Citi® / AAdvantage® Platinum Select® World Elite™ Mastercard® Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.0 out of 5 stars
8 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 19, 2019
Looking very forward to the card!
cm1511 Cardholder

I was approved for a $2,400 credit line with my score at 600. I was shocked! I received an offer via mail thinking I would instantly get denied. I'm looking forward to having the card! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 02, 2019
From 5 stars to 2 stars...
Caleb1929 Cardholder

This was a 5 star card until September 22, 2019 when almost all benefits are going to be slashed by Citi. 

This card had soooo many benefits, car rental insurance, 90 day return protection, citi price rewind, baggage insurance protection, emergency travel protection, roadside assistance and more... all gone.

I used to advocate for this card every time someone asked me for recommendations... now, I don’t know..

Citi always had my back for any charges of subscriptions or canceled services, they sometimes issue a credit right away. They’re flexible and I’ve never had 1 complaint, until they slashed these rewards. 

For a cheap annual fee of $99 (which increased from $95) solely based on baggage fees, is worth it. It pays itself off if you travel 2 times a year or with others (their bags are free if they’re on your booking)

I always had peace of mind traveling, but now I feel vulnerable.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Aug 02, 2019
From 5 stars to 2 stars...
Caleb1929 Cardholder

This was a 5 star card until September 22, 2019 when almost all benefits are going to be slashed by Citi. 

This card had soooo many benefits, car rental insurance, 90 day return protection, citi price rewind, baggage insurance protection, emergency travel protection, roadside assistance and more... all gone.

I used to advocate for this card every time someone asked me for recommendations... now, I don’t know..

Citi always had my back for any charges of subscriptions or canceled services, they sometimes issue a credit right away. They’re flexible and I’ve never had 1 complaint, until they slashed these rewards. 

For a cheap annual fee of $99 (which increased from $95) solely based on baggage fees, is worth it. It pays itself off if you travel 2 times a year or with others (their bags are free if they’re on your booking)

I always had peace of mind traveling, but now I feel vulnerable.

more ...
Jul 15, 2019
Not bad but not great..
Creditccguru Cardholder

If you're an avid AA flyer this card is for you, the starting bonus of 60k is really nice and the miles can be used for upgrades or flights. The free checked bag is great and being in group 5 each time you fly once again its not bad but not great.
$95 dollar annual fee as well, this card is honestly for the American Airlines avid traveler.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 01, 2019

The free 1st checked luggage is only for domestic flights. Please be aware

 
Jul 13, 2019
Good First “Travel” Card
TravelJ Cardholder

I’ve had this for over a year and this has definitely allowed me to get more and better credit cards. I also now have enough miles to get round trip to Australia for free.

more ...
Mar 19, 2019
Looking very forward to the card!
cm1511 Cardholder

I was approved for a $2,400 credit line with my score at 600. I was shocked! I received an offer via mail thinking I would instantly get denied. I'm looking forward to having the card! 

more ...
Feb 16, 2019
Aggressive Interest Rates
Alywren Cardholder

I have 3 cards with Citi: American Airlines, Simplicity, and Costco. The AA card had an $8,000 limit at opening. They cut my limit in half without notice. The Simplicity card, every time I have made a payment in the last 3 months they have reduced my credit limit to just above that new balance. So now on 2 accounts they have WRECKED my credit rating because the debt to available credit ratio is maxed out. They also have THE highest APR of any company I've banked with. 

And their security is crap. I have only had my credit card compromised 3 times in my adult life. Two of the three were on a Citi Bank credit cards. The problem is they locked my card out, then called me from an unrecognized number and left a spam-like message so I assumed it was spam. It wasnt until I later tried to use that card and found out they'd locked the card for fraud. I contacted customer service and spent 20+ minutes on hold just to have them tell me my card has been hacked and they were sending a new one. It took almost 2 weeks to get a replacement card. I called customer service and every time they asked me to give the 16-digit card number and I had to go through the crappy automated menu to talk to a human and repeat over and over that they hadn't sent my new card so I had no idea what the number was. Other banks I had cards with emailed me, texted, and called to alert me of fraud. Who in this age answers the phone anymore anyway? Especially an unknown 1800 number? The other bank alsohad replacement cards sent overnight. Don't waste your time with Citi. 

more ...
Jan 29, 2019
gvilleboy Cardholder

This card is not worth it at all. You don’t even get free checked bag on international flights. Like Mexico. America airlines sucks for this. This card gives you no status with America ether. I will be canceling my card, no reason to keep it. 

more ...
May 15, 2019

You get free checked bags on transoceanic flights.

Free bags normally come with status, not with a rewards card.

 
Jul 16, 2019

Go to th AA app and set it up. On th low tier starting out they give you free checks bags ect

 
Jan 03, 2019
I got this card...
stace1992 Cardholder

I applied for this card with a credit score of 700 and I got it. I honestly didn't think I would get accepted but I did. My CL is $8400 with $2600 advance cash back. My father has the Aviator card and he loves it. And since I'm traveling a lot more I thought I would apply for this card. My father has never had a problem with getting his bonus miles. We will see if I have a problem since I already hit my bonus miles spending.

more ...
Nov 21, 2018
What is CITI does? bad service
Bojeckxx Cardholder

1500 limit, 761 pay and security alert. Thats fine. Calling and cannot verify me, have to have another phone, no I don’t. Then tell me it will call me back again for check. ?????????? Never meet this for Chase, Amex, Barclays and 700 stuck with 1500 limit? Come on, you don’t even want me to buy a 800 tickit if I travel international? What is the card? Foody card? 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 11, 2019

What?!

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 203
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
 

Citi® / AAdvantage® Platinum Select® World Elite™ Mastercard®