Capital One® Secured Mastercard® Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.4 out of 5 stars
769 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 24.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 24.99%* Variable

Our Take

The Capital One® Secured Mastercard® is a good option for people with little or no credit history who are looking to build their credit.

What to Like

This Capital One® Secured Mastercard® has no set up or processing fees. Capital One® reports to all three major credit bureaus so you can take steps to build your credit history. While this card does require an initial security deposit, Capital One® may increase your credit limit without any additional deposits if you use your credit responsibly.

Look Out For

Secured credit cards are great for building credit, but they typically come with annual fees and a required security deposit - and without rewards. It’s important to use your credit responsibly in order to build toward a card with more attractive perks.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 14, 2017
Great to help build credit!
Thelma85 Cardholder

I applied for this card with a score of 560 in Feb 2016 and was approved with a minimum deposit of $99. I made a $100 deposit and they gave me a limit of $201. I use this for small purchases here and there (Birchbox subscription, gas, fast food) and paid more than my minimum payment every month, usually I would pay the entire balance. I logged in this evening to pay my balance of $43 and now my credit limit says $501! So in 11 months they upped me $300. More importantly, in 11 months my credit score has gone from a 560 to a 682 and I was approved for a Southwest Airlines Rapid Rewards card with a $4,000 limit! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 08, 2017
Good, but there are better options
Verapera Cardholder

I applied without a credit history, and this card did help me build my credit from mid 600 to 720 in 8 months. I have no complaints about customer service or the card itself, but I will say that there are better options. I have used the card responsibly, but am ineligible for a credit limit increase or product change. My secured Discover card, on the other hand, became automatically unsecured at 6 months, and I was recently approved for a $2,500 increase. In addition, it even offers cash back and a matched bonus after the first 12 months. In short, this card is fine, but there are other secured cards that may allow you to build credit even faster. I would recommend shopping around before settling on this one, depending on your situation.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Oct 23, 2017
Easy process, good at credit building.
PtownDANNY Cardholder

Ifwas ready to apply, u did so here in the credit karma app. Paid my deposit n got the card in a few weeks. I've had for 6 months now, my credit jumped up over 100 points the month after I got it. The app is so easy, I use it all the time. Simple payment n secure.

more ...
Oct 22, 2017
Guest27 Cardholder

All positive feedback here was made by Capital One staff, not hard to see it. So please....

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 22, 2017

O have a secured and unsecured cap 1 card and I'm a union carpenter. So guest 27 shut your pie hole. I love my cards and have had no problems with either one, plus the sucured card isn't supposed to give you a CL increase but it does. All in all great cards

 
Oct 21, 2017
REALLY AWESOME!!!!!!
Jnco821 Cardholder

This was my first card.... been nothing but good to me. My Credit Score went from Below Average to Good in a very short time. They did everything they promise including the increase within 5 months, I loved this card because now I own the QuickSilver Card! Yes! Thank you Capital One... I LOVE YOUR COMPANY AND AM SO THANKFUL YOU TOOK A CHANCE ME AND I NOW HAVE GOOD CREDIT! 

more ...
Oct 21, 2017
Great!
XTIAN8604 Cardholder

This card is great for anyone wanting to rebuild their credit. I blew my credit when I was younger and deeply regret it however, my credit score was roughly around 540 which is really low and I took a risk with Capital One Secured Card and I got approved with a $200 credit limit and paying my balance in full every month my credit has increased and it is sitting around 619 Transunion and 628Equifax and got approved with Conns and walking out with a Fridge. I highly recommend this card for anyone wanting to rebuild their credit, I want to apply for the Quicksilver but, I’ve noticed that the odds are fair to get approved so I’ll just wait and see my credit score increase to where it’s a strong possibility to get approved. Again folks great card! Great way to rebuild your credit!!

more ...
Oct 20, 2017
Best card for credit building!
RosieM96 Cardholder

I got this card in July of this year with a 485 score, within a month or 2 my score went up 30 points! Now, in October, I am at 577 and my score goes up a couple points each week that I check it. I have some debt so the credit building process is slow and steady. It came in about 2 weeks after I applied. I lost it at a gas station a couple weeks ago and someone used it; it was super easy to notify Cap 1 of the lost card and have them take that charge off my card. I got the replacement card fairly quickly. I recommend this card to anyone with low credit, it is the only one I've gotten approved for and it has helped my credit immensely. Make sure to not use more than 25% of the credit line and always pay it off early.

more ...
Oct 20, 2017

Well thats funny cause my score is 622 and they just said I wasnt approved. So they are a crock..

 
Oct 21, 2017

Slane1973, you do know there are other important factors right? It's not just about your scores. Payment history and several others.

 
Oct 19, 2017
So far so GREAT
missam143 Cardholder

I applied for this card in July. The application process was pretty long and not very clear. I didn't know if I was approved or not until I6 weeks later when I received an email asking for my banking info. Once I updated that I got my card maybe 3 weeks after. Two months to get the card. I put 99 down and got a $200 secured card. I paid the entire balance down by the due date and my credit went up 59 points in the first month. I went from 550 to 609 in literally one month. If this card never moves to an unsecured, that alone made it worth the $99. 

more ...
Oct 19, 2017
Easy, convenient credit builder.
ReverendRondo Cardholder

No real fees as long as you pay off your balance every month. Easy approval.

more ...
Oct 19, 2017
Alexbradley714 Cardholder

Very good card, app is super easy to use, limit increase after 5 on time payments

more ...
Oct 18, 2017
Credit score dream!
HernanEP Cardholder

Love this card, Capital One has been awesome at helping me build my credit! I am very greatful and highly recommend this to anyone who has pretty much no credit or really bad credit it's the best way to start bringing those credit score points up!

more ...
Oct 18, 2017
Very easy to keep up with your balance.
Chris71744 Cardholder

Easy to keep everything in line. Customer service has been excellent answering questions.
The app is awesome!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 97,465
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Capital One® Secured Mastercard®

769 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i