Citi Simplicity® Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.4 out of 5 stars
24 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 21 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 16.24% - 26.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0*
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 12 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 16.24% - 26.24%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jul 09, 2018
Great mobile app and blank checks
Ayinas24 Cardholder

I use the mobile app to request credit increase with no hit to my credit report, other than showing the increase. Throughout the year I receive blank checks with interest starting at 0% to 6%. I always wait on the 0% to come out. Usually it's 0% for about 18 months. Luv it. There is a fee for it but it's not alot of money. You can also get your credit score in the mobile app. Monitor spending, see statements, make extra payments, change due date with a few clicks in your phone. I usually request an increase when I have a balance to keep my credit card usage under 30% for credit reporting purpose. This have been a great card building my credit. I dealt with customer service a couple of occasions, I had no bad experience. I have handled most transactions via mobile app and by blank checks. Great card.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 15, 2018
Surprise Credit Line Decrease for Xmas
Cliff789 Cardholder

Cardmember since 2015. I made a $1,000 payment three days ago. Today I receieved an email that may credit line has been reduced by $1,000. I called to see WTF? They told me to call back in a month to review my account. If I had planned any purchases, that could have ruined the holiday. 

The website is also pretty buggy. I tried raising the issue to customer service twice, once in March and once in April. 30 minute calls each. They made no effort to fix or escalate.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

May 03, 2019
Great!
klakins92 Cardholder

I got this card because of the 0% APR for 21 months on a balance transfer. Best decision I ever made. I had a really high minimum payment on the previous card and all of it was going to interest. It feels so good to finally have that debt paid off! I also liked that they don’t charge late fee’s. The card is pretty much useless to me now especially since it really doesn’t have any benefits. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 18, 2019

See if you can product change to the Double Cash card. That's what I plan on doing when my 0% BT offer runs out.

 
May 02, 2019
igazi Cardholder

They promised a 125 cash welcome bonus, and it was never applied to the account!  i spoke to their managers 2 times, problem was not resolved.

Shady practice, did not expect this from Citicard. Will close my account, there are better cards out there. 

more ...
Apr 12, 2019
Great!
mkmunoz1106 Cardholder

Great card and easy to earn rewards! Not as easy to redeem them, I normally just redeem on Amazon since it won't let me do anything else with them.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 20, 2019

Are you reviewing the correct product? I wasn’t aware this card had a rewards program.

 
Apr 12, 2019
Great for balance transfers
holypeas Cardholder

I used this card for a balance transfer to pay down some debt. I had no issues and everything worked out as expected. Now that I am paying an interest rate I am moving on to something else but this card was fine. The mobile app is easy to use.

more ...
Apr 06, 2019
Good for Long-term Balance Transfers
Viper2Zero Cardholder

I applied for the Citi Simplicity card on Nov 5, 2018 - CK Scores TU - 738, EQ - 746.  They pulled my Equifax report.  Stated income was $78k, and I had $29k of personal cards at that time with about 12% utilization.  Approved for $6,600.  Wanted to do balance transfer but had nothing that needed transfering for a few months.  By the time I got around to needing to do the transfer, the program had ended.  There's a time limit for how long you can do balance transfers, which I was made aware of but forgot about.  My one experience with Customer Service was satisfactory.  I've used the card for some small purchases to take advantage of that interest free period.

more ...
Mar 27, 2019
Closed due to inactivity with no warning
DarthPerrin Cardholder

The card itself is fine but CITI bank not so much. They closed my account due to inactivity with no warning which caused a 27 point hit on my credit score. When I requested it be reopened they said  I had to authorize them to do a credit pull which would have dinged my credit score even more. All in all the card is OK but CITI bank is kind of shady.

more ...
Mar 11, 2019
Perfect for balance transfers
Lax08 Cardholder

Easy app process, and had good experience with the customer service team. TU 772, EQ 770. Instantly approved for 6100, more than enough to do what I needed it to do- a balance transfer.

more ...
Mar 09, 2019
Bad website
Tonypark Cardholder

Very frustrating website and customer service. Do not use citi bank.

more ...
Feb 16, 2019
Low starting limit with a 754 score.
theheat71 Cardholder

Last time I checked 750 was a EXCELLENT score and based on the forums I've heard the same thing people with stellar credit getting lowballed. Why not just do like crapitalone and give everyone $300....SMH.

more ...
Jan 01, 2019
Perfect Card To Help Pay Off Debt
Stealthy28 Cardholder

Approved for 16K which was more then enough to help me transfer 

high interest credit card debts and save big $$$ over the 21 month promo rate @ 0% the fee was less then the interest I’d have paid over a 5 month period on just one of the cards I transfered.

Thank you Citi! 

more ...
Jan 30, 2019

What is your approx credit score, in which they approved you for that amount may I ask?

 
Apr 21, 2019

I have the same question as Karen7345. Curious what your Transunion & Equifax credit scores were when you were approved?

 
May 05, 2019

Please note your credit score

 
Dec 15, 2018
Surprise Credit Line Decrease for Xmas
Cliff789 Cardholder

Cardmember since 2015. I made a $1,000 payment three days ago. Today I receieved an email that may credit line has been reduced by $1,000. I called to see WTF? They told me to call back in a month to review my account. If I had planned any purchases, that could have ruined the holiday. 

The website is also pretty buggy. I tried raising the issue to customer service twice, once in March and once in April. 30 minute calls each. They made no effort to fix or escalate.

more ...
Nov 28, 2018
Dmolina1983 Cardholder

They ran my equifax my card usage was 14% on all my cards over 10 credit cards and the instanly approve for $7,800 i have a few card with a credit limit over this amount but its always good wen you do an inquiry and the approve you and with this good amount fo credit the adds was Excelente

more ...
Dec 04, 2018

This makes no sense. Can you please review in decent grammar, spelling & punctuation so we can understand your point?

 
Dec 31, 2018

Don't be an ***....

 
Nov 28, 2018
Tu 725 Equifax 725 Ex 719
Dmolina1983 Cardholder

They ran my equifax my card usage was 14% on all my cards over 10 credit cards and the instanly approve for $7,800 i have a few card with a credit limit over this amount but its always good wen you do an inquiry and the approve you and with this good amount fo credit

more ...
Nov 18, 2018
A Good Choice
Anonymous Cardholder

Definitely the card to get if you need a long amount of time to get some debt paid off. 21 months could be more beneficial than a lower interest rate in some cases. But no matter what you do pay these people they money back so you can get outta debt and stop making them rich. "Interest rate is the penalty you pay in advance for something that you can not afford" repeat this over and over until it sinks in your head. When you feel sick to your stomach then my friend you fully understand that statement.

more ...
Dec 04, 2018

Stop preaching and give an actual review, please.

 
Dec 15, 2018

Yessir. Instrest is rhe penalty that broke people pay for being broke.

 
Dec 31, 2018

CKarmaPolice you are DEFINITELY an ***

 
Jan 17, 2019

Powerful statement! 👍

 
Nov 15, 2018
0%
champstar Cardholder

The initial 0% promo on purchases really helped me grow my small business.

more ...
Nov 08, 2018
Somewhat usefull for intial promo rate
SCHNOODLE3 Cardholder

Good only for the initial promo rate, after that trash this card. Zero rewards, that so called Citibank Thankyou program is an insult. Interest rate is outragous. Balance transfers are never worth it. Don't even ask for a CL increase with perfect credit, it's an automatic decline.

more ...
Sep 19, 2018
Approved for 5500 TU-710 EQ 715
jeffreybaks Cardholder

I was instantly approved for 5500 with CITI Simplicity card.  Couldnt be happier, really helped me out when I needed it, very clutch as Im making ttransitions between colleges and work.  I talked to customer service who were respectful and seemed helpful. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 21, 2018

Hello...What were your bureau scores? Your utilization %? And how many hard inquiries did you have when you applied? Who did Citi pull from when you applied? All three bureaus? Thanks :)

M

 
Aug 07, 2018
Bait and switch
spanishguy1970 Cardholder

These card offers you o% interest for 18 months but good luck they will never do it again. I have great credit and this card has a 23% interest rate now, long gone are the days when you had great credit and low interest. I have called to receive better offers and their answer is always the same “ sorry we don’t have any offers now” is been two years. I use this card and pay it off in full. I have a better credit card, that i pay no international fees and i am always getting good balance transfer offers. Don’t fall for this card, do your homework there are better cards out there.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 26, 2018

It’s because you dont know how to use it lol. This card is great to put on big purchases and pay it off with no interest. I have used this card on multiple vacation trips. When the 0% apt time i just close it. And when i need the 0% apr again i open a new account. This card is not to be used as an everyday card.

 
Jul 16, 2018
Approved
Mns38 Cardholder

Approved for $4600. Credit score is in the mid 700s. Great card to transfer balances. 

more ...
Jul 09, 2018
Great mobile app and blank checks
Ayinas24 Cardholder

I use the mobile app to request credit increase with no hit to my credit report, other than showing the increase. Throughout the year I receive blank checks with interest starting at 0% to 6%. I always wait on the 0% to come out. Usually it's 0% for about 18 months. Luv it. There is a fee for it but it's not alot of money. You can also get your credit score in the mobile app. Monitor spending, see statements, make extra payments, change due date with a few clicks in your phone. I usually request an increase when I have a balance to keep my credit card usage under 30% for credit reporting purpose. This have been a great card building my credit. I dealt with customer service a couple of occasions, I had no bad experience. I have handled most transactions via mobile app and by blank checks. Great card.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 04, 2018

Blank checks? Did you get this particular credit card or a Citi checking account??

 
Jun 28, 2018
Anonymous Cardholder

This card is easy to use like any other credit card. Be careful when you make big purchases over a $1,000 dollars your card will be flagged. I asked for a credit limit and got denied. I called the customer service and they gave me a run around. Their customer service sucks!!!. Well, hopefully I will get some kind of explanation sometime. I might even make a formal complaint to the better business bureau. Good luck who ever owns this card.

more ...
Jun 24, 2018
Anonymous Cardholder

Applied through Karma. Approved for 900 with 660 score.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 28, 2018

did they pull
transuion ??

 
Jun 21, 2018
BEWARE
Georgeat47 Cardholder

Oh sure no fees, I had a balance transfer for 9000.00 of which they charged me 450.00 on a balance transfer. And they tell you you can pick your due date, I couldn't. Also the interest isn't locked it, which means it can go up.

more ...
Aug 04, 2018

I am assuming they gave you high credit limit. It seems like the average credit limit they give is $4K-$5K. I wanna apply for this card but I need at least $10K limit for balance transfers and I’m afraid they will only give me just $4K or $5K. What was your credit score like? Mine is 690.

 
Nov 01, 2018

Guess you didn’t read the terms. 5% fee on balance transfer which was correctly charged to you in the amount of $450 on a $9000 transfer. Also it’s a variable apr so read the terms next time so you don’t need to leave a poor review on a card just because you didn’t read the terms.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 3,722
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Citi Simplicity® Card