional deposit, of have a good pay history with them.

50
9
0

Feb 12, 2020
Excellent!!
Credit Karma Member

I used in Germany without any problem,after 6 months they increase my credit limit,and for the payments never having a problem!!...

51
0
0

Jan 08, 2020
Great card BUT
Credit Karma Member

Credit Karma listed it as a good approval odds for a SECURED Merrick Bank BUT on a Credit Card Review website linked me to a pre approval link and I got approved for a 550 limit card with a 639 FICO double limit in 6 months ... so dont take CK take on all the options they give you.. some are good but with some research you can find better cards with better limits and terms..

90
5
3

1-10 of 139

See Approval Odds before you apply

We’ll estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. Join today — it’s free! You’ll also get:

Sign up
  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
Great for building credit††
See card detail
See card detail
Regular purchase APR

17.45%* Variable


Annual fee

$36 the first year Billed $3 per month thereafter




These ratings and reviews are provided by our users. Banks, issuers and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee this content, are not responsible for it, and may not even be aware of it.

†† The opinions you read here come from our editorial team. Credit Karma receives compensation from third-party advertisers, but that doesn’t affect our editors' opinions. Our marketing partners don’t review, approve or endorse our editorial content. It’s accurate to the best of our knowledge when it’s posted.