HSBC Cash Rewards Mastercard® credit card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.3 out of 5 stars
15 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 12 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 15.24%, 19.24% or 25.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0%
  • Purchase Regular APR 15.24%, 19.24% or 25.24%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Dec 26, 2018
Easy rewards redemption, decent cashback
cardsman321 Cardholder

I haven't had the issues I'm seeing in the other reviews. My $150 bonus posted quickly and I was easily able to redeem it as a statement credit. I use the card when im not getting a better cashback/rewards rate with another card for a particular purchase. It does it's job.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 05, 2018
Garbage
spiderr Cardholder

The rewards have minimums to pay out, customer service is difficult to get ahold of and their website is clunky and difficult to use. It also takes 40 days after the end of your introductory session to get your introductory rewards. I definitely do not recommend. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Apr 11, 2019
managerOFbaank
sddf Cardholder

<h4>Hi all. this card is wery good

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 18, 2019

HAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

 
Feb 26, 2019
3adil Cardholder

HSBC has the worst customer service, I applied for this card and it took me more than 3 hours to speak up with a person with no help at all. Just closed this account, it was worst decision to apply for this card. 

more ...
Mar 02, 2019

You should actually list the issues so everyone can determine if its you or the company.

 
Apr 09, 2019

Most of the time it's the cardholder lol.

 
Apr 18, 2019

Not true

 
Feb 23, 2019
Cannot be trusted
AKDiver Cardholder

They will add extra fees without notification and their customer service is the worst I've ever experienced. They also change your due date just about every month.

more ...
Feb 11, 2019
Horrible service.
Tonyaaa Cardholder

Opened account, transferred a balance was blocked because of some fraud supposedly, tried for 2 weeks to get ahold of someone, no avail and now it’s says it’s a closed account all in a months time. What a joke.  

more ...
Feb 05, 2019
This c/C is great I recommended it!!
Ewtdzvghnxx Cardholder

By far this credit card is the best I seen and who gives you 10% after your first year! In cash back!! So spend spend!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 23, 2019

Obviously not a legit review. Obviously not based on a real experience.

 
Feb 04, 2019
Worst card
EricN1992 Cardholder

I have 12 credit cards, using them wisely. This 1 gives me the most headaches. If payment is due on the 1st and you schedule a payment for the 1st but it doesn't post until the 2nd then u will be slapped with a late few, make sure u pay early or else. Have to call to make a payment because mobile app doesn't support it and logging in on a pc never processes payment info correctly always gets declined. Long hold times on the phones, minum of 10 minutes up to 1 hr.

more ...
Dec 26, 2018
Easy rewards redemption, decent cashback
cardsman321 Cardholder

I haven't had the issues I'm seeing in the other reviews. My $150 bonus posted quickly and I was easily able to redeem it as a statement credit. I use the card when im not getting a better cashback/rewards rate with another card for a particular purchase. It does it's job.

more ...
Dec 19, 2018
Dont do it!!!!
Aorem76 Cardholder

7 calls in 3 plus hours of holding, I have gotten nowhere. Just got my HSBC credit card last week, activated it and went to use it only to be declined. I call HSBC customer service and was told that my card was blocked due to security or fraud. I've never even used the card before. They transferred me to the security fraud dept and I've been on hold ever since. After 7 calls and 3 plus hours of holding I am ready to just close the account, but guess what? I can't even do that until I talk to the security fraud dept. By far the biggest joke of a company, up there with Sprint and Comcast. Would not recommend! Wish I had read these reviews before I applied for this ** card. So ****ed I could punch a ** hole in the wall. HSBC is a joke and does not value you or your time.

more ...
Feb 16, 2019

you're review is bad sprint is great. it's not there fault you can't pay your bill. if something is due on the 1st and you know its due by the 1st and you don't pay it till that day because of you living above you're means you should have to pay late payment aka you suck.

 
Mar 18, 2019

If you pay it on the due date, it is not late! How does that make you living being your means? You're an idiot!

 
Mar 18, 2019

*beyond

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

HSBC Cash Rewards Mastercard® credit card